Qian Xi Restaurant??

hi maggie (eig),

aiyoh! i cannot make it lah.. i love CNY goodies too much to give it up leh..

if u can.. try not to skip dinner.. its really not healthy.. i tried completely no carbo for 3 days and then my left hand was shaking and i couldn't even carry a bowl of vegetables.. i was pretty scared then.. coz dunno why i was loosing my strength.. so must be careful when going on these kinds of diets.. now i eat some carbo if possible.. like bread or potatoes.. just to be on the safe side..

hi pisces,

but u're waiting for the restaurant in bukit batok right? which other ballroom are u refering to? expo??

think if u want expo.. should call suzanna and find out if that date is still avaliable..

i'm on the chubby and short side so i need to lose about 5kg then i think i'll be satisfied.. from 52kg i'm now 50kg.. so there is another 3kg to lose by my first fitting.. very stressed! haha..

Hmmm issit the G-cream that you gals r referring to?? cos i in another thread and seems that the cream is very popular in that thread not sure if you gals r referring to that

I think we all gotta motivate each other haha if not die liaoz all gown cannot fit in lolx.....
next time must tell our frens must choose the wedding date wisely haha if not end up festive seasons cannot eat :P

hi geraldine,

yupz.. its that cream.. its pretty good.. got burning sensation when applied.. u can find out more from that thread if u're interested.. hehe

yah.. we have to gather the support from all the brides here so that we'll be able to resist the temptation of food..

Hi Petrina,

I had already booked expo & will be holding at the bigger room tat's y i'm wondering if the other rm anybody has already booked.

aiya..u got lots of time to lose the weight lah.

btw, how's silver cloak, ur AD PG & VG? i'm still searching for BS, PG & VG. gonna meet up with Shiku's photographer over the wkend.

Hi Gals have been readin the posting....

Nothing much has been done at but me also going to fitting in Feb... Trying best to diet also...

All the gals here is slim lah... I think except me.haha

hi pisces,

oh! u've booked bliss garden already ah? want to give me ur details so that i can upload them into the table??

silver cloak is an english speaking BS (main reason why i chose it).. then the gowns are pretty nice and the designer is my coordinator and i'm comfortable with her.. pricing wise they are inbetween the budget and middle range shops so its reasonable..

AD PG is simon from fotothemes.. u can see his work from the website http://www.fotothemes.com a very nice, friendly and helpful guy!

AD VG is christopher from HL Productions.. he's got no website so u got to call him to arrange for a meet up.. his number is 98427458..

hope this info helps!

Lets motivate each other.
My statement of 2006 is : Eat Less , Exercise from Mon to Fri , Drink more water and LOSE WEIGHT!
We can do it!!
=p

BTW ,Anyone know If i have 10 pax of muslim guest , they got Muslim menu one or not.

they have muslim food its like per pax $40+ i forgot the price no need to have an exact table of 10 even if 1 person they will still serve

but their muslim food is buy from those muslim food stall and pour it in bowls and plates to serve

Thanks Petrina.
My AD is 16 Dec 06. tentatively abt 60 tables.so far only settle on the venue. As i'm not going for MTM so still hv time to source for BS

BTW i've chk with suzanna she said that for Muslim & Veg food it's best if you can get a whole table of the same food coz if say u only hv 2 muslim or veg pax per table then you will hv 2 pay the usual chinese dinner price plus the 2 non-chinese pax food which is abt $40 odd per pax.

U guys got your favours yet? i'm headache coz duno wat to get as it was not provided. sigh...
wanna get something nice & cheap :P

Pisces36,
i am also headache on the favours. My AD is in June, need to confirm even faster.. Already Feb liao..
Any new ideas from u gals here?

what's the difference between farrer park and paya lebar qianxi? is farrer park better in anyway? bcos i saw so many brides taking farrer park! i went to take a look at paya lebar already.. the only thing im not pleased is the outlook of tanjong katong complex.. abit rundown.. how does farrer park 1 looks like?

i also dunno what to get for favours leh...really a headache...

Pisces36 what i intend to do is to put all the muslim together in 1 table seperated from chinese cos chinese food got pork its not nice for them to sit together
and we dun have to pay extra in this way :P

Jacqueline, I think farrer park one looks much nicer and moreover now they have a MRT nearby

Hi Geraldine,

If you hv 10 muslims then gd for u. I hv only 3-4 muslims & 3 vege. so total not enough for a table. tat's y headache. sigh....

Jacqueline, initially wanted to hold at paya lebar too but coz of the outlook of the tanjong katong complex we took expo instead. Plus when there's 2 weddings holding at the same time, one of the wedding guests hv to walk pass the other wedding rm in order to go to their ballroom which i found weird.

y dun you book expo instead? or wait for the one at bukit batok?

piglet, wat's ur budget? try to get something below $1 so at least max you only spent $300. chk anybody going to China & see whether they can get for u overthere coz it's cheaper.

hi Petrina,

sorry had been too busy to log in lately.
ya i was lucky. as 2 dec was the only sat available in Dec when i called up to change in Nov. So i just grab the date.

yup will be going for fitting after CNY. suppose to take PS between Mar - May as per photographer's recommendation due to the sunlight...

also trying hard to lose some weight..any good solutions? Am on low carb and exercising..but hoping to go down somemore.

Pisces36, I also dont have a table of 10 muslims... at most about 5-6 muslims and maybe got 1 or 2 veg so was thinking of having the muslims and veg sitting at a table cos their seats r calculated in a per pax basis and no need to waste the seats at those chineses tables
and moreover they wont feel weird if they r the only 1 eating "special" menu.....

yalor..tat's wat i'm gonna do too. so far has anybody been to the food tasting? which dishes are nice?

the lady boss told me the zhao pai cai are the suckling pig & oats prawns

hi rayna,

hehe.. my fitting after CNY too.. got to zip up our mouths during this feative period.. but not easy leh.. i've already taken about 8 pineapple tarts liao..

hmm.. lose weight ah? i dun think i can help much coz after the 2kg loss on the low-carbo diet.. i haven't lost anymore weight over the past 1 week.. stressed!! must be the ice-cream and potato chips i've been eating..

hi pisces,

hmm.. i've not gone for food tasting yet.. but i believe that the suckling pig will be good.. my mouth saliving already ah.. *yum yum*

as for car park coupons.. FH and myself were thinking of getting but it wouldn't be cheap so we've got to calculate the budget first before deciding on whether to get it or not..

Hi Petrina,

ya lor..have to zip up the mouth. go hse visiting don't sit near the festive goodies table.maybe this will help. me also cannot resist pineapple tarts. that's y also worry about putting on weight.

Pisces,

also had not went for food tasting. but that day when i was there, we had their ee fu noodle and mushroom spinanch. both dishes quite nice.

as for car park coupons, like petrina, we are most likely not getting. cos for expo, i think after 6pm it's $2 per entry if i'm not wrong.

hi Petrina, Rayna, Geraldine, Pisces,

wonder have u gals seen the new outlet at bt batok? cos i received a call from Suzanna today and she wanted to show me the new place. btw, she's the owner and will be working even during the cny period. in case if u r still considering the bt batok area, it's not too late to take a look. however some parts are still undergoing reno.

hi sogo,

welcome! are u a qianxi bride as well? wanna leave me ur details so that i can upload them to the table?

eh.. i'm with expo already so dun really need to go down to take a look... hehe..

hey girls,

to the rest of u.. Happy Chinese New Year!!!

last year to collect ang pows liao ah!! haha.. so collect more!! hahaha!!!

Hi sogo so u deciding to hold ure dinner at bt batok??? hmm for mi its too far liaoz cos i staying east side and most relatives on the east haha :P i think farrer park is most central liaoz

any1 knows if we r using their projector system gotta inform much in advance or not har? cos initially i told suzanna that i not using but now my VG say he will be doing the montage and highlights for mi

welcome sogo,
I've already booked expo so i guess will not be changing the venue.
HAppy NEw Year to you gals!!! i second petrine. get more ang baos this yr.

but i thot 1st yr we can still get ang baos if ppl gv?

hi Petrina, Geraldine and Pisces,
i haven booked with Qian Xi yet. Cos i'm torn between Qian Xi and Plaza Parkroyal hotel. if i choose Qian Xi, i prefer bt batok as most relatives stay at the west side and also becos it's new. hehe... Geraldine, i dun think it's too late to inform Suzanna that u need the projector. think 1 mth earlier is ok so that she can tell her staff to arrange for u.

happy cny to everyone! collect as many ang pows as possible!
*Gong xi fa cai*

Happy CNY to u gals...

Pisces, I also heard tat gg to China to buy favous is cheaper.. But if just purposely go there and buy, considering the air tickets and accom, not worth it leh.. unless it's 'shun bian'..

Sogo, Initially, i am also considering between expo and Plaza Parkroyal Hotel, but i personally feel tat the ballroom at Expo is more grand and the atmosphere is better.. There's pillar in the Plaza Parkroyal's ballroom and the ceiling is not high.

happy new year to all !!!!!

sogo ya i think i will inform her when i settle everything with my VG

Pisces36 actually after married i think nobody will give us ang pow liaoz haha our turn to give instead haiii~ so this yr must collect more :P

piglet23 u can go china or thailand to buy but if purposly go there i think not worth it cos of the air tix but if you happen to go there for holidays and on the way shop for favours is better
but of cos gotta c the quality of the item also :P

piglet,
thanks for sharing. wonder if after the renovation, will there still be the same pillars around? cos the person in charge did mention that there are pillars (before the reno) and i'm looking at 40 tables. so will be using the bigger ballroom (if i choose the hotel) which can take around 48 tables. hopefully no view is blocked.

btw, i bought my wedding favour at bangkok. cos i went there last week. it's only 15 bahts per gift, which is only $0.60! i bought 400 of them at the wholesale centre.

geraldine,
do inform her and ask your cooridator to play it at least once first before the dinner. ensure that the vision and music is clear.

Geraldine, thanks for sharing..

sogo, so in the end, wat did u buy for your wedding favour?

icic.. then I am not too sure if u r using the bigger ballroom.. Maybe u can check with the person in charge.. Tat time, i was also being informed at the reno, but we still prefer expo..

hi gals!!

how's everyone's new year? busy busy busy??

hi sogo,

can share what u bought at bangkok as ur wedding favours?

hi geraldine,

haha.. if no one give u angpow liao that means to say that u should have a bb fast then ppl has got to give ur bb angpow!! haha.. good idea?

sogo what did you get for your wedding favour??? that is very cheap leh but u gotta carry it back and it would be very heavy rite?

Petrina haha cannot have bb so fast lar must enjoy some "er ren shi jie" first mah if not very stressed leh....cos bb maintenance fees very high lolx :P

Happy New Year everybody!!!

yalor...muz save up immediately after my wedding...if not where got $ to gv any bao..

btw the bukit batok branch issit at CDANS?

hey sago, would like to know wat u get too? too bad we are not going thai or china, if not we might consider to get favours from there. but my FH has a fren who's going to China so has ask him to source for us. hopefully will be able to find something nice & cheap.

hi geraldine,

wah.. thats true leh.. bb is very high maintainance.. i want to have one next year but my FH is very worried about the finances.. so got to play by ear liao.. see what happens.. haha..

eh gals,

just to find out.. since we are all having our wedding dinner in a restaurant.. wat's ur entire wedding budget like? anyone care to share? coz i'm wondering if i'm spending too much.. a bit worried about the $$ part liao..

currently my estimated budget is about 25k.. seems like a lot for a wedding leh..

Hi Petrina....i think hor we really need to save $$ before having bb cos their stuffs are more expensive than adults :P

Hmmm we din really set a budget for the wedding leh....we save every mth till the day of our AD but cos payment of the banquet is 1 day after our dinner, i'm not so worried at least can get the ang pow money to cover....and top up any "losses"...

wow gals u all really chit chat a lot here.

I have no access but can see your reply... Can see that all who chat here is the newbies....haha welcome u all here.

Me going to BKK but not sure what can get.

Remember seeing someone already got favours from BKK can share what u buy and what the cost thanks.

Hi Ugly duckling,

depending on what u want as favours. can get lots of ideas in bangkok if u shop around.
i got mine there as well. each gift is about 10baht. so it's about S$0.50. and i bought 350 of them. got quite a good bargain for it. you got to walk around and look around before settling for the kind you want as in BKK's Chatucak market, there's lots of stall selling the same thing at different prices.
wanted to get candles in the first place. but the workmanship was not fantastic. so change to chopsticks & coasters instead.
hope this help. =)

Hi Petrina,
is the bukit batok branch accessible? i'm thinking whether should i change from expo to BB instead. sigh..headache leh..coz my relative complain expo too far.

sigh..duno can change or not.

btw ur $25K budget inclusive of wat?

hi Piglet, Petrina, Geraldine, Pisces,

i bought candles that come in the shape of 2 roses, contained in a wooden box. nicely packed and tied in gold ribbons. chose 3 colours of the 'roses' -- red, pink and gold. luckily not very heavy when i brought back to spore. hehe. initially i wanted to buy chopsticks that come in smaller size. not the usual length. in the end, FH thinks that pple will not use, so decided to forgo the idea.

some gifts that i wanted to buy initially as wedding favours: Silverware jewellery box (around S$1.20) or potpourri in organza or teddy bears (around S$0.80) or tissue pouches.

something to share: everytime i bargained at chatuchak market, thought i made a good bargain. but when i go to wholesale market, the same thing costs cheaper before i even start to 'negotiate'! e.g. i bought 700 baht (S$28) for my PS dress at chatuchak mkt which is originally 890 baht. at the w/s mkt, it costs only 350 baht. where i can buy 2 leh! another time i bought a handbag. also kena 'chopped'. so i told myself that i will not buy anything from chatuchak unless i can't find at W/S mkt.

pisces, the BB outlet is accessible. the main building structure is up already. think got 2 separate buildings. walking distance from the BB mrt. around 7 mins walk. Qian Xi is on the 4th storey if i'm not wrong. u may want to call Suzanna to check out the place first before u make your decision on the exact location.

hello gals!!

duckling!! where have u been? so long never come in liao..

hi pisces,

eh.. my budget consist of my BS, AD PG & VG, Church + buffet lunch, Banquet losses and misc, Guo Da li stuff.. eh.. and angpows to be given out on the AD, the wedding bands, bridal car, MUAs for mum and MIL.. and other minor misc stuff..

bascially its everything included for the wedding..

eh.. u want to change to BB branch ah? where do most of ur relative stay?

Hi sogo, wah..realli cheap & good deal leh..but i'm not going there coz will incur more costs.

Hi Petrina, my budget consists of BS, AD PG & VG, buffet lunch for AD, Ang baos for AD, clothing for parents, FSIL, hotel, favours, carpk coupon, GDL, is abt $18-20K so ur budget is ok lah.

fyi most of my frens & relatives stay in the west. but prob is duno whether the BB branch can hold 60 tables or not. also duno whether i'm allow to change venue when i've already confirm expo liao.

Hi chill1padi, Happy New Yr to u too!

Hi Petrina

Busy with work therefore very tired at home so never log on lor for a long time.

Wow when you all say the budget is around $20k is after taking into consideration of ang bao for banquet??

Hi sogo when u say wholesale market u refer to Pratunam?? U bought your favour there? If possible show us the picture and did u buy in from the chatuchak market? Thanks.

Hi Rayna
any picture to see for your chopstick and coaster? Thanks.

Which hotel did u all stay when in BKK?
Me intend to go this july hopes everything is ok... then.

Sogo, where is the wholesale market?

Pisces, Actually, most of my relatives r staying at north, but i still go ahead with Expo.. and i will cater a bus to fetch them to and fro lor..
Of course, cannot satify all wan mah... if u change to BB, i believe some of your frds staying at east will complain too..
U hv to call Suzanna regarding the change lor..

Ugly duckling and piglet,

yes i bought my wedding favour at Pratunam area. as i went to BKK ard 5 times, usually i stay at the service apartment at Grand Diamond and CentrePoint. Nice place and strategic locations.

Pisces, see whether your frens or whoever is going to BKK then can buy for u. btw, the air ticket on Jet Star Asia is only $36 return flight leh. the taxes are more ex than the ticket.

hi pisces,

icic.. then i think my budget is rather similar to urs.. hehe.. thanks gal.. at least i can set my heart at ease..

hi duckling,

wah.. dun stress urself out too much hor..

eh.. what do u mean by taking into consideration of angpows? i put a 6k loss for the restaurant and its included in the 25k budget..

Hi Everyone, i m BAck!!! Happy new Year!!!
Its been so long since i logged in. So hows everyone?
Keeping to ur diet still? I cant tahan the urge to eat the CNY goodies... sob.. hope did not gain weight.

BTW, i m going to BKK this March..
Sogo, So are u saying that i should go to Pratunam first before Chatuchak?

Actually i have yet to work out a budget. Seriously dunno how much to keep aside for ANg Bao and GDL.
I have work out only this:
AD Dinner : 38 tables x 650 = 24 700
AD PG : 700 - 1000
BS : 2988 ( I must really stop myself from adding photos )
Favours : max 500
Hotel : 500

this already work out to be 30 k le....
Pocket burn 1 hole le...