Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi gals.

i m nt v comfortable abt the compensating of the carpet thingy if our guests vomitted on it. wat do u guys say abt this? and any1 has got guest vomitted b4 on their carpet? pls advice. other hotels have this rules as well?

angelmara> for reception hall maximum capacity is around 18 tables....
not so sure about ACT 1....
I am having 17 tables + 1 extra

I think for their Nirvana Weekend package range from $798+++ .. weekday is cheaper....

some of the perks include free flow beer
1 bottle of complimentary wine per table
waiver of corkage charge
1 bridal suite night free

I am having my dinner next sat! you can pop by and take a peek if you want... hehe

Oh by the way, better check when u having the dinner cos i heard that MM is having some renovations done on certain ballrooms.... check with their sales on their schedule.

toysbabe> not sure about other hotels... but i was uncomfortable with the clause too... in the end i still sign up cos this is the only place that fits my needs for small pax....

i think the guests will be civilised enough during the dinner la...... if not ask your EMCEEs to have a friendly reminder to guests to warn them beforehand lo.....

Hi toysbabe,
Im aware of e fine for any undesirable content found on their carpet...
I guess this is their way of shifting the cost onto e wedding couple.
My htb is oso concerned on tis aspect...so 4 a start, we limit e guests 2 normal liquor...no hard liquor loh...
Although we wish nobody vomits on e carpet, but i agree itz qite stressful 4 e couple 2 always keep a watchout on how e guests behave...
Perhaps u may wan 2 discuss w ur htb on how 2 avoid this incident frm happening...
Mayb a 'screen check' upon e recep counter might help (for those who come but not well) Sometimes pple vomit cos they don feel well 2, not jus by drinking liquor...

Frm past experience, I think most guests qite cooperative lah...if u still hav ur concerns, perhaps u wan 2 do away w liquor? But then, tat will b a tad boring 4 e male guests...guess red wine n champagne shld b ok.

Btw, ALL MM btb, besides e food n availability of rooms 4 smaller capacity, wat else is their selling pt?
Seems like qite a few of u not veri satisfied w their suite/choice of favour...my htb n i chose MM as it is smacked rite in e heart of Orchard. Personally, i prefer Marina Mandarin but guess e overseas guests might hav difficulty finding their way...
Do share k... thanz!

hmz ive nt been to dinner where the guests puke in the ballroom yet .. but rowdy there are quite a number ..
im still trying get past the 6 pillars in mandrain court tho ...
the suite looks okay leh but maybe they can decorate it abit so that our vg/pg when take vidz and pix looks nicer mah ..
but the favours chioce sounds abit like quite limited lor ...

btw the rates for 2008

Weekday Nirvana Package (Monday – Thursday, Exclusive of Eve & Public Holidays) $708++ Per Table
Weekend Nirvana Package (Friday & Sunday, Eve & Public Holidays) $818++ Per Table
Weekend Nirvana Package (Saturday, Eve & Public Holidays) $838++ Per Table
Joyous Package $1188++ Per Table

Optional Free Flow of Wine $30++ Per Table

PSH> whats the capacity u having?
if you have around 25 tables....you can have many hotels to choose from....

MM is ok in terms of food... and i think thats one of the main factor.... also free flow beer and bottle of wine was attractive.... for the room.... i personally think that is nice and spacious compared to some other hotels..... ZEN look and feel..... not sure what kind of decor you girls want from a suite....

I been to my friend's Conrad hotel suite... the size was only 1/2 of MM's suite

Hi waverine,
My capacity is bet 25-30 tables...belvedere rm. Itz more of my htb'c choice... so im not sure wat r its strengths...since hez paying majority of e cost, he has more say loh...

Will find out more frm my coordinator after CNY...ani here oredi did ur wedding cards? wedding cakes?

Hi waverine> how come you did not consider ACT1 ? thought it's quite interesting from the pics - like semi-outdoor garden style. Can share pros and cons for selecting it compared to Reception Hall. Thanks.

Hi PSH,
Belvedere ballroom is indeed nice... i had a chance to see the ballroom with a wedding decor...
high ceiling and looks grand! just too bad we cant meet the capacity if not i would have chosen it....

angelmara> reason why i chose reception hall to ACT1:

1) ACT1 has 3 tiers hence there are small steps in between the tiers... we got 7-8 tables of relatives so not so convenient for the old folks
2) if you take up the MAX capacity of ACT1, its a bit cramp... not much walking space in between the tables
3) Pros of ACT1 is that its unique... and you can play around with the romantic feel... but then u have to DIY the decor yourself with the arches....MM only provide table/chairs decor
4) ACT1 is theatre style whereas Reception Hall is more of a mini ballroom feel
5) Downside of Reception Hall - there are 2 pillars there... after laying out the floor plan of 18 tables - 1 table will be blocked from the stage view..... Ceiling is low......
6) ACT1 is on high floor hence u can have nice view when having cocktail reception (bigger recept area).... Reception Hall is on 5th floor....
7) ACT1 has a older feel to it... Reception Hall has newer feel...

So it depends on what u really want and if parents/in-laws will be ok with it.... If majority of your guests are younger crowd then ACT1 is ok venue

;-)

Hi gLeNlYn and Brides to be,

Could i check do u know how high is the ceiling for mandarin ballroom,do they have a long march in? For mandarin ballroom,u gals have a min of 45tables?thanks

Hi Waverine, just realised your wedding banquet is this weekend. Do rest well, smile and look pretty, and most of all enjoy your special day !

Hi Mrs tan...

i thnk its 4.1m high if i m nt wrong..to me, its a v high ceiling type la. but dun really like the ofuer outside the ballrm..kind of small and partician here and ther.

my tables is around there as well. if not the ballrm will lokk v spacous and empty cos the ballrm is v big.. (can hold up to 100 tables).

hi waverine.. congrats to u...

mandrain court ...
oh yeah i had the chicken rice yesterday also really not fantastic only the soup abit special .. but their coconut ice cream fabuloussss ...

Hi gLeNlYn,
Thanks for ur info.Cos I am comparing marina mandrian grandBallroom and Meritus Mandarin(Mandrian Ballroom)as they have a grand look.hehe.

but mrs tan.. marina mandarin ceiling cant fight with meritus mandarin at all la...if i m nt wrong, its abt double the height of marina for meritus.

Hi Mrs tan...

Y they say marina is 4m, cos its got lots of thick beams and lower false ceiling i thnk... when u go to meritus its totally diferent lor.. its double man.. thought meritus says theirs is 4.1m, but i thnk is lot higher to me.

injack studio .. cause he charging me not more than 1k for the service with express highlight.
In additional, he have his own transport also his video isnt so dead like the ones i saw at another b.s ...
and my collegue used him lor ..

i like ACT 1 and i am surprise that the max capacity is 18 tables. if they had my dates in mar 09, i will most probably be taking up.
Anyone can share their experience on the garden theme-like ACT 1?

hi kristle,

depending on how elborate u want. they usually put floral stands along the isle and on stage and that's all. u might want to request them to decorate the pillars and stuff with flowers too

Me interested in Meritus esp Act 1. Called them up and they informed me that Act1 is closed for reno during my AD, july 08. They proposed belvedere ballroom instead. I asked them whether belvedere will be renovated, they said it was renovated 2 yrs ago.

In fact, i cant even have the option of wedding lunch, cos day-time they will be doing reno to Act 1. ABit worried the reno dirt and dust will affect the other ballrooms.

just wana ask all of u gals here, what is your impression of belvedere ballroom, is it nice, suitable for 15-18 tables ?

so sad, heard ACT1 will be closed for reno fr Mar and when reopen can accommodate more than the previously 18 tables max., in other words, the min table will be higher.

i called up last week.. checking on the price and package they have for 09 but so sad that they are closed for major renovations... and not sure when it will be open again?

my cousin just had his wedding at Belvedere ballroom last weekend.. He was quite satisfied with the service provided to him.. i can also see that they treated the couple very well.. but i wont say tat any other guests receives the same quality of service.Food was not bad and the suite was very nice.

hi for all those btbs having ur wedding @ Belverdere room, jus curious over which theme u hav chosen 4 ur wedding?
Im thinking of having champagne* (main)with dashes of purple* (secondary) for e banquet.

btw, wat themes do they hav?
Thanz.

It seems they hav updated their wedding favours? True? If so, wat hav u chosen?

Anyone having ur food tasting session in mid Apr? Jus checking wat dishes u mix n match frm e 2 menus? (we r leaving out chicken rice out; either a choice of ee fu noodle or baked rice with lotus leaves)

I a end May 2008 MM btb.

Thanz for sharing...feel free 2 ans any Qs which u can contribute.

Hi OSh..my Ad is in end june... dunno wat kind of theme they hav la.. haven really c their theme yet.. and also wedding favours i m nt too sure.. i sign up with them during the wedding show held in jan this yr. i m going for food tasting b4 april, thats wat they say.. haven go down to T-dragin yet.. aiyo seems like alot of tings i also dunno whr to start from.. u been to T-dragon for ur cards alrd?

my ballrm wil be in the mandarin ballrm. any1 kind soul ot there can recommend wat kind of theme to recommend & wat kind of food tp inclde in the menu.. same as PSH, we out opting out the chicken rice.

hm glenly - hw mani tables u getting wor ?
i just went last friday to see see look look at t-dragon but it seems quite expensive to print the cards that im looking at but they have alot of varieties and they are able to mix and match the cards but of course u must get the same insert size cards to minimize costs ...
card printing also seems like alot of knowledge ..

mine is at least 40 tables. hmm.. cos meritus mandarin ask us to go down choose the cards we want cos its paid by them, only the inserts then we are paying ourselves right? u mean ex, as in inserts or card ex..? so u got check, inserts is hw much huh?

normal inserts (non translucent paper) , normal printing its ok .. those ribbons ok charge ..
but if u want translucent papers or direct print to card or hot-stamping the charges is different lor .. direct hot-stamp to card is more ex den hot-stamp on normal inserts .. but print on tranlucent inserts paper its variable costs per pc for the inserts ..

oh yea customised cards is seperate charges ..
and icons u wanted to print on the card is additional charges $10 a icon (choose from) customised icon i dunno liaoz ...

psh - i hoped they did update their favours when i sign the contract i do not find any favours im keen on using which i feedbacked to my co-ordinator **crosses fingers**

for e wedding card template, my htb n i opted for a portrait format *vertical. One sided where we squeeze both church wedding details n banquet on a card itself.
Choose 1 icon so tat costs ard $50 or less in total. (in English)
If we print e card with Chinese characters, it's another $100 to do with a new template. We forgo tat.
We dint hav any translucent papers (even though very tempted) cos we guess pple usually chuck / discard e card after e wedding.

Oso, we intend 2 print for those coming for church wedding only. (more fun 2 design on our own) n obtain e *ang ang MM ready made wedding cards for those coming for banquet only.

Hopefully in early Apr, when i finish on e food tasting, can update w u all...thanz 4 ur kindness though. Much appreciated...

Oh ya, ani1 getting married in May 2008?