Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi blur

I've already invited you. Look for an invitation from Multiply in your junk mail box

I think usually you have to pay a deposite when you confirmed and signed on the contract. the rest of the $ pay after the banquet. You can either pay in cash using ur ang bow money, or sign card. Just call your credit co up for temporary increase in your credit limit. Usually they allow up to 3x or 4x your salary. If you banquet too big, ask hotel to break the bill in smaller ones so u can pay bit by bit by different credit cards.

Thanks for the advise! will call up credit card centre to check out on this.

Btw , how about additional perks to nego with?

& is the compliementary 1 btl of wine per table enough aready? was tinking not to top up the additional $40 per table for free flow, as MM is charging 18++ per btl. which i feel not worth the topping for free flow. any advise?

Hi BlurZsoTong,

So u have confirm your booking with MM?Did u manage to negotiate out of the perks given to you?

I have confirmed booking with MM & got hardcopy of contract aready. Now i only need to fix an appointment with the coordinator to sign the contract & time to nego for more perks. keke..

Hi Tien,

You're most welcome!
Anyway I have not made any bookings yet because my AD will be in mid 2008 and most hotels, including MM, are not ready to accept bookings at the moment. Will be resuming the hotel hunt probably after chinese new year.

hi ade Heng,

But how come i heard from my coordinator, there's actually some couples booked with them like 2 yrs in advance becos of the super "Auspicious" date. So if u have any particular date u need to compromise, den u can start sourcing aready... As i've learnt a lesson myself.. choosing a friday whereby all the saturdays & sunday is fully booked with a few of my shortlisted choice including MM..

Just had my wedding dinner at Mandarin Court and would like to share some feedback.
Most guests commented that the food is really nice, esp the Mashed Taro with Pumpkin & Gingko Nuts (i.e yam paste). However, one, so far, commented that it's too sweet (well, you can never satisfy all). Flip side is the fish (Steamed Red Emperor Snapper with Crispy Ginger in Superior Sauce), not so nice.

Another negative point is the limited parking space. Most guests complaint they are unable to get a parking lot. So better to advise your guests to arrive early.

We had bubbles and dry ice for the entrance, and throwing of fresh flower petals (surprisingly allowed). Really fun.

The suite is spacious; one side with bed for the couple and the other side is the living/dining area. U must have at least 2-night stay to enjoy. Dun really need another room for helpers. There is free room service for American breakfast when you are too tired to wake up early the next day. Very thoughtful indeed.

Personally, MM is a good choice and we've truely enjoyed our stay with MM.

thanks ixus for ur advise.. so far, i most worried of will be the parking space, which might cause a hassle. as u know s'porean are famous of late queen & king.

So my fh tot of engaging a bus to fetch relatives to MM & fetch them back..

Hi Blurzsotong,
That's very thoughtful!!!!

Hi piggypig, jasleo,
2-night stay is part of our package when we signed in Dec 05. No need to negotiate for it. Back then, Francis was our co-ordinator. Subsequently, Jesmi took over.
What does the 2007 package comprise? No 2-night stay?

yup.. 1night stay for 2007 package... only those sign package before june 06 entitle 2nights.

hi ixus,
dec05 get any free flow beer & complimentary wine per confirmed table?
As per informed by my coordinator, he told us that 06 & 07 package differ of these.

Had tried asking for 1more night, but were beyond their control, only subject to management approval. can try asking. but chances slim

The old package has free flow of beer and waiver of cockage but no complimentary wine.
Probably it's due to change of management. Now under Lippo Group.

i tink so.. anyway, it's ok,have save quite abit on wine for 1btl per table as nowadays pple drink more wine than beer, & also tried asking for free flow wine instead of beer but got rejected. haha..

& i finally confirmed my AD be at MM.. less one ting to worry about.. my next will be BS.. do ur engage any wedding planner? my mom keep asking me to engage one...

Hi Blurzsotong,
Bought my red wine at $14.50 (consignment available). We had 28 tables but only consumed bottles of red wine (maybe becos it's a weekday).
No wedding planner. Expensive! Which BS did you sign up with?

yup, booked with MM, coordinator is Henry Chiok. He is very friendly. Tried asking for another day stay but was not approved! as it's their management agreement
unless i pay for another day stay with a special rate of 1k++.. gosh too exp.. (original price 2k++) but still for 5 star hotel, MM offer is gd. ballroom is nice too..

hi ixus,
i have yet confirm any BS yet. mostly will take up "My bridal room". how about urs? which BS did u engage?

wedding planner that expensive?? how much izzit? i didnt really check out on that.

We had Julia Wedding News.
Dun really know the rate for wedding planner but it is extra cost to me.
Wah, the suite is so ex?! Tot the most is ard S$800. My hubby was still thinking of going back for our anniversary. Can forget abt it liao. Use that $$ go tour better.

hi ixus,
which day is ur AD ?? as mine will be a friday.. believe i might need to top for additional btl of wine on that day. however MM's 18+++ per btl. shld be quite reasonable, den i upgrade to free flow wine at $40per table

yup agree with u.. i wont pay for that 1 more night stay. rather spend the $$ on honeymoon bettER! how is the package for julia wedding news? good offer? As for me i cant really get too high end for BS, as i took up one package with 1 BS for my ROM. & regretted it.. gg to forgo it & source for another one..

Hi BlurZsoTong,

I heard from my colleague that her friend booked with MM two years before their AD, so i tried my luck. But the coordinator i spoke to could not really be bothered after i told her that my wedding will only be in 2008. She even said that it's too early to book. By the way, when's your wedding?

Hi can someone share with me their package too. My AD is 4th Nov 07(sun). Having lots of problem sourcing for ballrm that can seat up to 600persons. Any other recommendation of other places? Hopefully <$800

Hi Jasleo,
Tried to send you a PM, but it's not enabled. Not very nice to mention names here because some others might be having that coordinator.

Hi dewdrop,
You're welcome!

Hi Charlene,
You've got mail!

Hi BlurZsoTong,
Wow, so you have about 10 months to prepare. So exciting!
Congratz!

yup. thanks Ade.

Stress bride to be leh.. cos it's gonna be me to do all the researching &amp; confirmation. so tired..

how bout u? when is ur AD? decided MM for ur AD?

I was told by one of the coordinator that MM is will not be taking any booking in 2008. The 4th floor of the hotel will be convert to shopping arcade. Thus in 2008, there will only be a grand ballroom which accomodates min. 50+ tables. There will be no Belvedere and Mandarin Court ballrooms. You may wish to check with them.

Ok in case anyone doesn't know, the 2 or 1 bottle of complimentary wine per table can be excluded from the contract, they will just deduct the wine price ($37 for 2 bottles) from table package price.

But dunno if you can do the same trick as above and then top up $40 per table for free flow of wine though. =p

Hey thanx Ade. Anyway i hav called up MM and the person in charge Felicia is very friendly. Waiting for my FH to nod his head before signing with MM.

I'm ok with the 1 bottle of red wine per table. Afterall we have free flow of beer, 1 bot of red wine for each table... it should be enuf for colleagues, relative and frenx to wack. Furthermore, i will buy 2-3 bottles of hard liquor in as well.

Anyone smuggle duty-free wine before?? hehe!

as per the contract, they didnt mentioned it's not allowed to bring duty free wine. "cockage waival for liquor" , usual case is cockage waival for duty paid liquor.

keke.. ya of cos.. when date is nearer, i will check with my coordinator on this again. my fh have lotsa duty free hard liquor at home..

bluZsotong, where's ur AD? I intend to buy two back from my bkk trip next week. what's the diff btw duty free and not duty free?