Marina Mandarin Singapore

I'm also an MM BTB. I've thought of getting my own invitation cards and asked Wendy what they can offer in exchange..she offered to exchange it with 6 bottles of house wine. Do you think it's worth it?

Hi Stir,
u have to decide if MM cards is worth 6 bottles of wine :P it depends on how much u intend to spend on ur invitation cards n how much is MM's invitation cards...if wat u spend = d cost of 6 bottle of wines den is worth it...if not, i dun think it's worth cos guests usually throw away d cards after ur wedding dinner, no pt spending so much...juz my opinion :P

Hi Wendy,

Great to hear that you gonna be MM BTB. Whats make you choose MM over Marriott?

I look at the wedding favours other hotels give really find MM one pathetic leh. Haiz!! no choice just choose the best from the lot.

at the most, buy our own and exchanged for wine lor.

Nehoc, please do not be upset. I m sure there are many different cards for you to choose. My cousin is married to an Ang Moh. So, they chose a white card with red ribbon, maybe to them, it dun look so "old fashion ". Anyway, this thread is for MM brides, so my intention is to share this news with the rest of the brides, not to make u sad. : )I m sure Oriental threads will hv many good things to say abt Oriental too. Hows ur preparation gg on, guy ? I will be visiting Oriental next fri for my cousin wedding, the let you noe how is it : )She is taking the Atrium ballroom. How many ballrooms are there ?

Hi Stir, I think if you hv good lobang for affordable and nicer wedding cards, its worth it. Were u given 1 wine per table as well ? Then, you dun have to worry abt topping upany more wine. Anyway, when is ur AD ? Weekday ? If weekday, its definitely more than enuff.

Meiling, heard from Sen that there may be new themes for nx yr too ! : ) Now there are only 2 themes. Hope there will be more choices next yr.
The idea of glass coasters with love quotes sounds nice. I will go for that if is available.. you gg for the wedding show ? We signed up. Its quite cheap and is 5 course sit down lunch. Sen say, MM is v confident of their food, so they giving pre-food tasting to all. They will also present new items or ideas for wedding next yr in their wedding show. Can consider to go. $28nett for 1 couple, with UOB card.

colt_26
jzu found out dat they only exchanged 6 bottles of wine again for d wedding favours *faint* i dun think it's worth it cos when we get frm outside it's usually $1-$2, if we have 35-40 tables, it'll cost at least $350 which is more ex than 6 bottles of wine...

hi wendy,
i went for d last wedding show alrdy, dun think i'll b going again cos all d same things :P hopefully there'll b new themes but somehow not worth it to exchange all d cards n favours for juz 6 bottles of wine leh...super bo hua cos im sure d cards n favours out there alrdy cost $1 per pc at least

Colt, 1st of all, its the price. $60per table difference but many ppl dun feel the great difference of Marriot over MM. Some even think MM is classier. And 2nd, the perks here more comprehensive. Marriot refuse 2 nights stay, less flexible with perks. We also dun wanna lose too much since we still have Church wedding to spend on. 3rd )I like the building struture of MM internally. Looks grand and less commercialised, more peaceful. I considering Marriot cos I like the frontage of the hotel, high ceiling and nice ballroom. Higher ceiling looks more grand.

But thinking back, my church wedding ceiling will b v high. Let the banquet be cosy feeling instead then.
Different mood loh. The lights in MM is spectacular thou. But also indirectly emphasizing the low ceiling.

Meiling, how is the wedding show ? Issit interesting ? Heard Sen say they will display new items for the wedding banquet and some add on deco for the ballroom. Issit nice ? Tot of adding on additional deco to make the ballroom looks even nicer.
Ya, I tink u dun change for the wine first cos there may be new favours upcoming. Maybe those new favours you like leh?

hi wendy,
i was late for the wedding show in jun cos busy looking at the bridal shop...the food is quite tasty, viewed the setup too..., it's not bad...quite nice

wat additional deco u intend to use? u can add on additional deco as they r using june florist, juz give them a budget n they'll do nicely for u, but dun spend too much cos after d dinner, everything will b wasted n everyone didnt noticed :P
i told wendy dat i'll not b changing for red wine...cos it's such a lousy deal :P

Thank you Meiling and Wendy for your feedback.

At first I wasn't very happy when the hotel only offering 6 bottles of wine for exchange of wedding invites, but they said I can take my time to decide, the contract will still be saying 70% cards given...so I guess I still have a lot of time to ponder upon it. (but I think 6 wine for Wedding Favours really not worth it le...Wedding Favours usually cost more than Wedding Invite rite?)

By the way, my AD is Sept 6, then I'm taking their Wedding Lunch package (just signed the contract last Saturday). Program of the day will be a Chuch holy matrimony at Wesley Methodist Church(11am), then we do away with the churh reception, and there'll b chartered bus sending guests over to the hotel for an 8 course lunch. Most of our guests are non-christians, so they'll join us at the hotel straight.

Like Wendy, I was also facing a dillema betw Marriot and Mandarin...Marriot coz of their bigger ballroom with high ceiling and cheaper price, but my FH felt MM gives him a feeling that it's one class higher...then I also consoled myself that the Church Ceiling very high, and we'll have a long march in for Church already, so nvm abt MM's short march in and the low ceiling beams.

I'll be going for their wedding show on 14thOct, very curious mah...I'll keep you all updated of any new stuff they offering.

hi stir,
no problem, do hope to get ur feedback on MM's new stuff, hope they'll feature at d wedding show...
i took some pics wif my fh's hp for d presentation of d dishes...duno if it's still there, must go home n chk...i like d squarish saucer...looks v classy n different frm d rest of d hotels :P

Hi Stir,

I suggest no to change for the wedding favours or invites cos not too worth it. Wines can buy much cheaper outside.

Oh, so you are sister in christ. I m more excited abt the Church wedding actually. Find it v grand and can be married in the presence of God. ITs great ! Anyway, hv u found any florist to deco your church ? I am sourcing for some cheap but good florist. If u saw any good ones, can share with me.

Marriot is more ex, y say cheaper than MM ? Per table is $60 more !

Actually I like the Marriot ballroom quite abit, but cos many other things MM is better so I chose MM. heehee... I agree with ur FH, both me and my FH find the overall ambience for MM is much better. Peaceful and classic ! Marriot v noisy, more commercialised.

I will also b gg to the wedding show.

Wendy,

Oh coz I'm looking at lunch package mah, so Marriot's lunch package is $70 cheaper than MM's.

Yup, I'm definitely not going to exchange wine for wedding favours...but coz I'm thinking of getting invitation inserts printed in jb...then maybe might as well everything including the card also do in jb, then i can print photo card.

My church got a permanent florist linking up with them...so the fee we pay actually automatically includes the floral arrangements. I forgot how much is it in total..after i chk i get back to you.

Stir, din knoe the lunch package is cheaper for Marriot. Different ppl has different views abt hotel classifications. To me, I think Marriot thou sounds a class higher than MM, but the internal reno is not as good as MM.

Which church is ur wedding in ? I am from City Harvest but I like church building with stained glass so will be renting either True Way Presbyterian or Trinity Theological College.

Dear all, just wanted to share my experience with progress on my wedding preparations at Z Wedding.

I signed up early August with Eddie, the designer, as he picked out dresses I liked and seemed friendly. He told me he’d get in touch late Aug as new gowns were coming in. I waited for his call then, and when none came I called him and was told that the gowns were arriving early Sep. So early Sep came and I waited for his call, and when none came again, I called and was told that new gowns were coming late Sep. So the same thing happened. I waited for a call and none came through. Once again, it was left to me to call and ask when they would arrive. Eddie said he would tell me by the end of the week, and I also requested him to prepare soft copies of actual day photographers for me to see. Yet again, two weeks came and went. No call.

By this time, I was really frustrated that I was not being reverted to when promised. I made an appointment with Eddie and Karen a few days ago. When I turned up, I was served by Karen, as Eddie was busy with other customers. Although he did come round to have a chat with me, my husband and felt largely ignored. It was Karen who put me at ease that as their existing customer, I was not being brushed aside in favour of new customers.

Impressed with Karen’s efficient and straightforward nature, I asked her to be my coordinator. Unfortunately she said she was leaving in three days!! So I was introduced to Yoko, another coordinator, who seemed ok. Yep, my husband and I were passed around…

I don’t want to make any snap judgements about Z Wedding staff – maybe Eddie has been really very busy. But the fact that he didn’t bother to call me back no less than three times over two months, and that each time I had to chase them, left me worried. Now, I feel I can’t trust him to handle my wedding.

This taught me a good lesson – a good designer may not be the most efficient coordinator. I hope that those of you who sign up with Z Wedding will be served by a good team of people. You need a few people on your wedding team, each one handling their own special task – coordinator, designer, and make-up artist, for example. Not all rolled into one. It’s almost like they are trying to cut cost by letting one person handle everything.

Oh, and I was told that the new batch of gowns weren’t arriving in August, or September, or even October. They would be here in November. I’ve decided that this is too long to wait and cutting things too fine. Today I’m off to choose my gowns and book my pre-wedding photography date. Fingers crossed that things will go smoothly. I’ll send in an update later!

Hi whaleywilly,

When is your wedding date? Who is your Coordinator? I am also going to sign up with MM soon.
At the meantime, also looking for bridal package.

hi whaleywilly n lionhead,
welcome to this thread! when's ur AD?

hi whaleywilly, wat's ur budget? d MM wedding show got feature do gio leh? i signed up for WL when i went for d wedding show in jun :P

hi galsparkle,
do share wif us ur food tasting experience n d dishes ok? thanks!

Oh silly me, I meant to post my last post in the Z Wedding forum.

I'm an MM bride too! Nothing negative to say so far.

Sorry for the mis-posting!

just went for MM's food tasting... i must say their food is really quite good... all of us liked it alot... hope the standard remains good on the actual day for all tables ;)

hi zrefrusk,
sorry to know dat u had a bad experience, hope everything's better now for u...

hi whaleywilly,
oh, wat a coincidence...5 oct 2008 (sun) is a gd date too...im a oct btb too...do join us at d oct btbs under a place for all brides forum ok? WL is whitelink...mine is a $4988 inclusive of 3 mtm gowns (WG, EG n tea-dress) n bridal car, 42 poses n d rest is basic :P

hi galsparkle,
wah....can share wat's ur menu like? wat did u take for d prawn dish?

hi whaleywilly,

i signed up with Sophia before signing with MM. So far sophia service is thumbs up. just went for my PS yesterday. had a great day but i didnt perform too well cos too nervous and not too natural. but the staff are very patient and try to put me at ease.

Hi Meiling, thanks for your post. Went to choose my gowns yesterday, it went smoothly and my new coordinator seems nice and patient.

Cheers...

Hi Meiling,
Thanks for sharing! Which day in Oct is ur AD? Sure, i will join in that thread right now!

Hi colt_26, hope your photos will turn out well! Btw, hows ur package with Sophia? Was there alot of gowns for selection?

hi whaleywilly,

i really hope my pics turn out well. if not, i may consider taking another PS. my package is about $5000 with 50 pics. their WG are very pretty but EG limited so i choose to MTM my EG.

you should walk around a few BS, try their gowns and sign with the one which gowns you like the best.

Hi MeilinG5,
I chose the garlic butter prawns..it's good prawn is big and crunchy...alittle sweet also..
the mango sago ice cream is very special too...nice. The rest of the dishes is in the standard contract. The crispy chicken is their speciality... teh chef came out and talked to us. the skin is really crispy and the chicken is quite juicy, even the brest meat.
Overall it was a great dinner.... hope the standard remains as good on the actual day. parents are quite satisfied with it..

galsparkle, ^5 we chose d same prawn n chicken dish...felt relieved after hearing such gd reviews frm u

can we actually requested for d food to b served hot? cos im afriad dat d food esp d fish till b cold, den not nice liao

Did u guys select the 8 or 9 course dinner ?
Which food item did u all swop ?

I am choosing the 8 course dinner but realise that the difference is 1 duck item. The Green Tea Duck with pancake. Issit nice ? If is good, will opt for 9 course instead.

Meiling, ur wedding is next yr Oct right? You went for food tasting so fast ?! Tot normally is 2 -3 months b4 the AD ?

hi wendy,
i tot all is 9 course one? mine is 9 course. smoked tea duck with pancake? it's supposed to b famous leh...it does look gd when they present it lor, duno if it's d same on actual day :P
no lah, i havent go for food tasting yet...juz gathering some feedback b4 my food tasting session n my ad in oct 2008...

zrefrusk,
no problem...we all look forward to our special and meaningful wedding...yours will be as beautiful and perfect as im sure we all want d best

Oh, cos urs is on a weekend. For weekday, there is a choice for 8 or 9 course. We still thinking if we shd upgrade to 9 course. But some friends think its not noticeable, be it 8 or 9 course. We sign for 8 course first. Will upgrade later on if want. Cos if we sign 9 course, we can't downgrade.

Anyway, you chose your food already ? when do we hv to let them noe abt the food selection ?

wendy, oic, i swopped a few items in my menu, b4 i signed the contract, i alrdy discussed wif my coordinator on my menu so when i signed up on d agreement, it's alrdy attached behind

i guz u can always let them know b4 ur food tasting...they wont b too sticky abt it cos they allow me to change my menu after food tasting if i dun like...so it's gd to gather more reviews 1st b4 u decide

Wow Nehoc, you mean Oriental give 2nd food tasting ? Thats good ! Hows ur wedding prep ? I gg Oriental for wedding tmrw.

I am not choosing the food yet cos I have not decide to take the 8 or 9 course. Anyway, Sen told us no need to choose now. Just choose at nearer date. Normally, when is the food tasting ? how many mths b4 AD ?
When u swop the food, is those of equivalent value right ? Jus different method of cooking right ? Which dessert u choose ? I personally like Yam paste, cos my family teochew and mostly like this. But Sen told me she STRONGLY recommend the mango sago icecream. She say is the specialty. so, still considering... Hope they serve mango sago for the wedding show next week so I can taste how nice that is..

I meeting Sen to sign the contract tonight, finally ! phew !

nehoc, can request for 2nd food tasting for free meh? they allow? oriental allow u to do dat?

wendy, food tasting is usually 2 mths b4 ur AD...dun worry, it's still a long way to go...i took d yam paste too though im not a teochew but i like to eat dat, most of my colleagues, family n frens too
i had d mango sago ice cream, it's not bad but still i prefer yam paste cos it sounds more ex n most imptly i like :P
congrats, finally settled d contract! congrats again!

i tried the mango sago ice cream during tthe last wedding show but dun find it fantastic leh.. anybody tried the durian pudding? gog to try tat during my food tasting , if nt nice then change to yam paste.. i tik tat is safer..

yingsan, yah d mango sago ice-cream did not leave a deep impression on me...u mean got durian pudding? wah...didnt know dat, but hor im afriad some ppl dun like to eat durian though it's my fav
yam paste is a safe choice for d teochews n d elderly, they'll sure love it

I had the food tasting recently and we tried the mango sago ice-cream. Everyone felt that it was very special and yummy...even the old folks!

Hi Wendy,
My Church wedding will be at Wesley Methodist Church, it's near Fortcanning.
In my previous msg I mentioned my church link up with a permanent florist, realised I made a mistake...our church actually have a Floral Fellowship..so it'll be the Fellowship ppl doing up the decor whenever there's a wedding event.

Hi Yingsan, you mean there is Durian pudding ? Din noe. If there is durian pudding, will wanna try that as well..hee

Hi Stir, oh thats good. U no need to pay for the deco ah..so good.

Hi Ladies, I saw the 2 new invites yest at MM. Mmnn.. not so pretty. The red one is bit too o-biang leh. The beidge card looks better, but cos is cardboard matl', looks modern but not those textured card. I prefer textured card. But think most likely will choose all beisge card cos looks classier as compared to the red card.

hi meiling , wendy

yes, i was given there is durian pudding.. i oso din know until they ask me to select my menu for food tasting.. will try and update u

the old cards are nicer.. i choose back the old one.. agreed that the pink look obiang.. and the beidge with with green wordings, oso nt nice