Mandarin Orchard Singapore

omg so many angsty posts on MM! making me scared.. cos i signed up with them already. however, my coordinator never gave me such service. she's very friendly and experienced.. :S

Hi Guys Just wanna share my view on Mandarin Court. I've attended my fren wedding in Nov at the Mandarin Court for 20 tables, the set up was just nice and is not squeezy. Most important there is no blockage.

So winnie dont worry bout it. Hope this help

hi peeps... dont worry if you have already sign up a package with them. it means that at least your business is something that doesnt conflict with the hotel's objectives. just enjoy the process of planning.

i'm facing these because of my case (30tables low revenue... neither her nor there for MM i know... but should that mean that the hotel do not cater to people in the same group as me?) and i think their policies are too rigid and leaves me no room to talk.

in fact i have just received a call from the hotel on the feedback i have given and i would like to clarify that what i have faced may not necessary be what you or any other potential clients might face. probably just my one off case. Jerry was the one who called up and apologised for all the unhappiness i'm still feeling and i appreciate that. at least i think this is what customer service should be.

there is nothing personal as i have mentioned earlier to sidney, its not that much about the coordinator. more of the policies that they have enforced that probably caused them to cross sell their packages this way.

now that they have called and apologise... at least i know that my case is being looked into.

hi Nicole ...thanks for ur info,its give me more faith to them..thanks ya!!!i already make appointment with them will go down take a look the setting ...hope everything ok!

Btw,Nicole how is the services?and food ok? coz my coordinator told me they are 2 server to 3 tables..

Wennie the service and food was good, the atmosphere is very cozy not like normal function room.
I will be having my own wedding in nov 09, the package is comprehensive with the perks from the show

Cher,

I guess is not bcos of this forum ba.
Jerry called to apologies b4 I even post my tots in this forum. But so? Is still a wasted trip down. I am still e same condition as b4 going to e wedding show, in e status of 'hanging around'. This is not e case I want.

Jerry called me on Thu b4 e wedding show, he said: 'Hey, r u coming down to e wedding show?'
I reply: 'I don tink so since my wedding is on 2010 & e perks don applies to 2010 wedding.'
His reply: 'Erm, y nt come down & I will c what can I do something for you, we shall c what can i work out something for you?'
I reply: 'So if I go dw, u can work out something for my 2010 wedding?'
His reply: 'Ya la, ya jus come dw to e show'.

Damnit, ends up? Cast me to one side. Attending to other couples.

Yes, he did called on Mon/Tue to apologise. SO?
I don tink is a big deal. Time wasted can nv be back. I still very hungry that day lo. So bz, nv eat lunch jus to go the show. Ends up so tu lan with Jerry's 'attitude & service'. Also his call to me on Mon/Tue is to push me back to Angie. Of course man. If I were in MM, i'll definitely sign under her. She is so much better in terms of comparison with Jerry.

But luckily Kelvin (director) saw us alone or being cast aside. He came to say 'Hi, can I help u?'
I reply: 'I am actually waiting for Jerry.'
He intro himself sayin he is e director, can he help.

I told him my wedding is on 2010 & jerry say can help.
He say: 'did jerry promise u anything?' (he jus wanna protect MM hotel interest, not really interested in helping me & if jerry really did promise me anything, he is in a huge trouble.)
I reply: 'no'

All i can say is, 'Foolish me'.

I believe if we are some rich ppl or some known rich ppl son/daughter/grandchildren.
We wont & will nv received such service.

Well i dono. Is like jia jiao. & in this case, hotel's jiao (jiu dian jiao).
I don received such service in Four Season, Fullerton. I believe even Orchard hotel give me better service than theirs.

But of course, I am jus toking bt Jerry in particular. Not on other MM coordinator.

In fact if some of u find out, this thread is moving very very slow (prove that MM isnt that popular as compared to other hotels). It was until recently that the wedding show caused so much rants that ppl wanna voice out here that resulted in e movement of this thread. If not is almost a dead thread.

yeah.. all the rants here are making me think twice too.. its been a pretty dead thread... just that their ballroom is really quite pretty after the reno.. and the price is quite reasonable.. so dunno whether we should compromise on service..

honestly, I had a very good experience with a lady coordinator there. perhaps it was a one to one appointment and not a wedding show, me and my htb felt taken care of and well explained on our queries. i think if you want to have a more personal experience, have an appt with them in private instead of such shows.

We will be signing up with them. Had good responses from friends who had weddings there as well as attending one myself.

Thought that I might share some insights here.

Jerine,
I meet up with Angie wks b4 e show.
Of cos is more of personal experience case as I also feel well taken care of.

If Jerry hasnt said that he will work out something for me, i wouldnt have gone down to e wedding show since I went b4 le. 2nd time there isnt as great as e 1st. I really don tink Mandarin Court appeals to me that much le. Is only e 1st time that creates e WOAH effect.

Y i wanna go dw to e wedding show? To enjoy e perks that jerry said he could work something out for me..

Ends up?

Hello, I wish to compliment their coordinator, Emily Chen. She is a catering sales manager. My hubby and I are very comfortable and at ease with her. She is very sincere and not fakey as a sales person. She offered a very good package with the Mandarin ballroom and was very flexible with many perks when we tell her our priorities. She also informed us of the wedding show once she learns of it in Nov to inform us of the special privileges. She is always prompt to return our emails and calls. There was once when she was down with MC and even smsed us on her own accord to inform us that she will need to revert back later. We were impressed with her professionalism and sincerity amongst the many hotels we approached for consideration. Due to other reasons, we have chosen Grand Hyatt but I want to recommend her here after she called to wish me all the best even after we signed up with GH. As a btb, i too hope to find a great coordinator like her to entrust my big day to, hope to use this revenue to share that she is a good choice if you are having troubles finding a good coordinator. If you need her contacts, you can call Meritus and ask for her. :-)

Hey Diane, i have to agree that Jerry is probably a factor that caused all this unhappiness. If I were you, i would probably feel upset and angry that the time and efforts are wasted.

I guess I am glad and fortunate to have a lady, June instead. She is prompt in replying to emails as well as giving me perks. I must say that our perks are pretty good and thats probably why i didnt go down for the show anymore. Hope you find your dream hotel soon!

Hi Jerine,

Could you share what are some of the perks given to you? Can pm me pls?

Thanks in advance..

Have thought of changing coordinator...but is it very mean to do so?

Hi Diane,

I think they should be willing to give you free flow of beer + additional nite stay ah... coz these are the perks for the wedding show...eventhough your wedding in 2010, im sure they can do something abt it.. unless they are so inflexible lah...

Hmm...it might be a blessing in disguise if you dun sign up so early actually.. coz everyone keeps saying that economy will only get worse.. so when business is not so good, they may lower their prices or throw in more freebies..

If you sign up now, you will be locked in to today's prices liaos..

Unless the date you want is super popular.. then no choice lah...

Cher,

My date def not e super popular one cos is weekday.

I also wont bk so early but damn many hotel don realize e economic reccession, still increase their 2010 prices. Like Meritus, wkday increase 30++, wkend increase 20++. So funny lo, normally weekend should increase more de what.

All hotels I enquire (except Orchard Hotel), e rest will b increasing their banquet price! They said very surely 'We won't & had nv decrease prices. Prices will either increase or remain e same'.

hmm...then wait for wedding shows.. coz i realise if time is on your side and you have decided on which hotel you want.. then wait for the hotel's wedding show.. coz its so much more perks.. otherwise very "lugi"...

Cher,

Ya la, that is what I am doing now what.
But u ask me to ask them for more perks den I tell you Meritus cant gif.
So I will be waiting for their perks lo...
Sianz ar..

attended two wedding dinners at Meritus..
Here's my reviews:

service - i would say it's quite good. coz i was kinda impressed when one of the catering manager/waiter (was at the VIP table) actually noticed me helping my grandma with the food and immediately provided me with another set of cutleries with fork and knife instead of chopsticks and tablespoon for the vegetarain course..however xcept for an incident, the waitress accidentally dropped a bowl of noodles and din clear it...weird.. i have to cover it and hide under the seat..
Food - hmmm.. not impressive thou.. non vege course is normal.. vege course has too much mushrooms.. made me sick of it after the 4th or 5th dish..
Ballroom - quite aright for the bigger ones with abt 50 tables..

went down to MM today to see the mandarin court

i love the 4-tier ballroom.
it is very unique but i worried that my mum and MIL might have difficulty having to move up and there.

furthermore, i duno how the march in is going to be.

Had spoken to the banquet mgr to see whether they can lower the price a not coz with the ++, it comes up to more than $1k and it is over our budget.

haiz

SY Chen,

The march in will be 'Open Door'. From walking in e door, turn right, den walk straight to e stairs then turn left walk down the stairs.

we signed up with MM

after doing some calculations, the original package seems more attractive.

We are giving $1000++ of things to meet our budget which i feel is not really worth it.

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

i attended a wedding at MM ballroom recently.
food is not bad.. but svc wasnt veri fabulous.

there were like 30++ tables and i can see there were not enough waiter. so 1 person has to serve 2 tables and ended up we had to wait quite long for our food.. tea refill oso take ages to come.

thanks SY Chen! looks like nothing much else to negotiate liao... do they give grand prize lucky draw with free banquet like Merchant Court? hahaha... if yes, i will sure sign up during their next wedding show!

strawberry, i am not too sure.

We didn't go to the wedding show actually. I emailed to the hotel, this lady - June - got back to us.

We arranged to go down and meet her and she told us that the offer is only till the next week Tuesday.

wins - emailed to you

oh u mean now they have special offer like they do during wedding show or was it the last wedding show promo extension? but last wedding show quite some time liao rite and they also wun reveal what is the new offer for upcoming wedding show?

Hi SY Chen,

how long did they get back to u after your email to them?? Cos i also sent an email to them about a week ago but so far no reply leh.

Is it alright to send me your package they provided for u for a comparison. Thanks

anybody knows when is their next wedding show or rather, how to know when's their next show??

Is it by checkin their website constantly??

Ya...I also keen to know...in love with their Mandarin court!

hi samuel n gin,

what dates r u all looking at? 2009 or 2010? before march or after march? coz i knw some hotels only until mar 2010... can book now or u all knw wedding show got wat special thing?

hi samuel, gin & strawberry,
i just went for the wedding show at MM in Dec, so i'm not sure if they'll be having another one again. i was told of the wedding show by my coordinator, i dun think the info was posted on the website.

yup for those who signed up at the wedding show, they got a better price for the package iirc.

I already sign up with them after view the actual set up,(mandarin court) i had take some photo and show to my family and fren, they all say very nice...gave me more confident !!! i like the decor very much..

hi wennie,

which date did u sign up for? any difference in the perks as i'm assuming u didn't sign during wedding show?

who is your coordinator? anything that you negotiated?

oh, mine is 3rd quarter of 2010, already emailed MM and they got back to me with the package liao.
Cost more than 2009 package.

So hope to pick up a better deal during their wedding show if available.

Any comments on their co-ordinator June??