Mandarin Orchard Singapore

PSH> ya loh... learnt my lesson.. shant reveal publicly in future..

anyone manage to get early check in for the suite? was told check in time is 2pm.....
subject to availability for early check in.

but i am worried a bit rush for me... cos i have ROM event around 3 plus.... my makeup artist need to doll me up around noon time.......

Hi waverine,
U may wan 2 check w ur coordinator in advance n see if she can accomodate ur special request...
Frm ur sharing, ya itz necessary 4 u 2 do an early check in. (when ur ROM ard 3 plus)
Is e ROM in e hotel? As long as there r vacant rooms, shldnt b a problem rite?
Aniwae, tink itz best u state ur request 2 ur coordinator n see wat she says.
4 moi, my rom/tea ceremony ends ard 2pm...after lunch reception, earliest 2 check in shld b ard 3 plus...

PSH> yup my ROM is at the hotel also... thats why prefer to have early check in...
cos i am also doing a mini "KNock Door" at the hotel room by groom/bros & jiemeis.....

meetin my coordinator on 5th Jan to finalise the rest of details... havent choose table cloth and wedding favors yet.... also need to ask her to check on my DIY montage whether can play on their projector or not... hehe

U mean gatecrash in MM?
Sounds really interesting...
Hmmm...

U r fast... we onli meeting our co-ordinator in Jan.
Hope u have success in getting an early check-in 4 ur AD.

Hi guys any1 got problem with 35 tables in the belveder ballrm? is it v cramped? choosing between sheraton and mertius mandarin... which is better? price abt the same la..any1 an help?
txs

hi toysbabe,
i believe e belverdere room can only hold a max of 30 tables. (i got e B room) It's not tat cramped n with suitable deco, e ball room will look qite cosy for e 300 guests.
Sheraton seems a bit pricer than MM...
Oso it depends on when u getting e Ballroom. MM is doing reno frm June onwards. Perhaps u may call up 2 confirm e availability.

was down at MM yesterday to choose my table cloth and wedding favors.... was a bit disppointed with the selection of favors... all look cheapo... except for the red scented candle...

they have a handphone strap with the love on it... a couple key ring.... chocolates (1 dark 1 white) , fruit cake, 1 clasp mirror (look so cheapo), and red candle.....
end up choosing the red candle as thats the most presentable....

went to have a peek at the regency suite as well, was much bigger than what i had in mind!!
the living room and master room are separated and both has plasma wall tv and massage chairs... the living room can comfortably accomodate 15 pax or more! good for family or helpers to rest..

Hi waverine,
I hav long heard of e massage chair frm my galfrien in MM...Did u try it?
I oso feel e wedding favours a bit common...basically items tat pple wont use but nevertheless take them as they r gifts frm e couple.
E red candle...is it scented? Tempted 2 place MM wedding favours w personal ones but mindful of e finances...sighz...probably coupled it w a personal thank u note 2 make it more meaningful loh...
MM ties in w a card co. for invites. Do u intend 2 use it or find ur own way in printing e invites?
Last but not least, wat abt e banquet deco? Does ani1 noe if MM has several themes 4 couples 2 choose? I heard u can see a few versions if they do wedding shows...*Upcoming one known as Spring Romance.

Not 2 worry if u don hav all ans as my HTB n i 2 meeting up w Coordinator...then we would get a clearer picture.

Last but not least, does ani1 here go 4 food tasing oredi? Can share which menu is better? Do they allow e dishes 2 hav a mutual swop? E.g. Dish 3 in Menu A replaces Dish 3 in Menu B.

Thanz!
kao_babydust.gif

Hi PSH,
Never try the massage chair.. just wanted to look at the suite only.

The red candle is scented one...yup i used the cards from Tdragon provided by MM. Need to pay for printing charges..

Deco wise its for you to choose. You can choose the table cloth color, chair seat color, type of flowers/colors.... its all up to u....

i did my food tasting already... was great... took the Nirvana weekend package...
we are able to change 1-2 dishes from the other menu... think they have 2 for u to choose from... I also requested the order of the food to be changed as there were 2 dishes all meat dish one after another.... so we change it to like one meat, fish, veg, meat kind....

MM has a showroom.... they will show u the diff tablecloth, seat covers etc.... so not to worry....

Grace,
They have a few ballroom to choose from..
From what i know..
Belvedere - Min 25 tables
Mandarin - Min 50 - 100
Mandarin Court (i think so) - min 30 above
Reception Hall - Min 15 - Max 18

I took Reception Hall cos I dun have so many tables.... and its a pretty nice mini ballroom...
but there are 2 pillars there.... but MM will try to layout the tables nicely to avoid too much blockage..... so far it works for me....

Hi waverine,

Thks for the info. I mite consider the Reception Hall but gotta check with them whether they can accept up to 20 tables. Can i know if theres any other extra charges not included in the package?

grace> when's ur AD? they are having renovation from now till end of the year i think.. or from June onwards.. i cant rem... and only Mandarin Ballroom is available.. all other function rooms will be affected.. better call them up to check..

Hi everyone here, I am planning to change my AD venue from Raffles Town Club to MM, can someone give me some advice on how to get back my deposit at RTC? And any feedback for the MM ballroom and the food/service? Thanks!

melissa, you need to check on the terms and conditions when u sign up with RTC.
If it states deposit paid are non-refundable there's nothing much u can do.

but there are some places where they will refund you partial amount of the deposit. Why dun you speak with your cootdinator from RTC on it?

Hi waverine,
Counting down 2 ur AD...enjoy ur time n look gorgeously radiant too!
Have fun as u step into a new phase of ur life with ur significant beau...

Hi waverine,

Thanks for your advice! I went down this morning to meet the coordinator, she is very nice and professional, unlike the raffles town club one! So I think I will confirm my wedding in MM, as for the deposit there, i dun think they will refund me, so sad... but no choice also... ur AD date is very close ya! so exciting! give us some feedback after ur wedding k! wish u have great party in MM!

eh i mite take up meritus mandrain banquet ..
anyone knows if there's lightning effects and lcd projector in their court ballroom ?

Went for the meritus mandarin wedding show. Nothing much. It seems that they focus more on promoting the bridal shops rather than the wedding banquet package. No bridal suite was open for viewing, no explanation of the package, not even slideshow of bridal suite and introduction to the various ballrooms they have.

Hi waverine,

u r always welcome, and can i check with u if there is this clause "TERMINATION BY HOTEL FOR RENOVATIONS OR REDEVELOPEMENT" in your contract, i am very ok with the rest stated inside the contract except for this... please advice, thanks!

Melissa
I do not have this clause in my contract.
I think thats because i signed up in April 2007.

maybe you should double check on their renovation schedules for this year....

Hihi.. i also went for the wedding show.. not much actually. lots of bridal gown showcasing (6 BS).

BTW, there is actually a bridal suite to show us, i went up to 11th flr.. the suite abit disappointing, cos the tv is still those CRT (box TV) and also looks abit old la. But still i love the mandarin ballrm (6th flr), thats y we signed up on that day itself. but i heard the suites is from 11th - 20th flr. depending on the availabilty.

btw, jus to clarify abit.. they say they delay their reno in july. all will renovate except the mandarin ballrm (6th flr), thus, they r having wedding show this time to call back those brides who wish to sign up previously like us.

i think they gg reno in oct 2008.
anyway i shd be holdin my ad in mm on 14 sep 2008.
friday gg down to sign the contract ...

hmz .. they loan u the solemisation room free ?

the food does looks great but erm the weddings gt other favours right?
**blinks*

ayukie. my solemisation right before the dinner (same day)... so thats why they gave me a complimentary room for the ROM process.

the food is fantastic... hope the quality is same during my actual day...

for wedding favors, they have other choices... like chocolates, key chain, phone strap, compact mirror.. but find the red candle is the best among all....

hmz ok ... im just hoping they give me a room near the banquet to change .. i'll most prob be changing 2 more times after the dinner starts ..
i hope they have more favours chioces then also ...
btw where will you be having your dinenr ?

oh so there's a bridal suite open for viewing. why did the guy at the reception tell me otherwise? so angry.

from the pictures the bridal suite looks ok quite big.

sherlin>

there is no bridal suite open for viewing...

actually i also didnt get a chance to see the suite when i signed up. only last week... i requested my coordinator to show me the suite cos I will be having my gate crash there....

just nice there is a suite available to view....
normally MM do not allow viewing of the suites...

the bridal suite pics here are for sharing with you girls... so you know how it looks like... the suite is indeed big... with two massage chairs too

their bridal suite is actually their REGENCY SUITES..... i think on their website there are some pics of it...

ayukie> i am having my dinner at Reception Hall level 5.

their wedding favors not alot of choices.... frankly not that nice... thats why i end up choosing the candle cos thats unique and presentable.... fruit cake and chocolate a bit boring....

Hi waverine...

ur pix on the bridal suite is nice and modern. got massage chair somemore. I went to the 11th flr on the wedding show on 13th oct. Its really those old type of tv and looks old. those wooden type of theme.

Did they tell u that they will be goiving u the same suite as u r seeing nw? cos they say the suites are from 11th - 20th flr.

anyway 1 gt 1 question if don;t take chicken rice and take the ee fu noodles hor do we just get only ee fu noodles or the ee fu noodles plus the chicken ?

glenlyn> the sales person did mention to me that they have a few diff suites on diff level..
so i guess all depends on availability lor....
hope i do get the nicer suite ...
but i think should be similar ... cos its all under REGENCY suites.....

Ayukie> level 5 is RECEPTION HALL, i got minimal tables thats why can only fit into there. For Ballroom need min. 25 tables... i only have 17 tables... so the reception hall is just nice for me.....

but its low ceiling kind....

as for the chicken rice dish..... if you forego that means u forego the CHICKEN + RICE.... u get to choose alternative dish mark asterisk on bottom left of the package....

so only EE FU noodles la....
for mine i chose i the thai style chicken to replace the CHICKEN RICE...

ayukie> maybe u can discuss with your family or in laws about it...

i did that and the feed back from my in laws side was dun choose chicken rice even though its their signature dish.... u know some old folks are traditional, they might not appreciate having chicken rice in the menu :p

waverine > thanks for the pics which is very helpful. I am actually looking for smaller capacity, around 15 to 20 tables. Can advise what is the min and max Reception Hall and ACTS can take ? Also, any package price and details of MM to share ?