Marina Mandarin Singapore

yingsan, hmmm...strange how come they didnt tell us dat such dessert is available, wld love to have dat but have some reservations as durians tend to invite extreme views...either u love it or u hate it, dun dare to take such a risk...so wat r u choosing for ur dessert?
phew! luckily can choose back d old design...but i havent seen them yet...if u have can post up a copy of d invitation card or send an image to [email protected] ? thanks!

Hi Meiling and Yingsan, I am no informed of the durian pudding too. MMnn.. when us ur AD,Yingsan ? Your menu is the older menu ? Did they change the menu recently ?

I gotta ask Sen if I can use the older versions. But maybe Yingsan AD is nearer, so they still allow the older cards. But our AD is next yr, dun think they can. Will check and update.

Hi Ladies and Nehoc, I went to Oriental Hotel for my cousin wedding last night. The food there is pretty unique and taste quite good for most of them. Not v sure if my cousin changed them menu cos she getting married to a German. So, the food is bit unique, fusion style. e.g. 1) they dun serve noodles or rice, they serve bread with chilli cream sauce. (not bad) 2) yam pear with stuffings ( quite nice )3) clear soup sharksfin, and is served individually in those tonic soup bouls. (looks classier) etc... : )

wendy, i think d dishes u mentioned is in their menu cos i did get a quote frm oriental b4 :P it's unique i must say but it's off my budget :P
i hope they can let us use d old cards...

hi wendy n meiling

yeah, my AD is in Dec 2007, tats why still got the old cards but limited stock ..

btw, meiling, i post the old n new cards design on my multiply and had invite u, u may wan to accept. tks

hi yingsan,
ok i'll add u n look n take a look at d cards...thanks for ur invitation

Hi Wendy and Meiling,
I am back...Just received the wedding invitation cards..only got two design...dun have much choices...
how abt u all ?

hi libragal80,
long time no c on tis thread
welcome back! mayb we cant take d old designs for nxt yr's wedding....im trying to chk out yingsan's multiply to see if i can find d design :P will update u

Hello! I will be signing with MM next wk too... u mean can sign on sun? My coordinator is Kaylynn... so far anyone liased with her?

Hey Auntie Meiling! Hehe... *waves*

hi ladies, have been rather busy with work and confirming my church venue recently. Have to change my AD to 14th and 16th June instead. Cos only these 2 dates are avail for church and dinner banquet.

Welcome Karen/De_Princess/Lion Head! I am using the Grand Ballroom too,same as Meilng. My co-ordinator is Sen Ng. She is v v nice and personal. Have not heard of Kaylynn, but think shd be ok cos I heard v good feedback abt MM svc.
When are all ur AD ?

Hi Libragal, if your AD is next yr, you can't use the old design anymore. Sen told me MM ordered the new designs in bulk and they are fading off the new design soon. Well, the beidge design still not too bad lah. The fushion red card looks chi-na... the material dun look class too.

hi karen, de_princess, lion head,
welcome to tis thread! im using d grandballrm n my coordinator is wendy lou, she's superb n will go d extra mile for u

karen, i didnt sign up at d day of d wedding show cos i dun have my date at dat moment but still i got wat i want...if u have a date, den u tentatively bk 1st n sign up on dat day to enjoy d additional perks :P

looks like quite a lot of MM BTB...
my co-ordinator is kaylynn too... she's quite nice...

i posted the old design on multiply too, so u gals can just view it... my ID is chiuyl. my AD is next month, so i managed to get the old cards, will b gng to the printer later today...

HI Karen, I agree with Meiling. The dates will be open for all couples on the day itself, so you will need to reserve the date and book on the spot. Actually, my co-ordinator Sen gave me the additional perks for the wedding show b4hand, sometimes, the perks given may not be impt to u, but u rather want others. So, we negotiated for some perks on top of the perks for the wedding show. You can ask Wendy to give u the additional perks list to see. Sen also gave me the free gift too. No need to book the ballroom with so many other couples ard ard-seems squeezy, you might as well ask her for the wedding perks direct so u can choose the perks u want.

Hi Karen, have u booked ur date oredi? I've booked mine just that no time to go down to sign.

Wendy, what are the additional perks? Like most of the perks are covered le...

Btw I saw the new wedding cards.. the white and green card look quite like hari raya card.

wah wendy, u got free gift? wat free gift is dat? hehe...guz i may not get d best perks but still im happy to secure d date dat i want...wat perks do u have on top of d wedding show ones? :P i didnt know got additional perks list leh...kena conned liao...lugi

de_princess (aka sharon),
im asking wendy to chk for me if i can use d old wedding cards but havent got d reply yet...guz it's more n less cannot liao :P

HI de princess, i book nov but vanda room max out to 30 tables but i need 35 if to take the main ballroom i cant hit the min table. Still open for other dates.

Hi Ladies, I din ask for alot more perks lah. I mean we can ask to know the additional perks for wedding show this sun so u girls can consider now and book the place even b4 u go the wedding show cos I heard Sen say it will be super crowded.

Think in the wedding show perks, there r free platters of cocktail snacks for guest b4 dinner commence. I din choose that. I rather change it to pre & post dinner for both of us. To me, this is not impt cos not many will be early since mine is a weekday.

Actually all these perks are suited to our individual needs and I heard frm my frens that the co-ordinator will throw in perks according to the no. of tables u book, whether u upgrade any food, how much is ur table, whether its a weekday or weekend etc.

So, I think all our perks can't be exactly the same too. You may get some, which i can't get. Or vice versa. It also depends on the period and date u book too. Please do not reveal my package to others and compare the perks ok. I think we shd not compare perks. This is only for ur eyes and NOT action. heehee... Later my co-ordinator noe abt it, will kill me ! thanks ya.

Just like buying properties. Different prices everyday for same precinct. ;) Just ask for what is necessary for you will do.

Hi wendy,

Understand where u coming from
I think wif more tables u have higher negotiating power too. Anyway I thought post dinner for the couple is std? If not where got time to eat all the food???

Karen,

Unless u can cut down on guest list so that can use Vanda?

Meiling,
I think if our wedding next yr they wont let us use the old designs. Hopefully they change design again coz really not nice haha...

wendy, sure wont say anything one, envy u leh, got so many things...as mine is considered a wkend, i've got no free flow beer
i got:-
1) 1 red wine per table ( wedding show perks )
2) 2 night stay
3) waive corkage for WINE and hard liquor
4) pre and post dinner for couple
5) increase to 30% car park coupons for guests
i v kaypo, i wana see d pearl jewellery set, is it nice? i dun have leh...

de_princess, yah i think so too but i dun think they have d intention to change d invitation card design anymore leh

Hi Meiling,

The pearl set is only for 1st 50 sign up for the upcoming wedding show. I hv not got it. Not sure. Your set is already v good. Weekday package normally more flexible. U hv gotten what is basic. The jewellery set is for wedding show. I am sure u got other things during ur wedding show the last round.

Think its better we dun share the perks openly in the thread cos some may have different packages so unable to add on more perks. Mmnn.. My FH say we will make our Co-ordinators in trouble by comparing. Make me feel so guilty now.
Cos I think some brides may not have signed with MM and will take our perks as comparision to squeeze their co-ordinators for the perks we have. These perks varies for all packages and depending on the period u book, whether there are such perks.

actually i personally feel, as long as you r happy wif wat they provide, it shud b fine... just try to negotiate for wat's best for u... can't have everything one...

yup. i think diff couples have diff requirements. if we keep comparing, we may not feel good as to why i am getting less etc.

so once gotten what we need, then be happy and look forward for the day to come ya!

yah agreed...it's gd dat we got wat we want
juz concentrate on being beautiful btbs

karen,
r u referring to d shifu or tongshu? i got you long zi to predict d dates for me b4 d tongshu is out tis yr...actually had wanted 8 nov 2008 but it's not gd for me, u got ur date alrdy?

Err...In my humble opinion i think we are sometimes over concern for the planner you are right ethically we shouldn't discuss the perks openly if you are standing in line with the hotel but we are here abviously trying to squeeze the best out of everything.To give an example let say most of my guest are non-alcoholic but a MM BTB told me that MM are able to give free flow of beer are you not going to request for it if you already had all the perks you want?? The perks here are more for those that yet to sign with the hotel as for those that already signed i think is not wise to negociate with their coodinator again. Hmm... maybe PM will be better..

Just my two cents

Hellos,

I received the wedding cards as my wedding is in December. Pretty unhappy wif the catering svc person leh. She called me a couple times coz she forgotten she called me. When I asked her if she got the earlier batch cards coz I think this fushcia and white cards I dun reli fancy, she told me they did not get any other negative feedback except me. But I tot both the cards look awful. The red one is soo cheena, the white and green one so Melayu. Gosh..reli keeping my fingers cross they wun scew up further. =(

Hi Yo yo, I saw the new cards too. Agreed that the 2 cards dun look fantastic. I belive many will say the red one looks Cheena. The cream card also not fantastic, but I can still accept. Hope if more ppl has different comments, they will change it by next yr 2008 again.

Ya. hopefully the later brides will benefit from our "negative comments". Coz she told me that the ONLY person with negative feedback is ME! Can't believe it lor. Pretty upset with her attitude. Reli hope the other brides will give their comment and see what else she got to say. =( I am very happy with my coordinator, Wendy Lou. She's great. But this gal, cannot make it...

Dear all, I have just attended MM's wedding show on Sunday and I hope to find out more about the Vanda ballroom from you all. It is said that the maximum number of tables they can have in the room is 30 tables but judging from the setup of the room, 20 tables seems the ideal number.

Was wondering if anyone of you can give me some feedback on having, let's say 25 tables? Will it be very squeezy in between tables?

Hi Wendy, I think 25tables is fine for Vanda ballroom. It depends on how they do the layout. YOu may wanna ask your hotel co-ordinator to do a rough layout for you. From what I see, it shd be fine. If there are too few tables, the place will look empty and not grand as well.

Who is ur co-ordinator ? So far, I think most of the co-ordintors are quite professional and helpful. So no worries.

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for your advice. Currently, I do not have any coordinator as i planned my AD to be in early 2009 and MM do not accept any 2009 bookings yet.

So I got wait a month or 2 more before they release their 2009 rates.

yoyo> whoever told u u're the only person who complained is wrong!! we too complained, and told them straight tat the new cards cannot make it... the red or rather bandung card is not nice, and the ivory card is too malay... btw, who is tat person?

i've received d chinese invitation cards frm my fren who's having his wedding dinner at vanda ballrm nxt mth...it looks ok but not as nice as d previous one, i showed my mum n she commented dat no pt to spend extra $ to get my own cards n i agreed...juz hope dat we can get better designs nxt yr, if not, have to make do wif it lor

Ladies, heard that the cards not possible to be changed wor...
They order in bulk. Most ppl will find them awful, i think. But depends on how accomodating the person is loh. Some dun mind thou they may find them ugly. SOme will make a bg fuss, but dun think it helps cos we hv paid for the deposit ....

wendy, i was told dat if u dun wana take MM cards, they'll exchange for 6 bottles of red wine, i dun think it's gona cover d cost of buying d cards outside lor...so i have got no choice but to use them

mayb we all shd write a petition to MM liao :P

Well, ladies. I think no need petition lah. Think the co-ordinators are also doing their jobs and I think they may also be closely monitoring this thread. They will do something if something can b done. I rather they come out with new wedding favours and new themes next yr, this I think more likely.

wendy,
yah i heard there may b new wedding favours but not confirmed yet...but not too sure abt d themes

btw, anyone of u using MM function rm for ur solemnisation? i duno if it's too plain n how's d layout like...
care to share ur experience...

HI Meiling,

I will be using the MM solemnisation room for my solemnisation too but yet to discuss on how its like.

Think petition also no use. honestly hor, printing new cards on our own would cost more than 6 bottles of wine. so it doesn't make sense also.

Dunno whether they will sabo us for complaining here hor..hhahaha... =P

hi yoyo,
im a little worried lor, cos im afraid dat it'll b v plain n to spend xtra $ to decorate d rm for juz 1/2 hr is a waste of $, i wonder if there's any better alternative to it...i called my coordinator several times n emailed her but she nv reply leh, duno wat happened oso...but anyway it's still early so i juz forget it lor

yah lor, i agree dat's y i decided against printing my own invitation cards cos i think most ppl wld juz chuck n throw away d cards afer attending d wedding so no pt lor :P oppsss...i hope they wont cos we r not complaining, we r juz exchanging feedback mah :P

hahah...
when's ur wedding btw?
i dun tink the solemnisation rm will have much decoration honestly. but basic tings like chair, tables will prob have seat covers and prob a flower decoration on the table tat's all... coz its sth extra that they throw in so cannot expect too much.

Just received my fren's wedding invite from Conrad..its simple and elegant. more like a wedding invite than a hari raya or cny card...so envious...='(

yoyo,
my AD is on 17 oct 2008...yah true, dat was wat im worried abt, only d basic stuff provided, i wonder how much do i have to top for nicer deco which can den b recycled at d reception/banquet...
most hotels r using d simple n elegant off-white cards or deep red cards...mayb we can considered ourselves lucky to have such outstanding cards cos frm a glance, ppl will know it's MM :P