J&C Bridal Collections

wenn

Hey apple

U bought it from Metro?? Wat colour?

Did Cynthia ask u to get u hubby's shirts? She told me to get a beige one for day.... just bought one from G2000 last sat
Previously bought a maroon red & another orangy-peach one to ask for her opinion. She said can use both too for nite.. So, he will change as many times as me

wenn

hi roro,
i'm getting mine from the bridal shop. most likely going for the journalistic one.. h/e, have not confirmed that with cynthia yet... but their price a bit ex lor,,, $680 for 7 rolls

roro

hi wenn
i thought of choosing one from the bridal shop too... but yet to view their portfolio, so dun really know their 'standard'. so who is ur actual day photographer?? 7 rolls a bit 'X' hor.. u need at least 10 to 15 rolls for the whole day rite?

apple

Yup Wenn.. bot it fr Metro. The color is close to veri light peach. Cyn did not inform us to get the shirts. We r waiting for the first fitting of the suit so tat we know wat color shirt(s) will be more suitable. Cyn has advise us to get 3 shirts too, but not on the color yet. Wat color is ur hubby's suit?

hi roro.. like wenn, my actual photographer is fr J&C too. But i duno which photographer will be assigned to us. Same charges, $680 for 7 rolls. WOW.. i din noe tat u will need at least 10-15 rolls for the whole day! I was hoping to keep it within 7 rolls!! Do we really need tat much??

wenn

Hi Roro & Apple,
If u choose journalistic, then u will use more lor.. anyway, can advise the photographer to limit to 8 or 10 rolls... oso will depend on how many tables u have... J&C has 2 free-lance actual day photographers.. 1 does conventional shots & the other does journalistic... 7*36=252...

oso have to take into account whether u want photos in B&W.. for me, will have the photos in colour as FH doesn't like B&W photos.. if i want B&W, will scan & change the colour tone..

Apple, FH's suit is OTR... will only choose during 1st fitting

apple

hmm.. wat is the diff between journalistic & conventional? we hv not decide if we want B&C pics.

wenn

conventional is those photos where everybody pose & smile b4 the photographer snaps the photo...

journalistic is more like impromptu & candid shots..

roro

me thought of choosing one from J&C too.. to hassle to look ard or i wld say lazy..
. actually apple, i dun really know how many rolls of film we need, just a rough estimation.. heh

apple

same sendiments. lazi to source for another photographer for the wedding day!

Tks Wenn.. guess journalistic photography sounds more natural & fun.
R u hving ur trial makeup & first fitting together on 22 May?

hey roro, had ur first appt with cyn? chosen ur WG?

roro

haha..
we're bunch of lazi brides..

think i will probably take journalistic photography 2 .. but... i really scare i wld look awful in candid shots, cos u hardly see urself in different angles, and so wld find the photos somehow 'weird' looking.

apple: nope, cyn hasn't contact me yet.
can't wait to choose my WG.

so all of u choose urs??

wenn

Apple, yup.. oso choosing guy's suit..

Roro,, get a camera to try out candid shots 1st.. oso must practise our smiles... see which type of smiles & angles look best

Chose my gowns liao.. did posted the details previously.. Dun worry, she'll call u... if not, call her & make an appointment for early may lor

wenn

Hey gers...

Just occurred to me this morning,,, if J&C has more than 1 bride getting married on the same day, u have to let them know what time u need their makeup artist for morning & evening makeup..

apple

hmm.. din tot of tat. tks for the note, wenn. will check with cyn on my next trip. since u hv settled ur WG & EG, do u still need to go down to J&C before 22 may? & hv u been infront of the camera lately?

roro.. onli my WG settled. going to choose EG soon. any idea wat style u'd like? with tat in mind, it will be easier when come to choosing ur WG.

wenn

apple, nope, won't be going down unless she calls me

i haven't been trying out shots at different angles yet... maybe when i'm not so busy...

apple

time mgmt is gd on ur side then. ample time in between for each event. i hv to settle my EG, trial makeup & first fitting, all before 21 may (ie less than 2 mths fr now!!)

apple

Helo Wenn..
Dun think I'll be going to their show. How abt u?
I need to look out for another pair shoes for my EG.

wenn

Apple,
Dun think so.. scared that i'll wanna change my gowns after seeing her fashion shows

wat colour is ur EG? i think quite easy to get shoes since most places have sale... wat colour shoes did cynthia recommend?

apple

Wenn.. me too! scared i will change my gown after the show. My EG is red. They hv advise me to get a silver shoe. Hv u chose ur tea dress? the selection of cheong sum is not much. I may drop cheong sum & get something else.

wenn

Apple, silver shoes are easy to get... maybe can even use with ur WG

Haven't choose tea dress yet... only choose with other PS gowns... will see wat suits my figure... cos i might not suit cheongsam lor..

When will u be choosing ur tea dress & other PS gowns?

apple

Hiyee Wenn.. I hv selected the tea dress. But hv second tots now. Will select PS gowns on next appt. How many pcs do u intend to change? Will u be wearing ur actual WG & EG for PS too?

wenn

Apple, u mean change on actual day or PS?

For indoor PS will be WG, EG, hopefully kua.

But hor, Cynthia told me to use another WG for outdoor... think she scared my WG's train get very dirty since i told her i'm interested in Ubin....

apple

I mean during PS, how many set of gowns u intend to change? As for me, like u, indoor will hv WG, EG & kua.

The thing is I'm not sure if we can wear our WG & EG for outdoor OR we hv to choose another WG & EG. If its the latter, how many pcs of WG/EG can we hv do u noe? Izzit 1 each?

wenn

Actually hor, Cynthia told me unlimited changes for PS...

I think i'll have actual WG, actual EG, casual & kua for indoor...

Then outdoor, i'll choose another WG cos i dun wanna spoil my actual day WG... i dun think i wanna change while outdoor lor.. quite troublesome... dun wanna tempt myself cos too many changes, more photos to choose

apple

hmm.. u got a point there. now tat i recall, for most of the bridal outdoor pics i've seen, the bride wore a non-elaborated WG only. Its the indoor when there r more changes. yeah! more changes, more pics, costs!!

wenn

Apple, thot i told u liao??

Anyway, it is an OTR orange empire line with crystals on the bust... outer layer is organza..

Actually, it has 2 spaghetti straps... but we decided to remove it... looks better lor ...

apple

hmm.. only remembered u telling me the colour but not the design. Anyway, ur EG sounds nice. Organza sounds very mysterious & veri princess. Remember to take more pics for me to c ok!

sklek

i'm a j & c bride too. hope you don't mind me intruding in like this :p

wenn, thanks for extending the invitation to join in this thread

(I was in Yi's thread earlier)

wenn

hi sklek,,,

welcome
Yi's photos are very beautiful rite?

so u have read thru our thread liao? when's ur wedding? chosen any gowns yet?

sklek

yes, Yi's photos r indeed very beautiful. Also, I've always prefered scenery outdoor shots

i got read through this thread history, and found it very assuring. j & c was my last bridal visit and our final choice. My customary still long way, haven't even settle actual date coz waiting for the Tong Shu. Target to be in Sept 04.

i only pick my gown for ROM this May.

jelutong

Just came back from J&C and had a very unpleasant stay there. I just wish to collect my pictures fast and have as little contact with Cynthia from now on. She has changed from the very friendly person to a very business minded saleswoman.

I signed up with J&C after shopping at more than 5 boutiques. I choose it bcos I find that Cynthia is very easy going and not pushy as other Taiwanese bridal shops, this is the style I like. But later, I find that my perception of her changes the more I communicate with her.

My actual day is in mid June and I had my PS in early April. Before the PS, I already found it weird as they never called me even though after Cynthia made comments like "your gown should be ready in 2 days and I'll give you a call by then". Initially I didn't mind as my office is only 5 min walk from there and I could afford last minute fitting. But this had added unnecessary burden on me as I had to remind them of my existence. They could never recall my name (and still cannot after my photo selection) and I had to refer them to my invoice no.

Wenn/Apple, you gotta be careful when it comes to PS. Cynthia told me that I could have 1 kua, my actual WG, my actual EG, 1 studio EG and 1 studio WG for PS. All together 5 outifits. Watch out, this is only what she "said", not written on the "invoice". What happened to me was that I took all 5 outfits. After the PS, they lost the film of my 2 outfits. I was pretty unhappy because they didn't even notice it since they don't record it down anywhere. We discovered it during our photo viewing and informed them. They promised to check and come back to us within 2 days but again they didn't. I gotta call them 6 days later to remind them to give me an update...

Today, one week after the photoviewing, they realised they couldn't recover the film. They asked us to retake tomorrow and the notice given was less than 24 hours. Of course my hubby and I refused. We are not models, we can't just go into any studio and pose immediately. We still hope that there are some possibilities in getting back our original photoshots so we went down to J&C immediately to find out more from Cynthia and to seek for other means to resolve the issue. But she simply won't compromise (insisting that we should go for the retake) and later even implied that the problem was with us. After much haggling, Cynthia eventually offered us 2 more photos in replacement for the loss of the 2 outfits & >10 photoshots.

The entire process was an uncomfortable and frustrating one because she simply didn't listen to us nor offer solution to the problem (which was not created by us in the 1st place). This has left an unremovable black mark on this important event of mine......

wenn

Hi Jelutong,
Really sorry to hear wat had happened

Try not to brood too much about it. I guess nothing much can be done to compensate for the unpleasantness that happened. Your wedding is approaching, so dun think so much about it, ok? Better to concentrate on the other stuffs...

Looks like things weren't handled appropriately since it was clearly their fault that they lost the film.

I guess to avoid any similar events from happening, all of us have to get them to note down the different outfits on the invoice.

wenn

Hi sklek,

When's ur ROM? Mine's on june 10 but i won't be using J&C's ROM package. Will be using a dress I've bought from Daniel Yum.

Keeping things simple since i've heard that they had limited the number of attendees to 8 or 10 when solemising at the Registry

apple

Helo sklek.. welcome to the thread. I'm hvg my 1st fitting & PS in May too! Its raining alot these days.. hope the weather is better nxt mth!

Hey Wenn.. dun wori. maybe things will turn out better then!

apple

Helo jelutong.. truly sori to hear wat had happen & reali appreciate ur feedback! A point to note for all the brides who hv not commit their wedding package.

Forget this unpleasant incident. Look on the bright side & concentrate on ur upcomin' events.. there r other happier things tat r comin' ur way!

sklek

Hi gals! Thanks for the warm welcome

Wenn,
My ROM is on 30 May. Daniel Yum's dresses are very beautiful! I wanted to buy one from them initially too, but tot of saving $$$, so took an OTR from J&C instead. Very excited initially, but with the outbreak of SARS and the new regulation, sort of dampen the excitement. A lot of my friends were disappointed too coz they were looking forward to witnessing the ceremony...

Apple,
Your ps in May? That's great! Where r u having ur ps? Do you intend to have casuals included?

sklek

Hi jelutong,

Oh dear...so sorry to hear about this terrible experience. Every bride hopes the bridal that they choose is the best within their means. Perhaps they could have given a longer notice to do the retake, 24 hours is just too short...

Thanks for sharing with us, it will help us prepare better I'm sure. I agree that J&C don't put a lot of things into their invoice, most are agreement by mouth, at least for my case.

I was thinking...maybe with their bridal show upcoming, their service level might drop. That's no excuse for losing the film of course, but don't let this get you down any further. Now most impt thing is to prepare to be a mei mei bride rite? I hope things will turn out well eventually for you.

wenn

Hi Sklek,
Quite a letdown hor..

I guess ur frens will have to rely on ur photos.. or do u have a videocam to videotape the solemisation?

sklek

Hi Wenn,

I've got a colleague who has a videocam, so he'll be taking the whole solemisation process. It's not the same feel definitely, but got to make do lor. We still have a lunch reception after ROM, now dun know if they still wan to go or not...haiz.

Initially thinking of holding the soleminsation outside but so late already, doubt I can find a JP and a private place. Did you consider holding outside?

wenn

Hi Sklek,
Nope, we prefer to hold it in the Registry. Personally, i felt that it is more meaningful since my parents oso registered there last time

I won't be having any guests. All the long, we have planned to have immediate family members & a colleague to help us take photos lor. After that will proceed to our banquet venue for food tasting. This is a bit unique cos my FIL ain't local. So I would like him to try the dishes first

jelutong

Thanks Wenn, Apple & Sklek,

Your words of encouragement really warms my heart. I was indeed very upset over the long weekend. But guess I have to put it behind me and concentrate on my upcoming wedding in June. Just hope no more screw up.

Unhappy things aside, I saw from the news last night that this wedding reception actually had the waiters/waitresses deployed to screen guests' temperature before they walked into the ball room.. wah, this is another precautions for SARS.. Can consider this for our wedding/ROM guests? :p

sklek

wenn, u've booked ur banquet already?! that's fast...when's ur actual day? (sorry if u've mentioned it before)

my hubby & i have been thinking where to go for outdoor shoots. kiasu hor? actual day haven't decide, think of ps already... hee... btw, who did u liaise with? my coordinator is sharon. how u find j&c so far, with ur visits?

wenn

Hi Jel,,

take care hor... dun burn out b4 the wedding...
I heard some gers mention that it is a restaurant in Jurong.... are u planning to screen ur guests? so far, how's ur RSVP?

Hi Sk,
my banquet is on 14 nov. booked Noble House last year,,, 1 year in advance :p

who i liaised with? mostly cynthia. i always make appts for weekdays & cynthia's always the one serving me. sharon only once. i can't stand nicole cos her voice is so soft!!! can't hear wat she's saying

so far so good,, everything is fine... i always bring my mum with me & FH for choosing of gowns.... so they can't be funny with me
i'm sure u r excited over ur wedding, all of us are

married

hi everyone, i was a J&C bride too. my customary was over in Mar 03.
just dropping by to give some assurance on their svc. i mus admit there was some confusion over our photos selection too but cynthia manage to sort it out eventually. i was also unhappy over the selection of my teadress but in the end, cynthia manage to find me something that i like.
and for my MTM gowns, all my guests commented that thay are beautiful..
wat i'm trying to say is that at least they try to make an effort to rectify the situation, unlike some other bridal shop which i've come across (and personl experience too), calling the customers 'stupid' - which was why i forfeited the deposit with tat shop and signed up with J&C instead.

Jelutong: what the rest had said is right. let go of the unhappy encounter. When the wedding's over, just leave with you the lovely memories of the event.

wenn

hi married

glad to hear ur reassurance & that everything went well for u. i guess a couple of hiccups here & there may be unavoidable lor.

got any photos to share??

sklek

wow, the thread is getting active

hmmm...i think it's a good practice to screen guests before the banquet/ROM. In a way, it provides a sense of assurance to the guests and to the couple as well. If I'm the guest, I wouldn't mind this extra precaution taken. Beats wearing a mask! Not sure if ROM practices this or not though?

hi jelutong:
where would you be holding ur dinner? dun worry too much. Take things one step at a time. Wedding prep is not easy, but u're not alone! All efforts will be rewarded when the magical day arrives
hang in there k?

hi wenn:
oh yes, nicole is very soft spoken..hee...
my next visit will be in mid May for my ROM fitting. hope everything will turn out well *pray*

btw, u think they'll allow me to take photo when i've finalise my gown(s)? i know there's an unwritten rule some bridals dun allow personal photo taking.

hi married:
It's very nice of u to share your personal experience with b2b. Sometimes luck plays an important part too, some brides dun hit any glitches throughout the process while some can have pretty bad experiences. Certainly hope all brides to be (regardless of the bridals sign up) will have a good time preparing for the big day

jelutong

Hi Wenn,

Believe it or not, we have not finalised our contract with the hotel yet... :p But soon... Just tidying up some details. The response from the quests seems ok via word of mouth so far...

Hi married,

It must be very frustrating to forfeit your deposit!! That's very bad if the bridal shop called customer "stupid". Well, Cynthia said I'm "qi guai". Not sure which part of me is "qi quai"... hmm.... hope she didn't mean my features...

I must say that there are the good side and bad side of J&C's service. It depends on individual's luck whether the bad exceeds the good at the end of the day.. :S

yeah yeah, married, you have photo so share? Who is your photographer and make up artist?

Hi sklek,

I'll be having my dinner at Oriental hotel. Think we are pretty much confirmed with this hotel.

Sharon is another designer in J&C. You find her ok?