Perth

claerwen

Hi Apple,
U dun hv to create a new acct. Can use the same one cos SBBrides & SGMotherhood under same parent

bel7

Hi Midas

You might want to budget $10AUD per meal...cos sometimes the meal is like $8 plus for a plate of noodles or rice.

i got some more queries...

1. issit better to take a cab from airport to town center or book an airport shuttle service? not much diff in price leh..

2. do i need to declare(either or both) prescription drugs like contraception pills n non-prescription drugs like my health supplements like vitC?

3. where do u guys change ur AUD? which places has better exchange rates?

thanks a mil...

claerwen

Hi Midas,

Safe2Travel do not do visa application for u unless u puchase the airtix or any packages with them. As for Chariot, if u're applying visa for at least 3 people.. they can charge u cheaper at $8/per pax. Bigger groups will be even cheaper. so u might wanna call & chk with them

As for transport, u can chk with the hotel if they provide free shuttle service from the airport, cos some of them do. Otherwise, just take the airport shuttle service. It's cheaper than taking a cab.

And yes, if u're bringing along any food items & medication, u need to declare them. Just tick on the appropriate item category in the declaration card will do.

As for exchange rate, if u're staying or working near Tanjong Pagar, u can chkout Perfect Exchange locted at Tanjong Pagar Plaza. It's just directly opp. Amara Hotel. Their rates are generally better than most other money changers, incl. those at The Arcade.

claerwen,

once again thanks for the info

ermm...for transport i dun think my hotel provides tats why wanna find out about wats so gd about the airport shuttle coz if i take a cab it cost about AUD30 n it drive us direct to the hotel...the shuttle service is like a big bus tat carries many passengers n u need to wait for ur turn to drop off. and the price is like AUD15 per pax...tats means its AUD30 for me n hubby leh. but one thing gd is tat if u book a return trip then u gt guarantee transport back to airport lor..

claerwen

Midas,

A cab from the airport to city centre will cost ard A$30-$40. But the Perth Airport Shuttle costs only A$24 per pax for a return trip, so it's definitely the cheapest option. U can chkout their website at www.perthshuttle.com.au for more info. It's only a matter of price vs convenience.. so it's really up to u

claerwen,
i've enquired...perth shuttle return trip is $30 per pax. cab is $33(based on a tripadvisor member's post in Jul07, he stayed in the hotel we'll be staying). tats why i wanted to know why wld anyone wanna take the bus lor...anyway thanks for ur reply, i'm going to take a cab instead

counting down 10 more days to my holiday hee...

claerwen

Midas,

Wow, looks like the price has increased.. cos one of my friends took the shuttle few mths back & it costs only $24 per pax for a return trip. Either that, it cld also be a promotional fare at that time cos she went during the winter season. Will hv to chk with her again. Anyway, based on the fare u quoted, taking a cab still costs slightly more than taking the shuttle for a return trip. But as I mentioned earlier, it's really up to individual. Since the difference is only a few bucks, why not enjoy the comfort of a cab then?

Hva good trip ya! Cheers!~

anyone knows about this Perth Tourist Lounge? are they a fully online company or do they have an office i can go to book their day tours?

i dun wan to book online leh...the credit card conversion rates r so bad now. if anybody has other tour agency in perth to recommend, pls do so thanks

s__h

Hi midas,

based on their website FAQ,

Q) I am presently in my home country. Can I book once I arrive there?

Ans) Yes you can, but we recommend you make early bookings especially during school holidays, Easter, Christmas and the peak season. Early bookings will avoid disappointments.

source : http://www.perthtourist.com.au/english/faq_e.asp

S&H,

i've read their FAQ...but tis lady who is replying to my email kept telling me they r ONLINE company n dun accept cash payment leh..so weird.

coldwinter

Hi midas

We got our accommodation thru http://www.discoverwest.com.au/ and they do provide complimentary one way airport shuttle service (airport to our apartment) for some of the hotels/apartments. Some may also include a half day city tour.

It's a great savings for my family, 2 adults and 3 kids! haha

s__h

received an email from Accor :

Get a room in australia or NZ at $79 or $99 under "Early Summer Savings".

Note this rate is only for "Early Summer Savings". Different hotel have their own start and end date of Summer.

Valid for stays between 1/12/07 and 31/1/08. All rates are room only, per night single, twin or double occupancy in a standard room.

Rates are based on a limited allocation of rooms determined by each participating hotel and are subject to availability.

All Early Summer Savings bookings are chargeable at time of reservation and are non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-transferable.

Details can be seen in http://hotdeals.sites.optin.com.au/readcamp.rsp?rin=1sb63835-1723781&campaign=018

Good thing abt being an Accor member :)

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/436535.html?1191456783

kite~

Anyone went to perth during the month of Mar?
How is the weather like? anyone care to share the breakdown of the cost for air tix, accommodation, car rental? Also the itineraty as well since we intend to self drive.

claerwen

Midas,

U can go to Australian Pinnacle Tours. They're a v. established tour agency & tour specialist in Western Australia. They also hv a wide range of 1/2 & full day tours available. Hv joined them 5 yrs back on my trip to Perth & visited places like Albany, Margaret River & Pinnacles. Their guides are v. experienced & friendly & their coaches are also luxury 5 star coaches, v. comfy. Overall, was a great experience! U can visit www.pinnacletours.com.au to find out more.

Hope it helps!

i_panda77

Re: International Driving License
anyone knows if we need to apply for int'l driving license to drive in Australia? Or if our S'pore Driving License can drive in OZ? Thanks for your advice.

kite~

hi panda:
hee nice to see u here.
yup we r planning to go perth next mar. yes perth only. r u gg to self drive n how many days, book ur air tix thr which airline? alrite do keep me update after u come back.

We have self drive in NZ and Melbourne before and we just show our Singapore driving license will do. No need apply any international driving license.

i_panda77

kite,
yes come here & check on some matters reg. perth. cannot go SMH but can come here. All F&E. Booked apartmt in perth liao. May travel south to M.River & Albany. Source a few accomodation in M.River & Albany but not finalised yet. Meeting my sis to discuss plan this sat. Travelling in BIG group (7adults, 1 child & 1 toddler).

Hv asked a few friends reg the license thingy..they all say dun need int'l DL. Just checked web, S'pore is one of the recognised country..so dun need.

kite~

panda:
how come ur co. disallowed SMH? strange?
May i know which airline will u be flying with? how many days? me looking at probably 6 to 7 days.

kite~

panda:
oh ur co. monitoring u? me thinking of flying by tiger too. i have checked Mar wil be $900 for 2 adults + 1 infant. consider cheap hor. how much u pay for ur air tix?

i have yet to plan my itinerary, Probably will go to e library to book Lonely planet guide book. I find this book is really informative, used it for my NZ n mel's trip. but...Hopefully got e time.

i_panda77

kite
i'm paying $600 per head for tiger. maybe cos its sch holidays. J will fly free (no seat) but need to pay admin fee. I changed seat cos need bigger leg space..need to pay $20/25 extra per seat

hi claerwen,
i'm back from perth liao...ya i did two tours with Australian Pinnacles..they r gd but ex lor. i booked them thru Perth Tourist Lounge...same price but they gv me discounts for more than 3 tours(i booked total 4 tours from diff vendors). i enjoyed the Rockingham Dolphins most
first time see dolphins swimming juz 2 feets away from my feet hee...

coldwinter,
http://www.discoverwest.com.au/ is ex sia...they charged in AUD n u know now the exchange rates r ridiculous rite?

oh ya, for those not driving...taxi fare is AUD34 from airport to perth city center

claerwen

Midas,

Glad u enjoyed ur trip =)

Yup, prices have definitely increased over yrs.. but even though it's more ex now, it's still worth every cent coz they really live up to their reputation, so it's really 'yi fen qian yi fen huo'. For me, I'd rather pay more & go for a more established & experienced agency rather than choosing a cheaper or inexperienced one & not knowing what I'll be getting from it

beautifulcurls

Hi LiLi
Nov is end of spring..approaching summer.. Weather can swing from hot in the day..then cooling towards evening.. December will be very HOT.. Daytime could be up to 40 Degree..

elle

Cld anyone here advise me which aprtment is recommended to stay in perth? i hv 5adults and 2kids going. How abt farmstay?

I won't be driving there therefore need to find out abt their transport too..

Thanks all for the advise.

sher02

Singapore brides forum has been very useful as I live in Perth and its very difficult co-ordinating a wedding from overseas and thought i'll contribute to the forum too.

So feel free to leave any messages if you're travelling to Perth and hopefully I can help you plan your beautiful trip to Perth

libra_kc81

Hi Sher

Me and my hubby plan to go Perth during mid of May (20th - 25th) and most of the travel agency in spore only provide 1 1/2 day tour and the rest of the day will be F&E becoz we just need them to book the hotel and land tour fr us as we already hv flight flying to Perth.

Wonder do you have any suggestion on how will we be able to find a whole day tour during our trip.

yoongf

Libra,

Perth day tour industry is like a big monopoly. Every morning, the tour buses will go around to pick up the tourists from the various hotels, and bring everyone to an interchange. At that interchange, tourists transfer to the respective day tours buses.

It does not matter who u book the tour from, everyone will gather at the same spot, and the respective tour guide for that tour will take over. It is a very organised and convinient system.

U can check out this website for the tours available daily. Don't have to book ahead. At the hotel can make the reservations for the next day itenary.

http://www.discoverwest.com.au/western_australia_holidays_visiting/perth_tours/

w0nd3r

I want to go to perth again!!

I went there for a short immersion trip...

enjoyed the farm stay (you guys should give it a try!!), stroll along cottesloe beach and also eat the yummy fish and chip!