Orchard Parade Hotel - Tung Lok Classic

pammy

hi jazz,

i intend to take bluebay too. as i shortlisted bluebay as one of my top choices and besides i heard that there is a promotion going on, wanted to check it out, but i wanted to take in singapore as it will be meaningful for both of us(hubby and me). many beautiful memories shared. hee.

taiwan ps is oso not bad as i have been to taiwan before and it is very gorgeous in terms of scenery especially there is floral exhibition in taipei, but not sure whether need to pay for entrance fee if we wanna do ps there.

hee, for my case, i tot of asking my uncle to be VG for my AD, save money. why don't u ask your family members or friends to be VG, i'm sure they are willing to help u.

fawngal

Hi jazz n pammy
my hubby didnt want to trouble our friends so we didnt ask them. I took up whitelink..cuz my frenz used them b4..plus we didnt really search around for other bs..price was below $3k which was quite affordable.
Hard to go overseas for shoot cuz my htb is studying part time,so its v hard to know his sch schedule.

Im really excited abt the photoshoot!! Hv u applied for ur lovenest? Lol..getting sidetracked..

jasangelic

pammy:
i took up bluebay cos one of the forum mates recommended and my colick took hers with them as well. the photos are nice!! =D and ive met up with the ppl there. they are super friendly and easy going. ha! prolly u can check out if there's any wedding fair and they are participating. can get better perks @ the shows. heex. actually taking shoots in sg is nice too!! i dint knoe sg had very iconic areas for shoots until my friends went for theirs. LOL! silly me. haha!

as for the tw PS, im not sure where i wanna go for shoots yet. prolly going for the sakura during feb/mar. should be the timing whereby the exhibition is on. ya! @ tw, to take shoots @ some areas, we gotta pay for the entrance fees. heh. gonna do research for that soon.

hmm VG wise.. tis true. we are oso thinking if we should ask our friends/relatives to help out. but we're kinda worried about the outcome. eg. unstable videos. have to do some budgeting before we decide. =)

fawn:
heh. whens ur shoot?! i can feel ur excitement as well! aha! yeah! less than 3k is considered cheap already. now the local BS all charging @ 4k+.

eh. have yet to apply for a lovenest so far. heh.

pammy

hi fawn and jazz,

oh my gosh, how did u bargain from whitelink? it is real cheap. i tink i need to learn from u. that time when i went to whitelink bs, they quote me 3k+. they do not want to give me below 3k. sob sob. i actually ask the marina square there. i still considering bluebay or bridal zone. i have not gone to bluebay shop to see yet, maybe this coming weekend. bridal zone seems like not that popular coz the thread for that bs is not active now. hmmm....

oh my gosh, fawn, i can feel your excitement as well!! hee. when is it when is it? =)

jazz, i tink maybe you can ask your coordinator any recommended location for tw ps. i am sure they know alot coz i think they are from taiwan. yesterday when i try to email them for the full package (PS in singapore and AD) in english, they reply me in chinese and their chinese characters are not those simple chinese of what we learn in singapore. it is more like chim chinese, therefore i believe they are from taiwan.

oh i have applied for my lovenest. hee. BTO woodland dew. =D

fawngal

Hi jazz and pammy,

actually i went to the bridal fair to book for my BS package. Initially we did not intend to book but they sat us down and talked to us. we were really not prepared at all so we kept saying we don't want, we don't want. So they add the perks and reduced the price. Even after this, we still didn't want cuz we wanted to secure the banquet first. Then they further reduce the price and add some more photos...until we find it good...so we signed..
but of cuz, the perks may not be really that fantastic..but just that it is reasonable since it is less than $3k..haha..plus my friends used it before, so somehow..there is really a feedback. .

we havent really decide on the location of the photoshoot yet but prob henderson waves..cuz we went there for our first date..LOL

jazz: where did your friends go to for their ps? not sure what other places are good too.

Another thing is...i hope everything goes smoothly during my AD..haha..and hope no rain during PS..

jasangelic

pammy:
yep. im gonna do research for that and seek their advice as to which part of taiwan is good for shoots. haha! they have a series of routes for shoots actually. and i guess its more on what i wanna take with. =)

ya!! i agree with u on the part whereby they replied in traditional chinese. LOL! the person whom i signed my package with is a taiwanese too!! probably need to take some time to register what that particular word was! haaz!

eh. woodlands! near me! haha! =D we wanted to apply for that oso but end up we dint cos we wanted a home nearer to town. =)

fawn:
my pals went places like fullerton (at night esp. the lights are superb!), punggol park, alexandra park, botanic gardens, hort park (highly recommended - the area where the carpark is), the southern ridges (henderson wave, etc). some even went to changi airport for shoots~ haha!

sometimes it depends on what theme u wan to have. if u wan traditional themes, you can try places like chinatown,etc. yep. =)

no worries fawn! im sure we all will have a great wedding! =) even if it rains. (something outta our control)

pammy

hi fawn and jazz,

This is what i have copy and paste from other threads. hee.

There are different themes for PS:
1. Classical Theme (then maybe go to hotels with grand piano, etc)
2. Chinese theme (consider temple, restaurants like Grand Shanghai)
3. Playful theme (consider having some props like loose rose petals so can throw, balloons, bubbles, ur own softtoys, etc)
4. English Vintage theme (consider gg to old shophouses, railway ,colonial buildings, coffee club at Isetan Scotts not bad too, etc)
5. Modern theme (CBD, or u can source which office buildings design u like, go there and take)
6. Eco Theme (go to parks,zoo, take greenery)

Some other places:
Punggol Lalang Field
Punggol Beach
Alexandra Colonial Style Bungalows
Sentosa
Changi Beach
Thian Hock Keng Temple
Botanical Gardens
Tanjong Pagar Railway
Asian Civilization Museum
National Museum
CBD Area
Shophouses at Telok Ayer/ Neil Road
Fullerton Area
Clarke Quay
Boat Quay
Vivocity (some pple go to that big BOOKSTORE PAGE ONE)
Chijmes
Mount Faber
Fort Canning Park
Kent Ridge Park
Labrador Park
East Coast Park
Changi Boardwalk((quite a nice place, with those kelong sliths and yacht)
Pulau Ubin
Jurong Bird Park
Singapore Zoo
Singapore Sci Centre
Dempsy Hill
Pub venues especially asian lunar bar (i particularly like that)
Restaurant/Cafe venues [Ben and Jerry/ those rest in Central (with nice layout)]
Airport Terminal
Hort Park
Universal Studio (expensive entrance fee)

Some people even went to super market, showing that the bride in the pushing cart and the groom pushing her. this is what i have heard of.

oh my gosh, i tink we have side-tracked alot. hee. hope the other readers won't mind. =p

fawngal

wow! so many ideas! thanks pammy! first..i have to go on diet..if i fail to do so...make sure my 'bye bye' arms are photoshopped.

pammy

hi jazz and fawn,

no problem. hee. same here fawn, my arms are very big, wanna go on diet but always unsuccessful. sob sob.

pammy

hi fawn and jazz,

can i ask you something? it is alittle off the topic, but i really quite blur in this.

i actually sign up bridal zone for my wedding package, but may i know when will be my photoshoot if my actual day is 20 nov 2011? how many months before my AD?

jasangelic

pammy,

i guess prolly you can go for your shoots within 6-8 mths before your AD. so ur ad is nov, prolly u can go shoots @ apr/may 2011. =)

pammy

hi jazz,

thanks. i better plan ahead 1st coz scare may not have time to receive my album on time. hee. thank you jazz!

what about you? any plans ahead. oh my gosh, i tink i kiasu a little coz i wanna buy my wedding shoes too. do you know where can i find a nice one?

fawngal

Hi jazz and pammy

sorry, was out of SG..thus the late reply..
wow...6-8 months is soon for me! No time to diet already. LOL
I accompanied my friend to Anna Nuchi, they specialise in wedding shoes - those bling bling and silver shoes. U can go there and have a look. They have outlets at Far East, Orchard Central and some others which I don't quite remember. They range about $80-$100+..
otherwise, you can see if you have in mind other places which sell affordable shoes. but prob you want to choose your wedding gowns first so that you know what kind of shoes to go with? But of course, you can go have a look and see if you like their designs.

jasangelic

pammy:
no prob! =) im also quite worried that i might not have enough time thou. esp when shit happens, like eg if you need to do some amendments and all.

so far im planning for one of my shoots. meanwhile gonna go on diet. LOL! yea i agree wif fawn. can try anna nuchi. their heels are nice! =)

pammy

hi fawn and jazz,

thank you for the tips. i totally forget that i have to match with my gowns. haha. then maybe i DIY my ang bao box 1st. hee. do you know where to get the material and box with slit hole in the middle. coz i know there are some in daiso but not quite sure whether the box has a slit hole on it. any recommendation?

oh my gosh! very very off topic. oops! =p

fawngal

Hi Pammy
im not sure of how to go about doing the ang bao box. Not sure if you should cut the slit yourself? That's what my friend did. Anyway, feel free to email me at [email protected] cuz I seldom logon here. Easier to reply through emails.

jasangelic

pammy and fawn:
i tot of using the A4 copier paper box, wrapped with the wedding wrapping paper and decor them. i did that for my bro's wedding thou. LOL!

btw i wont be taking orchard parade already. cos i've changed my wedding date to this yr and OP is not available for me. =(

edaza

hey i was looking at their website and saw the wedding packages. the prices in the restaurant n ballroom wont have any differences right? hows the ballroom?

I understand that talks here are on banquet, but anyone had or been to ROM @ Orchard Parade hotel (Tunglok Classics)? I would appreciate comments. Thanks!

fawngal

Hi Lynnie
I havent seen the rooms but i checked with them on the function room to hold the ROM n its $750 from 5pm onwards, which i think its not worth it.

fawngal

Hi lynnie
Yes. I am holding my banquet there. I called abt 1mth ago to check on the function room. Actually i had my rom already but my hubby's church needs to hv a solemnization too do dats y im asked them.
Eric from tunglok told me brcause they are just a tenant in OPC so they cant gv us complimentary function room. Plus the ballroom is only opened to us at 7pm cuz yhere's another function dat day.
He suggests we do it in our suite which can hold up to 20 pax.

tamiko

hi BTB, has anyone seen their bridal suite? which category is that? isst very old cos i see the htl from outside, it looks v old? hahaha..

jacindasoh

Interested to see some photos of the AD, any photos to share? Am planning for my AD to be in Oct 2012 =)

Many thanks =)

waterbird

Hi all (",)

I have a banquet package to let go at Tung Lok Classics at Orchard Parade Hotel, the date is nice-looking 12.08.12 (12 Aug 2012, Sunday). It's over the weekend of National Day, and is the 25th day of 6th month on the lunar calendar.

You can discuss your package afresh with Tung Lok Classics. Details of their packages can be found here --> http://www.tunglokevents.com/banquets/weddings/tung-lok-classics-orchard/ (Click on left bar for "Menu"). Please note that the date is fixed and cannot be changed.

I chose this place because of Tung Lok's reputation for excellent food. Also, for their $808 menu, you can already get whole abalones (from what I know this is very rare).

Our booking was for the Antica ballroom, which is cosy and in cream colour scheme. If you prefer the restaurant, it should be alright unless it has been booked. Food is served from the same Tung Lok kitchen.

The coordinator has been really professional and forthcoming when dealing with our requests. We wanted to upgrade certain items in our menu, and he advised us to wait until food tasting. I thought that was very sound advice

I've paid the deposit of $2140 and if you could take over, I'm willing to get back less. The reason for letting go is that our plans have changed drastically and so it's not suitable anymore. Please email me at [email protected]. I'd be happy to answer any queries. Thank you!

kelvin_tec

I need to Let Go the Dinner Banquet at Orchard Parade Hotel on 12 Feb 12 due to personal reason. The ballroom can accomodate between 25-27 tables and the price per table is about 700++.

Pls contact me if you are interested to take over this date. My mobile phone is 96851040. Thanks.

Kelvin

waterbird

Hi Adeline, my date cannot be changed to March. Maybe you want to contact Joanna (her post copied below):

Hi I have a banquet to let go Tung Lok classics orchard parade hotel. Price is nego. 700+ per table. Auspicious date 24/3/12 Sat. 25 tables + 2 reserves. Let me know if interested. Email is [email protected]

huishan189

I've a package with Tung Lok Classics to let go too. Our intended date is 2.3.2013 which is a nice looking date. Otherwise, the coordiner Eric says also ok to change to later date if required. Different packages available from $688 - $788. Paid deposit of $2140 but willing to get back less. It's at Antica Ballroom which can hold 25-27 tables.

The reason for letting go is that we have different criteria now, as we actually booked it in 2011.

Pls PM me for details. Thanks!

melina_me

Hi Hui Shan,

I'm interested in the Tung Lok Classics. But i can't PM u, it states "Sorry, but the user you have selected does not accept private messages".
Can u email me ur package details to [email protected]