Marina Mandarin Singapore

Heehee MIA again....

Can i check with you all, when u all start to look for JP ah? Cos my AD is on Oct...Dunno when to start..as feedback fr ppl that if you engage too earli, the JP might forgot or blah blah blah ...

Another thing is that,roughly how much u all engage the actual day photographer? What range & they give you what huh?... Realli lost ley cos dunno who is good.Understand that you must 1st like the style of the photographer & the rest not important but as a guy like me, looking @ the sites they provide, of cos they sure put the BEST work one lor ... Who will put lousy one...
haiZ....

Hi Woodpecker1981,

Thks for your advise.... but still searching for her shoe heehee no choice ley.... need silver color one haiZ...

Ya forgot to say to you all

HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!!! Have a great Year Ahead !!

Hi mrsong7733,

U can try dropping them a email & ask for the Wedding packages lor.. That what i did...

I sent lots of email out to the hotels & resturants

Hi Kiang,

Fyi, Iasked my coordinator recently, subtely hinting her asking her for credits. But she say No leh..i tried more than once haa

So dun think it applies to all.Perhaps diff couples w diff deals will have diff perks too loh.

me official BTB of MM.

ta da!
and i didnt ask abt the room service credit.
oh well...
maybe on the AD (IF i can remember, then i'll ask)

Hi all, my first time here.
Will be planning my wedding in Aug but have not found any hotels yet. Was thinking of having my ROM cum dinner at marina mandarin coz I saw lotsa good comments on the poolside thingy. Anyone will be kind enuf to share their tots n experience wif me? Any idea how much budget to expect?

Oh yeah, one worrying thing. What r my chances of pulling off a wedding by Aug this yr? Coz I see so many of you booking it at least 1 yr b4. Getting a bit stress now.

nec,
wah....u do have a great idea, for me i actually wanted to serve cupcakes or pastries on top of d nuts provided but do not know whether it's feasible on a fri nite cos most ppl might b late
as for d DJ, unless u wana put him at 1 corner near d stage, if not d stage is a little small to accomodate d system...d sound system shd b ok but im not too sure if it's wat u want, mayb betetr to chk out wif wendy

kodomo concert,
it's ok, dun worry abt it...
thanks for d reassurance!

kiang,
happy new yr to u too! i got my JP last yr actually....in sep 2007 cos he's smone i know n he's a trustworthy person so im assured dat he wont 4get...but i'll meet up wif him again b4 my AD in Oct

as for d $100 credit, it's shared by woodpecker1981 who happened to share d same BS as me...i didnt go n chk if i got it under my contract...perhaps i shd do so when i get home later :P

hello babes.

saw another couple signing up on sunday too...wonder if it's anyone here? :D

perks wise, how can i ask for too much?
i've only 20 tables...:P
but i did get LCD free and change coordinators room to 2nd night of bridal suite.
so, mostly happy.
hee...

oh, i dunno how to not make pple come late.
me gonna call each one and tell them come by 7.30pm, else no cake for you to eat.
lol.
besides, that's the only time i can walk around in my wedding gown (and thus, show off the gown)
after that, i'll be in a short dress liao...so un-glam!!! what to do, wanna dance, cannot haio lor.
lol..

irene,
best to start booking NOW.
i also started quite late and was so kan cheong alos...quite diff to find weekend dates. weekdays still ok.

Nec, thanks for ur reply.

Sigh. Have not found a date yet, that's why haven't book the place yet. So stress. How long did you take to find and decide on your dinner venue? U planning a dance floor?? In MM? They have Live Bands too?

Sorry, so much question...

nec,
oh mine...dat's v cool, short dress....dat's a wonderful idea....wont restrict ur movement n oso u can have lotsa fun

i dun think d elders in my family will alow me to have a dance floor n DJ, guz they r more conservative n prefer a traditional sit down dinner wif yam-sengs wif i dread

Just wondering is there a difference between viewing the ballroom during a wedding show and viewing it on normal days (as in just make appointment with the co-ordinate to view? Will the ballroom be deco with theme or something like that for the show?

hi janet,
i'll b using d grand ballrm, only attended d wedding show there but i've attended my fren's wedding at d vanda ballrm, it's gd
so i guz grand ballrm shd b fine too

i saw the set up of the grand ballroom for a wedding and also attended another wedding there...
looks nice and GRAND. haha...
the reception area is private, so that's good and high ceiling, pillarless, ok lights (not fantastic chandeliers but acceptable)

Hi Winnie, there are certain things that needs top up. Think the florist will do up more elaborately. The plates are bigger, used only for VIP tables. The theme is generally the same. Just more elaborate on wedding show. OVerall abt the same.... But is good u pop by to see the different themes for actual weddings so you can manage ur expectations. how u signed with MM ? When s ur intended big day ? Gotta try to book earlier...

Hi Nec, I have some differing views. heehe... To me, the ceiling at grandballroom is not high
I have seen higher ceiling. Certainly looks nicer. BUT, we like the grand chandeliers. Not many hotel have such large chandeliers. It makes the place looks grand.

haha...wendy, ok.

i didnt fancy the lights in the grand ball room...preferred those in HIPV, intercon or orchard hotel even. :P

but, i'm not taking the grand ballroom!! haha...so much for all my opinions.
i'm taking the even less high ceiling, vanda.

as long as i get my dance floor!!!!
haha..

We're also considering the Vanda ballroom. Infact we went to take a peek last sat on our own and happened that there's a wedding dinner. Hee.. we didnt went in, just loitering outside the ballroom.

The ballroom really look quite cosy (from outside). The reception area is private and may be quite crampy for couples who does not intend to open up the ballroom before the dinner. Hee.. but this is not one of my concerns as I don't intend to keep them standing outside.

The aisle is indeed quite short, but we're ok with it as we had a long aisle for our rom already. Hee...

Just to check with u all, what are the usual perks that we can asked for during our negotiation? Im quite clueless on this. Can anyone share with me?

(Ps: my email is [email protected] incase its not convenient to share online.)

Hi, so which is a bigger ballroom? Vanda or grand ballroom? I am also consider MM and need a small dance floor + 35 tables. Thanks!

Dearest all,

I will be taking up Vanda Ballroom for 2009 Jan(will be signing up for this coming weekend)!!! Haha..so happy that we will be holding our wedding there. We will be taking 25+ tables... but i still prefer the high ceilings of the grand ballroom leh.. but of cos Vanda is nice and cosy lah
But the isle is kinda short leh..kaka.. good for "Gan Jiong" couples..

Have heard that MM food is great! anyone tried??

Also, what are the perks that we can ask for from the coordinator before signing huh?

care to advise/PM me??

Million thanks!!

hi carrine
d grand ballrm on level 1 is d bigger ballrm which can accomodate up to 50 tables...if u r toking abt sats, d min. requirement is 40 tables, unless u dun mind fri or sat which they allow to take dat ballrm wif 35 tables

kuwie,
i attended my fren's wedding at MM, d food is yummy n hot

Hi MM Brides,

Could I check did you manage to break even loss or gain for the banquet hold at MM? Its a weekday or weekend banquet and the cost of per table?

anyone know have mm change the wedding cards?..coz last time i saw there are only 2..one is red the other is green if im not wrong..so for gals that are marrying these few months..do the mm provide you gals with more choices or still the same huh?

hey...

i went to see the grand ballroom at MM but thought the match in was quite short. We asked the co-ordinator if we could have the match in longer but she mentioned that the stage can not be shifted due to the backgroup.

Any one has tried to shift the stage in the MM grand ballroom?

tink for the 2 ballrooms that mm have, the march in is quite short due to the rectangluar shape of the ballroom..have seen others hotel ballroom whereby their stage can be moved, hence it can create a longer march in..=)

Mrs Tan,

U are a offical BTB for MM? I attended a wedding last night at hill top and te match in is very long...

But realise the ppl stop clapping half way they were matching in so a bot weird... Probably that's the benefit of long match-in...

Have anyone went to any MM weddings b4? How's the food?

Hi Ladies, yes, the aisle in both ballrooms are short. As what Janet has mentioned, I have also encountered clapping soften after half of the the march in. Initially I prefer long march in as well. But cos my church aisle is pretty long, so I think its ok to have a shorter march in for dinner...

Sunflower gal, its impossible to shift the backdrop for MM. What I can suggest is you tilt the shape of the ballroom to face the side of the room instead, mmnn.. u understand what I mean ? you come in from the entrance furthest from the washroom, and walk through the entire ballroom sectionally. Meaning to lay the carpet from horizontally instead. BUT BUt BUt, the backdrop will be in the centre, and I do not noe how they can transport the backdrop to the far end... You guest will see the slides at their right sides then... not sure if you understand what I mean..heehee..

Mrs tan,

we haven't decide yet... cos we are looking at GCW and Regent as well..

My hubby prefer MM but i prefer Regent or GCW...

Anyone been to the wedding show? I think the food is quite good with nice ambience
Now tempted to sign up with them! Only waiting for 2009 rates to be out...

Hi ll,

*Wave* You were also at the wedding show? Me too...I dont know if you remembered...You commented that eustomas are nice in the other thread....Erm in the folder that MM gave...the 2009 package rates are stated in there....

Hi Mich..... the 2009 rates are out?? I didnt see any 2009 packages rate there.... Did i missed out anything? I only saw the lunch package for 2008,and also one of the coordinator who showed me the vanda ballroom say that they are only settling bookings for 2008. Can you share the lunch 2009 package with me?

The 2009 package is out liao and inside the folder. I talked to my coordinator but they are not willing to throw in so many perks for 2009 as they have not decided on the perks yet. Also in April 08 there will be another bridal show for 09 weddings.

Hi ll,

My apologies dearie....Didnt know you were referring to lunch package....Erm the 2009 package rates are for dinner only...hence you might need to call up and ask for the 2009 rates for lunch....It shld be an increase of $50 I think....

hi mich, sure no problem. Haha, i guess i would need to wait till April wedding show to book for 2009 in order to get the perks! Haha, i think its more worth it. Since my wedding is in Oct 09,should not have any problem to get the date that i want..i hope so.

all along my coordinator was Wendy Lou...abt 2 days ago i received the sample wedding invitation cards by mail & in the envelope was a name card showing Wendy Ng instead? how come there's a change of coordinator? anybody has a change of coordinator in between? y issit so?

Hihi all,

We cant make it for the wedding show on sat. But MM emailed their 2009 package to us. So we're wondering what are the standard perks given during the wedding show on 12 Jan.

Did anyone took photo of the setup? We're currently waiting for the dates from our geomancer which might be out this week.

Pls share any info/ observations from the wedding show.

Hi jelly_bean,

Nope they didnt give $$ discount... only for perks if u book for wedding in 2008...

anyone booking for 09.. wat dates are u gals looking at?