Marina Mandarin Singapore

hi nehoc,
well, if u ask me, i wld take oriental if i got the budget n if im using the grandballroom... for hyatt, im worried abt the parking constraint...but it's not bad...it's accessible to the MRT
for MM, i chose it bcos of the services, value-for-$ and many perks as compared to hyatt

just to share with you..that time when im doing my reseach on hotels i also did compared b/w oriental, mm and four seasons...i guess is quite a 'close fight' b/w them ya =>..coz their reputation, service and food wise is quite on par with each other..hence ultimatly it depends on which hotels you prefer =)

hi nehoc,
agree.. for swiss, below 30 tables u can only get atrium ballroom which is smaller than vanda..

pp's ocean ballroom is not v fantastic either..
may i suggest four seasons (Georgette) or conrad (esther)

both are approx 25-30 tables min for dinner and ard 1k-1.2k..

but both do not hav wine, beer and projector included in package.. =)

Hi Meiling,
Yes on 18 July. Thanks for your advice all this while..i will still visit this corner to get some tips from you girls..(",)

Hi all ! I have viewed MM Grand Ballroom over weekend. Pretty nice Served by Sen. She is good ! Anyone served by her ? Their package is comprehensive and flexible hor.
My wedding will be in June next year. Package still comparing with Marriot. MM ceiling ht is bit low thou. But heard Vanda ballroom is even lower. Issit true ?

anyone viewed these 2 ? Wanna hear your views. : )

Hi nehoc,
I'm really happy for you...sure, no problem, welcome to this thread anytime, will be happy if I can assist you in any way.
You are having your AD on a Friday? Same here, we can exchange some pointers on holding our weddings on Fridays, think I'll need your help then cos your AD is earlier than mine, mine on 17 Oct 2008.

Hi wendy,
I've viewed these 2 ballrooms when I was at the wedding show this year...heard they are having another wedding show soon...perhaps you can go and take a look?
I'm a BTB holding my wedding at MM Grand Ballroom. I was served by Wendy Lou (fantastic lady) but Sen is also quite nice based on the feedback here. Yah, I chose MM cos of their comprehensive package and their perks...
Vanda's ceiling is lower, perhaps you can view and decide, I prefer the Grand Ballroom at MM. Personally I chose MM over Marriott bcos of the pricing and parking as well as the perks, I don't want to make too much loss for my wedding dinner. :P

Meiling,
Now my next headache are PG & VG have you got yours? ANy good recommendation? Wah lew so many things to do....

Wendy,
How many tables you'r expecting? did you know that Vanda maximum tables are 30? FYI the marching aisle is pretty short. I think Marriott price is much more higher & i heard quite alot of bad review on the food. As for MM the wedding planner are quite flexible with the perks.

Hi Meiling and Nehoc,

I have not viewed the Vanda ballroom cos Sen told me she can give me Grand ballroom if I able to take min 32, which is ok for me. We may have to increase. I see many praises abt Wendy Lou, she must b fantstic. Sen is nice too, but after viewing the place on sat, she seems to be on leave till today,has not replied my mails since sun.

Both of you have booked from MM as well ? Is the down deposit neg ? they asked for $3k right ?
I wan to request for a day room for my sisters and an additional night for my stay there. If possible, 1 more night of anniversary stay. heehee... I v greedy hor... what r the common things you all asked for ?

Hi Wendy,
I am not with MM but i like the girls here haha, ok back to topic, Wendy is a very nice lady & she is also the decision maker when comes to normal perks. As far as i know Vanda max is 30 & do take note the ballroom will not look nice if you push it beyond the limit. As for my package with the other hotel i manage to negotiate with my planner from 2 night Bridal suite to 1 night bridal suite + 2 separate night of deluxe room. As for the deposite i got no idea.

The below are the most common perks
1] Free flow of beer
2] A bottle of wine per cnf table
3] Two projector(if there is a need to)
4] 25-30% of complimentary carpark coupons
5] A pianist if there is a piano
6] Free food tasting
7] Corkage waiver
8} Can bring duty free alcohol
9] Hongbao Box
10] No extra chargers for vegetarian & muslim guest
11] 2 night stay of bridal suite
12] 1 night stay for helper

If you can have all the above you should be a very happy Bride

thanks Nehoc, you hv been v helpful ! : )
YOu taking Oriental ? You have liased with Wendy frm MM b4 issit. How much is ur package with Oriental ?

Now, I have a big prob. I am an impatient lady, want fast response. But my MM Co-ordinator Sen seems to be down with some personal problem. Her mum is critically ill. she is in and out of office so often that she can't reply my mails since sun. I really dun noe if I shd wait for her or request for a change in manager. She is nice but too caught up with her problems. Its a sad condition for her so I also dare not press her but I am caught in this situation where she has no time to reply all my queries and do neg with me..haiz. Anyway, when is ur big day ?

Hi Rei, I have attached a copy of MM banquet package for you. Many things can be discussed with the Catering Sales Team direct. Its good you u make a trip down. When is ur big day ? : )

Hi Wendy,
Yup i am with Oriental mine is $898++. I didn't make an appointment & went straight to the hotel & look for her. Maybe you should try to look for Wendy & make things straight. My AD is 18 july 08.

Hi nehoc,
Hmm...I got my AD PG (Photo Language by Ray Ong & Bobman Wedding Services) and AD VG (Hilo Production) already, do you have any budget? I can intro you cos I have a few contacts....you can use as a reference. Do drop me a mail at [email protected].

hi wendy,
Personally I prefer Wendy as I've met Sen once before at MM wedding show, haven't got much opportunity to talk to her as she rushed off to her "potential" client after I asked her a few questions...I was disappointed and did my own recee myself...I was glad that I took out the card from the folder and called Wendy, she's super approachable and flexible when I met her with her

I paid $3K deposit but usually they won't give you additional night stay unless you give up your day room...no harm trying
I'm pretty happy with what I got, managed to upgrade my menu, as well as my veg menu. got abt the same stuff as nehoc except for 1, 3, 5 & 12. I'm ine as I don't require a day room as my jiemeis prefer to go back and change their clothes...and look at their babies :P

Hi Meiling,
Will drop you a mail shortly & by the way the perks i mention just a guideline i did not get all the perks as well but is good to have...You mean MM no free flow of beer? Does MM allow duty free alcohol?

Ladies, Sen is finally back at work. Think she is ok lah, just too busy. I dun think its nice to change co-ordinator now. I have spoken with Wendy Lou too. Agree that she is quite good.

Do you all find the ceiling ht of MM grand ballroom not high enuff ? I tot so. Rest of the things are quite good at MM.

Meiling, when is your AD ? My AD shd be 26th June or 30th June, depending on my church solemnisation date. Many churches do not accomodate weekday. Or else the church premise is unable to give reply till march next yr ! We want a nice cosy church to be solemnise in the presence of God.So our alternative plan is to have church on sat and dinner on mon which is 30th June.

Anyone of you are Christians and have recommendation os nice churches ? : )

hi nehoc,
have communicated to u already....hmm...MM has no free flow beer for wkend banquets...no, dun think it allows duty free alcohol :P

wendy,
well, for me, it's not high ceiling but im not v particular abt how high d ceiling is cos i dun think i get d chance to look up all d down, not v tall :P n den since i only have 35 tables for d 60-tables ballroom, it wld b spacious enuff already so it's not an issue to me. my AD is 17 oct 2008....fri....

Hi Libragal,

so, you served by Sen too... When is ur AD ?
Have you finalised with her on the package ?
I still waiting to see the actual wedding setup following week for both MM and Marriot b4 I finalise the banquet.

Hi Nehoc,

now then realise you are GTB, all along tot you are the BTB. wow...you so on ! Hv time to serve and find out so much things for your big day ah.. Your FW will be so much relaxed : )

Anyway, MM do serve freeflow beer on weekdays and waive cockage fees for hard liquor. They even give 1 free wine per table for weekday. Realised that there are much more peaks on weekday. which day you looking at ? Weekday or weekend ?

Tot you say Oriental require 35 tables and more ? you increase your guest list ? : )

MM gonna have another wedding show on 14 oct.
trying to ask my coord if they will be showcasing new themes or favours. if so, i may want to go and have a look.

hi nehoc n wendy,
hope u all dun have monday blues!

hi colt_26,
yah, i asked my coordinator if i'll get more perks if i signed up for d wedding show...she said no...hehe...so wont b going down to MM for d wedding show liao...she said it's d same perks so no pt for me
hmm...forgot to chk abt d new themes n favours, if u know, tell me ok? thanks! if got, den i may kaypo n go see see :P

just heard from my coord is the same theme and favours just that they partner diff BS.

so i wouldnt be going le.
no point since i already got my BS.

nehoc,
hehehe...same here....next week's gona be worse :P

colt_26,
ok thanks for d info....den i wont b going too cos i got my BS there d last time, cannot b signing 2 BS :P

Hi Wendy,
We saw the final setup before signing the contract and paid the 3K deposit...

My AD is on the 02 02 08 next year..how abt yours?

Hi Libragal, Meiling

the perks for the wedding show is really not so fantastic. Think the perks offerd to us individually by our co-ordinators are better. So, I will not be joining the wedding show too.

Anyway, the themes I heard not much changes. I will be gg down next fri to see the themes that will be carried over to next yr. Frankly, I still prefer higher ceiling. So, I wanna see how grand the ballroom will look like after deco. If the grandness can cover the shortfall of low ceiling, I dun mind. : ) I v fussy hor..heee
I still considering Marriot cos the ballroom really looks nice but their perks are pretty stringent,not so comprehensive as compared to MM. My FH prefers MM actually. He says more value for money and the place looks new ! My AD cum church wedding is 28th June 08 (sat) and my dinner is planned 30th June(mon). I have different day or will be too rush. We need a lot of travelling time cos me and my FH lives Sengkang and Jurong...

hi colt_26, libragal and wendy,
yah, we shall keep each other posted if there's any new favours or theme, hmm...i've not been calling my coordinator cos too busy to disturb her...dun wana bother her oso :P
wendy, i chose MM cos it's value for money n d ballrm looks nice...d coordinators give us gd perks as compared to other hotels...they r q flexible when it comes to perks :P

Hi Meiling,

I also find MM quite flexible with the perks, thats why I can consider thou the ceiling is not high enuff. Sorry, ur big day is Oct08 ? you confirm so your venue so fast. : ) Yours is s hot date ?

Hi libragal, colt and Meiling,
Are you all shifting to your own hse after marraige ? you all doing renovation for your new hse too ? Where r your new residence ? Mine is at Sengkang, Fernvale. Still under construction, target TOP 1st Quarter'08. Have to set aside for reno cost too... : (

hi wendy,

my BS is sophia. will be doing PS next mth. a bit kiasu thou my AD in May 08. but things that can settle early better settle fast. very nice and friendly batch of pple. 1st and only BS visited and sign with them since we felt comfortable with them and like their gowns. suggest you go to a few BS and then decide. take your time. dont rush.

my house is resale flat at bukit panjang. will be commencing renov soon. hopefully by end yr can complete so have time to shop for furniture and appliances.

Hi Nehoc anc Colt,

both BS are from Taiwan right? I noe of Sophia. Went there b4. Some gowns quite nice, but the evening gowns not much selection thou. I believe their packages are pretty comprehensive right ? How much is your packages ? colt, your schedule is really early..heehee...

Nehoc, your FW is a member of Singapore Brides too ? Seems like you v excited with your wedding prep.. : )when is ur big day ?

hi wendy,
my BS is WhiteLink....i think u shd visit a few shortlisted BS b4 u decide ur BS...it's still early, take ur time....can slowly find until u find ur ideal BS b4 u confirm...
WL is d 2nd BS i saw after Ted Wu, found their package q comprehensive n rcved gd reviews frm d brides b4 i signed up...
my ps will b in mar/may nxt yr :P hope it'll not b too late but it's d only period i can spare cos it's sch holis....

hi colt_26 n nehoc,
saw ur pics of ur hse in multiply, makes me envy, esp colt_26...wah, i can imagine when ur hse is renovated, must look really nice...hope to see more pics posted of ur hse when work is in progress

nehoc, so have u settled d rest of ur preparation alrdy?

Wendy,
Yup mine from Taiwan too i took the $5566 package. Yup my FW is also in the forum but she shy to post thread haha quietly see me chatting with you ladies..

hi wendy, yup sophia from taiwan. my package is $5000. their EG is quite limited but WG is pretty. so in the end i took OTR WG and MTM EG.

ya. starting early cos anticipate a lot of prep coming soon. esp when house start to reno then got to run many places and get the house ready for AD. thats why PS can settle early better do it fast. also if weather not on our side during PS, have more lead time to reschedule.

hi meiling,
don't expect too much after the reno leh cos we doing minor renov only. so may still look about the same as what i posted.will post more pics along the way ya.

hi gelyn,
i got my pricelist frm d wedding show early tis yr, duno if d package n perks still stands? perhaps it's better to get it frm d hotel for d updated list...

Hi Colt & Nehoc,

You posted your hse on Multiply ? How to go in the link ? I dun use that. I normally use Friendster. I wanna see your new hse too..heehee..
Nehoc, your AD is 2009 right ? you confirmed Oriental hotel so fast ah..

hi wendy,

yup. just go to http://multiply.com/ and sign up for a free account. then let us know your multiply id and we will invite you into our site.

very easy one. i didnt use friendster cos i realised lots of brides here use multiply.
waiting for your reply ya.

hi wendy,
i received ur invitation thru friendster already...so sweet n chio
hmm...u can add me in ur multiply too, my id is sblbee
i signed up for multiply when i realised dat many brides use multiply in sg forum too