Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi Janice,

You can get the banquet sales to send you a quotation. As they go according to your number of table required and the ballroom which fits your request.

I book my wedding at MM too.

My cousin had her wedding last sat at MM and waiting for her photos to be out.Will email you gals.

I had a wonderful wedding dinner at ACT 1 with 18 tables in May this year. I loved every part of it, the service of MM was superb, my guests liked the uniqueness of the venue and complimented the food as "excellent"! Below is a picture of the evening took by my friend, the floral decorations were included in the package.
415158.jpg

Hi Doreen
You can look for my coordinator, henry chiok. He is a very experienced as he has been there for years! Friendly and easy going guy..

Hi Adel,
Can you pls share with does your package includes and how much it cost with me at [email protected]?

Hi earl_grey,
The place looks great. Do you have any isssues that ur friends can't see the stage due to the steps?

Hi Addie,

No such complaint at all! Because the place is terraced, all the tables were distributed over 4 tiers, the effect is something like a lecture theatre; furthermore there are no pillars, hence none of the tables was blocked.

Hi I'm new here.
earl_grey, the pic of ur wedding day is really nice, the room is indeed unique. 'm considering MM, just wonder which ballroom was that? Coz i'll be having aorund 20 tables only. What perks did they give u for ur wedding? Who is ur coordinator? Thanks. ^_^

hi lavis, that's act 1. max is around 18 tables i think. call them and ask for quotation; they will send it with pix.

i'm having my banquet there next month!

Congrats! Excited rite?
Well, which day? if I decide to sign up with them, maybe can drop by to see the ballroom setting^_^

hi lavis, i hear act 1 is always open so anytime you are in town, you can take the lift up and look-see. on 35th floor i think, opposite the chinese restaurant.

my ad is on 26 nov; got people from far east flora to help do up the place with some flowers. the room is alright on its own cos of its unusual setting; but i only have abt 10 tables so thought i should do it up a bit. next week going to meet my coordinator (emily) again. hope you'll find a location you love soon!

Lavis,

The max for ACT 1 is 19 tables, I heard that my coordinator Derrick had left for better prospects.

Ixus,

My 10 courses were
1) Roast Suckling Pig Combination
2) Braised Shark's Fin with Crabmeat and Bamboo Pith
3) Roasted Crispy Chicken with Chicken Salt
4) Steamed Garoupa with Crispy Ginger in Superior Sauce
5) Sauteed Scallop and Cuttlefish with Bean Sauce in Golden Nest
6) Braised King Oyster Mushrooms and Conpoy with Vegetables
7) Braised Duck with Fresh Mushrooms and Chestnuts
8) Baked Rice in Lotus Leaf (very popular with guests)
9) Mashed Taro with Pumpkin and Gingko Nuts
10) Chinese Tea

Hi Earl Grey

May I know how come you got 10 courses where usually it is only 9? Did you pay extra for the additional 1 course?

Btw, may I know what is canapes?

Thks

Hi, earl_grey, thanks for the info. BTW, I met up with the coordinator_emily, according to her, the max no of tables u can hold in Act 1 is 18. What was ur package like? is it sth like 18+1?
PS: really love the Act 1 setting.. ^_^

Hi, Lilacgal, I got their package, what is ur email?

Panda,

Mine was the 2005/06 Weekend package, which had 9 dishes + Chinese tea, the Weekday package had 8 dishes + Chinese tea; I didn't pay extra for anything, just listed every item on the menu.

Canapes were some finger food served on trays by the waiters during Cocktail, I'm not sure about the ingredients or taste as I was busy greeting guests and didn't take any.

Lavis,

I had exactly 18 tables with no reserve. In fact, I met and worked with 3 co-ordinators during my preparation, and all told me the max was 19 tables. From my experience, it can definitely hold 19-20 tables. Here's how it can be arranged:
a) 8 tables on the ground tier (I had 7 and there was plenty of room where another table could be placed);
b) 2 tables on second tier;
c) 4 tables on third tier; and
d) 5-6 tables on top tier (2 near the bar, and 3-4 along the right wall).

I had 5 tables on the top tier, 2 near the bar and 3 along the right wall. If you refer to my pix above, you can see the 3 tables behind the railing in the background. Actually, Derrick told me that if I didn't mind squeezing a bit, he could use the "one-in-one-out" method and place 4 tables along the wall in a zigzag manner. But I decided against it, as I feared the guests would find it too packed.

Hope my explanation is clear enough, and the info is helpful to you!

Act 1 is great! I had my wedding last sunday... as we didn't have too many tables (15 + 1 reserved) we decided to do a longer march-in using the staircase further from the entrance. The deco and ambience of the ballroom is lovely and a lot of guests commented a wedding that went smoothly.

hi lavis, is alrite, I have called them up to send me the package already, thanks!

hi charly, good to hear that u had a smooth wedding! im looking at Act 1, saw their slides and must agree tat it is a very unique setting...

hi earl grey, i hv not seen the actual ballroom but from the pic i saw above, will the guests seated at the far end (tats the top tier?) hv difficulty viewing the stage? will they be blocked?

Lilacgal,

Well, the tables are not blocked from view at all, but as the guests sitting behind the tables are furthermost from the stage, they may have a bit of problem viewing the stage, probably can only see the couple from midway up. One solution is to link up a video camera and the LCD projector, so that the guests can see the stage clearly from the big screen above it. Another solution is to have less tables so the far end on the top tier need not be used.

lilacgal,

according to some of my guests who are sitting on the top tier on the righ wall, ie left hand side of the stage, they couldn't see a thing on the screen during the slide show. probably the angle is not correct. but they have no problem with seeing what's happening on the stage

Didn't have any guests sitting on the top tier on the same side as the bar counter so not sure about it.

Hi Charly,

I am considering Meritus Mandarin too. Had been to Act 1 as my company had held a function over there. Care to share your wedding package with me? Btw, how many tables can Act 1 accomodate?

Thanks muchi

hi oink oink...

give me ur email addy and i'll send u the attachment? but mine is the 2006 lunch package so may be different perks if u sign up with them now...

act 1 can have up to 18 tables i think....

Hi Dear all,
I'm new to this thread here

I'm considering Mandarin too but I can't enjoy it having at ACT1 cos it can't accomodate more than 40 tables.
Has there been anyone who has only 45 tables yet able to hold the wedding at the Grand ballroom?

Hi Charly,

Thanks. Im considering Belvedere as my wedding venue. I attended one of my friend's wedding at Mandarin Court and it was excellent. The food was good too. Ya Act 1 is good but can't accomodate my required no. of tables. I have the latest wedding package from MM. Their package is indeed comprehensive. But I'm wondering how good their customer service is. What do you think when you were liasing with them? And who was your coordinator?

hi charly, thanks for the note there, ya im thinking those tables on the top tier most likely wont be able to catch everything due to the angle.

how abt the reception hall? any comments?

hi xiaopei,

i had 40 tables, and had it at mandarin court. u can consider mandarin court cos although there are pillars, nobody's view will be blocked if there are less than 50 tables.

lilacgal!! *waves*

u are here too!! didnt know u considering act1!! we saw that, and were in love with it too! too bad it was too small for us

lingandyang,
we had malcolm. he was a damn good coordinator.. and someone on this thread recommended him highly, that's why we went to him directly. not sure if he is taking on clients still cos he was promoted sometime last year though..

oinkoink,

i had nothing to complain abt regarding their customer service when preparing for my wedding last yr. me and hb were pretty much blown away by the wonderful service from start to end.. and will highly recommend meritus mandarin.

oh is it?? when i had my wedding in oct 05, he was still there with no plans to leave leh!! wasted.. he was a brilliant coordinator.

yup...he was my coordinator too but left early 2006 cos I recieved a letter from the hotel to inform on the changes as my Ad is Oct 06.

oink oink, sent u the mail already

lilacgal, the reception area is quite nice. though right outside the ballroom is also the entrance to the chinese restaurant. so there might be other ppl ard. but the recep area is roomy withnice windows overlooking orchard road, sofas, recep table etc. you can take a look at my photos at
http://charly906.multiply.com

offical photos not out yet but hope whatever's there will give u a feel of the reception area. (too bad my friends didn't take 1 of the ballroom in full action!)

anyway my coordinator was emily chen, quite a nice lady. she is quite easily contactable. i bugged her with many qns and she replied to all of them! you can reach her at 6831 6071 or [email protected]

hi charly! thanks for sharing ur lovely photos...i tik u meant to show me the reception area of act1? rite? hee i was actually asking abt the other venue - reception hall which can hold up to 20 tables....seems like no one has used tat room for their banquet...ya i hv liaised with emily thru emails....shes quite prompt and efficient...

harloww jules! ya im here kpo-ing checking out MM lor...wooo so u held ur dinner here but not act1? we hv not seen the real thing yet not sure if my husb will like anot...hee i vaguely rem u mentioned ur dinner went smoothly and u were able to cover ur dinner expenses?? tats v lucky hor!? banquet getting more exp by the year!

hi oinkoink,

as mentioned b4, my coordinator was malcolm, but he has apparently left MM liao. no bad encounter at all. they had staff to greet us as we stepped out of the bridal car, and we were led to the suite directly without having to bother with check in. during the dinner,they actually kept food aside for us without being asked to either. so it was qutie a surprise when we discovered trays of food that were reheated upon returning to our suite at the end of the dinner.

hi lilacgal!!
hope u are better and not so sick now! only had time to read the postings in coach thread, but no time to type anything until now

i couldn fit all my tables into act 1 cos i had 400 guests!!! otw i will definitely have held it at act 1 lor. love the feel of it, and the fact that its so unique and different from the rest of the ballrooms in other hotels. shld get ur hb to view it, am sure he will like it too! ya i was heng enough to more than cover dinner expenses- maybe cos my wedding was on a weekday so it was cheaper.

lilac girl, ya. i thought you were asking for ACT1's reception area photos.

Since you've spoke to emily, ask her for the photos of the different ballrooms, she has like loads of them with different decorations for wedding banquets. *wink* also weekend is near, may be u can check if you can go down to meritus to take a look at the different rooms. For me, ACT 1 doesn't really look that pretty in the photos, but when we saw the real ballroom, i loved it right away!

oinkoink, I agree with jules, their service is superb. I remember when we were doing photo taking, then ACT 1 got alot of steps with the candles hanging from the flora stands, some of the waiters were very nice and they will like use their body as shield to prevent me from getting too close to the candles. Cute right?

Thanks, Charly.

Hi Jules,
Oic...too bad that he had left the hotel. Wow such special service they have, so sweet and merticulous. Hmm, maybe can try out MM. YOu mentioned u had ur dinner at Mandarin Court, care to share your photos? My email : [email protected]

Thanks muchi

Hi Jules,

Thanks for the input!

I'm now in a dilemma in choosing which hotel cos I've 45-50 tables ... considering:
1) Mandarin Grandball room (but min 55)
2) Grand Hyatt (Grand Ballroom)
3) Merchant Court

Realise that most pple take up the smaller ballrooms... So sigh....

So would really appreciate if anyone who has search for big ballrooms share their experience too!

Like to check did anyone manage to negotiate for an extra night of stay as well as increasing the number of parking coupons?

hi gals...
just had my wedding at the grandballroom on 11 nov... our sales coordinator was henry and the captain for our dinner was ben. They provided good service and everything went well. There were a few minor hiccups but we were happy with the way henry resolved the issues. We highly recommend MM. We had a wonderful stay there.