Marina Mandarin Singapore

Why nobody invite me through friendster or multiply?

Hi wendy,
u can add me in as well..my id is libragal80
Me will stay with my in laws house for the time being...will sourcing for the flat now...

Hi Colt, Meiling, Libragal and Nehoc,

When registering then realised that I have registered my ID with Multuply b4, but din use. My ID is "thehighness". I have added Libragal. Rest of you, I dun noe your ID... Please add me. ; )

anyway, all my updated profile are in friendster. You all can add me if you have Friendster account. "[email protected]"

Meiling, did I add you in Friendster last week? U sure its me ? cos I dun have your email address, how to add ? I tried adding u in Multiply by your "sblbee" ID, but is invalid.. Can you add me instead ? I have just added u in Friendster. : )

I will be meeting Sen this fri to view MM actual setup. She has been v helpful. If I take this place, its also partly cos of her good service. : ) I wanna see the lighting cos the other time when I went, the lights are all yellow thou she mentioned that there will be some coloured lights too. I prefer blue or green lights to mix with the yellow lights. IT will looks more modern, as compared to just the chandelliers lights.

So, Colt, Meiling and Libragal all confirmed with MM or have not finalise ? I bit confused cos many of you here. heehee..
I only rem Nehoc's which is Oriental. : )
All of you have your AD b4 me ya..
Mine is 28th and 30th June ( Spread 2 days).

Hi cheers and Willy,

You can get the wedding package frm MM website. Weekday is $788nett, Weekend is $900+nett, which I tink is pretty worth it cos is nett price. Suggest you to consider the Grand Ballroom at 1st floor cos is much much nicer but you need min 35 tables to get this ballroom.
As for the perks, you can ask for
1)1 bottle of wine per table.
2)Freeflow beer ir is weekday.
3)2nd additional stay
I have not neg other things cos I have not confirmed with them yet. I still comparing with Marriot. Will view both actual wedding setup this fri then finalise. I have tentatively booked the dates for both.
Deposit is $3k for MM, $4k for Marriot.

hope it helps. When is your AD ?

Meiling,
Not all are BTB there is one GTB..

Take note do not disclose your perks in the open forum there is a clause in my contract but i do not know about MM..

hi nehoc,
u r a gtb but not a gtb of MM :P
wendy's looking for confirmed btbs or gtbs of MM...hehe :P u r a confirmed gtb of oriental :P
thanks for d reminder abt disclosure of perks, hmm...wonder if we can still negotiate for more perks after signing d contract? :P

MM has 2 new designs of invitation cards, 1 white n 1 red...duno abt d favours yet, but jas said she'll update me, btw, she's a BTB in dec 2007 in MM. im so sad to hear dat a few BTBs r rather upset wif MM cos they didnt follow up wif them on d food tasting, invites etc despite d wedding is juz less than 3 mths away. wonder if it'll b like dat nxt yr?

wah, i saw d wedding invites n favours frm regent, wah...really a wide choice leh, wonder if MM has a wide choice to choose frm oso...at least got 10 types of invites n favours...

hi meiling,

dont expect too much from MM. their invites and favours are limited!!

but have to give and take lor. they give good deals and we have to compromise certain things.
are the red and white invites those feature during the June wedding show?

hi colt_26,
hehehe....yah when i recalled their selection n d ones offered by other hotels, it's really limited :P yah, guz we've got no choice cos others pay more to get better stuff at d higher-end hotels, so cannot compare
maybe nehoc can tell us more abt wat oriental is offering...
no, frm wat i gathered, these 2 new designs r not featured in d jun wedding show, one is cream wif green string n words n another is red wif gold string...

hi meiling,

think i will not want to keep going to see the favours and invites cos by next yr when its my AD, they may have new favours and invites again.

so will wait till nearer the date then confirm what they gonna offer which i can use for my wedding.

hi colt_26,
same here, i only find out frm BTBs frm tis forum abt d updates on d wedding invites n favours...hopefully they'll have new ones nxt yr to increase d variety :P i was q surprised actually to see d limited choice...as it's a big hotel :P

Meiling,
I got 4 types of invites to choose from green, black , red & pink. As for the favours there are quite a few & i am quite satisfy with it.

Hi Willy,

You can call MM directly to view the ballroom. They will allocate a co-ordinate to serve you. Think all of them have different things to be busy with so I not so sure who will be most available to give u full attention. Full attention is v impt for our Big Day : p

Meiling & colt,
I heard there will be new wedding favours out next yr. IF you dun like, you can ask for withdrawal of their provided favours and you buy on your own. : )You may exchange that for other things that you prefer. We will indeed be spoilt with choices if we hv wide variety of invites and favours. BUT, think this is not v crucial ba.

oh ya, Meiling. Think Sen told me they will only call us 1-2 months b4hand to follow up on choosing the colour of table clothes, dining set, wedding favours etc. So, maybe your friend may wanna call her co-ordinator to check if she wants it to be settled earlier.

I was thinking not to go through the traditional way of table to table photo taking but rather mingle around with my guest isn't it nice to walk around your ballroom holding a glass of wine & chat with your guests? The idea is to ask my PG to take more natural shot of my guest & perhaps candid shot of me chatting laughing away with my guests but still i will take a few pics of myself with my buddies, jie mei & immediate family members..

What do you girls think??

hi ladies, i'm also a MM BTB... dinner is 2 months away on 22nd nov... i've selected vanda ballroom cos i wanna keep my dinner small and cosy, and i quite like the pillarless layout, although a short march-in, but the privacy we get outside vanda ballroom make up for it. and we also like the idea of nice soft music by their pianist while our guests mingle b4 start of the dinner...

hi wendy,
oh, dat's a pc of gd news for me...yah...i love to have more choices in terms of d wedding invites n favours :P hmmm....yah mayb i'll let her know abt tis

hi nehoc,
it seems like a gd idea, i prefer to have more natural pics rather than staged up pics, but ultimately it depends on our parents, see if they like a idea cos relatives bound to complain esp when u dun really mingle wif them or take pics wif all their faces there :P

hi dovey, congrats on ur coming AD...actually had wanted to take d vanda ballroom but couldnt fit my tables so have to take d grandballroom :P do share wif us ur experience after ur AD ok?

Hi Dovey,

congrats ! Who is your Co-ordinator ? I also tot of requesting for a pianist for the reception. So, they gave you a pianist ? thats good news for me. hee

Nehoc, I think you gotta discuss with your parents on this cos elder folks may prefer proper photos for rememberance. However, your idea is good. I also find it a chore to take photos with so many tables. Maybe you can ask your FW opinion too. If both of u ok, then its easier to convince the parents. : )

hi meiling, definitely will share wif u gals...

hi wendy,
tks... my co-ordinator is wendy ng... nice gal. no lah, their in-house pianist plays @ the lounge downstairs... i was told the pianist will b there till 8, so just right cos cocktail reception will b till tat time.

how long do u gals think phototakin will take for ard 25 tables? working out my programme now...

hi dovey,
i look forward to view ur pics....i think for per table, as long as ur helpers arrange d ppl in advance, shd juz take 1-2 min per table, so in abt 30 min's time shd b done, juz hope n pray it's chop-chop n ur frens wont sabo u at d table else will delay time :P

Just got the new invitation cards from MM..and realised that there is no address or map of hotel in the cards....does it mean we have to print it ourselves... this is the 1st time i see hotel give cards with the address..only the name and logo that's all.....and i had sent my inserts for printing. No space in inserts for address and map also...now what should I do? print myself and slot it in? Going to complain to MM tomorrow.

hi dovey, may i know how does ur invitation cards look like? i receive their cards but dun really like their new design .. my AD 2+mth away too
i also choose MM becoz of the cosy ballroom and the soft music.. btw their pianist is there everyday rite?

hi galsparkle, actually i didn't realise tat map and add is not on the card... think at least the add shud b listed. but shud not b a big issue i guess, cos marina mandarin is quite well known, think won't have to go do extra printing... mayb can highlight to your guests when dng RSVP, if they really dunno the way, at least u can direct them?

hi yingshan, i also dun like their new designs, find the ivory a bit malay and i dun like the red colour... looks more like bandung to me... do u know if we can choose from the printer? must pay extra? i was told the pianist will b there the day of my dinner, mine's a weekday though, not sure if there's any changes on their schedule for weekends.

Oh i just realised the address is printed in the insert. one small liner. as for maps think dun need liao..
I also find the new cards not very nice..but i actually find the western cards nicer than the red cards...but dun think old folks can accept it..so will be giving friends the white cards only.
I think the old cards seems nicer even though they area simple..now abit regret not getting the old ones.
Anyone knows when we have to do the foodtasting for Dec brides? Oct?? I keep calling them to arrange for food tasting and they say they will call me back soon to arrange...

Yest my wedding coordinator already called me up to inform me that they have sent me the Invitation cards design and ask me to go down for my food testing on oct or early nov...
haven confirm with her yet...

hi dovey, u mean get invitation cards from printer instead of MM? i tik there will be extra charges.. which printer are u using?

hi galsparkle, after u mentioned then i realise there is no add behind the cards.. but tik it is alright since the add wil be printed in the inserts.. as for the map, can print behind the insert?

My ad is in mid-dec 07.
Yeh since address is in inserts then it okay. But it is weird that there is no add on the card..only MM logo..
Yeh was thinking of printing map behind the inserts..but not sure whether will incur additional cost.

I met up with Sen, MM's co-ordinator over weekend to see the actual setup and wedding favours. Heard there may be new wedding favours upcoming, a glass coaster with love quotes on it. Think its shd be pretty nice.

As my AD is nx yr June, I think I may have the chance to wait for that. I viewed the bridal suites as well. Mmnn.. must say its a letdown for a 5star hotel suite. Its just 2 adjoining rooms,with a small wooden door inbetween. No privacy at all. So sad. : ( have you all successfully upgraded your suites or you all dun bother, unlike me so fussy ? hahaha

hi wendy,
oh...juz glass coasters? did u see other wedding favours?
hmm...im not too concerned abt d bridal suite as i dun think i've got d time to enjoy all d facilities, juz need a decent rm to rest in, im q chin chye abt tis...it's alrdy considered better than d past as they have renovated d rm, it was worse :P

hi yingsan > i heard some printers have additional designs to choose from, but u may be right... might incur additional cost, which is not worth it... anyway guests throw the cards away after the wedding...

i personally prefer the old designs, find both the red and ivory nicer as compared to the new designs... my food tasting is tonight, and will be collecting my cards at the same time...

yeah, i agree tat i'm quite disappointed wif the suite as well... considering it's a 5 star hotel...but like MeiLinG5, as long as it's a decent room to rest, quite alright... hopefully can get the room wif good view...

hi dovey,
i havent seen d old cards yet...wonder if it'll still be available nxt yr?
happy food teasting!

can chk wif u all regarding which chicken dish did u select? have u all gone for food tasting already? which one is nicer? chef joe's roasted chicken or plum sauce boneless chicken?
i actually wanted plum sauce boneless chicken but wendy recommended me chef joe's roasted chicken as she said it's nicer...wat do u think?

hi MeiLinG5, i find the roasted chicken quite nice... the chef told us they r very particular abt their roasted chicken, as it's supposed to be their speciality...

Hi Colt, I am abt to finalise with MM. Will go down to pay the deposit next week. If the ceiling ht is higher and without those horizontal beams on the ceiling will be perfect. Well, there is no perfect ballroom.

Meiling, she only mentioned abt glass coaster. Its sound nice to. But gotta see the real thing. She say not firm yet cos the director has not signed on the order form yet. Let's keep our fingers cross to have it. I dun like all their other weddding favours, hope there will be new ones upcoming.

Ladies, I hv not seen the new wedding cards, but frm what I heard frm all ur comments,it sounds disappointing ya. I received a wedding card from my cousin for next fri @ Oriental. I think the wedding card is not nice at all. It is white card(looks like a white cardboard), with red ribbons. Both the inserts, ribbon, and cards dun look classy. I hope MM will hv better than those.

thanks dovey for ur feedback! i tasted d roasted chicken at d wedding show too, find it ok...wonder how does d plum sauce one taste like? :P
i want d prawns to b different so i didnt choose d drunken prawns, i wonder d pan-fried prawns wif butter n garlic is it only 1 pc per guest? cos if drunken prawn surely it's 2-3 pcs per guest one :P

hi wendy,
glad u r finally one of us...d MM BTBs
i called wendy a few days back, she said most prob d new favour will b d coaster n mayb there'll b 1 or 2 more but cant confirm...den she said dat there wont b any more new wedding card designs :P
hehhehe...i do like their bears but i dun like d idea of separating d couple bears...doesnt seem auspicious :P d most is dun take their wedding favours n get our own if they can replace it wif more bottles of red wine etc...wonder will they do sth like tis?

nehoc,
dun b sad...mayb wat u like may not b wat others like or mayb d one u like is not d one wendy is referring to
most imptly, it must sth u like...