Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi chi

i m taking mandarin court.. wah..$400 alone just for decorating the ceiling above the aisle? that's quite ex..but i guess it also depends on the design and the material used...

actually my advice is that no need to go for more eleborate centrepieces loh since they will be removed once the dishes are served, so no pt.. just my 2cents worth

hi chi

me too...i tot your guests will not be able to remember how is your deco after your wedding,,i rather spend the money on my honeymoon

Yeah I do agreed with Jitpong, rather spend money on honeymoon cos I doubt the guest will really appreciate the effort u "put" in.

Finally, I have chosen my favours. Is a mixture of bears & candles. But I felt that the bear w/o a pouch looks too plain & simple. Am soucing for those small pouch to place the bear.

Hi oki,

I like the candles too. It looks really nice. Have u visited to Arc 1 ballroom. Anyone has comments on that ballroom?

I find that the deco is very plain for the ballroom and also the the setting of the table is very simple. Any ideas on how to improve on that? I still considering whether I should book Arc 1 or not. Seeking for advice....

Hi everybody,

i had chosen my favour, i pick the bear it look real cute thou it abit plain.

By the way,can anyone advice me on the timing for the actual day? I really don,t know what time i shall ask my MUA to come for the evening make up.
Any advice???

Ho - i put in my invi cards that reception will start at 7pm...as i will be receiving my guest so i guess i should start my Make up at about 5.30pm to 6pm....

Hi kitty,
Have posted some pics here :

http://www.pREMOVEbase.com/julienc/meritus_mandarin_act_1

*click url address and delete away REMOVE

Deco is indeed insufficient IMO. A visit to the florist should solve the problem though.
Table setting looks plain cos everything's white... a change of centerpiece, some stainless steel cultery and glassware should improve it tremendously though.
Biggest complaint is still the ceiling though.
In spite of that, I'll still be having my AD there in Dec '05.

ho - i guess my guest will not reach exactly at 7pm so even if i start receiving my guest at 7.30pm, it is still ok...anyway my makeup at most will take only 1hour.

hi MM BTB,

I'm wondering whether any MM brides has pictures of MM deco of Belvedere. will appreciate if you can share them with me. tks

thinking of holding my wedding in MM. but quite worry about the lack of deco.

Dear MM Brides:

I am actually a Marina Mandarin bride in Jun05. But my Marina Mandarin coord called to tell me they changed their reno plans from Jul-Aug05 to Apr-Jul05, so i need to change banquet venue at no additional cost, with the same perks.

Sigh...

On my date, Pan Pac Pacific Ballroom & Meritus Mandarin Court still available. Would need advice on which to get. Have 40 tables. Please help! Thanks!!!

I attended my friend wedding at pan pac pacific ballroom, ballroom is nice although with minimum deco....but food wise i have not tried meritius mandarin yet so no comments.

Hi Kitty,

Yeah had been to Act1.. is looks more like a garden concept. For ballroom, if u spend a little more the deco will definitelly improve.

so sorry to hear about the reno plans of your chosen hotel... would advise u to go down to see the 2 ballrooms and see which one u prefer... and after u chose the hotel, will u be switched to the coordinator of the chosen hotel or still liaise with marina mandarin's coordinator?

Dear Jitpong:

Long time no see!
Thanks for ur comments!
When's ur wedding?
Everything going well?

Dear Sweet:

I be going down to both lo..
Quite upset about all these..
Unsure abt the coord issue. Anyone nice at Meritus that i can speak to?
Hope that it's a blessing in disguise and i get a beta venue compared to Marina Mandarin.
Hoping to gather as much info & advice b4 i decide...

hi sasha,
My coord is henry.. find it hard to get perks from him. I would highly recommend malcolm, coz it looks like he's more generous.

hi sash
at least u got to know about it earlier, so can make alternative plans

hi scrubbed
i m surprise that u find it hard to get perks from henry.. as i oso had him as my coordinator and find him veri accommodating.. what additional perks did u ask for?

hi sash - my AD is Feb 05. now preparing my things so still consider quite smooth...

scrubbed - my co-ordinator henry too, he is very accomodating to your request. he even some give us more of the entitles perks

Hi Everyone

I am Belle. I am planning to hold my wedding in May 05 and I have shortlisted MM too. However, I need to make a decision asap because the deadline is up soon.

I have a question for Jitpong - Henry is my coordinator too and you mentioned that he gave u some additional perks, may I know what they are please.

belle - i requested for overnight stay for co-ordinator room. As for some perks he increased the amount without me asking for it such as carpark coupons, invitation cards. i requested for late check out of my bridal suite too. he accede to my request to have my PS in MM but in the end i did not have my PS in MM

went down to view the set-up but found a lot of seat covers with holes?

any brides-to-be know whether mm is doing anything about it? how can the suitation be improve?

Jitpong - Many Thanks for your reply

In fact, I am really in dilemma now... I have shortlisted 4 hotels ie. MM, LM, Apollo and Amara. Each of these hotels have their own 'beauties'.. I need to revert to them very soon and I dont want to sign a contract with any regrets.. Can anyone give me some advice please?

belle - What hotel is LM? i never view the other hotels, so cant really comment much...but i do compare the rates offered by the various hotel and then their location and reputation to help me decide in the hotel.

Hotels like M hotels etc offering about the same rate as MM but in term of location and reputation, they may not be as good and renowed as MM, guests may not give a big ang pow as compare to MM

Sorry Jitpong, LM is Le Meridien. I like its ballroom but Le Meridien Building itself consists of many other shops ie. Pub and Massage etc. Though it has one and only ballroom, it is located on the same floor level as the hotel lobby and the shops, so there is rather lack of ambience lor...

I agree with you that MM's location and reputation are better than any other hotels in Orchard, but the deco is rather plain in Mandarin Court Ballroom and also I heard that the 1st dish presentation is not as grand lor..

That's why.. it's really a headache...

belle - ya agree that the deco at MM are rather plain, but no guests will ever remember how nicely done up your ballroom is, they will only remember whether your food is good.

I wld rather care about my own pocket than the deco.

Hi Belle

If all four hotels are within your budget, I will choose between MM & Amara. I don't like the ambience and mood of the Le Meridien & Apollo hotels. You can't change the image and tenants of a hotel, but you can do something about the ballroom decor.

hi sweet,
I'd tried bargaining for extra perks, but henry told us that the hotel doesn't give them unless you reach a certain number of tables. So, we trusted him and didn't press further. Shortly after I found another bride with ALL the perks henry had claimed it wasn't in his power to give. And I found that the generous coordinator was malcolm. So basically, I've lost all trust in henry. To aggravate the matter he came up with some ridiculous excuses... so if any bride has a choice I would highly recommend malcolm instead of henry to be their coord.

Hi Impulse41,

I noticed the holes on the seat covers when i visitd the ballrooms too. I casually asked my then-coordinator about it and he said MM has plans of changing them in early 2005.

Maybe you can try asking your coodinator on when they will be changing the seat covers. I agree they look ugly.

My coordinator id Derrick, a very nice guy, does anyone know him too?

So far the perks that he give me are all quite good.

Btw, MM is changing their table cloth & seat covers from next yr jan onwards so u gals need not worry about the Holes on the old seat covers.

I jus went down there 2 weeks ago so i think my info shall be accurate.

hi impulse
yup, i have ask my coordinator too about the holes in their seat covers and he told me that they are having plans to change them batch by batch and it seem from the various brides here that the news is true...

hi ho
they changing table cloth as well? as in to colored ones?

hi scrubbed
probably u can share with us what are the perks u r toking about? btw, how many tables are u having?

hi ninkumput,

i have asked henry about changing the seat cover. he didn't mentioned MM is changing, maybe i should ask him again.

hi ho,

if MM is changing their table cloth and seat cover. that will be great. did they mentioned what colour.

hi sweet,
henry just told me that they have some new ones. didn't mentioned about the changing batch by bacth.

ladies, care to share with me. what perks did u get from your coordinators?

from what i know is that for the VIP tables they will be changing from red colour into gold colour. The seat cover will be matching the table cloth. They say that the combination will turn out very nice but i have not see it myself.

as for those normal tables, they are still using white colour but will be changing new ones.

Jitpong & Joelle - Really appreciate for your advice. I think I can be more firm now in making the final decision. Thanks.

Scrubbed - My coordinator is Henry too and he's giving me extra perks such as additional 10% on parking coupons and invitation cards and no rental charge on video projector. May I know what other perks are you referring to?

The extra perks are extra nite stay at the bridal suite, nite stay for helpers. As for the parking coupons, cards and projector, he was also more than willing to throw in.

Hi Scubbed

Besides the bridal suite which they are willing to extend one more nite for us (two nites in total), do u mean they give you an extra room for the helpers to stay that nite as well?

Hi scrubbed

Can share which ballroom are you using and how many tables are you having? You mentioned that Henry feedback due to the number of tables you are having, he can't give you some perks, maybe the other bride is having more tables hence malcolm is able to give those perks to her.

Our package already have 2 nite stay in suite hence we did not ask for extra night however, hency obliged with our request for another room and nite stay for our helpers.

hi scrubbed
my package also include 2 nites stay at the bridal suite.. and we only ask for a day room for our helpers, as we dun need the nite stay..

The other bride has the same number of tables, hence I could do the comparison.

I'd rather not share too many details, it'd would be awkward if the co-ordinators also read the forum. Hope you gals understand..

I need to clarify that the 'two nites stay' that I've mentioned in my earlier message is already in my package too because I have an approximate of 35 tables and above. Hence, this was not the extra perk that Henry gave me.

I m new to this MM page. I have been undecisive confirming MM or Merchant Court. Any advise ? I had read in other forums that the food n service in MM is not too good ? MM brides, any comments/complaints in these areas ? These two areas will have a very big impact with my decision. Also, any comments in the bridal suits ?

Thanks a lot in advance !

Hi Kiddreamer,

I just had my wedding in MM... I did received alot of good comments from my guest & I am a happy MM's bride. As for the bridal suite, it is fantastic.. u should ask your co-ordinator to show you the bridal suite & I think is much better than Merchant Court.

I am new here. Will be having my wedding dinner at Mandarin Court (MC) on 22 Dec 2005. I had wanted the Grand ballroom 'cos it has no pillars, but 'cos I can only commit min 40 tables, I have to take MC
Can anyone share their wedding experience with MC? Are the pillars a big problem? Thanks!

Hi all, can i check from the weekend package food, which are the better ones from the lists? we really do not know what dishes are good...

would appreciate those who have had their dinner to give their feedback

lou lou: MC has no much of blockage of the Pillars? why so worry? MC is a nice plc to have a wedding too.. cosy ... my AD held in GB, nice too but big. if u dun have enough tables to cover GB, u will landed with a very big empty space, which will look unpresentable

Hi Lina,
Wow thanks! You have given me a great deal of reassurance
Did you have your wedding in MC as well?

Hi Staph,
Sorry can't help since I still have a long way to go before my food tasting...

I want to know if there's an email contact to ask for quotation or appointment for Meritus Mandarin? I checked their website but don't seem to find any. Anyone has any idea how I can contact them?

Thanx!