Mandarin Orchard Singapore

eudora,

if I am not wrong, I was told during I signed up my dinner pkg that Meritus is undergoing renovation. You can still call them to enquire on this.

Hi there, im a bride to be considering the Grand Ballroom for my 50+ tables. Unfortunately, up till now i still can't confirm the date for my AD as the "tong shu" for 2009 is not yet. But i've rougly plan my wedding to be in February 2009. I hope to get a block out date for my AD in Feb just in case someone books it earlier than i did. Any advice on that?

Lovie Dovie

Not sure if the promotion is over. UOB credit cardmembers can get a complimentary table for every 25 tables confirmed. Wedding must be held in 2008.

I just attended my close friend's wedding dinner last weekend at Meritus Mandarin. I would like to share my experience so that Meritus Mandarin's btbs can take note.

There was like around 4 wedding dinner that night. The place is very packed with people / guests rushing around. We nearly went to the wrong one. Luckily, one of my friends spotted that the groom wasn't the 'right' one. So we had to ring up the couple. Apparently, different lifts lead to different ballrooms. Kinda of confusing if we didn't have the ballroom name. But I must give credits to the flat tv at lobby, as it will show the names of all the couples having dinner on that night.

My friend's one was at the Belvedere ballroom. Again, there is another ballroom facing the Belvedere. So coming out from the lift, its either left or right into the right ballroom. My friend had to come out to wait for us, in case we walked into the wrong one again.

The Belvedere ballroom is quite spacious with a 'walkway' to the dining area. This is unique as it allows the couples to do 'something' along the walkway. My friend did up posters etc and placed them along the walkway, so everyone who walked in can have a glance at their picture.

However, the bad thing about this ballroom is the FOUR pillar standing right in the center of the ballroom. We are seated at the back, so totally cant see the stage at all. No matter how we shift ourselves, the 4 pillar just block it all out. Even those sitting at the sides, cant really see what is going on the stage.

But luckily, my friend arranged for projectors to be placed at the sides. So we are able to watch the montage and video. So if you are taking the Belvedere, having projectors are the sides is a must.

Even the match-in is affected by the pillars, as we cant view the full match-in. Although the match-in may be long, but most of the guests cant follow the couple throughout as the pillars just blocked us all out. Everyone only see half of the match-in, those sitting at the front, start seeing the couple after they are half way through and those sitting at the back lost sight of the couple when they walked 1/3 of the match-in.

Even the bubbles used during the 2nd match-in, its placed at the entrance of the ballroom which is right at 'beginning' after the walkway. If you have been to the ballroom before, the bubble machine is placed beside the transparent door so when you first match-in with the bubbles, those sitting near the stage or center, cant see at all. And while you walked towards the middle area, where most of the guest are seated, no more bubbles around the couple already, although the machine is still blowing, leaving loads of bubbles near the transparent door area. So btbs may want to take note of this or maybe shift the machine to somewhere closer to the centre.

As for the food, its ok, but nothing outstanding. Usually after every dinner, I will be able to name out some special dishes that I like, but for Meritus, I couldn't remember any speciality dish except for the chicken rice. I don't know if it is because the couple chosen to take the chicken rice, hence the dishes are 'reduced' so we couldn't really taste more dishes to comment on the special one.

For the chicken rice set, the chicken was cold but the rice is nice. I like the chicken soup, but my other friends are saying alot of msg, not sure about this.

And about the servers' service, I felt that its normal. But there was once, most of my friends went away, either toilets or smoking break, leaving me alone at the table, the server came with a 'wiping cloth' and started wiping the lazy susan while I am eating there. Even when I am taking food from the main plate, he still continue his wiping. First time experience such thing.

I also noticed that their servers like to ask if you want to have sprite / coke. But one glance at the drinking station, you will see they only have 7-up and pepsi. So its kinda of weird or embarassing to ask the guests if they want to have sprite and coke when they serve neither.

One last thing about the beverages is the glass used for the red wines. I think they are using the wrong glass, for all the wedding dinners that we been to, its always served in round tall glasses. Meritus served their red wines in glass that are short, look like those champagn glasses that are used to do up the fountain. I heard some guests commenting that the hotel may be having shortages in the red wines glasses as too many dinners on the same night, so use champgne glasses instead. Maybe btbs of meritus can check with the hotel on this as its not that presentable to serve the red wines in such manner.

My 2 cents. Hope it helps.

Hi, i jus collected cards from T-dragons.. but whr to get the gold strings? Popular bookstore selling 10yard (9.1m) for $5.95. kind of ex lei.. seems like can only do 28 cards per packet.. any1.. can recommend whr buy the gold strings asap...? txs txs

i'll be getting my cards from t-dragon next friday. I bought my gold strings from t-dragon ... around $5 a roll and they said they will cut the strings for me .. I got 2 rolls because I printed 300 cards but the lady said will have extras ... but my card is square ...

wow. u mean they wil cut for u somemore...?
my card also square, but do u knw 1 roll (hw long?) and tie hw many cards? and also mine is abt 360 cards. u thnk its ok to jus buy 2 rolls?

or should i use glue to paste it?

i think u ask the t-dragon ladies better ...
For us we added some stuffs to our inserts printing and got the strings together on spot when we confrim our printing then the lady says she will cut for us lor and told us to get 2 rolls .. I got 300 cards and so printed 300 inserts ...
I think glue abit hard to do nicely lor and the string tie more nice but u can try bah ...
To get them to tie to strings for us is very expensive though that one i remember clearly ...

Hi BTBs of Meritus, may I know how long in advance will you need to go for food tasting and selection of invitation cards?

My dinner is on Jan 09 at Mandarin Ballroom. Busy preparing for my wedding so have not really followed up banquet issues, did anyone of you here manage to get 2 nights stay in the hotel on your actual day?

Hi bh0322,
A 2 nite stay in hotel is not the common practice; mayb urs is different.

4 food tasting, itz usually 1-1.5 mths before ur AD.
Printing/ Selection of Invitation cards should take place around 2-3 mths prior to ur AD.

Hav been reading icey comments abt MM svc/ setting constraints @ Belverdere room....interesting comments...btw, icey, r u a guest or a bride in MM?
All tat u mention r valid pts...will probably liase w e coordinator n find out if we can hav side projectors.
I guess we cant do much abt e pillars. MM has been ard for qite a while...mayb taz how e older generation of hotels look like. Hopefully, e renovation come in handy as nowadays, many hotels go pillarless...clear view for all.

As 4 e food menu, we dint choose e chicken + rice (menu) as 1stly, we don see this dish appropriate 4 banquet. They offer more 'safe' choices...agree w u, while there may b no pleasant surprises, the dishes oso kinda meet our expectations. Jus hope on AD, e guests r ok w our choices n e portion given to them.
So far, we find their sharks fin tastiest...

As 4 e wine glasses, care to describe how small is small? Mayb they wan 2 make e glasses look exquisite but to some guests, it seems like they a bit stingy w their serving.
4 e waiters/waitresses, mayb they r part-timers as a bit blur blur loh...while such statements like 'Do you want sprite/ coke?' should b backed w whether such drinks r really available, guess these r e common drinks offered in banquets. Hence, they assume this is wat MM is offering to the guests. Perhaps a better commn bet. mgr n staff will improve the situation.

Last but not least, ur mention of wiping e table while eating is definitely inappropriate...!
Will highlight these to my coordinator n work on it.

Hmmm....ever notice itz e small stuff tat makes us evaluate e svc?
Thanks icey for ur invaluable sharing!

I was quoted for ACT 1 - Nirvana Package for min 15 tables max 18 tables.

Can someone explain to me what does "ACT 1" means? Pls share pics with me too.

just like icey, i'm here to share my experience with Meritus Mandrain...had just attended dinner on last Sat

- Car park lots is limited. Many guests ended up parking elsewhere or took valet parking. Some even waited 1/2 - 1hr in the carpark queue.

- My friend's wedding was at the Belverde ballroom. Noted that many guests from the opposite ballroom came to the wrong reception (I was the receptionist).

Food:-
Nothing fantastic. Very ordinary fare.

Service:-
I had lots to say about the service at Meritus Mandrain:-

-A lot of the servers are from China and can't speak or uderstand proper English

-After the combi platter (1st dish), we were given WET plates. We blatently took up the plates to show the waitress. But she turned a blind eye to it until someone told her we want the plates to be changed

-The server pointed at a 1/2 filled empty glass of a guest sitting next to my HB asking "What is this". The guest went off for a toilet break and I was shocked that the server will actually ask someone other the guest what he/she is having.

-Server was quick to clear off the dishes even though more than 50% of the food is untouched. Didnt transfer to a smaller plate

- When finally the server decided to transfer the chicken dish (with only 10% touched) to a smaller plate, she only transferred the wings and BONES to the small plate, taking away all the MEAT.

- Wine was served with dripping bottles. There was once some red wine was spilt and the server just wiped her hand on her uniform

- When we come to the noodle dish, one of the guest did not have any bowls. The server actually asked her to take the bowl of another guest who'd left the table. This is so unhygenic!

- At other tables, when they try to clear the dishes, they drop one whole plate (shattered to pieces) on the main walk-in aisle

I'd completed the feedback form and passed it to the reception at the lobby. To date, I'd not heard anything from them.

I was just informed that after ACT 1 renovated, the feel os it is going to change. 3 tier steps reduced to 2 and they will no longer have the "fence" thingy. It will look more like a function room in the future. So sad...
I really like the way it is now. Very easy to decorate

May I know if anyone has done soleminisation in Meritus? I've been given a small room besides Belvedere for my soleminisation but I would like to look for another nicer corner in the hotel. The bridal suite is out as it is quite small even as a small affair. My coordinator also did not recommend the swimming pool area. Can someone advise? Thanks!

We held our wedding in Mandarin Court in late Sept 2007. We had a good time and were really pleased about the whole event. No complaint received about food & services, in fact my (many) aunts told me they really loved the atmosphere in the ballroom. Everyone was in a cherry mood. I must specially emphasized that we got a really competent and helpful duty manager that evening. The captain was also very pleasant and she remembered some of my unique requests well.

I was abit worried at first as we had a total change of 4 coordinators before the wedding but am really glad and relieved that things turned out well.

But we did encounter 1 small hiccup the following day before check-out. My PILs paid for the banquet and being old folks, they dont carry credit cards or so. MIL specially prepared a banker's cheque from their bank beforehand but was rejected at the counter. After abit of struggle, the management realised that the receptionist had made a mistake. Someone did call to apologise and they offered to waive off the sum incurred for supper (ordered for 3 helpers after my banquet).

But overall, I must say it was a good experience for us. To the MM btbs, congratulations and have a fun time at your weddings!

Just had my Dinner last Sunday. Very fortunate to have been served a very good and responsible coordinator(can email me at [email protected]). She's detailed and provided alot of good suggestions to make the event a very memorable one. As mine is a full veg 50 table banquet, most of my guest have commented that they've never had a vegetarian meal like this before in a good way. Good service all the way.

The latest BTB having her wedding dinner at MM's Ballroom reporting here! Just signed the contract with them yesterday for banquet in Nov 09. Liking MM very much thus far and praying dat everything will go well on the day!!

i dun really like to haggle for things so it was based solely on the packages from a few hotels that i chose MM. As in from wat is included in the packages that i decide that MM has one of the best, to me. Mine is on a Sunday and its based on the min of 50tables. They are offering us 1 bottle of wine per table and waiver of corkage of liquor and wine. and i like that it has vegetarian and muslim 9 course dinner as well.

i see... how many nights in bridal suite? When is your AD?

Also, for the muslim and vegeterian - can they serve individual portions for guests?

Thanks for your help!!

only 1 night. I din try to ask for more.Are u going to do so? Do let me know if u are successful.=)

AD in nov 09. yep, the muslim and vegetarian are individually portioned but the table placing need some adjustment. For instance i have a family of 4 veg and if i place them with 6 others eating normal food, i will have to pay a table of 10 + 4 individual veg meals.so the 4 might need to be spilt up.

Actually I heard that they will be having a wedding show in Dec.. so trying to delay signing up till the show... hopefully can get more perks..

Yeah.. but im planning to have tit on a weekday.. so i think its not that bad( i hope)..

So what made u decide to sign up with MM? I hope i dun make the wrong choice..

What's your coordinator name? Visited the ballroom recently but don't really liked the person serving us. Seemed unsure of his stuff and prob not a wedding sales person.

Dan - then maybe you would want to request for a change in coordinator? my coordinator is fine so far.. PM doesn't seem to be working too. you can also try PM-ing me then i can see if i can reply.

Hi Sidney...

Got it figured out liaos.. the PM is actually sent to our email box directly..thanks to others who helped me out.. haha...I've replied to you liaos anyway..