Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Sanity! thankiewwwwww! there were so many colors.... I was spoiled for choice.. so many sporeans in pothys! yup menaka it is! How's yr progress?

Hi Kani, Dieting went outta the window! =( no grapefruit... sighs...

No grapefruit too!! Haha

What is gold zaree? Any online pic for an example?

Jessica will look pretty! Hey, when is ur date?

Hi Jun >> Gold threading is zaree... So the saree will be shimmery... Sept is my first event. legally married! =))) So exciting! The rest are later.

Btw I tried calling petites mains last saturday. They didnt pick up. =(

Ladies, any tailors to recommend? I dont want to spend more than 1K on my gown... sighs....

Jess: Cool

Sept is ROM or temple?

try again today with petite mains.. that is the same feeling i had with lengha.. i don't want to spend alot more money on it since my gown is soo bloody expensive..

that why my lengha is only $350... hahaa... it was on sale..

Jessica, did u try fb.. there are a few talior who sew gown at home and cost lower than $400!

Do you have fb?

Hope everyone had a lovely Vday!

My future SIL will arrive with her groom tonight...Got a jam packed schdeule for her..Her temple wedding is next week and the reception in the weekend. Mad rush... Very exciting!

I am actually org a Hen's night for her and urgently looking for Bride-To-Be items such as tiara, sash or maybe even the Bride-To-Be Logo Tee-shirt. Anyone has any for sale or knows where I can buy them? The party is this weekend! Thanks!

ps: will resume my own ROM plans in Mar...after they leave the country... That leaves me 4 months to my ROM >_<

Jun >> Sept is ROM. 350 is a steal for a lengha! fishcut or regular?
oh do share who these tailors are! much appreciated!

Plush >> I bought a tiara with attached veil from kiddy palace for my friend's hen's night. believe or not!
Another place u can try is spotlight. we bought lots of hen's night props from there... tiara, feather boas etc...

Jessica: It is A line.. What is the difference? It is quite long.. i might have to wear 2 inch of high heel..

FB Talior: J V Bridal Gown

Hi Jun >> A line is flared out from the hips. Fishcut tapers at the knees. cannot alter? usually the top of the skirt can be altered to adjust for the length... But not easy to alter. Mine was done in India....
Thanks for the contact! U gals are so helpful!

really ah.. maybe i bring it to the talior when i do my blouse.. soo nice you got it done with your lengha..

Do you have red bangle or necklace set?

Need to match with my lengha.. My dad is in India.. Madras if i am not wrong.. anywhere should i ask him to go to look for it?

Is your Lengha fish cut?

Mine was 50% sales..that why $350! haha.. gonna use just for solemisation and my mom lunch reception for her friends and long distance relative..

Jun - If ure dad is unable to get u a red bangle &amp; necklace set..head down to amba ji along stylemart i tink..his bangles &amp; accessories are pretty nice &amp; unique.

The last i heard stylemart does bangles too..not sure if ttz still true.

Regarding lengha cut, judging from the brides i have seen..fish cut is more figure hugging...so if u have a heavier lower bottom avoid it..coz it may emphasize it. An a-line lengha on the other hand will help conceal a heavy bottom.

Jess - True if u wanna alter an A line lengha to fish cut, tailors from India may be more well versed..my cuz did the same...she altered an a line to a fish cut lengha, it was pretty nice though she complained tt it was a tad bit tough to walk about haha

Pam: the problem is i do not want to spend like $50 on bangle! and $150 on necklace and earing..

I don't know what is the market rate..

I want cheap cheap..

Hello ladies....hope u guys r doin preeetttty good!

here is the latest on ma end....the food is settled...deco is almost sorted....now workin on the favors...which is turnin out to be more challengin than we tot....

Jun- Errrr its tough to get bangles even for 50 bucks...if ur talkin abt those with stone work, glittery stuff,mix n match...its gonna cost u quite abit.

Hey pam do u noe of any wholesalers dealin with weddin favors in india? esp mumbai? We r lookin for a trinket box...my mum found sumthin pretty...but we r unable to locate the manufacturer...pls let me know if u noe of any...pls???

Hi Jun >> mine is fishcut. Red jewelry can be found anywhere. Easiest color to find. Go to Narayana pearls at Pondy Bazaar. Express avenue has plenty too.

I couldnt find those designer bangles in chennai. The ones I saw were the standard run-of-the-mill type. They can be found all over. 15-35 rupees per dozen. But super simple. Not the Ambaji type. But I am sure they have those somewhere. I just didnt know where!

Hi sanity! Good to know u have accomplished so much!!! well done babe. Who did u decide on for decor?

as for wedding favors, u can bring the item to places in SG and ask if they can source for u. They do provide this kind of service.

Pam >> fish tail is a challenge to walk and sit in. especially if u want the tail to be more obvious.

Hi Jess.....thanks doll...decided to stick with guna as i found out last week that he's ma dad's gd old fren....n he has happily agreed to do the deco..so i din have a choice there......oh well...we've not decided on the design n layout yet tho...so i cant give u gurls the price yet. Jess wonderful suggestion, will just do that! Bring the favor n ask aroun...i saw a china website...they charge us 3-4 bucks a piece...thats supper ex considering i need 1000 pieces...well i have been crackin ma head n stressin ova this since morn....

oh jess r u givin out goodies/favors on the day of ur bangle ceremony? My mum insists on doin it...so need to find sum favor for that day too.

Hi kani....ma folks have booked the komala's outdoor chefs...

Hi Sanity, yup I am. Bangles and some edibles methinks... But trying to steer away from indian goodies... Trying to thing out of the box...

Any special plans for the bangle ceremony?

3-4 bucks is alot! somemore for 1000... *faint*

Ladies, what are u guys wearing for yr ROM?

Hey jess....think ma mum's thinkin along the line of sum fancy kumkum holder with sum goodies for the bangle ceremony... U noe i dun really fancy indian sweets except the mysore pak from india..the soft version....did u go krishna sweets in chennai ;)....the food in india is just lip smackin!

I dun noe whats the plan for the bangle ceremony yet jess...im prayin that it will be simple...but ma mum has alrdy got 100 pple on her mind...HOW IS THAT SIMPLE???

Yes thinkin outta the box seems like the deal to me
i support u!! Im wearin a lengha for the ceremony. So no mermaid cut for me sobs....diff to sit down...

Sanity: Soo sad.. why is bangle soo expensive.. my cousin told me her wedding bangle cannot be use as some of it has already broken and missing.
Her earing also broken..

Jess: I am wearing lengha

What size bangle did you guys wear? The guy let me try 26.. it was soo painful! he said i should wear 26 but my hand turn red when he try to take it out.. soo in the end he advice me to get 28 since he said i don't know how to wear a bangle

Sanity: wow 100 guest.. how is this bangle ceremony like? 2 days before the wedding, i will have heena day..

sanity: high 5.. we are both wearing lengha.. no need to sob.. A line cut make you look slim. *wink*.. i cannot wear mermaid cut for gown.. it will make my butt look huge!

Hi Sanity >> hahahaha my thinking out of the box has led me from Indian sweets to cupcakes.. Not very creative I am... ;) Didnt get to go to Sri Krishna and have their awesome mysoor pak. =( But i did go to grand sweets and have their version. Twas a bit too oily for me...

ooooh! 100! that's huge! Oh u know the sitting on the floor bit is going to be a hUGE problem.. I so badly wanted a fishcut lengha that I didnt bother about practicality... *shakes head*

Jun- the shopkeeper is an idoit! how can he say u dun noe how to wear bangles...i would have slapped him for u
..u noe these pple in the shops have told me the same damn thing, which is, u must wear the bangles quite tight...thats the way it shld be worn it seems....like not loose kind....u noe my hands burned by the time i was done tryin it all out....i swear it was BURNIN! Think we must put sum lotion/massage oil before tryin or puttin em on. But i have decided...im not goin to go tru this painful ordeal....im sure on the day of the bangle ceremony the aunty, aunty all wont be so gentle....dun want ma hands n fingers to swell like sum SAUSAGE! So im gonna buy sumthin thats loose PERIOD!
so my dear jun, i encourage u to go for comfort n...of cus what makes u look preetttty.

I know Jun the bangles cost crazy amount! Actually i think the indian costume jewlleryz r OVAPRICED! Seriously tooo much man! they cost as much as a LENGHA!

Jun, the bangle ceremony is like 2 days before the wedding, hmmmm the auntyz, all come to put on the bangles that u have bot...hmmm then they bless u...also our mum inlaw will bring us the gold jewelleries, sweets i think. N of cus THEY FEAST after the whole ceremony....hahaha....n that night we'll apply henna, just like u...

Jess how can u not go krishna sweets????? hahaha...wasted! tsk tsk...hahaha...cupcakes r pretty stuff...i like! Maybe u can give liqueur choco??? SURE outta the BOX ;)

My dear Jess n Jun, i would give up anythin to just wear fish cut lengha....but if sumthin tears while m sittin or tryin to get ma fat ass up....i think i will burst into tears!!
how like that???? u gals still think i shld go for it??? Im sacred...im just a clumsy kluts.. n yes 100 is huge for a bangle ceremony....im tried of arguein with ma mum abt it...shes drivin me nuts!!!...think m baldin!

Hi Sanity: I am having A line.. Even my gown is A line as I have big butt.. Mermaid is good for people have small butt or small hip.. U should wear what will look nice you.. Maybe if ur lengga is not ready make.. U can tailor it to be A line + mermaid cut.. So u have the best of both world.. I don't know about it body shape lah.. Most Chinese lady are good for mermaid cut as they have small frame.

Hi Jess: my friend company is tenstar.. Look for Naresh..

Sanity; have u visit A1 shop. It is true they have limitation on nice design.. But if u find something u like.. I think their price is lower..

sanity>>> hahah.. surprise surprise... my inaw is also wanted to cather gokul.... i refused then flat... i think komala is good enough la.. getting broke..... hmmm bangle ceromany... i am going to do away with it.. but i wont be surprised if last min my laws say must do.... sometims i really wonder is it my wedding or theirs???

Hey jun...yah u r so right....chinese gals have such petite body...i would die to have that body type...JESS U R SOOO LUCKY! hmmm ur theory abt the cuttings n body type helps n makes sense...eh jun...big butt is actually sexy what..."junk in the trunk!" mermaid cut will look hot on u i think! Even the real mermaid(cartoon)..she has a big bootay! Ok im gonna analyze ma body type tonight....n see what cut fits ur description...actually if i go stylemart, the ladies there are brutal...they will tell it to our face if the cutting looks good or bad.....

Jess will ask my brother how much it costs n inform u later...meanwhile enquire with Jun's fren maybe?

Jun haven not been to A1 yet...will go will go ok
Jun i really think ur cream color with read boders is really very pretty combo....think i want that combo tooo!!!

Kani komala's too??? yay! r u usin their outdoor chefs too??? the menu is very flex n yum!but gokul oso gd i heard...Sighs....i know how u feel...i have no voice ova the wedding ANYMORE.....its a gd idea to do away with the bangle ceremony...i can only wish.....

Jun u r using riverwalk tandoor huh?

My lengga beading is not super heavy.. I hope it look good on me.. Warning about A1, they can be push.. If u like it try to bring down the price.

My wedding is at royal plaza @Scott so the food is provided. My mom reception for her friends n long distance relative cater with Malay chef. U know those kind of Muslim wedding with briyani n noodle, sweet sour fish, pappadum, dacha, pacri, burbur cha cha, drinks, fruit for $4k for 400 people..

Karaoke $500.. all from the Malay cater..

Sanity, Jun! I am not slim either! i bought it on the premise that I would lose weight! *panic* If it doesnt happen I'm in trouble la... Totally grapefruiting tomorrow onwards! *worried face*

Thanks Jun for the contact! Appreciate you asking ard sanity!

Kani, outdoor chef sounds awesome!

Riverwalk is really yummy... I love their crispy bindhi dish... food was delish. Booked them for my nicchyathaartham.

Jess: i remember you said that you are size 8!

Hey Sanity &amp; Jess: Do you guys have facebook?

Sanity: I tried riverwalk at my friend's son wedding.. it was good..

hey guys! was away for a short trip..so much going on here haha..I am panicky about my reception dress too. I am v petite and prob cant get smthn off the rack. wonder if shld jus wear 1 sari. My MUA said ppl r now nt necessarily wearing 2 outfits. Are you guys going for 1 or 2 outfit change?
Btw who is getting married in June too?I m so panicky. Reception gown, outdoor shoot n wedding cards nt even decided.

And any henna contacts? I have shortlisted Stylish henna arts and Saheli but wld like to consider 1 or 2 more.

Dear jun...this is the link for RP performing arts group...

http://trcc.rp.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=31&amp;Itemid=40

see what kinda entertainment u r after n contact em k?...hope this helps.

Jun ur malay chef's menu sounds YUM!!
Geez i totally envy ur venue jun...its a real classy hotel.....their rooms r super nice.. r u bookin their honeymoon suite for the night?

Lovely jess, u will soo fit into ur lengha..dun worry k...come on u have 5/6 months? Thats a good time period. I think crash diets r of no use, since we'll gain it back in no time. Doin it ova a period of time is betta. So hang on to ur grapefruit tight tight.....i have 4 months to produce sum miracle...i feel like kickin myself...i shld have started long ago.

Ness...make ur decision on what u feel comfortable with...if ur cool with 2 outfit change go for it....tho 1 makes life alot easier...but hey its ur big day to glow, so its all worth the effort..
Sindhu is getting married in june....

Hey gals what r ur beauty tips?? what r u guys doin to ur skin to make it glow on the day of ur wedding? share???? I have been reading mix reviews abt facials.....one says it will dry up ur skin n make u look old...the other says, makes ur skin look like baby bottoms....im confused.

Hey Jess...oh...300 is abt reasonable...i was quite suprised with 850.....i wonder if indian Dj's charge by hr too..thanks for the info jess...

where is pam? Guess she's been bz...

Hey gurls,
hope u guys had a good weekend....hows ya progress been thus far...updates?

The wedding cards been sorted out in ma case. My folks placed the orders in JB.....im still workin n worryin ova the favors.....its not been fruitful. I just hope n pray it'll be done soon. I realised that nuthin's been done easily/fast since d day i started with d prep....everythin has its own set of probs. oh well....

Happy Monday to all u brides to be!
Keep that smile goin..

Hellooooooooo everyone

Sanity - haha i was out of town for the past few days just got back.. Hey u know for your wedding favours i have seen lots of small hand held cloth bags being given out..its not too exp...i will try to get a pic and send it to u by email.
Wats ure email add? Or is there anyway i can post the pic up here?

Hi Sanity &amp; Pam

On Sat, i had discussion with my wedding planner on theme, schedule, wedding favour and gown..

Had a search on wedding favour.. i guess most of my favour, i will be getting from UK.. it is alot cheaper and unique.. hahaha..

Hey Pam.....ahhhh..no wonder
...Gd to see u back...hand held bags r cute! yes yes send me an email
geez thanks gurlie [email protected]

Hi Hi Jun, wow u had a fruitful sat huh...nice...its good have a weddin planner after all, u'll have less things to stress abt. Pretty pls share where n wat ya gettin from uk....is it really cheaper????...will be really helpful...

They have alot of ideas.. Make me adding more cost! HAHAAHHAHA

they have nice wedding favour box and the ribbon colour of my theme.. my theme colour is really HARD to find in SG..

I find that the ebay in UK is alot cheaper..

Singapore malay tradisional stuff is abit too drama.. my wedding is soft theme..

so gonan use the traditional ingridient but with modern packaging..

it was damn tired.. came home and collapes! hahaa..

Box, organza bag, small paper flower, ribbon, customise sweet with our name and date on it and thank them for coming..

the tradisional stuff is potpurri and boiled egg..

I am indian but my mom is malaylam.. not sure how it is being spell.. but we are more towards malay culture..

hahaa..

egg means like to have more children.. potpurri means the couple life with be as sweet and fragrance as the pot purri..

ooh thanks for sharing the favor details jun...seems very preeeeettty..
oh ya mum is a malayalee huh....cool.

wow neva knew the meaning behind eggs n potpourri...interesting!

Actually i shld have gone rajasthan..they have such beautiful favors! sighs....Pam u noe any frens who have ordered from mumbai or other parts of india?

Hi Jun! I'm part malayalee too! =)

Ladies, some of my friends went to BKK to get favors... they've got cheap and nice stuff that u can buy in bulk from Chatuchak... U can consider! =)

Hi Sanity - Fraid i dun hav frens who have ordered favours from india...i noe of one though who ordered in from punjab but not too sure which part..she ordered the small handheld bags tingy... mostly punjabis give out sweetmeat..wedding favours are not very common

Jessica is so right about chatuchak..u gals may be able to get sumting at a low price if u head down there..i had actually walked past one shop in cc which sold beautiful guest books..but i dint buy aniting from the shop..may do so wen i go down next

Hi Jun >> no FB for me... Btw I tried calling petitemains... no one ever picks up.. =(

Pam >> chatuchak has so many little items! Some look quite ethnic... Didnt realize they have guestbooks... hope I get to go down before my wedding. There was some promotion on one of the group selling websites... deal or streetdeal or smth like that...

Sanity, Kani >> how's the diet? Any progress? I had custard bun and tea for dessert during lunch... =( Not too healthy..

Kickboxing today! *determined face*

U ladies going for facials, massages etc to prep your skin for the big day? My skin is beginning to look so dull!

Still pending decor for temple... *shake head*... and invitations..