Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi Jan,
Mine is June next yr and my coord is Jamine. Also never heard anyone mentioned abt my coord..Hopefully things will turn out well for both of us.

hihi!

Yea sandy, tell them, u're not the first one who feels the food portion is not consistent... see wat ur coord says..

Also, last time heard that some of the chair seats are torn?!!! Maybe u wanna re-check with them too...

Hi sugarbaby, yea, hope all turns out well!

Hey gals, is there a Mandarin show coming up soon?

Jojok!
I went to Mandarin on Sept 27, ur wedding rite? Mandarin court
If i rem correctly, u used 'arches' for your wedding, instead of flower stds for the stage? Very nice! Did u have to pay extra?

Hi Seiko & Jan
Thanks for your advice.. we will highlight this point to our sales guy..also the seat covers too..

Jan, that day i saw in the Sin Min newspapers that there is a bridal show in MM but off hand now, i cant recall the date.. pai say..

Hi Sandy & Jann,

There's a upcoming show at MM, if I'm not wrong it's somewhere this mth... For those who have sign up wif MM, they will send u an invite to attend free... Check ur letterbox or otherwise check with ur coordinator. I received mine somewhere last mth liao...

hi Jellie

hope im not too nosy here.... I did remember Jojok telling me that she's using the same Pillar drapes theme ( actually it belongs 2 ShangriLa's Deco ) which i used for my wedding at Belvedere on Aug 31st.

She did drop by 2 view my deco n decided 2 get the florist 2 do the same for her wedding.

Those Pillar Drapes ( Belvedere cld hold onli 3 instead of the usual 5 at Shang ) r at NO additiobnal costs for mine
i think shd be the same for Jojok too.

The seat covers the last time I looked... has tiny spots of soya stain on a few... not fatal lah, but obvious, cos white.

What you could do is have yourhelper walk round and those really jialat ones, your helper can tell the hotel to change. I'm sure they have spare seat covers lah.

hihi ladies

Shinchan
can i check with u is there any promos or wat for the upcoming mandarin show???
i hv yet to receive the invites leh..

Jojok ..can show me ur pixs of ur arches anot?? seem unique...so the yam paste not tat great huh??? the whole family love it leh...hmm hopefulli they will improve on this soon..

So any recommendations for cheap and gd videographer?

can somone help this blurry, how many type of cards does t dragon has for Mandarin's brides...

if we dont like the card, cld we get other card design from t dragon other collections? how much extra do we hv to pay?

does t dragon do printing for us? how much?

where is t dragon? near to which place?

Hi blurry
there are only 2 designs of cards for Mandarin.. in red & cream color..

if you don't like that 2 designs, you can choose from the range of same price but with different designs from T-dragon catalog. U can also choose the more exp range whereby you need to top up accordingly.

it depends whether you're going to print it onto the cards directly or printing inserts. U can visit their website www.tdragoncards.com and look at their price range.

T-dragon is at Excelsoir Shopping Centre #03-13 Tel. 6333 5761, look for Connie.. it is near to Funan Centre..

Hi blurry, maybe you want to consider,
* your own printing preferences- do you want basic-budgetary, or unique-abit more expensive?
If basic, then OTHER printers give better prices. if unique, then TD has the expertise advice but higher prices (IMO not ideal to go TD if yours is just basic which others can do too).

* MM provides 2 cards but they are linked to TD so you can choose alternatives from a good range of similarly priced TD cards.
Problem is if you don't like the 2 MM cards, and don't print at TD- maybe ask your coordinator what happens in that scenario
(if confirmed printing at TD then no worries on that count)

hihi gals!

Just wanna check again, if we do not choose the Mandarin cards, what is then the price range we can choose from T Dragon cards that will be FOC?? Is it those range that are less than $1 or??

Hmm.. i didnt receive any invitation for the show too leh! Maybe i signed up long ago that's why?!! Anyway, if there're more perks, dun think they'll give it to me too!

Hi Jan and Blurry

when u go down 2 Tdragon, Connie will 1st show u the 2 cards offered by mandarin ( meaning the back of the cards has Mandarin's logo printed on it ). If u wanna choose sth dif, she'll show u 1-2 files of their own cards ( at no extra costs ).

If u wish 2 customise yr cards, she'll show u another file with all the customised cards they've done

jan
pester yr coordinator for the invite.... u haven had yr wedding yet, so u shd be entitled mah,.... sometimes muz make some noise *heeheh*

I'm so upset. HB didn't write his cards so I helped him... there was no pen, of course he didn't bother to get any ready at his place.

Asked FIL, he lent me a black marker which he himself used for the invits.

Now... after writing all of HB's invits, I want to cry. Shouldn't have spent money to print invits dammit. Hb dun appreciate, no one does. What's the point of selecting colours, fonts, font sizes carefully, doing the typeface nicely...

when in the END, there's a thick black marker in the red card shouting the name of the guest.
thick black marker on the delicate cream envelopes shouting the name and address of the guest.

like loanshark card instead of wedding invit.

and of course he didn't have time to write personal notes to each guest on the picture postcard.

Hi Jellie,

I guess my deco is indeed similar to Seiko's deco at no additional cost. Err..rr I was too kan cheong in having the whole event over soonest possible so didn't really take notice of my own deco *hee* Gather fm friends & relatives that the whole event is very grand & nice. They liked the deco, wedding favours & food was really good. I have not seen my photos, still waiting for my photographer to call me once ready. Will show u some pixs once I received my photos.

Oh, I had ice craving too (which I liked). Was initially given 2 swan but didn't like it so request for dolphin instead. It was kind of nice.

MTMTMT, dun be upset, guys are just like that. I also had to write for hubby then but bought the gold pen on my own. Even had to push him to issue out to his friends. I just went for simple insert printing w a some graphic. Basically I do not think its worth spending so much on invites since most guest doesn't keep a copy of it. I was also very uptight throughout the wedding preparation, am glad that that all of over. Our emphasis was on our honeymoon & home.

"Wedding is just a day but Marriage is a lifetime".

HI MTMTMT

hey gal, dun be upset by this card incident... hey think of it this way... many of my guests/ colleagues/ frds had complimented on my personalised card, n i had some telling me they'll keep it as memonto. That really made my day
so Gal, remember, u paid so much 4 the cards, n u really loved it too rite? So y bother bt how yr IL's cards turned out( wif the black marker ). Focus on the other aspects of the preps.... Cheer up gal

Hi Jojok
u had ice carvings?? I did away with the carvings n red carpet cos i din like them
frankly. So gd u had gone 4 yr HM... so excited bt my Europe trip liao *Heheeh*

Hi MTMT..
don't be too upset liao.. i agree with wat Seiko said.. now u have to focus yr attention to other area of preps liao.. Stay happy always!

Hi Jojok & Seiko
It is the sharkfin's question again!

Did you take the Braised Shark Fin with 4 Treasures, Braised Shark Fin with Crabmeat & Bamboo Pith, Braised Shark Fin with shredded fish maw & crabmeat or other?

We chose Braised Shark Fin with 4 Treasures during food tasting.. but don't quite like the taste of the dried scallop.

thinking of alternate ways to serve the shark fin.. pai say to keep asking on this shark fin question...

we met up with Malcolm last Sat and have confirmed most of the details for our dinner liao.. we are taking the chocolate as wedding favour, no red carpet, but not sure about the ice carving leh.. chose the table cloth and floral arrangement too.. now can really start to feel the 'gan cheong-ness' liao.. heheheee...

thanks sandy, mt and seiko, for the info, we would check them out this weekend...

mt, dont b upset by this little incident, focus on the other things that needs to be done, tell him when you cld find a suitable time as he may hv other things in minds or are worrying abt some issue...

Remember to keep cool so that you look mei mei on your big day...

Hi Sandy

wah i din know there's 3 dif types of sharksfin leh,,, i suppose i took braised sharkfin wif crabmeat n bamboo pith. It sure wasnt watery, n cld see the fins *heheh*

Do check the details on yr AD... when i went for my rehearsal on AD.... i was shocked 2 c the red carpet.... i requested Liza the captain on duty that day 2 remove it which she did

Hi Blurry

do ask for Connie cos she's the most experienced n most helpful

Hi Seiko
hehehee.. there have got a few variety of the sharkfin.. and my MIL very very particular on this dish...

thanks for highlighting that point, will ask my co-ordinator to look into that too..

Hi Sandy

wah i din know leh, cos when i signed the contract there's onli menu a n b but both had the same dish of sharksfin leh... n i gong din ask too *heheh*

But the fish turned out surprisingly gd.... i was thinking wif so many tables on AD... quality sure dip 1 ... but hey! it was better than wat we had for food tasting!!! phewwwww

Chinadoll2802: Have u checked wif ur coordinator liao? Actually I oso not sure what promo goin on. Gotta check wif HB cos the invite was sent to him..

Jan: I signed up wif MM since last year, oso quite sometime liao, so I dun think it's due to us signing up to long b4 liao. Actually can go see see look look lor, if have extra perks or benefits, then can try to bargain again mah, no harm trying anyway... heehee...

MTMTMT; Jus wanna know whether r we allow to choose card of similar price from TD but print on our own? What's the price range of the cards that MM is providing us wif?

I know that u change ur dishes rite...? When shld we let our coordinator know that we have the intention? Do we have to top-up? Actually feel like changing the chicken to other chicken dishes, cos find that chicken are usually too meaty & hence cannot finish... Wasted leh...

Thanks jojok, Seiko and Sandy.

Hmm, actually, now just realised ILs cards turned out very well- my FIL took care in writing (ok, same pen but different hands come out different effects. I'm a very forceful person even regards to handwriting so while FIL's is more delicate, mine in black marker is very loud. So, my fault

So I rewrote all HB's envelopes in thinner pen
and wrote a simple line in each of the pic postcards to personalise- finished, they'd go out tomorrow! :D

Somehow, ILs have alot of spare cards, so end up we won't be short of cards as feared, quite a few left I should think :P I am such a neurotic :P

Wow Sandy, your AD is 1 mth after mine I thought- you are fast settling those I should have done so too, my food tasting only this Thurs (meeting Dolly and settling favours etc same day, as well as collect the kahluibang/ bridal cakes or issit cookies, blur liao). GDL this Sat!

Hi blurry, thanks- been blowing my top here and there with all the little screw-ups from different parties (printer delay, sanitaryware wrong delivery and so on...)! Luckily most things seem settled.

Hi shinchan, sorry I wouldn't know I didn't do that, hence mentioned that anyone thinking of that route should clarify first with their coordinator ;)

Can anyone recommend me coordinator when i call them up dis wk? Who will be more easy to bargain n friendly n good wif service?

Hi MTMTMT

things somehow will turn out well, rite?? now concentrate on yr GDL..... wahhh so fast leh... yr big day is bt 1 mth away liao .. WooHoo! :P

Hi Seiko
I suppose Shark Fin can be cooked with other ingredients so that's why MM got more than 1 type of variety.. anyway i guess we will still stick to Braised Shark Fin with 4 Treasures...

Which type of fish did U have? We chose Deep Fried Soon Hock with Crispy Ginger and it tasted good too, just worry tat the fish might not be enuff lor..

Hi MT
Glad tat the problem about yr invites are resolved!

Hehehee.. We thought if we have the time to do the food tasting now, why not lor? At least it gives us time allowance if we want to change the menu.. don't worry, U r still in time...

Enjoy yr GDL this Sat!

Hi blurry
It is best that U give Connie a call to make appt esp if U r planning to go down on weekend.

HI Blurry

its best 2 go down during wkdays as Tdragon's always packed on wkends.

Better call 2 make appointmt too

Hi Sandy

we chose steamed garoupa. We figured most dishes r quite heavy 2 the palatte, thats y we opted 4 steamed fish. Zainal did tell me then that i cld opt for soon hook ( actually not allowed since i already took the abalone dish ) he 'close 1 eye' lor *hehehe*

but in the end we still chose steam lor

Hi Angeline, I recommend Henry Chiok Banquet Sales Coordinator (I forget the actual job title).

Answers emails promptly, leaves email message response when he's on leave, returns phone calls, polite during negotiation, checks any strange request (instead of rejecting outright), meticulous in arranging matters (eg. schedule several things at a go to save your time) and very helpful even for your photography photoshoot should you decide to have there, checks on kahluibang cookies or whatever services you require :D

So anyone of u goin down to the bridal show?? i yet to sign my contract due to the bz work schedules..

Beside TD..any other places to make invitation cards??

MT >> enjoy urself tis weekend

Hi Sandy,

Didn't know there are so many variety. Mine was Braised Shark Fin with Crabmeat & Bamboo Pith. It was very good esp. on wedding day itself.

Seiko, I also did away w the red carpet. Initially, in-laws wanted so I acceded to their request. Later told Henry to take it away. *hee*

Oh I saw some photos of my stage taken by my sis, looks different from Seiko's cos my theme was champane. But it was really nice. Seiko, what was your theme then?

hihi!!

wow.. so many messages today!!

Hi shinchan, ok, i'll email my coord and ask her about it... hehe.. thanks!

Hi Sandy, i'm also thinking of choosing the deep fried fish.. coz afraid steamed fish, some may not be fresh and got the fishy taste...

ok, got to go...

Hi Seiko
how was the quality of the fish? our main concern is same as Jan on the freshness of the fish if we go for steam.. that's why i think we still stick to Deep Fried Soon Hock..

Hi Jojok
We tried the Braised Sharkfin with Crabmeat and Bamboo Pith during our 1st paid food tasting. All of us found it to be ok, except my MIL who wants better quality & ingredients for this particular dish.. very hard to please her leh...

Me back! The wedding at Mandarin was WONDERFUL!
Banquet Mgr in-charge was very nice too. Relatives complimented that the food was good and fresh. My collegues even took pictures of empty plates to show me that the dishes are very good that not a single pcs of fish/veg/sharkfins, etc were left... hahaha...

My in-laws have a special request on sharkfins that were neither in the menu, she requested the sharkfins to include only the conpoy and crabmeat This is because she didnt want the sharkfins to be overly-ingredients as sharkfins couldnt be found if too many ingredients were in it.

Jan,
Dont worry abt the fish cos they are indeed fresh..

hi gals!

hi cath, welcome back! wow.. nice to hear another Mandarin bride happy with the service and food! hehehe... Btw, which ballroom did u use? Esp happy to hear that the food is good!

Sandy, guess we dun have to worry too much abt whether the steamed fish...

Hi Jojok

I din exactly go for a theme-wedding. I chose champagne roses as flowers along the aisle. But on Stage, i wanted Shang's white pillar drapes ( the exact thing as shown on her portfolio ), and when i look at the pix, the white drapes blended in well with my white WG and white cake. Looks perfect ( i v thick skin 1 *hehehe* ). Plus my Yellow EG did show up well against the white drapes too

Dolly was the 1 who told me 2 do away with the ice carving n red carpet. N Move the cake to the middle of the stage so that 2 create a 'central focus'. Since she's the expert here, we did accordingly
N hey, muz say she has great taste after looking at the pix *heheheh*

Hi Chinadoll

think there's Acepro, Hitech..... there's a thread on wedding cards here u might wan 2 check it out

Hi Sandy
no worries, the fish turned out better than wat we had for food tasting. Ironic rite?? during food tasting, the fish was overcooked n they were cooking for 1 table onli leh!! i feedback 2 Lynn n for AD, it was perfect.

Thumbs up for the food. Onli complaints were the overly generous portions .... like that oso pple complain. IMO, more is better than less ( more face mah hahahah )

The dishes offered in the menu r quite heavy, so having sth steamed may be more refreshing. but again depends on luck whether the fish is cooked 2 perfection. Thats the risk ....

Hi Cath

Congrats on being upgraded to Mrs *heheheh* glad 2 hear you enjoyed yr wedding at MM

Had food tasting this evening, feedback:
* Qty just nice (ok, big eaters maybe... but note I removed 1 meat dish for my upgrade swop for whole roast suckling pig, so less meat though fatty ahahah).
* Everything fine except my pig missing ears and front trotters and somehow some family members wanted to eat the ears (esp tasty???) and my mum liked the tongue (and she found it so that's fine), and a trotter-loving someone asked why no front trotters.
* Deep-fried Soon Hock is... an acquired taste. It's freshwater not seawater bred so the flesh is not as toned. Softer, on the mushy side so there were some comments there. Won't change it though cos Soon Hock is more ex than red garoupa and fried seems safer than steamed. But take note if your friends/ family hate freshwater fish lor, plus Fran's experience with steamed garoupa is great.
* Candle is cute. Chose that, didn't mix half-half with chopsticks. Guestbook is... white, not chinese-themed at all, I was wanting red chinese type but will do. Anyone swopped the guestbook for something else? May not want to use it- maybe autograph directly on a blank album refill lah.
* Table cloths, napkin colours my coordinator just described cos no photos and no on-going wedding set-up :| I chose standard colours
VIP: cream base, gold cloth, white lace overlay, gold napkins, white seatcovers, gold sash.
Normal: cream base, white napkins, white seatcovers (I am still tempted to top-up for sashes, my gf noted there's only 1 wedding she ever attended where normal guests had sashes... at Ritz Carlton).
* Floral decor- not chosen yet, Dolly said she's revamping for the Mandarin Wedding Show, so I'd see the new ones early next mth in time for mine.
Dolly "strongly suggested" that red carpet and ice carving obiang, but I disagree, I will have red carpet for sure, ice carving for sure.
IMO, red carpet highlights the VIP path. Defines the march-in, among the mess of 40 tables and pillars etc. Lends a solid colour contrast to the base of your gown for photography ;) (compared to the multi-pattern of the normal carpet). If red carpet's good enough for the Oscars and all those high-profile events, it's certainly not obiang (the ONLY time they ever did away with it was just after the Sept 11 to tone down the glamour focus). My own wedding's about the only chance walking down that as the star.
My ice carving will be my backdrop as I walk-down ;) (not chucked on the stage).

My tastes differ much from most people, cos Dolly was raving about some balloon set-up in some ballroom elsewhere... and I feel that balloons in a BALLROOM setting is a hideous choice for ballrooms (compared to outdoor setting). Just my own (strong) opinion of course ;)

Dolly also suggested the cake at centre of stage, but again, I am not for it, will stick to my desired layout (cake on stage, champagne on floor- both in diagonal flank).

Was asking about real wedding cake cos I personnally hate mock wedding cakes especially the elaborately frilled, icicled, tiered, farcical dummies. (Ok, my opinion very... aggressive here... personal opinion!)

My coordinator helpfully suggested something that's mostly real but with some parts fake for volume, but I don't like it. Would rather have a modest size (why have huge- something that everyone knows is not fully cake cos if fully cake at that size it's ridiculously excessive?), but fully genuine. And in much simpler design and fresh flowers topping.

Their quote sounds good, but I may get outside vendor for this (I have it written in my contract etc).

Hi shin, yes- there's chopsticks and scented candles as alternatives, your coordinator will show you closer to your date in case they get new additions.
Eg. I was set on candles, but my coordinator was meticulous enough to insist on presenting the alternatives to me

hihi!!

gals, i realise i cant attend the bridal show hmm... actually are we really able to try get more perks even after we signed up long ago during the show?

Hey MT, guess more or less ur preps with the hotel and almost done ya!

MT, thanks for your info... Jus wanna find out more so that I know what to expect. Din do much homework on all wedding preps earlier, hence never bargain for much perks (for both dinner & bridal package). So now learn lesson liao, "dunno must ask". heehee...

Jan, so u r not free to attend? Btw, i'm jus posing a big MAYBE of gettin extra perks, i'm not sure too...

hi shinchan,

ya loh, not free to attend leh... hehe.. let me know if they are willing to give u the extra perks ya! heheh

Hi Sandy... the pig was small, cold, and missing alot of parts, like... peking duck style ahahah! no meat, no ears, no front trotters.

They cut abit thicker than desired, so fatty... but it's ok for us cos we dun have a meat dish anymore so more to eat of the pig is safer. But overall no major issue, quite a treat cos people dun eat this often nowadays ;) ... how did you find it???

The deep-fried soon hock, my mum liked... my PIL disliked... but we'd stick to it, just ask for it to be fried "crispier".

Ee-fu noodles my mum liked.

Funny thing- the Happiness Til Eternity dessert (simple sugared water with red dates) was a hit- looked round, everyone finished theirs and they liked it. Maybe washes everything down or something.

Hmmm, another relative of mine holding at Mandarin (Belverdere or Act dunno-what number?) this Dec, held food-tasting on Wed! *look-see whether relative here???* THEIR comments for their foodtasting was the fried rice terrible, so they swopped for Ee-fu noodles.

Hi MT
the pig was also too fatty for ours.. my young niece even told her mom that if on actual wedding day, we don't serve the roast suckling pig, she wouldn't want to come... hahahaa..

we too had the deep fried soon hock, overall is good but we worried that the serving portion may be not enough..