Labrador Park Villa Raintree Resort and Spa

montaigne

I'm desperately looking for a nice and outdoor place for banquet for about 150 guests. On budget as we will be holding another one in my FH's home country. Have been to Villa Raintree and like the venue as it's lush and green and by the sea. But have no idea just exactly how the Seafood restuarant will look like when it's done up because the pics the person sent me show more of the poolside setting rather than the restuarant. Can someone please share your experiences or thoughts on this venue? Thanks!Btw, wedding is planned for Sept 2008. Very tight!

Hi Montaigne

I've been to the plc and like it too. Concern is also the restaurant as it look quite plain. So are you holding your wedding there? Can share any photos if you manage to get any? Thks in advance!

HI montaigne, I will be holding my wedding dinner in Jan at Villa raintree .... I'll bw DIY-ing the decor and am worried about the plainess of the restaurant too .... Did you do your weddding there in the end?

If so, could you share your experience and package? I am currently nego. the package price. Am worried about the space for a stage as well.

Hi Lil Dewy,

I am intending to hold my wedding there this coming Jan ...

Well, my comments would be , unless you intend to do the decorations yourself or don't mind having a place that is a bit plain than you should consider it. THe decor in the package you get is quite limited.

The food at the Villa seafood Galleria is very good, I've eaten there many times, the manager May Tan is very friendly and accomendating. The outdoor area with the Glass House looks very fantastic at night and in the day but the best time to hold your wedding there would be when there is light as the restaurant has some great views of the sea as well.

For me, I didnt use the items in the package at all and had to nego. hard for them to replace the items i didnt want for other items as they don;t normally replace items you don't want in their wedding package. HOwever, in the end I think I am happy with the quotation i got.

If you want somewhere different, with good food and a great ambience, then think you can consider Villa RainTree...

If you are worried about the decorations, you can consider hiring a venue decoration company to do it for you. See this website... its a company called Love Droplets... They have done decorations at Vila RainTre before and I got a quote for them to decorate the ceiling with organza at only $120!
... http://moks0002.multiply.com/photos/album/34/Precious_Moment_theme_Kavy.

BTW, there will be a wedding at Villa RainTree this coming 11th of November. YOu can call the manager May to ask if you want to go down and have a look. Supposingly the couple spent $7k just to decorate the place!

Thanks Cheryl for ur detailed information. I have contacted them, and they have asked us to go down on wed to take a look at the place. One thing i wan to ask is the accomodation. Hw will u be settling urs? I understand there 's no room at the place yet, and it s pretty inconvenient when u wan to make up n change. I did asked when will their rooms be ready, but the coordinator has no idea too..

hey Adeline,
the place can hold max 15 tables of 12 people each. However there are 2 private rooms as well. I think each room can hold an additional 2-3 tables.

Hey Lil Dewy,
When will your wedding be? They are currently building a boutique hotel in the building next to the restaurant... where the spa is at the moment. I was told should be ready around end feb or march. For me, my mom has got a membership of a hotel group so she is arranging to get us a suite in one of the hotels. However if you get the package there, they should be giving you a makeup room. They told me that I will be given a room to do the makeup... should be in the Spa i think. Check with the coordinator... are you talking to Josephine? She's actually the GM of the place.

Hi Cheryl and ladies, hmm... how do i get the contact for Villa Raintree, and is there any website that i can take a look? Thank you all in advance!

HI Lil Dewy, Nope ... didnt see the pm ... actually i feeling kinda dumb dumb now .... I dun know how to read PMs... where can i find my PM inbox?
Anyway, you can email me at [email protected] if you need to ask me anything ya!

Kaktuz ... Villa RainTree's website is http://www.villaraintree.com/
You can contact May Wong (Restaurant Manager) at 6377 0351 or Josephine (GM/ in charge of Events) at 63396833 . But I think Josephine is out of the office for a few days so it might be better for you to look for May. Tell them you're my friend... my full name is Cheryl Jenner... They might be able to give you a good deal

hi Cheryl,
The love droplets deco looks quite nice, i like the precious moments light glass and the white lamps, but i think the whole do-up shd be quite expensive...
Are you contacting May or Josephine for your package? They referred me to Eileen who is quite slow in responding to emails and enquiries...(me getting impatient actually)
Are you having the 9-course sit-down dinner or buffet style?

hi lily,
sorry fot the late reply!

I'll be having the sit-down dinner in the chinese restaurant.

Are you thinkiing of doing the buffet or sit-down dinner?

Anyway, I first contacted May who referred me to Josephine as she is the main personin charge of events. Think its best you speak to JOsephine since any decision the other co-ordinator have to make will have to be apprved by Josephine any way!

I have actually got a quote from lovedroplets... I am intending to drape frabic all across the restaurant's ceilings... cant stand the A/Cs vents all over it! haha ... anyway, a lady named Jac replied... suprisingly, their charges are very reasonable! The cost of drapping the ceiling with frabic will only cost around $$120 and the stage draped with frabic only costs $60! Some other places were quoting me like $2000 for the decor!!! But they have a minimum charge of $400 thou.

So if you are thinking of doing the decor yourself can always cosider using them.

Hi Cheryl,
I am thinking to do buffet, so my guest can move around to enjoy the nice scenery there at Villa.
Have you tried the food at Olive? I was thinking to do a fusion buffet (combo of Olive and Villa food).
How much is your dinner if u dun mind to let me know?

I really like the Precious Moment lanterns that Love droplets have, i wonder where to get, if i can get it at Precious Moment shop?
I was thinking more of decorating with ribbons and sash outside the restaurant...
I feel the restaurant inside is quite cramp to have a stage, thinking of doing without a stage, seems its quite out of place.

Hey lily ....

Think your idea is good ... i wanted to do buffet as well but my parents wanted a sit-down thingy so i gave in to them.

I've had dinner at Olive 2-3 times, was quite good. But think the food at Villa seafood is much better. My mom has bought lots of her friends there before and they all raved about it. But I guess a combo will be good idea to please most guests.

I'm getting the $698 chinese dinner but some of the dishes we have requested to change to something else and they agreed to it. I think they also fed up of me cos i keep asking to change this and change.. keke mostly they were agreeable to my requests.

The stage ... i also feel that its very cramped for a stage but they sweared to me that will not be cramped. Anyway i will go down when there's wedding on to see for myself. I'm thinking if no stage ... people at the other end of the restaurant might not be able to see us when we do the cake-cutting etc.

NOt sure about the Precious Moment lanterns but I'm meeting up with Jac from Lovedroplets this week so I will ask her for you. Let you know ya!

Hi Cheryl,
Thanks in advance for helping to ask on precious moment lanterns...

I am pretty excited to hear that the food at Villa is quite good, do u mind to tell me which dishes are nice? I would like to find a chance to go down and dine with my friends...(try try...)

hey lily .. hehe ... actally i cant remember the name of the dishes we ate ... but so far I've been there 4-5 times for meals and my mom maybe 7-8 times. nvr had anything that wasnt good.

When you are there, you can ask May (the restaurant manager) to recommend you some dishes. Tell her you are my friend, maybe she can give you a discount cos I get 15% discount when i go ..keke... my full name is Cheryl Jenner

But must say .. the al-la-carte menu is not that cheap..... you guys should go to the bar above the restaurant as well ... It's really nice with full sea view. Very Chill!

Enjoy!

wow... missed out on this thread.. i going to hold my rom at Labrador glass ouse in jan 09.. so can we asked for mixed food from villa + olive?? i have told may i wan the menu from OLive (Cos Villa food look more of hi-tea aka catering food menus..alot of finger food and my ROM is dinner time..so food is not suitable..

Cheryl, you have go there to eat so many times?? wat is the food tat is highly recommended there??the price range?? maybe can bring my mom, mil there to eat for the meet the ILs sessions.. haha.. so can quote your name too to get the 15% discount?? is there a member card?

hey kervin .... I also don't know what food to recommended there.

My mom orders and I just eat .... so far all the food ordered is nice.

Yup, you should be able to ask for mixed Olive & Villa Seafood menu as I asked them before and they say ok. Who is your co-ordinator btw?

I don't know if you can get discount but can always try! haha! You can call up to book table and ask for May Wong(she's the restaurant manager) and tell her that I recommended you to go down, my full name is Cheryl Jenner. Not too sure about member card either. I got my discount cos my HTB knows someone who works part time in Olive and she asked us to go down and support support and then I saw the Glass House and wanted to have the wedding there. Then after that when I first went to Villa Raintree to check out the food, I thick skin ask May for discount, say that one the staff at Olive is our friend. keke

HOnestly the pricing is slightly on the high side. Not that cheap. Tat's why actually i find that their package is quite value for money. But don't you have a package for your ROM? it should include a food tasting for 10 people?

cherly, missed seeing your reply.. i try to ask may also if can get discount if dine there..since we goin to hold a wedding rom there anyway.. if cant then i try using your big name see got any help anot..heee..May is the one we talk to all the while..ROm also got food tasting one meh??? this one i din hear her say anot.. Any other brides got this perks?? maybe i just ask May on this.. or 50% discount??

if can get mix menu i will try lor.. see wat chinese menu she can add in tat time we say we don the beef in the olive menu n she suggest honey ribs (chinese) so shd be ok ba.. change afew more items ..

got thsi quote from far east fora today for their flowers:

- Simple Hand Flower - $120 onward
- Groom's corsage - $12 each
- Extra flower (from the hand flower) for my hair styling - $50 onward
- loose petals - 6in x 6in packaging $15 per package
- Flower Balls (I need ard 3-5 set of 2 Balls in a ribbon) - $50 onward
- 6 small Basket of flowers (similar to my hand flower) for placing along the Walk way (on top of 6 "logs") - $40 onw

Damn Money eater.. i wrote them a "nasty" emal after this le.. cant believe such big flower wholesaler selling mcuh more then even small retail shops in shopping centre /neighbourhood florist..

hey kervin,

my name not big la! haha .... but since we have to spend so much on our wedding, if can save here and there must always try right! ;)

Not sure if ROM has anyway such food tasting ... but I think if you have a certain amount of guests, they should have a food tasting for you la.

Honestly, I feel that that Villa Raintree's 'special' floral prices are too high la.

For Decor, I will be most likey going to go half DIY and half with Love Droplets... I think i must have emailed 10 florists / decorators ... I find Love Droplets the most reasonable.

For flowers, I am thinking of getting most of it from this auntie at bedok market (mrs Tan) or from one near my house at Potong Pasir. For example, I just want a very simple bouquet of 5-6 calla lilys and don't see why I have to spend a bomb on something that i can easily tie up myself even.

Actually, if you stay near bedok, you should check out this Mrs tan at the Block 85 bedok North market. if not, just go to the market nr your house, you might be surprised at the standard of their skill! For example, the Mrs Tan is really good and lots of brides from this forum use her as well.

cherly, do you mean you are tying the calla lilies yourselves or gettin it from Mrs teo from Bedok??i have already check out her flowers, rates last week... ya..she quoted me $50 for 5 stalk of callla lilies + groon corsage + hair flower peice extras... btw have you been married?? when your weddin date?

Hi Cheryl,

Can you share what your final menu dishes was like? Cos we tried asking them to change some dishes but was told that they can't do it unless we top up. Even if the dish that we chose was cheaper than the one in the menu...

Quite disappointed in their service and still in a limbo cos the coordinators who I was liasing with, Eileen and Amanda, has left and nobody told us until we called yesterday.

hi..i went down to raintree vila last fri to look at the venue..the place was nice, but the service attitude was really bad

before even i went down to have a look at the place, i contacted 2 weeks in advance, no one followed up my requests/questions, everytime i call them, i will be placed on hold or either that no one response to me.

anyway i went down last friday to have a look at the placed, the wedding coordinator, lynette, mixed up my wedding m date, i specically told her it was on the 21 mar but she wrote down 31 th mar. so when i went down, i realised that on the day that i wanted, it was a back to back booking, and no apology was even given.

when i wanted to ask for another timing, i asked the restaurant coordinator, alvin,...he say that timing is not possbiel as 'its the staff rest time'!!! do u believe it??

Hi to all those who have been there. I have been thru wat u guys have gone thru few months back.N that time my coordinator was Amanda, her attitude sucks too. Fixed an appt for me, but she herself nv turn up, end up Lynnette have to cover her duty, and seriosuly Lynnette s attitude wasnt good too. I felt the poolside is very nice, but sad to say they dun have accomodation, and the staffs attitude is very bad, i wonder hw long can they hold on.

ya... agree their svc not very good. They provide feathered pen for signing of ROM... but guess what... the pen is wrong colour. Luckly our JP check first and brought his own pen. This kind of mistake also can make.

in the end i settled for saf yatch club..ulu, but better svc...for couple who wana consider raintree...do ur homework n make sure the staff follow up promptly...if nt it will be a hair raising event!!!!

if u wanna have garden wedding,,can consider saf yatch club at sembawang...i nt been there before....but u can go down n have a look..

Lil Dewy > was Lynette that bad? Cos after giving her a piece of our mind about Eileen and Amanda, she was very responsive and helpful, totally opposite from the 1st pair. I'm just hoping that she'll stay this way.

eternity321 > What kind of colour pen do we need for the signing? Looks like I better double check everything before the event starts...

bernard > Labrador Park holds alot of sentimental value to FH & me, so I guess we are more willing to overlook past services if they improve...

crazelil.. best just tell them directly tat you kow of their bad servic and specifically mentioned to them n warm them NOT to make the same mistake or come out w new ones.. look at the other forum wher ei have comment after my ROM there last month..

main pointers: lack of Coordination at all.. coord just mia (on leave/mC) no handover at all.., FOod mistakes ,lack of label,food cut toobig portion, got another event they din tell us.. dessert is best n not enuff..

signing on cert MUST be in Black ink only.. i also Dont mind alot for these probs since i really love tat place.. of course i hope everyone can mentio that their service issue so tat they can improve and get rid of those stuff who is not keen to work..then the place will be marvellous..
( i think maybe those event w lots of complain si cos they are just ROM so they really hack care.. AD they put in more effort cos they earn more money mah..esp when we order food from olive restn instead..the seafood restn dont really earn from teh event directly..)
:P

kervin > Thanks! Arranging to meet up with them next week to confirm the package and at the same time highlight their poor service. I went there for a Valentine's Day dinner and end up waiting 25mins in between dishes... Hoping that this won't happen to my AD dinner.

By the way, how did you deco the place?

Crazelil.. i just used heart shape balloons mainly to line up the stairway and the entrance.. DIY some flower ball to hang along ceiling n on the glasshse wall panel.. the rest is just my own DIYs like ring pillow (Bird nest with two small couple birds), champage glasses w diy drawing of boy n ger with our names, photoframe (materials from Plaza Sg's Made-with-love), DIY guest book. tat all .. then wedding favours on recept table, loose petal during march in..

ya..rem to highlight our complain.. u can mention even me n my hus name (jackson) to show tat you really got our complains.. i don mind.. since i wont be goin back there at least for the near period..

wow! sounds very nice! I hope I can decorate as nice as you did... Thanks Kervin for letting us mention your husband and your name. I think they will be surprised that we have talked to others about this...

yes.. do it.. need some one of guts to really tell them off say that their svc realy wasted the nice atmosphere there.. hope for future brides they haVe better weddin there.. else they all hack care and don improve their svc DNA.. box them all..ahaa