Kuas

hi hapict,
not a prob.
Do go down to take a look. There are a lot of wedding stuff available. If I did not rem wrongly, I think their operating hours are till 4pm Mon~Sat.

If you wish to have more choices, there is one shop in Chinatown, near the Outram MRT station. There is an old lady there who sells a lot of wedding stuff.

Happy searching!

BTW hapict,

I came across a thread that says the following:
however, i'm not sure if it is still valid as it is dated 2002. Perhaps u can take a look?

"Are you interested in rental? If ure husband seldom wears suits, perhaps it is more feasible to rent one instead. I know of a place in Peninsula Shopping Centre who rents suits for three days at $80, including alterations and pants. It's quite worth it, and the workmanship is good. The shop's name is Silver Cloak and it's at the ground flr. You may wish to look for Albert. "

seafaith
ok think i will call them up ask then...
ivied
their openin hrs so short!! the chinatown shop u mean the new relocated one right??
thanks so much for the info!!! really appreciate it...

hi hapict,
u are welcome.

I had done quite a bit of research for my wedding. So let me know if you need further info.

Yup. the chinatown shop is the newly relocated one. think u know where is it already.
The Wedding Gift Shop is not located in those shopping district area so they do not open till late. This is what the lady told me. I had to go on Sat to rent my KUA too.

Hi iVied, would you be able to give a bit of details on where is that shop in Chinatown near the Outram MRT? Is it in Pearl Centre? Wld like to check it out
The Peninsula one is interesting! Only $80 for 3 days rental!! That's very reasonable considering it incl alterations! Wld be good for father's jkt!

Hey Hapict, good that you ask these qn.. hehe.. I can leapfrog on them and learn from your experience?? ;) Btw, I walked past House of Etiquette today along Tg Pagar. They have lotsa kuas and even the ma gua for guys. Mabbe you can check it out to get more ideas.

mintee
the area n market relocated. think it's near the NEL outram right ivied? vaguely rem, think must go there walk ard then can rem.

mintee i dun mind leh. we all share n discuss n learn fm each other here. =) yea i passed by house of etiquette many time while sourcin my BS along TP. look really gd but they always closed when i walk by..think must pop in take a look soon. sis n colleagues all say i shld wear kua but mine weddin lunch where go time so many changes? haha...btw u also need rent fathers' jacketS?

ivied
wedding gift shop in delfi orchard..ulu meh??
btw your AD also in jan like me right??

yup. The market is relocated to the new area as mentioned by hapict. This info is actually provided by my FMIL and FFIL. They always go around and shop, even more experienced than my FH and I.

Hey. We can all share notes here.
It is really tiring to look around.

House of Etiquette has lots of nice KUAs and CS. But they are pricy. I rem asking one KUA rental cost more than $200. For me, I just want to wear for the sake of wearing. hee... So I chose a simpler one and at a cheaper rate.

mintee, I'm not too sure if that shop at Peninsula Plaza still exist or not. The thread was dated 2002 so I had some reserve about this info. Do check it out ok. (And let us know too) hee....

hapict, it is not really ulu but its not in the central distict of Orchard where the MRT station and the major crowd are centralised. Actually, given the option, I would not walk towards that direction too. Its quite a walk from the station.

and yes, my wedding is in 26 Jan 07. When's yours? I saw you are active in a thread about modest gowns. Did you manage to get your gowns?

hi Hapict and ivied! Do you mean the wedding shop in Chinatown is right at where the relocated Chinatown Complex area? I haven't been there since the complex relocated. Will check out when time comes.
Ya, Hse of Etiquette really quite pricey hor.. rental alone $200 is a lot.. But then I tot abt WG rental are much more expensive too. Hm... hapict, when I walked past yesterday afternoon ard 4pm, hse of Etiquette was also closed. Why are they always closed?? haha.. biz too good don't need open so many days...?

ivied, ya will check out the PP shop but my AD not even fixed yet leh.. hehe.. so by the time I'm checking it out might be end of this yr. hehe...

har HOE so x ar? then i dun wan already. =p budget is much lower. that's y they can afford close earlier? ;p

ivied
mine is one day after yours..=) i got a BS, new one called D'sire at amoy st. i give up already lah, wanted to get one with sleeves, now they said cropped jacket past season so i bo pian takin common normal ordinary bustiers WG loh. ;| like the rest of the BTBs...cos that's the oni ones available!!! i tried on one with grecian sleeves at sophia weddin collection but it doesnt fit me..;o

hi mintee and hapict,
erm.. the temporary market place is relocated opp SGH. Its near the East-West line exit of Outram MRT station. When you get out of the station, you can see 7-eleven shop. Walk straight from there and you can see the temp market place.

hey hapict, I heard there are a lot of people getting married on that day! auspicious day ah.

since you like wedding gowns with sleeves, why not look around further? Or you can get a seamstress to MTM? I believe that only u know yourself better; regardless of design or cut that will suit you.

My perception is that I would not follow the trend blindly. If it does not suit me and that I do not feel comfortable wearing it, I will not take it. My gown is a bustier too but I had opted to add a strap to it.

Perhaps you can do the same too? But have to make sure that the sleeves can fit in the bustier properly and that it does not look out of shape.

ivied
too late no time leh. n FH afraid MTM wont suit me.
FH n all advised me to take bustier with no straps as straps make me look fat. ;((
i chose tat date as it is the latest date within the lunar year as i know this lunar year is a gd year. din know it's such a HOT date till i asked ard for hotel. ;|

hi hapict,
Oh ya, U still have a photoshoot. I forgot about it. Don't be sad. Who knows the turnout will be better?

Smile and be a happy bride.
This year is indeed a good year for most of the couples. So that's why I had to change my status before the 'piggy' comes in. hee...

I think including you, I heard about 10 people getting married on this date. wow.. hot date man. So how's your preparations?

ivied
thanks so much for your advice to smile. =))
i tell u, i counted more than 16 BTBs on my AD at the thread for the jan 07 brides.after tat i stopped counting. *slap hand to forehead* i din know it was so popular!!!!really regret not plannin earlier. now every weekend it's a mad rush to settle hotel (finally did tat), BS (yea booked liao), JP (yea spoke to him on phone), now settling gowns, talk to photographer, PS, car rental, dad's jackets rental, guest list, printing of invitation card, food tastin AND buyin furniture for new hse, an chuan, meet-the-parents-session etc. *faint*
gals, u all are my mental support n encouragement!!!

Yo yo Hapict! Go Go! We will support u all the way!

Actually, don't be too kan cheong. There are 5 more months to the actual day. Do u have a checklist? It can help you to priortise your preparations and ensure that you do not break down before the actual day.

I had only decided my AD in Jul and I too had the same set of work to do. I try to settle one thing at a time and ensure that the important ones are cleared before moving to the tiny minty details. Do let me know if you need any help. I can offer my assistance here.

my my.. 16 brides! Looks like this date is super auspicious.

ok another nick i can use is kanjong bride..;p

thanks gals!!! love u all! tat's y come in every night to chat wtih u all. hee hee ;)

ivied
yup i got the checklist fm mag n online..thanks so much!!! got abt 1 week where i think so much abt which BS to get tat i couldnt z at night. duh..;p

Hi hapict,
not a prob. Log on and we can share your worries. Who knows u may find useful tips here too.

Hi snowiee,
You can try Chinatown classic at Trengganu Street or the wedding shop opp SGH, behind the temporary market.

hi hi, I'm a bit confused. is The WEdding gift shop (ie kua rental for $68) at Marina or Delfi Orchard? Does anyone have the contact details e.g.add and tel #?

thanks..

red088, I do not think they rent KUA shoes. But they do have shoes available for sale.
Alternatively u can try Chinatown Classic or Yue Hua. There are KUA shoes and sandals available.

hi iViED, i went to the wedding gift shop and they only have 2 patterns available, one beaded and one embroidered.. wich is more traditional? the embroidered is a bit too big for me ...

do u know of anywhere cheaper.. coz we need to rent at least for 2 days i.e. 136..

btw, do u noe anything about the order sequence i.e. anchuang first, or distribute cakes first or guo da li first? thks..

From what I see, embriodery is common for KUA, not sure if this is because of tradition. U can try other sources like renting from those who own a KUA.

I do know of 2 contacts but I'm not sure about the price quoted though. Perhaps u can leave your email addy and I shall send their contacts to you.

Normally its Guo Da Li then An Chuang. From what I understand, GDL is done 2 weeks prior to AD whereas An chuang is done few days before.
During GDL, u will distribute the cakes and invites at the same time. Some elders are particular about the date for an chuang so u have to check with both parents first.

I would like to rent a kua, but not those traditional red colour kind. I prefer those peach or gold colour (the modern kind). Anyone knows where to get it at a cheaper price? I went to House of Etiquette and the modern peach colour kind costs $888...

Hi CareBear,
Have u tried Chinatown Classic? I'm not sure if they have it but that is a 2nd alternative.

Hi praise_06,
U can try at the following places for KUA shoes:
a) YUE HUA
b) Chinatown Classic
c) Wedding Gift Shop
d) Market opp SGH

Hi Carebear,
I can't rem the exact address. Its at Trengganu Street, in Chinatown. I rem the shop is in the process of shifting to the 2nd floor.

I'm interested in wearing a kua but dun really understand the significance of it. ;)

Does anyone know if its ok for hokkien brides to wear kua too?

Is kua worn during the tea ceremony only? does anyone wear it after the dinner when sending off guests?

What did your hubbies wear when you wore the kua? My bf seems very against wearing the male version. He thinks it looks very awful...

most husband wearing their normal suit. I don't see the need for the husband to wear the male version of the kua. It's really quite ugly.