Problem with noisy neighbours!!

pigslover

We have been staying at our new hse for almost a year but we simply can't have any peace as the neighbor who's staying upstairs of our unit are constantly dragging their furniture, banging n knockin on a daily basis be it day or night. Had tried to talk to the grandma who admit the dragging sound is done by her grandson of 7months and she also promise to minimize the noise. However instead of minimizing, the noise is getting worst! What would you guys suggest I should do?

Thats what happen when there's a baby! There's nothing much you can do except waiting for the boy to outgrow this habit. I would talk to his parents and offer to buy him a walker if they are okay with it. The sound of walker rollers is better than furnitures dragging.

Just a suggestion, if you really want an amicable solution.

Actually if you nice, can be good neighbours and visit them in the day / evenings... bring a cake... offer them and talk to them...

If they become friends they would automatically try to stop the kids from making noise cos they feel guilty.

It worked for me last but YMMV though. It doesn't work all the time. Depends on the outcome of the visit.

Sometimes, they are just clueless on how to stop it. Instead of pressurizing the old auntie neighbor to stop her grandchild from dragging furnitures, offer her suggestions to help deal with it.

i.e. offer to buy her felt or other noise damping materials for her chairs.

Months ago, I bought for my son a child table set from Ikea. First thing he did was to drag it around the hall. Immediately, I installed rubber on legs of the chair. Not only for the neighbors, it is equally irritating for everyone in the household.

Las nite we went up again n tis time round is directly talkin to d kid's parents. When we told them tat we heard d sound, they seem to b in doubt n ask me wat time n how long is it. As we were at home for d own day so we are able to tell them d timin n oso emphasise tat nt only las nite we heard d sound, in fact is since 2-3months ago d sound like nv end. But they seem to b very in doubt when we told them normally is wat time we would hear d sound cos for wkdays they r wkin hence is d grandma lookin aft d kid n so they give us their phone numbers n ask us to call them if we hear d sound again so tat they would know wat is actually causing d sound.

Yup we was thinkin perhaps they might hv no idea of wat r d furnitures wic causes d sound too. Anyway we would jus monitor n feedback to them accordingly.

D parents did told us tat d grandma gt told them abt our 1st visit but as for how d grandma woo transfer d msg to d parents we r nt sure oso... But d grandma told us on d 1st visit tat sumtime if she don't let d kid drag d chair, he wouldn't eat n we told her don't let d kid get used to tis habit lo n when we suggest her to use those chair leg cover/felt she seems to b unhappy abt it... she even ask us to bear for d nxt few mths s when d kid know how to walk le wouldn't b draggin d chair le... well would tat b real?...

Those noise insulators are cheaply available at Daiso for $2 per pack. Sound proofing the furniture is not just because of kids, its being considerate. Similar to why we install rubber protectors on the corners of the car doors. It is not for us to open doors carelessly but to minimize impact of accidental contact with cars parked beside.

Being considerate is part & parcel of living in a community. Well, living amongst selfish people seems more in the local context. Its sad, while we cannot impose thoughtfulness onto others, it is really shame on the neighbors (the auntie) to be unwilling to adopt workable solutions even when others are giving them the feedback. At least the parents are much more cooperative.

On the separate note, it is indeed frustrating that grand parents go to such extend to compromise and accommodate to their grand children. Not just in their own expense, they would insist everyone else to comply and accept it no matter how imposing, inconvenience and impractical it is!

When kids refuse their food, it is either they are picky or not hungry. Instead of realizing this simple fact, they rather excuse with all kinds of stupid reasons, like, its too bland, sour or not soft enough etc. It is a vicious cycle. The more adults pamper and give in with all kinds of special treatments, the more it encourages the behavior. It is important when introducing solids to children for them to be advantureous. Even if they have been customized to certain food, we need to encourage them to explore. Eating habits are developed since young and difficult to change when older.

well fr d way d grandma response to us, it seems tat she's nt reali happy wif our suggestion in using d chair leg cover/felt n even told us "small kids r like tat de". well we understan kids r still young to fully understan much hence isnt it adults' responsibility to teach n correct them fr d beginning instead of let them carry on wif their bad habits n in turn come n tell us tins like "bo pian", "small kids r like tat" etc?!

anyway nw we r aware tat tokin to d grandma seems to b useless so shld there b any more noise, we would tok directly to d parents instead though they seems doubtful wif our words too but seriously how much would they know how d grandma reali lk aft d kid when they r workin on wkdays n only b ard at nite n wkends....

My upstair neighbours do their carpentry work daily at home from morning till nite.. N my neighbor next door is mentally insane shouting hrs of obscenities as n when he feels there is a need for it.. While all tt is happening, I have a 1.5yo to coax for naps n bedtime. Perhaps its not too bad tt the kid will eventually outgrow it..

@tsunami : ur neighbors doin carpentry work everyday for d whole day? did u try to tok to them abt it? for me, i surely cant stand it de!!

As n when thru the day.. Sometimes drilling.. Sometimes knocking n hammering.. Sometimes just v loud working boots walking all ard.. Usually stops past midnight.. N they arent reasonable nor want to talk abt it at all.. It's not abt whether u can stand it.. Unless u can move to a quiet place, learning to deal w it is the only way.. Even my 1.5yo has to manage the noise..

but is your flat BTO or those older types? Because from what i know BTO's walls and noise insulation are much better.

I deeply feel your situation. I stay in a corner unit with another neighbour.

I am no better. The neighbours who stay above me. A male who loves stomping around his house the whole time when home. They love dragging their furniture tirelessly when home. I always feel the need to approach them to offer them furniture felt pads to minimise noise. I gladly provide all felt pads noise absorber FREE!!!!! My SO always ask me to endure...

During the weekends he also loves drilling and fixing stuff. He should be a handyman or technician.... Then there is another person should be his mother who mops their flat daily. I can literally hear the mop 'hitting' furniture for the whole hour of mopping. She can mop as early as 6am or 7am. Duh!!! We are still zzzzzzzz and I always get awaken by the clanking sound of the mop head or handle hitting furniture. Another thing is They simply like Slamming their metal gate every single time they come home or go out. Why?? I really pity their next door neighbour. I am so not exaggerating their behaviours....

Following this.... My next door neighbour keeps two yelping small dogs who bark at everyone including their owners. There are 3 electrical bicycles outside their corridor, an altar, 2 huge round tables, one huge drying clothes rack and 3 potted plants.... the 2 water / electrical raiser rooms (their side) well stocked with their 'barang' to the brim.... I really am not comfortable with their 'clutter' though it's not my biz. to comment.... But really an eyesore!!! To add to that... doggie stench never fails to permeate the shared corridor whenever I open my door. They even installed a security camera outside their door not to spy on us (hopefully) but to guard their 'barang'. However I always feel my privacy is infringed upon whenever I going in and out my flat... o_O

The son-in-law comes home after work every morning at 3:30 am to have their yelping dogs greet him excitedly with their loud barkings. I get awaken most of the time at 3:30am by those dogs!

When the family chats... everyone in that house seemed hard of hearing and speak really LOUD!!!! I can listen in to their conversations all the time. Mah-jong their favourite pastime till wee hrs almost every weekends. During Chinese New Year they can placed extra chairs and tables at our side of the corridor without seeking permission. It's only polite to seek permission. By the way.... Who loves clutter near their door during CNY???!!!

Some perks... my unit itself is a haven... very well furnished.... Daily I count my blessings because I have a roof over my head and food on my table. The neighbour below my unit plays melodious piano pieces at times.

ENDURE!!! ENDURE!!!! How nice if EVERYONE is considerate and mindful of others!!!!!

My neighbour upstairs drips her wet laundry onto my spin-dry laundry all the time!

my mom went up to talk to her husband nicely before but all he did was ok and more okays. while the min my mom comes back the dripping starts all over again.
The woman even commented that if you are not happy then move elsewhere. people staying at lower floors, should endure such drippings since we can't afford higher floors (she stays at level 3 while I'm at level 2 btw).

@mooboxy : sad to say though my flat is BTO however it seems tat d noise insulation is nt s gd s old flats.. Hardly experience such noise when I used to stay at my parents n ILs hse wic r old flats lo..

@HappySpade : hv u consider try talkin to ur neighbors abt their noise pollution created? seems like urs more worse than mine s u r sandwiched between ur upstairs n nxt door noisy neighbors... Yes! If only everyone can b more considerate n spare a tot for others there woo b peace liao... Haiz

@lemonzil : ya same here we went up n tok to them twice already n they oso say ok they woo take note however very fast they woo repeat it again... Wonderin if they seriously take in our words anot or jus simply brush us off by sayin ok ok..

It's been more than half a yr since we go up n tok to them n 2days ago I had no choice but to call n tok to them abt d noise they had made again s it was already almost 11pm yet they stil make those noise like nobody biz!! N b4 I mention abt d noise when I call them, d grandma who pick up d call told mi herself her grandchild is playin n if its disturbing us? N I jus told her nw is already pretty late can they try to minimize d noise n she say ok n apologize for it.. However jus yest they carry on wif d noise s per normal again!! Haiz reali duno wat to do abt it?!

So how the situation now?

I can completely feel you too because my upstairs neighbours is also perpetually pulling their furniture around and dropping things on the floor.the irritating thing is that i could sometimes be awaken by these noises after midnight. I mean who would move their furniture so late at night? moreover, when i went up to complain they would just deny everything! haiz quite frustating sometimes.

Called them up couple of times n tis time round is d parents of d kid who answer d call! Wat ridiculous is, nt only they deny sayin it's nt done by them, they even say mayb it could b fr d unit who stay above them! N after which d noise continues again n everytime I heard d noise, I would use wiper stick to hit up n immediately d noise would stop! So how can it b d other unit who's stayin above them who create d noise rite?!

In d end there's once when d noise continues nonstop, my husband n I went up to their hse n guess wat we even can hear d noise when we were standin outside their hse wif their door closed.

N when d grandma open d door, we saw d kid was playin wif his toys like basket, cars in d livin rm where we always heard d noise. N d grandma did admit its d kid who caused d noise n apologies to us sayin tat they would watch out more in future.

So we were tinkin d parents of d kid r jus too dishonest in nt admitin it's their kid who's creatin d noise n even push d fault to their neighbors above instead man!

Hi there, me have been having issues with my noisy and inconsiderate neighbours. They have creating constant noise nuisance early morning and late at night. I have talked to them and it doesn't help.

I have created a dedicate forum for sufferers like myself to share your experiences and lesson learnt. If you have successfully resolved it, hope you can share with us as well. Do share with your friends about the page and hope we can use the portal to highlight to the relevant parties how bad noise nuisances can be and more actions needed to be done. The page is as below:

http://www.noisyneighboursg.com/forums

Please participate and share with your friends. Let us work together and help create a less noisy and inconsiderate community.

if neighbors is going to drag the chairs . the trick is go n buy rubber for your neighbors 's chairs or any items can create a noise from upper floor. it might sound silly i will fix all the rubber onto their chairs legs. so this might helps!