Marina Mandarin Singapore

hi woodpecker1981,
hi hi, so glad to see u here, im so glad to see u here to drop some nice feedback on MM, im so relieved when i hear tis
guz i shd b in gd hands :P hope dat i can get d credit too, btw it was not stated in d contract rite? :P

meiling,
who's your coordinator?

the nice lady who met me yesterday was wendy...
she's so easy to chat with...even showed me her kids pics...
mmm...i'm a real sucker for pple who treat me like a friend...will sign up even if not my first choice...:P

hi nec,
my coordinator is wendy as well
yah dat's y i signed up wif her after our 1st meet-up....gd gd, nxt time we can both kajiao her nxt yr :P

Hi Hi..

sorry MIA-ed again. v bz wif work also. sigh... i guess everyting will crop up suddenly when u abt to go on leave. =(

OH, wanted to ask u gals. i heard my coll telling me the servers dance their way in for their first course presentation? he was commenting its v orbiang. i dunno if they just changed it this yr but i do rem Wendy telling me tat if i dun provide my own first course presentation music, they will use the "cha cha" wo... anyone seen it before?

yoyo...
that's very funny woh, to have them dance in with a cha-cha...
wonder if wendy has a video clip for us to watch...i'm sure i'll laugh and laugh...

if we give them a waltz tune, can they waltz in? or if we give rock n roll?
heheeh...i'm terribly tickled by their dancing...

hi yoyo n nec,
omg....better dun cha cha in else i'll b d 1st one to laff my head off :P
think i better provide my own music, a more grand pc rather than cha cha cos it seems so obiang :P

hahaha... nec, u v cute..hahah..so if we give them rap music they start to do street dancing... i wonder wat will become of our first dish..hahah...

so noone has seen it yet hor? i tink i better check with Wendy or at least get my bf to tell the banquet manager not to cha cha.. save their energy la. =P

Hi ladies, I think dancing in is something different and more joyous occassion. TO me personally, I prefer something different. They serve nomal march in as well. I have been to the wedding dinners there, and they serve it marching in properly, no dance. Dancing in is a special request, not the norm. If you dun like, then dun request

yoyo,
yah u better chk it out cos d one i saw was d presentation wif d song "sway" at my fren's wedding dinner at MM, i cant figure out if it's a cha-cha cos it's abit dark n oso i didnt notice cos i was busy chit-chatting :P

wendy,
oh i didnt know have to request for such things one? i wonder if they'll accept personalised dance coordination? i tot it's given but i guz most imptly d moves must complement ur 1st dish presentation music, else it'll seem funnie :P

am thinking of holding my ROM in the bridal suite, as the funct. room provided by MM looks very obiang.

has anybody see their suite already? is it big enuf to hold 20 ppl?

my sales coord highly disapprove of me doing so and also when i says wanna decor the funct room, she said no one has done it b4. sounds very discouraging...

reason why i'm being fussy bcuz i wan the photographs to turn out nicer, rather than exhanging our vows in a plain white room.

has anybody done something similar b4?

hi wendy, meiling,

was looking at the archives on solomisation at the poolside. my coordinator is Sen and i remember her telling me there's a rental fee of $3K.

i know that urs is Wendy. So wanna double confirm are they giving the same information?

clumpz,
im not sure abt d charges for using d poolside...but i'll propose otehr venues if d function rm is plain, which function rm r u given? i havent go n see yet, hopefully it's not dat bad

qian,
i think it wont b necessary to b auspcious date for ur dinner

hi meiling,

i was given the funct rm juz bside the ballroom, it's a small rectangular all-white rm with the light right in the middle. the rm feels very claustrophobia to me...

i cant really think of any other places for solemnisation other than the suite or poolside already...

clumpz,
im given d same rm but i havent been there to recee yet...oppsss, i wonder where else can i request for?

hi libragal,
glad to hear positive comments abt mm's food

We just met up with Sen last week to finalise on our details. Our AD is next month!
She did not mention about the FOC meal after the dinner and the $100 credit as mentioned by Woodpecker1981 in her post wor. Is it extra service thrown in by the coordinator?

And ya, I must checked with Sen about the 1st dish presentation, wouldn't want to have dancing waiters serving the food, so weird! :p

hi amari

the FOC meal after dinner shld be given by coordinator when finalising on the details and even for snacks before dinner.. as for the $100 credit, it was thrown in only on AD..

i tik it is an entertainment to have the waiters dancing on the stage.. all my guest enjoyed it

me also gonna me a MM bride..

going down next year to sign the contract...
mmm....quick quick, tell me what more do i ask for?
lol..
a bit excited a bit nervous...
what's the deposit amount i should put ah?

hmm... i also requested Sen to throw in some food voucher before, but she refused.

meeting her this coming sat, so gonna ask her again on this $100 credit. ;p

amari02,
congrats on ur AD!
yah, d $100 credit is given on d AD itself...i wonder is it standardised or thrown in by d coordinator on case-by-case basis?

nec,
d deposit requested is usually $3K

Hi All & NEC

I have just confirmed being a MM bride haha..Very Happy.

Although my bf prefers Meritus Mandarin(becos of the suite and the better perks) i am so happy he finally gave in to me to select Marina instead.

Have you girls seen the bridal suite?? Q small hor...Seen the ones in other hotels so much bigger.

But i am still very happy!

congrats amanda :D

out of curiosity, what perks did meritus offer?

i've been thinking of what perks are actually needed to try to lower total cost of the whole wedding...but can't think of anything leh...
i mean the hotel cannot provide AD photography right..ha..
so any suggestions? (before i sign on the dotted line too)

Hello Kodomo Concert,

The Vanda ballroom is pillarless. I feel that it is a very pretty and cosy place to have your wedding.

Here are some pictures of the Vanda ballroom which I took during their last wedding show. Hope that they will give you a better idea on what the ballroom looks like.

590068.jpg

Picture taken of the stage from the entrance.

590069.jpg

Stage.

590070.jpg

VIP table set up.

hi amanda,
welcome to tis thread, actually was considering meritus but d hotel was due for reno, so had to drop d idea!

wendy,
thanks for providing d photos, v nicely taken!

nice pics wendy.

the place looks good for our wedding...

meiling, i was looking at meritus too..but like you said, renov...then the coordinator said will be restaurants, else why we have weedding show in jan...ok...i dun like her attitude...so thank you and bye. :P

welcomes clumpz to the MM family, when's your AD?

piang, i havent signed and pay deposit, but still act like i'm also MM btb...hhah

last NEW YEAR as a SINGLE...:D
WOOHOO!

hi nec,

hee... me the kiasu one... AD on 10 Jan 09. but apparantly, all the other hotels i initially shortlised one are fully booked for this date! it's lucky i still manage to get MM for this date..

now i gotta book for my JP and AD PG also. afraid all the good ones taken up again....

nec,
me too, i had some issues abt some coordinators regarding their service attitude so i didnt take up d hotels....luckily MM's wendy is ok cos i nearly took up a hotel in d vicinity but im glad dat d hotel coordinator felt her leave is more impt than my AD n her luke-warm attitude makes me sign up wif MM straightaway :P

Mrs Tan - vanda is approx 2.8m.. and the grand ballrm is not very high too.. I think vanda ballrm is fine when compared with other smaller ballrms in other hotels.

As for the grand ballrm, I feel that it will not look as GRAND as the other grand ballrms in other hotels.

Hi Ladies, I think Grand ballroom is cosy, more than grand actually. But cos the lights are big and grand, that makes the grand ballroom looks cosy with a grand touch. The ceiling height and lowered beams makes it cosy but also reduced the grandness loh. Its more english style kind of setting. Thats my view lah.

But I still think its nice and modern so I took Grand ballroom.

Dun be sad, Meiling. Everyone has different views.

anyway, if not wrong, the Vanda ballroom ceiling is 2.1m and the grandballroom is 3.5m.... If not mistaken. You gotta view yourself. And the Grandballroom comes with nice wooden backdrop. It will have the warmth and modern effect. Some ballroom we saw are higher ceiling, but the backdrop not impressive, reducing the grandness too..

at least the lights in MM grand BR are pretty nice...
*whispers* have you guys seen the lights in hilton grandBR? looks like red worms!!

so glad to see d posts after dat, thanks for d reassurance! yah i was q satisfied wif d grand ballroom though d ceiling is not as high, dat's y i signed up straightaway after comparing wif a few ballrms of d same capacity :P
clumpz, wendy n nec *hugs*

anyway, my mom/aunties have told me , most of the guests to the wedding dinners are going to pay attention to 2 things

1) the bride (ahem, that's US!!)
2) the food

and MM definately has GOOD food, even my uncle, an executive chef for many 5 star hotels, says MM food is very good.

dont worry abt how the room looks, use the energy to make yourself more and more gorgeous =)

nec,
dat's v true n i totally agree wif u...btw, do u think it's necessary to provide snacks during d reception? will it b a waste of money? n oso do u intend to do sth special instead of d normal cake-cutting n champagne pouring n oso 2nd march in? heard dat there's only 1 march-in wif effect...

my dear meiling,
when you hear my plans for the 'march-in' i'm sure you'll faint. :D
heheh...

i'll be doing the cake cutting BEFORE the reception, during cocktail, so that guests can eat the cake first. (yes, must provide real cake)
anyway, not necessary to provide food during cocktail bah..i think nuts (?) are provided...
problem with the cake cutting thingy is
1) reception area for vanda is not THAT spacious
2) pple tend to come late
so...i'll have a logistical nightmare trying to pull this off.

champagne thingy..not too sure...think my dad would like, but personally, i find it very...er....

how's the sound system of vanda? anyone knows?
can hire DJ? sound system adequate?
i know spot lights, must rent from outside...cos vanda doesnt have.

^MeiLinG5^ (~sblbee~)

Don't be influenced by my views.. those are only my personal views. Be confident in your choice =P

Cheer up !

Anyway, I've compared with ballrms like Swissotel... the bigger ballrms are very nice I feel.

One disadv abt MM - they seem to have very few themes. Unlike Oriental, Swissotel etc...