Park Royal at Kitchener Rd

Ya... their bridal suite is cosy with nice deco... Everything is SUPER new! Another plus point of the hotel is that they have Anniversary Dinner as part of the wedding package which most of the other hotels do not have it... my hubby & I r looking forward to our 1st yr anniversary... back to the place we held our wedding... heehee

Waiver of corkage charge for all duty-paid hard liquor,
excluding beer, wine, white spirits and champagne

actually they normally only waive hard liquor..

so must ask for waiver of red wine..

hi stacey thanks! how come this hotel is not very popular? any idea? seems like the package sounds not bad. weekend package is 668 nett right. got any pics of the venue? thanks!

cos location in little india..

but package quite comprehensive n price is not very ex..

if weekdays even cheaper..

no pics but e website got some.. ballroom ceiling is not high..

saw the comments here, seems like it will be a wise choice to take up.. any ideas when is their next wedding show?? Thanks..

Today I just spoke to May. Let what some of you had said, she is very friendly. I have even made an appt with her to go down to view the grand ballroom.

I think last yr their wedding show is in may..

their website got photo of banquet.. but not much..

wedding theme got garden, chinese etc..

but this yr got other themes but haven't choose yet..

ballroom is normal without high ceiling..

all got pros n cons.. we go for e food..

The person who served us was Ganesan. He's actually quite ok but everything also "no problem, i'll check and get back to you". Maybe they're too experience with all the wedding banquets, that's y always the "take it easy" mode.

After looking through the posts, i noticed that the package offered were standard. One or two free perks if you know what to bargain for.

Like us, we booked 40 tables last year for this Sep but we do not have the free bottle of red wine per table like Stacey. We got another room (other than bridal suite) for our helpers for 1 night free. I believe there is a budget in what additional perks they can give. Think Stacey's deal is still better.

At the end of it, it depends on your wedding budget and how comfortable you are with the environment. So far, for hotel rates, this should be one of the cheaper one at less than $700 nett for a 9-course weekend dinner plus free flow of beer. I'm not sure if they had revised their rates. We've checked some better restaurants, the price works out to almost the same so we decided to go for this.

My suggestion is... just look around for more before committing. Afterall, both must be comfortable with the place and price.

For us, we only find that the ballroom is not as fantastic due to low ceiling. Other than that, we're ok.

Actually May also offered us e standard package when we discuss..

but when they offer e contract to us, a lot of extra perks are included like red wine per table, waiver of red wine corkage, day room, LCD projector etc..

Think watever u need, pls ask for it..

we are fine wi e price n food so e location n ballroom are compromised..

go for the food means their food is good?

ermmmmm less than 700 nett for 9 coruse...u mean weekday? coz i udnerstand weekend already is 818 nett liao.

food is good

parkroyal @ ktichener is 588 on mon to thur, 698 fri to sun

parkroyal @ beach is 728 on mon to thur, 828 for fri to sun

Thanks Stacey..!

Should i go for the wedding show or i book appt with them to discuss?? pls advise..

How much deposit is required?

if u go during e wedding show then can't change e dishes..

we changed some of e dishes so didn't book during e wedding show..

last yr wedding show's perk is red wine per table so even though we didn't book during wedding show, they also gave us red wine per table..

$3k deposit required..

i had quite an experience attending a wedding dinner at a hotel @ Kitche*er Rd recently. My intent's not to discourage anyone from taking up the package, but perhaps can discuss with the co-ordinators during your meeting over these concerns.

Bads:
1) Hygiene -- It was probably a busy evening, so lazy susan of table was wiped with a semi-dirty cloth after 2nd dish (i.e. Shark's Fin soup). The server made it even dirtier as the soup stains was all smeared over the lazy susan after the wipe. A second lady came back to wipe after 4th or 5th dish. It was much better after that.

2) Servers -- I hope it was only my table that had such service from the servers, who:
1) poured beer into the glass till the bubbles overflowed onto the table cloth;
2) refilled a fellow table guest's red wine glass from another red wine glass, claiming that it was left untouched (after she cleared it off another table which guests had left before the last dish);
3) was pushy and kept shoving food onto guests plates despite us rejecting it;
4) who picked up MY chopsticks and started picking up the prawn shells on the table onto my plate, and went on using that same pair of chopsticks to clear the rest of the shells on the same table, I guess it was alright as she eventually came back with a new set of chopsticks (i think.) perhaps could have asked me first?

3) TRAFFIC JAMS! -- Being located next to Mustaf* Centre, the traffic on weekends around the area is already bad (single lane, single direction). And long waits to turn out to the main road do somehow made the already-eventful evening more frustrating. We were stuck in the traffic jam for about 20 minutes. Dinner ended at 10.50 or so, reached home close to midnight, despite us staying half an hour drive away from the hotel.

Goods:
1) Food was of good portions and quality. The proached prawns were really good.

2) Toilets were clean and spacious. Newly done up.

3) Servers prompt with service (think 1 or 2 servers to 1 table).

4) Food was served up really fast. One dish right after another.

5) Sufficient and cheap parking (perhaps only 1 wedding on that night?)which costs 2plus on Sat night.

I hope I've not done any damages to your decisions on this hotel. Perhaps it's really an one-off event that such incidents happened. Just do casually mention these points to your co-ord when you're discussing over details for the dinner.

Thanks for e advice! Will remind my coordinator about them!

but also scared of traffic jams cos e day after my wedding is deepavali..

on deepavali, muz be many ppl.
i heard May & June, many indians, coz their holiday, and kitchener is their Number 1 choice =_=
i also just signed up with kitchener last mth.
the prices went up during the wedding show this May lo...
no more min $588 for weekdays already.
i took weekdays, @ $608

We booked last year then receive news on deepavali changed to 17th oct 09..

wat to do..

$608 for weekday and how much for weekend? $688?

sure increase prices.. but $20 increase better than $50 increase..

when's ur wedding?

8 course menu for weekday is $608, weekend is $688.
9 course menu for weekday is $688, weekend is $738.
after your post saying she resign, my friend called to check..ya, she left abt 2 weeks..

Jass, oic.. increase $20 to $40..

We ask Ganesan for a sample of e 2 kinds of wedding cards, red n pink. but he say he will mail it to us n email us e card inserts sample.

Good Service!

ohh...
red n pink ah..i tot that time i saw was red n the other one is white..not sure.ahha.
how about the wedding favour? i nv got to see the real thing tat day, as May says will change next year.

i also thot it's red n cream..

favours wise last yr i heard got key chain, shot glass, cakes, chocolates etc..

this year dunno yet.. choose liao then update u..

when's ur wedding?

my AD is on 29 Jun 10.
this thread seems very quiet hor..
i got a fren's sister getting married on Oct tis year too. duno is 4 Oct...not sure.

I had not tried their food yet, but my fren whom her sister getting married same mth as you, they went for food tasting on las mth, feedback was...the food is gd, positive comment from her lo...she's fussy in food de lo...
& my fren intro mi to this hotel ma..she last year went to eat with her collegues, also positive comments lo..tats y she recommend mi here.
saw u r getting the garden theme! i like the bird cage too..but tatime i heard May says, they r going to take down garden theme..

i went to see the bridal suite, nice too..better than wat i expected :p

ur fren's sis went for food tasting very early hor..

but glad to hear from u that e food is really good..

i haven't chose e theme yet..

most prob not going for garden theme.. but they also going to take it down..

my EG is red so not going for red theme..

Eh, heard there's this new lady there named Daisy... Very nice lady, heard she's from Shangri-La last time!

Actually I find although the ballroom has pillars & not so high ceiling, it's very value for money leh!! The food's good!! Package quite cheap some more.... Cos I was choosing btw this & Carlton but found Carlton's food sucky & pillars even broader than parkroyal's one so blocked off alot guests sitting near the back! 2 thumbs up for parkroyal!

hello all,

i've shortlisted this hotel for my banquet. =) glad to hear that the food is noce. personally i've tried the food and hai xiang. yumzz.. but that was like last year.

had made appt with ganesan to view the wedding setup this sun. =)

stacey, ur wedding getting nearer, excited anot?

Hie curry

how's e wedding setup?

i will go for food tasting n chose the theme, favour at e same time..

most prob towards end of this mth..

hello stacey,

the setup wasn't complete yet. only saw the setup on the tables, backdrop n fresh flowers stands not up yet. the ambience was quite good. liked the foyer which was exclusive to the wedding couple.

me and htb liked the plc, will most likely take up the plc. =)
keep me updated on the food tasting k??

stacey,

went for food tasting ald?

i'm going down today again, want to discuss further on the package and also to view the bridal room. =)

oh ya Stacey..
how the food tasting?

so, for the invitation, u pick red or cream? And for the wedding favor?

Curry n Jass, my food tasting next wed..

Curry, How's e discussion on e package and bridal room?

I viewed e bridal room on level 14..

Jass, my AD is on 16th Oct 09 Friday, 1 day before Deepavali..

jas,
my AD is on 18 Sep 10. what additional perks did u manage to nego?

stacey,
paid the deposit ytd le. yesh! happy! managed to nego for 1 free wine per table and waiver of wine corkage. happy x2! hahaa..
the room that i viewed was on 20th floor. i can't say it's fantastic but it's good enough. not sure if the suite is the same on level 14 and 20.

ohh...Stacey, update us on the food tasting ya...it should be great

So, how's your preparation towards your AD so far

Curry, i signed up on their wedding show, so also entitled for 1 red wine per confirmed tables. The rest more or less the same. Cant remember, the documents at home.
Oh ya, compl. CARPARK!!!

Heard the 20th level suite is a bigger suite. They wil try to give out 14th floor 1st, if no rooms, den can take 20th floor.