Perth

Midas,
Coldwinter is right. It all depends on the kind of food u bring & where u store them. To expedite custom check, it wld the easiest for u to store all declared items into a single bag so u can just show them to the quarantine inspector during clearance. And inspection is usually pretty fast, especially if u hv a kid it'll be more relaxed. Waiting time for clearance also depends on the no. of flights landing at that time. Usually afternoon flights will have more people

Coldwinter,
Westfield Carousel is bigger & have more shops, so if u're really into shopping, u might find it's better. On the other hand, Belmont is nearer to Perth city so more convenient. U can find all neccesities u need there

Steve,
No prob =) So how many days are u going? U leaving on which date? I'm leaving on 18 May.. will be there for abt 10 days

claerwen
I will be going for 7 days. Leaving on 6 May. Next time I should plan for at least a 10 days Oz trip if I am going on F&E again. So you will only be in GC ah? Besides the 'worlds', where else will you be visiting?

Hello all, may I recommend a few place while you travel to Perth?

- Try katsu curry or fried chicken wing @ Mr Samurai located at Perth City. It's good & cheap.
- Go King's Park for photo shoots
- Eat fish & chips @ Frementle & feed sea gulls with leftovers
- Take a day tour to the Pinnacles with sand boarding activity.
- Buy some rock candies for your friends at a candy shop in Perth City (sorry, can't remember the name!)
- Visit a fruit farm to buy super cheap fruits that are in season to taobao back Sg. If check in as luggage, must make sure you pack them properly.
- Perth Royal show is really fun if you are visiting during Sept to Oct period. see http://www.perthroyalshow.com.au/ I like the silly showbags!
- go Rottnest Island if you are into camping & cycling & sun bathing on a private beach,
- if you are traveling to Albany, you should visit The Gap, Natural Bridge & The Blowholes. Hold on to your hat while @ blowhole
(please fill up your petrol tank @ Perth City cos petrol gets more expensive when you travel further away from city!)
- Buy some Corica Apple Strudel (located @ Northbridge) back! Have to order in advance.
- Carousel is the best shopping mall (in my opinion)

While you are in OZ, try their soft drink, LIFT. I like it so much I taobao back. Silly I know.

DollieBride

Thanks for the recommendation. It's very useful. In your opinion, is it worth to travel all the way down to Albany? Where did you stay when at Albany? For the Corica Apple Strudel, can we just pop in the shop and buy (to eat it there, not for bringing back to SG).

Hi DollieBride

Is the Blowholes near to the Gap & Natural Bridge? Is it going to "blow" all the time or at certain timing?

Anyone knows how long does it take to go to Carousel from Perth City?

Steve,
Will be going to Sunshine Coast as well, din get a chance to go there on my last trip. 10 days in GC itself is too much liao
And we'll only be visiting MovieWorld & DreamWorld. SeaWorld nothing much. Will also be going to Paradise Country, Mt Tamborine, O'Reillys, Tropical Fruit World.. etc. Most of the activitites are actually planned with my gal in mind =)

And yes, the Corica apple strudels are really nice, better than Renaldo's but it's also sweeter cos there's more icing sugar & richer custard cream. So if u do not prefer sweet stuffs, than Renaldo will be a better choice. But since u're there.. u definitely must try it =)

Btw, there's actually quite a few restaurants in Northbridge area with a good mix of international cuisine. If u're sick of western food, u can prob try out Good Fortune Roast Duck House along William St (next to a Auto Master Carpk). We're not duck fans ourselves but a lot of my frens who likes duck told me it's really gd & a must-try if u're there

In Perth central, there's also a Miss Maud Hotel at Murray St which serves delicious buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner as well a wide range of cakes & pastries (www.missmaud.com.au). So if u love cakes & pies, dun miss it too

And if u're going Swan Valley, u shldn't miss The Margaret River Chocolate Factory, the Oggies Ice Cream cafe, where they sell delicious hand-made ice-cream as well as Edgecombe Bros- for their wines & unique home-made jams & marmalades, olive oils..etc. Oh yes, the passionfruit butter jam there is v. unique & really gd. U can't find it elsewhere. The muscat wine is also very cheap

Lastly, for fruit farm.. u can either visit Raeburn Orchard at Armadale for a fruit orchard tour or The Old Goldfields at Donnybrook since u driving south. Can handpick some fresh fruits in season for urselves. It's really fun =)

Coldwinter,
Carousel is only abt 20-25 mins mins drive away from Perth city, just along Albany Highway. It's not far

For the blowholes, they're best seen on days where the seas are rougher, cos tt's when they'll really blow! And don't stand too close to them too cos it's unpredictable & can cause a fright =)

Thanks claerwen... shall go Carousel then..hehe

Are the blowholes near to the gap n natural bridge?

Sunshine coast is nice, I love the Eumundi (not sure i've gotten the spelling correctly) Market, they have very interesting stuffs

Enjoy your trip, claerwen

Dolliebride,
For the candy shop, are u referring to Roc Candy at Muray St Mall? They actually have free candy tasting & u can also watch them making the candies by hand! Great place to be for kids..

And for those who have a sweet tooth, there's also a sweet shop cum candy factory called Candy Cow which sells many different varieties of fudge, candy, nougat & chocs..etc. They also offer free tasting & the fudges are really great, esp the double choc! They hv an outlet at Fremantle.. so do pop by if u have time to get some candies back =)

Coldwinter,
Yup.. u actually have to go dwn a path & some steps which is abt 800m away fm the carpark, ard 20mins walk. The blowholes are actually natural cracks or openings in the rock where powerful gulps of sea water will rocket skyhigh without any warning, so gotta be careful. Anyway, my advise is go there if u hv time, otherwise can give it a miss cos nothing much & u gotta walk quite a distance too

And yes, hv heard alot abt the Sunshine Coast too, esp. the Glasshouse Mountains & the hinterland regions.. the views there are really spectacular! That's y hv planned to go there for this trip since no chance to visit on our last one. U too.. enjoy ur trip ya!

so envious of u guys...going to OZ so soon..me wanted to wait for the wild flowers so must tahan till oct haiz..

Midas,
Haha, dun worry.. time passes by very quickly. I've been tahan-ning since last yr & now left 3 more wks to go. Think abt it.. it's really v. fast
6 mths later when go, it'll be my turn to envy u.. :p

Coldwinter, Albany is really a small town. There wasn't much to do so might as well visit blowhole since we had all the time. I stayed near the middleton beach area cos I went there for whale watching. You can go find the Dog Rock for photo taking.

While traveling back to Perth city, you may wish to visit The Sandalwood Factory & Deer-O-Dome farm (they let you feed the deer carrot from your mouth! keke) which is along Albany Highway.

Note sure if you can eat Corica apple strudels in the shop or not, most time I see people buy few boxes! But I think they should have sold in single pieces lah.

If you are visiting a winery which gives tour on winery production, be sure to wear a covered shoes! I didn't bring one the last time! =(

Clarwen, yes. That's the candy shop, Roc candy! Thank you!

coldwinter
Based on the feedback i gathered so far, Caversham Wildlife is much better than Perth Zoo. Some even say our Zoo is better than the one in Perth.

Coldwinter,
Caversham Wildlife is definitely much better. More interactive zones for kids as well like getting up close with the koalas & hand feeding them. My gal had a great time there..

U can also bring ur kids for the Dolphin Watch Tour at Rockingham (just 35 mins drive from Perth), where they'll get to see & interact with wild bottlenose dolphins. Will be an experience for them. It will be cold out at sea so need to wear more clothings & bring along jackets as well. And yes, u have to pre-book too.

And since u're driving south, u can also pop by the famous Busselton Jetty which extends 2km out into the Indian Ocean. There's an underwater observatory at the end where u get to see different species of marine life deep down in the sea below. Kids will love it. The sunset there is also incredible =)

Caversham n Rockingham is already in my itinerary liao...cant wait for oct to come
wonder if they'll allow me to carry a koala?

midas,
I read from a guide that says that cohunu wildlife park is the only park in WA that allows koala cuddling.

Claerwen

Thanks, went to Busselton last year.. my kids love that. The train broke down and we have to walk the long stretch to underwater observatory, it's was quite an experience for us... saw some dolpins on our way back.

I will be going to perth next week and I have not book any hotel. Would appreciate if anyone could recommend me some nice hotels?
And of coz nice places to go for 4 days... it is a short trip so if you recommend me the MUST go places to see and shop will be perfect!!
thanks alot.

May I ask how long is the flight from Sg to Perth? Is Perth suitable for young 1-year-old child?

We're planning of F&E. Any kind souls willing to share itinerary? Tks very much.

Also I'm bring along my parents and my 1-yr old child, thus total 6 adults and 1 child, service apt will be good (right?). Any reco to service apts? Tks.

Hi Mei,

the flight to Perth is 5 hrs.

it is a cooling weather to be there in June as it is approaching winter so it may be a bit colder..like an average temp of abt 15 degrees.

In perth, there are any service apartments available. You can look for those 3 rm apartment for your whole family.
How many days do you intend to be there? I can reccomend some nice places to go as I was there like 3 times cos my fiance is studying there.

hi belinda, wow thanks!! i need help so much. i haven decided where to go cos' i totally lost. was think of spending around 7 days there. Bringing my parents and my 1-year old girl. Could you reco? or do you have any itinerary which i can make reference too??

btw, ur fiance is still studying in Perth? i dun even know the maps in Perth so i dun know exactly which svc apt is good. u see, i am so lost. like blur sotong.

Hi chocco, are you planning F&E? when? can share your itinerary? I'm planning to but dun know where/how to start planning. Can help? tks

hi belinda, tks very much for ur help.

thks belinda...

can i check with u wat r the cheap n gd food places to hv our meals? and wat is the bill size like per meal per pax?

Am interested in the itinery that belinda has suggested. Can Pm me..mei, when u back fm yr trip can share share with me yr itinery? cos i also bringing my 1 yr old plus girl to perth this cming sept. thks

Hi Midas

Sorry...hope you still find useful to know where to eat...

basically the food there is ave abt A$7 to A$8 per pax for simple meals..

If you want Chinese food, you can go North Bridge, in Perth City. It is like their Chinatown.

A must eat there is fish and chips. At Fremantle, Killneys. it is very good.

You can also have breakfast at Kings Park, very nice place. Breakfast in the park with greenery. But the price will be about $15 onwards.

Thanks Belinda

u r juz on time...me doing budgeting for perth now...hv allocated AUD8 per meal hee..so glad tat the AUD has weaken now..

Went Perth last month (13 to 20/7).
Self drive. Quite a chilly weather.

13-15/7 in city. 16-18/7 in Margaret River (due to winter, the vineyards look abit bleak), then back to city again.