J&C Bridal Collections

i am currently going around to check out the various bridal studios on their various packages and gowns. for those of you who have used j&c, any comments or thoughts and or great things to share?

hi wenn - u checked rainforest out? how is it? I am going to pop by later today if I can.. hope it stops raining..

u work in marina?
hehe kpo

Hi Dinah! Cynthia is the designer for all the gowns at j&c. I liked their gowns, esp those that have swarovski crystals on them, and their photos. Service is not bad and the staff there are nice and friendly.

hi bebee,
i just walked pass rainforest... dun dare to go in cos i heard that their prices are ex. will see my budget. if still got extra then i'll go there

ha ha.... i work at city hall
u leh?

hi dinah,
the main point that influenced me to sign up with J&C were the gowns & photos lor. i can't say that my relationship with J&C was 100% perfect. whatever i'm not happy with, i would voice out to them lor & they do respond positively. afterall, we pay them to make us happy & pretty brides
but no regrets, cos even my "high-class" & snooty auntie was impressed with my gowns

if u would like to take a look at my photos, u can email me at [email protected]

Hi Irene,

Did you take a package with them? What did your package consist of, if you don't mind sharing.

Hi wenn,

Good to hear that they are responsive to your thoughts cos end day I do want to ensure that they can help me be the beautiful blushing bride .... I'll email you shortly. Thanks for the offer

Hi Wenn,

Juz remembered... i think i have not seen your PS photos b4... Could you email the url to me at [email protected]? Thanks~!

Oh, erm.. had called up Cynthia to make appt on this Sat... hope everything goes smoothly... *crosses fingers*... Btw, any of you gals have any idea how long they can hold the pckg for?

Nitez!
yawn.gif

Hi Wenn

Congrats
on able to have your very own home! How are u recently? Better? Me got a lot of projects going on... always got to OT till late and sat too! No time to have a good sleep mah!

Hi Dinah
Welcome! I think you must have read all the previous postings. Me is a 99% satisfied customer. 1% is cos of the price. Hee... hee... you can see all ex J&C brides spend at least 5K on bridal package cos we can't resist the temptation not to top up photos! Ha! Ha! But believe me, it's worth it cos once in the lifetime!
My PS photo is under the thread:-
Archive through Feb 17, 2004

Rgds!

Photo invitation has been sent

The photos might not be crystal clear as I've resized the scanned output twice. BTW, i ain't sure how long u can hold the package.

hi doreen,
thanks! ic ic,, busy at work ah... take care leh
i've not been sleeping much too. stayed up late to play xbox every nite. now my panda eyes is really bad!

ahlau said that my gland is not so hard liao. but hor, i got hives due to skin sensitivity. oso taking GP medicine at the same time. will check back with my company doc next week once my medication runs out. my GP said that i need to request a white blood cell count test from them

just called HDB yesterday to fix the key collection appt. the officer-in-charge said that towards the end of the option period, they will still mail out to owners to go down to collect keys. he told us to wait for the letter lor
i dunno if my 18k budget is enough for a standard EA or not.... sigh....

wenn, u have a xbox too?
same same... especially with Live round the corner... gonna get less sleep liao.

I forgot if your flat is a WIS...
So they gonna wait till the end of the 3 month period eh, I dun mind, can put in more CPF. :P

great to hear that all is well with you! cheers!

Oh anyone going to the style wedding thingy? J&C is gonna be there.

hi doreen,

yes - i noticed that everyone is telling me that my budget would go over cos of the photos
- who did you use for your photography? i am not sure whether or not i will use a photographer linked with the BS, or if i would go for someone else outside. a friend had recommended me to try this PS called The Pond.

Will go check out your thread shortly. thanks much

hi dinah,
yeap, i've took up their new otr package. It was $3588 when i signed up, so not sure if there's any price changes. Main item consists of 18 photos , new OTR gowns, suits (HB, Dad & FIL) and car. So far the photos i've seen taken by their inhouse photographer Eric are beautiful, but do view them for yourself coz individual taste differs

kelpy, when's the show gonna be? i didn't buy the mag leh...u going?

hello doreen! long time no news from you! Do take care

hey kelphy,
we bought it last dec but din subscribe to xbox live. cos BIL din wanna subscribe to broadband, we will do it for our new place lor.

yes, my flat was book in aug03 during the long WIS at HDB hub. i received the letter to collect keys in oct03. we went down to talk to the officer about deferment of key collection & he told us to write a letter after we told him our predicaments lor. luckily, they allow us to extend but only till end-march lor. yah, put in more CPF, which is about 10k between both of us

hi dinah,
u r welcomed
all of us used J&C's in-house photographer, Eric. They have another in-house photographer. J&C only ties up with Attitude Photography.

u can check it out with Cynthia on the cost of the package if u dun want photography lor. i've heard of The Pond but quite ex right?

irene,
my old man, kinda forgot the date of the show. it's quite comprehensive for pple who have yet to book anything. I've settled with J&C and am meeting my banquet co-ord tomorrow so kinda no need to go. But got an interesting session on traditions and customs.

wenn, Live not up yet. will be in April. now only in Beta testing phase. the games are addictive eh.
have you heard of bob.com.sg? it's a local fanclub. got quite a lot of info there but must learn to ignore the childish kids who post nonsense.

hi duffybuff,
I had forwarded u the link to ur email this morning

hi kelphy,
yah, i meant trying out the beta. but anyway, i will wait till i shift into my new place 1st

Hi Dinah

me chose J&C in house photographer, Eric. Quite happy with his style so never thought of signing with external photographer. Hope that helps!

Hi Irene
Yah lor, me very very busy lor. so only can sneak in a while in this forum.

Hi Wenn
Wow XBox? Me very slow with playing game. I think I just stick to my Ncage game

hi irene,

hmm .. it does sound pretty decent. are they flexible such that i can take out some items? like the suits for the guys? my FH is super vain too and he wants to go make a nice suit with his tailor (i think)

hi doreen & wenn,

seems like eric is a very popular choice. i'll probably head down to see J&C this saturday afternoon ....

yeap, cynthia is pretty flexible in her packages. It can be customized to your needs. Some can don't take their men's suit and exchange for more photos etc. Their package is quite standard, except that the number of photos too little

i think that is a common problem for a lot of people irene ... number of photos .... which is why i am also quite tempted to go look for outside PS ... but that is going to be extra costs ... sigh

Hi Dinah

I'm also took out the man suit from the package. My hubby also MTM his suit in a tailor. Don't say that your hubby super vain leh. MTM suit is better fit (look nicer!) and of more comfortable quality. They have to wear the suit for the whole day (imagine the hot weather) so quality very important.

Hi Irene

Yah lor, photos very little. But standard lah compared to most in-house photographer packages. The range is about 18 - 24 pcs. Most of us top up for many more photos cos we couldn't really have the heart to cut down to the nos of pcs we r entitled leh. Every pcs look so perfect and nice leh.

Kelpy,
beware of your wife asking you to top up. Ha! Ha!

hi doreen,

but he is vain ... hahaha but then again so am i ... but we did think that to do his suit separately with his own tailor would be better, fit and material wise cos he can easily use that suit again for other occasions. he did complain about the weather cos .. hehehe ... we are planning an outdoor garden solemnization session in the evening ... so imagine the heat ... then again, i should pray that it not rain!

Ha ha, the following is my complaint about J&C. But it can happen to any bridal shop lah.

I dun like Karen. She's very rush kind of person. Also, I dun like her taste in helping brides to choose gowns. Lastly, on my photo selection day, she helped me to arrange photos in sequence. Since almost all of my photos are good, we counted and can fill up 2*15r albums. She calculated & gave me the cost of 5k!!!
She still say that now is the trend to have 2 albums on display at banquet. I told her off that definitely, much more photos can be taken out from those selected.

That's the 1st time i told cynthia off that for 5k, i would have gone to Andrew Choi or Chris Ling! Can see that she is a bit buay song with me.

Anyway, she later helped me to reduce the photos to fit into 1 album according to my extra photo budget of 2k
We weeded out the good from the best. So, I'm happy lah! Cos MIL likes my album very much & she kept taking it out to admire

Ampoules

I see no different after using J&C makeup artist's ampoules ($25) & those bought by my fren ($5). For my frens who used TG Goh, Freddie etc, they dun need to use ampoules. If anybody is using Lin, just know that she can be quite straightforward. Not like TG Goh they all, mouth quite sweet. But, she's good & so i dun have any complains about that.

So, it is up to u gers to decide whether u wanna use ampoules or not

If ur wedding is on a hot date

1) be prepared that at least 1 to 2 tables of ur guests might not turn up as they have to attend other pple's wedding or helping their parents to attend other pple's wedding as their parents received more than 1 invites oso. *phew* that was long

2) if u need 2 hairdos for ur banquet, be sure to book ur makeup artist early. or else, she will schedule multiple brides on that evening. in my case, lin told me that she can only do for me at 7.30pm bcos mine is at Noble House. So can wait. But I calculated liao, I wanna be there to meet guests at 7pm lor. So, I got her to go to hubby's place at 4pm to do the makeup

3)oso confirm ur banquet, photographer, videographer, wedding car early.

4) if u share the hotel ballrooms with other brides, dun go & "cheong" with them & take photos together while u r waiting for ur guests. (for pantang pple like me

doreen
hee that i no worry.
my wife very practical, but then again...
in fact, i may be the one getting too caught up picking the fotoes.

thanks for the warning though.
probably put aside 2k for that

thanks for the comprehensive list wenn, sure will help brides-to-be prepare better
i haven't seen karen much nowadays, saw another helper...think she's called Alice. Seems like the quiet quiet sort.

dinah, maybe u keep ur options open lor, see if u like Eric's style or not. I've seen quite a few brides photos by him and I do think he's pretty gd, but i must admit i'm too lazy to look ard also :p
R u planning to go down J&C to see see look look these couple of weeks? Since cyn is preparing for her show, maybe u can see her latest designs. Try on some to have a better feel of her styles.

i've seen other bridals pkgs and average out is 20 photos entitlement. Highest I've seen was 21 photos and I believe still can neg. more
But in comparision, I like Eric's style and colors better, so even though only 18 photos, I still sign on with them eventually.
*sorry, think i'm too long winded this morning! ha...*

hi irene,

yes i am planning to make an appt with j&c to go down and talk to them and have a look at her designs ...

is there a show coming up?

heard kelpy mention J&C is participating in the oncoming Style Weddings, sometime in April I think. The other time I went down to choose my gown, I tried on a piece that was not complete yet
Think that would be one of those for the show

what a pity ... i am off to india for work for most of april ... sigh ... if any of you do attend the show, please let me know about the j&c designs. thanks

I signed up with J&C with Karen leh... have no problem with her lah. I think she more easy to neg than Cyn. I also have 2 albums as recommended by her. Okie lah, very presentable putting in front of the ballroom. More people can view at the same time. My main album is 30 pages and my second one is 22 pages. I also have two small albums (20 pages each)of 2R photos and 1 mini ablum placed in the reception hall. So u see how vain I am, putting 5 albums for my AD dinner! Ha! Ha!

wow, that's a lot of extra photos you've topped up! Your two albums are size 10 or size 15? Hmm..what's the diff between small album and mini album?
No la, u not vain. It's your big day, so must share your most beautiful shots with everyone

Hi Irene

My two big albums are of 15R. Mini album is using 20 pcs of the sample proof (size bigger than 3R but smaller than 4R) and the two small albums (like a mini notebook)is of 2R sizes. Hope that's clearer.

hi gurls, look like u've been really busy chattin!

i finally went 4 my gown tryin session.. very happy w the outcome..

cyn is very busy now preparin 4 show, so guess its hard to meet w her lately...

wenn
thanks for the tips - i oso kpo read the previous stuff u wrote... wow so many things to beware off

i am using eric for PS as recommended by cyn, i didnt bother to compare, too lazy

as for makeup, dunno yet...
wenn, wow didnt know the ampoule so ex in comparison... i didn't know, thot 25 was normal..

cyn said should use, cuz it really works...? i wonder...

talkin about photos..now i am worried.. only planned on 1 album but looks like they will try to push for more... sigh, need more money...

hi bebee,
glad to help

actually, i used both, still kena small pimple the next day. just that when i "sweat", my makeup don't melt lor.

Hi Bebe

Okie lah. If you prefer just 1 album, stick to your budget. J&C r not so pushy lah. If you tell them to arrange up the the max no. 30 pcs (etc), they will try to do that. It's up to u to keep or cut the photos.

Hi angela,
Not more than 3K. I blew up most of the size to 15R. Only 8 pages (3 photos in one page) in mag style cos I don't really like to have white space, oil painting or pencil drawing. I just love to see colourful photos... Ha... ha....