Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi karen,
their NIRVANA package for weekends rate is $788+++. free flow beer and soft drinks for 4 hours... waiver of corkage charge for duty paid liquor... free 1 bottle of wine for every confirm table... the rest is standard....

but if you are looking to have your AD on 2nd half... best to check the availability first.

I heard that meritus will be undergoing renovation next yr so they wont b taking in any orders next yr,. is it true? then when will they start holding banquet again??

Very sad.. i m really interested to hold my wedding there next yr!!!Anyone can advise??

dont know the coordinator will call us up or we have to call them for my wedding will be in another 4 mths time.. none call us for confimation...

any advise?

what confirmation do u need?? if u r worried, then just give ur coordinator a call.

i understand from my new coordinator (henry has left MM) that he will be calling us up to tie up for food-tasting, selection of themes, etc.... but I will have to settle the invites by calling the printer directly.

ermm... confirmation of invitation card, wedding theme, favours, food tasting.. how advance shld all these be confirmed?

duno who to look up for now since henry has left MM... tink will call the CS & check it out..

Hi Kyra,

My wedding is on 25th Oct.

I've already collected my invitation cards. U're rite! T-dragon does have a really big range of designs for you to choose from and their service is definitely tip-top.

I actually made a mistake on my rsvp contact number and d lady noticed it and rang me to double check again even though i have already given them the go ahead to print the card.

Missypiggy, I only know that Henry has left after I sent him an email and shortly after, someone else from MM called us to meet up as he is the new coordinator taking over Henry's account. He didnt call us earlier bcos Henry got our email address wrong so he wasn't able to contact us!

I think you better call MM to check who will be your new coordinator.

I have received emails from forum people asking me on the perks in MM.
Please be informed it is definitely NOT right to copy paste the what ever said forum and send to MM and demand the same thing. Please understand that at different time of booking, perks will be different. Also, if I am the coordinator, I will consider between the tables booked and perks to give. Surely you wont think that booking 10 tables and booking 100 tables will be the same? The same good gesture they given out may not apply to all guest.
I felt frustrated when someone actually did this and quoted my name! Hey we are all BTB, whats there to bring down each other. That is VERY DIRTY AND SNEAKY ACT! So girls, please deeply consider from now on what you put out on forum may actually be a stab back on you.

Another frustration comes when people letting off their bookings may not be sincere at all. My experience is at another thread for bridal shop. Someone put a thread calling to let go of her booking at a cost as stated. When we about to settle the thing with the shop person as well, that person suddenly change her mind of not giving up. This made me at an awkward position with the bridal shop.

Therefore, to all who wish to purchase through forum, please consider hard.
I am taking myself off this forum.

Dear Siriuz

I encountered exactly the same experience as you. I was told by my coordintor that my name/date of booking were quoted to the hotel's GM when that couple couldnt secure the same perks.

I was very saddened by the incident and have never shared a single detail about my packages (be it hotel banquet/bridal shop/whatsoever) with any STRANGER on forums anymore. Call me selfish but we really cannot trust just any tom/dick/harry.

Cheer up. We shouldnt let the "faceless" rats spoil our mood

i emailed meritus last month and they replied saying they will be undergoing renovation and do not when it will be done hence not taking any banquets for the year 2009.

Hey people, do you know what are the waitress/banquet staff wearing? I wanna make a cheongsam top for my grandma.. notsure if it will clash with meritus staff...

i also enquire abt Meritus Mandarin. they said belvedere and mandarin court, ACT 1 and reception hall going under reno from june 08 until early 2009. only mandarin ballroom is available but min is 50 tables. but they would prefer ard 70 tables.

it's such a pity cant use the venue cos my AD is falls during their reno period. i really like Belvedere. Been there to view the wedding set up, very sweet and cosy feeling (despite the pillars)

Hi. Anyone with any comments about Meritus food and their Mandarin ballroom? I just met their sales person yesterday and really is a bit clueless about what i can further bargain.

Hi, I just had my food tasting recently and the food was quite good. I haven't had an actual wedding dinner there before. My ballroom is Belvedere, agree that it is very cosy and I love the ambience but understand that there will be closing down Belvedere by the end of this year.

Hi LoveMe, I guessing that the banquet waitresses will not be in cheongsams but those usual black suits. But the other waitresses and receptions at the hotels are in either red or black cheongsams.

Hi Jadz..
Thanks for the infor. I went down for foodtasting yesterday. And it taste not too bad. And I also tried to observe what other ppl are wearing.. yes i will proceed with my 3/4 sleeve cheongsam top for my grandma hehehe..

I juz attended a dinner at Belvedere last week...Food is not bad. One dish is pretty good, the sambal prawns & fried buns *yummy* Veg with sliced abalone is pretty good too. Overall, dun have to wori abt MM food loh...Waitresses all v attentive (im not at VIP table).

Cheeky chick, i agreed. i like the curry prawns with deep fried man tou. I like the roasted chix too.. shark fins! The shark fins are in generous portion too

Hi LoveMe, I went for foodtasting too yest! I think our table were next to each other?!? =)

The roastes chix was super tender, very good reviews from my table. But my fav was the first dish

Jadz, i guessed so. :P For the first dish - I dont really like the wasabi taste. But overall, all the dishes are v nice!! I'm also using the Belvedere Ballroom.. When's ur AD?

Me at Belverdere too! My AD is on 11 Nov. What abt yours? Is it a weekday because my weekend manu doesnt have the curry prawns with mantou dish.

I hope we were not too noisy haha esp with my 2 young nieces at the table.

Hi. Do understand that MEritus Mandarin has a comprehensive package. What are the additional things that we can bargain from the hotel? I am intending to have 50 tables at their grand ball room. Pls advice. So far, they have given me additional night stay..

My hubby & I would like to thank Jesmi (Coordinator) & Wai Seng (Banquet Mgr) for their efforts in making our wedding banquet a memorable one. Thanks so much! Cheers Carol & Tony

their bridal suite not as nice as i tot leh...went down to see the other day..quite old n not romantic leh compare to other hotels bridal suite..

Mmm..this thread seems quite quiet nowadays...

ANyone had their dinner there lately??

Will be meeting up with Jesmi this week...
Wonder what we can ask for..

Looking at 80-100 at Mandarin Ballroom...

Any tips/advice please??

Anyone has photos to share???

please email to [email protected]

rach> ask for discount lor.... or extra bridal suite room night....
i realise the bridal suite if book under normal rates is $930.

other than that i find their package is rather comprehensive.
i went for food tasting liao... no complains at all.... food was fantastic!

I jus had my wedding dinner on 27 Oct 07. Overall the food was not as good as the food tasting. Standard dropped at least 50%. The food was fantastic during food tasting.

Most of the waitor & waitress are new & not experienced. Heard a few complaints from guests after the dinner... So sad...

Hi MM Brides,
Ani care 2 share if MM staff puts in effort 2 spruce up e deco of e room? (e.g colour theme/ floral arrangement)
R they oso helpful in e details of e prog.? (e.g. march in procedures etc)

If wat liyan says itz true, then tat wld b a cause of concern 4 2008 BTB cos one of e draws of MM is their food...
Ani one care 2 share more abt e food tasting experience?

Thankz much!

i went for food tasting on 22nd oct lei...
the food was served at Pine Court restaurant.... all dishes were good... even the shark's fin was plenty!

wah now i hear from Liyan that on actual day its diff......think i must emphasise to my coordinator on it....

PSH> so far i think no decor for the suite, you might try to request for it .. cos i ask them before.... also i have seen the bridal suite it is ok only..... not that fantastic.....

my AD is next month... so i will review again after the AD

rach> just went down today and spoke to Jesmi..

Mmm.. just realised that coz i'm holding it during F1 period... i can't get extra night stay...

Understand la.. coz its peak period...

waverine> Jesmi told me Bridal Suite is normally $1600 leh... where u found out $930?? She said if i wanna extra nite.. charge 50%, $860++..... :/

Hmmm.. did my booking le... but apparently seems like more people looking at my date.... She said after i checked with her, many more people called and asked for the same date.. Hmm...
Now is confirming the table number and prob to go down sign contract and place deposit of $3000.

Which package u all gotten huh??
Mine is on a Monday..

i saw from their websites their suites all veri nice leh..bt wen i went down see their bridal suite not tt nice..beri old..or all the suites in their website the refurbished ones..but for the bridal suites they gif us the ones not yet renovated?

rach> i emailed my coordinator and ask her how much is the suite if i want to have additional night... she quoted me around $930.... i went online to check on their rates for suite its about this price also.... maybe the one jesmi quoted you is the bigger suite?

mine AD is on Sat..... i took the Nirwana Package deal for weekend

waverine> Jesmi told me its $860++ if I didnt rem wrongly..wah.. then after ++ is $1012 le...
But mine is during F1 Period.. so maybe more ex?? Mmm.. alternatively is to convert the day use room to an extra night stay.
But is the day room from 2-8pm useful??
Else the helpers will have to stay with us in our room rite? But heard the suite is actually quite big with living room and bedroom.. so actually can let them put their stuffs with us la...
Meritus is so old le.. I wont be surprised its old inside.. thats why they need renovation ma...

My coord told me that Mandarin Ballroom may not exist after renov.. it might be smaller coz no one really have 100 tables dinner nowadays.. usually 40++ max.... wah.. next time want to book 100 tables also hard to look for places le.. now already so limited....

My package is Nirwana Package for weekday.

rach> i will most like use the day room for helpers... my event starts rather early cos i having ROM in the hotel at 4.30... but i heard the day room is only subject to availability..... your AD is during F1 period so maybe rooms maybe fully booked.. no day room use for u also :p better check with her on it....

and also they are rather not flexible on the check in timing... say can only check in 2pm... i requested for early check in but she cannot confirm.... which is a bit of headache for me, thats why i thought of staying one night before... but its just too expensive...

waverine> oh no.. considering again if I really want MM... a few friends suddenly advised against it.
They said food not nice....
MMmmmm.....

Those who had it there already... any negative comments on food??

A bit confused over e bridal suite package u all discussing 'hotly'...wat do u mean by Nirvana package? Care 2 enlighten moi?

Hi waverine, im referring 2 e banquet deco, not e suite. Actually moi qite concerned over e reno loh, my AD on 31 May 2008...so close to June 2008.
Hope nothing falls apart when my htb n i spend our 1st nite in MM together... lol
Tink 2 summarize, we e BTB a bit concerned over their...
1. food std
2. svc
3. suite arrangement (check in, interior std etc)
4. day rm availability
5. type of package?

Hi rach, can clarify waz F1 period? I blur blur on this.
Thanz ladies! (",)

Hi PSH,

Have you spoken or called Meritus for their package?
They have a few packages available for different days.. Nirvana Package is the one we are taking... there's one for weekday and one for weekend.. the price is different..

You know the car racing thingy? F1??
They are coming to Singapore next year.. and there'll be a major car racing thing that'll take place in the central part of Singapore...
And coz of that, all the hotel rates in town during that period will shoot sky high and also.. heard that some hotels even have their hotels booked already or their pricing for then also out liaoz.. so hotel rooms will be in GREAT demand then.... So.... that's what we are talking about...

It'll be difficult for them to give us extra night coz they rather sell to other people at high high prices.. its marketing and sales la..

Btw, i guess its not really fair to some of us here who've been comparing packages..
All BTBs in this forum should know that we are here to share and help out one another, not to just get more perks at the cost of another person.
So if we do see something that we didnt manage to get because of the no. of tables we are getting, we shouldnt just bring out names and quote one another la.. this is not very nice. There must be some reason why certain couples get certain stuffs loh... So.. please refrain from quoting names, you can try to bargain for what you want, but if you don't get it, try to find out why.. don't quote names..

Thanks all....

Hi rach,
Thankz 4 e clarification...
Oredi highlighted some of e concerns 2 my hubby 2 b...
As 4 e issue on comparing packages, i believe this partly arises frm our kiasuism (i myself a victim of this syndrome @ times)
Ya, in a way, a forum is useful 4 support n clarification...name mentioning is a big no no... moreover, most of us use pseudo names on tis forum. Frankly speaking, half e chance we wont noe our real identities, so don worry lah...

We r meeting them only next year 2008 4 e package, haiz...hope they don complicate matters...
Oso jus an afterthot pops upon my mind, in e svc industry, there r always ups n downs...
Meaning even an established svc provider has e tendency 2 provide inconsistent svc... a lot of timez, we view e svc frm our custr viewpoint; we definitely prefer 2 see svc consistency n perhaps excellence.
H'r if we turn ard n view svc frm e svc provider perspective, there might b some constraints which they r working w 2 provide great svc...
Sometimes, itz jus a case of 'losing steam'?

Wow, F1 event...anione noes when this is taking place? Imagine seeing F1 racers striding in n out of MM. Cool leh! (",)

PSH> Well... i'm a victim of the name mentioning.. even though our names are not mentioned explicitly here, our coordinators' name are.. and i guess.. its not so nice when we are here trying to be nice n helping out, and turn out strained our r/s between ourselves and our coord. Ya know what i mean??
I've seen other threads where the girl was so affected tat she said she'll never come into the forum and contribute anymore...

Isnt that a waste if we can share the best perks that we all could have gotten, esp to those who are really ignorant...
I for one, was an ignorant gal who started out on this forum and learnt alot of things along the way, things to note etc etc...

So... we can just have a rough gauge in mind the extent we can bargain for stuffs, but when things dont work out our way, i guess we dont mention names la...

I've people emailing me their packages but with so much more perks and when i try to get it, i dont.
I dont mention their names as well, but just ask and find out why i can't get the same perks..
The qty of what we are booking makes a difference too..

hi rach,
Understand ur pt of reference.
While we cant stop others frm sharing e package details n make comparisons, we can kinda 'safeguard' ourselves by not revealing our coordr/chef or ani relevant personnel names.

If we put ourselves in their shoes, itz not wise 2 noe tat there r so many pple out there commenting abt u...

Word of mouth is a double edged sword...muz check our motives 1st b4 voicing out our concerns.

Mebe, it helps if we focus on e issues, not on e pple involved...

Oso, on e plus side, i believe if we show our gracious side in e prep, e goodwill will b 'boomerang' back lah...

No frets k, MM BTBs (",)
Looking forward 2 meet e coordr soon...to discuss e banquet details n oh ya, e food tasting session...yummy!

Anione got some fun ideas 4 march-in or e type of slideshows u intend 2 show in MM?
Feel free 2 share...thanz.