Plaza Parkroyal (Beach Road) --- Solemnization

Aiyah Lara...shd have mentioned it earlier,...on the second day we were pacing up and down outside st gregory's spa whether to go for massage or not...but theirs was very ex....even for the cheapest couple massage per pax already 160...and didn't include much stuff too...only massage, scrub and bath....not worth it...

hehe..pai seh.. i didnt know u gals were interested too. i booked the session as a surprise for my hubby..sorta a ROM present.

btw, when r u gals holding ur AD? that day the banquet coordinator asked us if we would consider holding our wedding dinner there n i so wanted to reply "over my dead body".

wuahaha...

if i were u, i will make a complain le... My FH oso veri fierce, he will complain all the way up. Hehe... At least muz get some freebies to compensate... or even discount for the dinner. How can we let them get away with it?

actually i've penned a complain letter oredi hehe.. my fren is editing is for me. will send it out by tomorrow!

Joanne, I did not go in the end...cos too ex le...actually a spa would be perfect that day...but oh well, too bad lor...sob...

Lara, I'm holding mine next feb...but won't be parkroyal...find that the 2 ballrooms too close liao...reception will be very confusing...

Haha ya Lara, must feedback to them. must feedback then can improve. But i think yours is jsut a case of pauline's AP...Mey was ok leh...my ROM went pretty well, the technician also good except for the rain...basket...

Haha...

Funny leh u, Rayne...

Lara, i support u abt the compain... Sekali they sponsor u the AD dinner... Gd deal? Muz complain all the way up so that future ROMs like us will be smooth... i oso veri scared got cockups!

My ROM cuming soon... excited and happy and stress at the same time. Got headaches and i badly need a spa naw! Haha...

I was wondering whether to do a spa a week b4 my ROM or a day after my ROM? Suggestions gers? Coz i got a fren tell me, i muz do a scrub b4 my ROM so tat my skin will look nice nice on that dae... Will b sponsoring my FH oso. =)

haha Joanne.. i've booked my AD already. anyway i dun like Parkroyal anymore.

y not do a scrub urself b4 the ROM and den go for couple spa with ur hubby after ROM? more fun imo..coz after the ROM den can really relax~~

i booked Novotel Clarke Quay

yah..i hope it will go better than my rom haha.. one thing for sure, the coordinator there is much nicer n more responsive than Pauline

Lara,

hotel co-ordinators oways change 1... so remember 2 ask them email u all the black n white. Last time i choose parkroyal coz i find that the ambience is nice and Kris is gd! After tat Kris left, i was pretty sad... so u have to b prepared ur coordinator might lve anytime...

I went for a massage and scrub 2 days before my ROM....save me the trouble of having to scrub myself...haha...anyway, the scrubs that spas usually use are different from what we use at home...theirs seem to do more....skin more hua after that....haha....or i use wrong scrub at home?!? hmmm....

MAy i ask hv anyone hold their ROM at park royal XI ChUan restaurant?

Im keen in holding my ROM there,cos personally i find their function room too close to each other.

hw the service n the food?

pls advice thks

Hi piggy, if u r toking abt the chinese restaurant at level 1, i did went there 4 dinner b4. The food there is pretty delicious and the service of the crews r veri gd too. However, the food is quite expensive... Other than tat, u planning to book the entire restaurant? if not, u will have other pple inside the restaurant too. I tink tat will b worst than having in the ballroom tat is close to each other.

But i personally feel tat the ballroom is not tat close lar... Hehe...

Hi joanne n lara,

thks for the feedback.
According to the coordinater Mey Goh,she say during lunch time then is crowded. By the time customers coming in all my invited guest will be seated in the private room dining..

As for the Solemnsation it will take place at the side near the entrance of the restaurant,(the tea house).Mey say that is block for the entire ceremony.She say that no guest is allow to come in during that time.

She did mention that the ballroom has to confirm min of 05 table with compare to the last time 03.N me n my FH is looking at 03 to 04table onli that's y she recommand the XI CHUAN to us..*headache*
N after viewing the place we're considering the Teahouse restaurant which is diff n the
deco is kinda Auspisious..hehee..

Btw,joanne n lara do yr hv friends or personal experiences helding ROM in the hotel.Is there any PROs n Cons n PERKS?

hihi piggy, mayb u can refer to all our comments above =), i juz had my ROM there on 17 jun.. think joanne is having hers soon

hehe...i've read all of them..Kinda bad in a way..but my BF seems to like the place.
Seems that the turnover of the Sale manager post very high.kinda scary..
i guess i'll hv to discuss with my BF first.(",)

hmm.. sometimes i think it depends on luck too.. at least after reading our experiences u can know wat to look out for =). btw, when's ur rom?

Yupz, like 4 example, the construction at the pavilion... Nobody expect tat 2 happened... Now i'm praying it will be removed soon... Hehe...

Joanne, did u check with ur coordinator when it will b removed? perhaps can ask them to speed up the work

Hi Piggypig!

My sis had her ROM at Xi chuan there on 06 06 06!
The food is nice! But spicy to me.. and the waitress there is so friendly! We have one table only.. and my sis took the one with the room de.. so we enter the room without any disturbance and also got many waitress there to serve us the food and joke with us..

Really good! Then the room is near the.. side so u can actually view below and it's quite ok if u wanna have it small. (Eh.. heard that they change management?) Hers is at.. the other branch de.. nt at beach road though..dun noe PRH at beach road is the same ma...

N mine is PRH on beach road.. Other than the changing of co-ordinator, food was great, atmosphere.. the decorations.. Music ( I bring my own)

Ya, better check with him to see what is ur budget contraints and the atmosphere must be good!!!

Lara,

Elsie did mentioned to me tat she will ask the maintenance side to speed up the process... Hopefully by our ROM day the construction will be removed. She oso said tat 070707 alot of couples ROM, so she oso dun wan so many couples come complaining 2 her...

I oso tell her tat every1 wans a beautiful wedding, hope she can understand... =p

hi princess,

thks for the feedback..
i'm still looking ard for places for my rom.i went n view the surrounding at PRH xi chuan quite nice n atmosphere also very pleasant.
As for the co-ordinator is Mey Goh.I've seen her,nice n patient lady but always seems to rushing..
hehe..maybe that's her character..

Oh, good news! i went to PPR today to pass Elsie my march-in song, dinner song and picture for the LCD display... and went up personally to the pavilion and saw tat the construction outside my Marina/Victoria Room is gone!!!! Well, partial of the construction facing the road can be seen but not as unsighty as the previous case...

Oh, i'm so glad... *phew*

Hehe... Itz so scarry when i went up, the fear of the construction still present. But luckily it was gone!!! I quickly call me FH the gd news and he was veri happy 2.

Btw, gers, currently i got 55 guest and i oni tell Elsie i got 45... Coz i scared got pple last min couldnt come. U tink they will have enuff food on tat dae? Hehe...

Hi gals...
i have also booked my ROM with the hotel! Like Piggy, Mey recommended me to take the xi chuan restaurant. After much persuasion (dun know why she sell so hard), i agreed and i signed. But the very next day, i changed my mind and called her up again to tell her that i want the function room, cos i have at least 30 guests and i find that the private room at xi chuan is too cramped for 3 tables and i prefer buffet where pple can walk ard and less restricted. Piggy, i agree with you, Mey is always very rush. Actually she is very flexible, but sometimes she looks so blur?? and very scared she will miss out certain things. Anyway, i already paid my deposit, but not yet receive the agreement as she promised will send to me in 1 week, now 3 weeks has passed.

Haven't tried si chuan but the buffet spread was good! My guests all complimented on the food...even my parents and his parents!

Ya gree that Mey is very rushed...talk very fast and forever like rushing to duno where...but she's nice...i think you shouldn't have much to worry if your event is handled by her...she's quite attentive to details...she told us that she's been with the hotel for 10 yrs (or 7?? forgot liao) so she shd be quite steady pom pi pi..

Hi Destineez..

My sis food is at xi chuan.. (more chi) and mine is the buffet.. (more western), depend which one u prefer.. I love western more then chi.. so my ans is buffet for me!
urs?

Joanne.. dun worry.. they will normally open like.. 6 tables? one spare de.. and they will count the pax after that.. u put 45(minimum), if 40 come.. they will charge the minimum.. and.. if 55 all come.. they will of course charge 55.. Hee.. I wonder how they count la.. cos my guest run here and there.. and some table is like.. sit more than 10 ppl.. duhz.

hi joanne, they will top up the food so dun worry about not having enough n yah..they opened an extra table for me too

wow... great!!! so itz safe huh? thanks alot gers...

Btw, i wana have table number label on my table leh... coz i'm planning seating arrangement. u gers got do tat? coz some of my frenz noe each other, some dunno... so have to split accordingly... Hehe!

Oh, btw, i didnt include my photograpger 4 the buffet and i didnt include JP coz he say he after tat rushing 4 another ceremony...

Then u gers got c the bill? is the total pax correct? coz i oso quite surprise they can actually count...

hi...rayne, glad to hear that mey is good!

anyway, for u gals who use the function room (the one beside the pavilion) for your lunch reception, can i check if your coordinator open up the entire function room or they block off half? For my case, mey say i can only use half the room, cos i only have about 30 guests..but i am expecting more. Also, even i have 30 guests, i think i would prefer to have 4 instead of 3 tables, cos i have a few group of guests, so that they can sit in their group. What do you think gals?

As for the food, i still cannot decide which one to have, western or chinese. I myself prefer western and i see the menu, quite a lot of variety. however think my parents will like chinese but the chinese buffet has 7 dishes and 1 dessert, not sure if enough variety anot..hee..

joanne, i am also wondering if it is necessary to include the photographer and JP for buffet. Dun really feel like inviting the photographer, cos he is supposed to take photos?? =p haha..and mainly dun wish to fork out the cost of additional 1 person. =p (very stingy...) And as for the JP, if i invite him, who will talk to him? dun think i wan to entertain him..hee...

So just wondering what is the norm? Do pple usu. invite photographer and JP for buffet?

Joanne, who is your photographer? can share? i haven decided on mine.

Hi destineez,

i'm using the room nx to the pavilion and i will be using Marina/Victoria Room. They will open up both 4 me... Strangely, last time my co-ordinator tell me tat even if i have 30 pax, they will still open up both the room 4 me leh... tink u have to check with Mey again...

My FH asked the JP to stay 4 dinner... But he say he have to rush 4 the nx ceremony... Hehe! I dun tink any JP wana stay 4 dinner but i tink u muz ask lar... Photographer i tink no nid 2 include... But who noes the co-ordinator will do a head count n add her in???? *faintz*
Maybe the rest of the gers here can advise us on whether to invite photographer??
Food wise i cant advise much coz i feel tat most of the gers here tink the buffet is nice! I wun wana giv it a missed! Hehe... I'm taking buffet 2...

Oh, my photographer is Waipeng... She is quite gd! My fren used her n her pics r all veri natural... U can c her portfolio in this website: http://www.*oto-u.com/Home.html

Change the * to f

hi joanne, i spoke to Mey on the function rooms. previously when shalica was still ard, she promised to open 2 rooms for me. however, when it comes to Mey, she is very persistent, she only allow 1 room and say will only open 2 if no one is using it on that day.

where are you doing your make up that day? in the hotel or at bridal shop? so waipeng will follow u to the bridal shop to shoot your make-up process? i have also not very sure usually how many hrs of photo-shooting is needed for ROM. Can advise? 2hrs sufficient?

I have called up 2 freelancers, they provide 4 hrs of service and or longer if necessary and their price is cheaper, but i do not know if they can be relied on and whether their skills are good..though i have seen their portfolio....

My ceremony start at 5.30pm and my guest can start coming in at 5pm... I engage waipeng from 5 pm to 8pm leh... So the makeup shoot will b taken my my fren who wana have his own photography portfolio. Hehe...

destineez, when is ur ROM? U can tell Mey that there is a high possibility tat u will increase ur guest. So wat if tat time u wana increase ur guest number and the room is occupied by the other couple? I tink like this veri unfair leh... All the previous couple can use 2 rooms... i dun tink y u cant?

I dun realli dare to engage those i dunno coz i wan my pics to b beautifully taken... I'm not holding Actual day wedding dinner so i wan my ROM pics to be nicely shot as a memory... =p

Hi ger! Wa.. so fast the thread so long liao ar.. haa!

Eh..my room is.. the one that can hold up to 8 tables i tink..

Then JP nv eat leh.. as usual.. they always have lots of place to go de.. My photographer I got include.. cos I got eat a while and he also eat then we continue to take our pic after that..

Yap! Heard waipeng and many ppl say its good! Cfm is nice de! Hee...

My mama they all also veri chinese de.. but they also say western nice.. and many many varities! *(Sorry.. 4get how to spell eh..)I cant rem the menu list got so long meh.. and the decoration of the food is veri veri nice!

Tat time PRH did call my hub and ask if we are satisfied with the ROM we hold there and asking if.. we wanna consider our Customary too...

Haha.. Wonder got western comes in 7 dishes and desserts? Eh...

My JP also nvr ate...he rushed off to another ceremony....actually my total headcount is about 36....Mey gave us 4 tables....actually i only wanted 3 but she said give us one more extra....she also opened up 2 rooms...so it's very spacious....she's rather accomodating though...my final bill they only charge us for 32 pax...think they didn't include my photographer and videographer although they sat and ate with us...

Oh, tat'ss gd! Hehe... Coz naw my total head count is abot 55pax... If ++ i faintz... Haha! Alot of $$ already... Rayne, so u oni tell Mey u nid 3 tables, tat is 30 pax oni?