Help! My girlfriend want to leave me , and ignoring me now.

doll, me cantonese too.

sm, those are hokkien terms meh? some are not right? see, i can't even tell if they are or not, tsk tsk, hopeless

In NS, the kind of Hokkien Singlish is different from Hokkien 'han yu pin yin' written online mah. Communicating in Chinese is okie for me. Likewise, listening to men talk cock in Hokkien is okie too. Not reading them.

I understand 30-50% of what they say can already. But, if you ask me what each word or phase mean, I also dunno mah.

HBH, not really. Some men could hardly speak even simple english. These are those that are most difficult to interview. And they will talk to me about their problems, drug or glue sniffing history, Gf got pregnant, needing to work outside part time etc.

I see. For my time it's Mandarin. English becoming common with some and normally when we sprout hokkien, it's the @#$#@@%. Only when speaking to enciks we used more hokkien.

Amongst the A level batch, for sure, no issue. Its just the vuglarities as u have mentioned. But no so, in units and schools. We face men from all walks of life. Some dropped out from sch since lower primary.

One particular vocation was damn problematic. i.e. Cooks. Every batch sure to have a few AWOL and sent to DB. Probably the reason why SAF decided to out-source the cookhouse.

HBH, which batch are u from? I'm enlisted in 1993/4. man... its so long that I cannot remember exactly which yr!

Erm... Judging from above I think I am younger. Cos my time no Cook liao. All outsourced... The problematic ones I seen were drivers actually. The highest awol rates came from them.

AWOL is lesser of a problem for drivers. We have them overturning the CO's vehicle at night. God knows how they drove it. And 2 cooks were in the vehicle with them. All without helmets.

And there was another bigger problem then. Suicide cases were high during that period in our camp. 3 cases within a period of less than 3 months.

Probably the group dynamics ba. The norms which exists within the particular group of monkeys hanging around the same tree. There are some who are quite okay too. But normally those DB dudes I seen are always regular. In out In out always the same few. Always smiling when you escort them in.

I am appalled and absolutely flabbergasted by what I've just read.

TS, I think if your so-called 'gf' now asks you to jump off a building in order to prove your love for her is greater than the other guy, you would do so too right?

thomas, TS has gone shopping in orchard towers for a tattoo, now the thread has turned into a hokkien classroom with discussions on national service.

milo, at least u can understand 30-50%, i think i get less than 10% and generally won't be able to understand even vaguely what the subject is.

i can sing hokkien songs though! taiwanese hokkien with chinese characters to fall back on seems easier to understand. Never try to cheat me on the chor dai dee table too, those hokkien terms about cards etc i know all haha

Somehow, its seems tougher for Cantonese to learn Hokkien but not so the other way round! Perhaps if all the TVB dramas are shown in Hokkien then we would have master Hokkien from young too.

WJ what hokkien song? I ask sky? lol the most in song recently I heard alot of kopitiam uncles singing haha.

As a hokkien, I can understand to a certain degree of cantonese. But don't ask me to speak. U'll laugh your arse off from previous feedbacks.

yah, my wife refuses to speak too after her 1st attempt when in HK. Its too funnie, cannot help but kept laughing & laughing.

doll, mj i also can, if strictly talking about cards i can guess.

hbh, i ask sky i only know one phrase haha, the rest my friends laughed at me so i refused to continue, but i actually know quite a few others leh, duets...cannot remember the titles. Next time i speak in hokkien and u speak in cantonese, everyone else can laugh their arses off

milo, do u speak HK cantonese or m'sian cantonese? so mean, your wife didn't laugh at u when u attempted hokkien right, terrible lah u

doll, we're short of one mj kaki this wkend, u wanna play? BUT, as u'd expect, i'm mad, so my friends are mad too...so...

Milo, WJ - How many types of Cantonese can you speak? I can speak two types, HK Cantonese which is the typical one and å°å±±è¯ã€‚

I have tried to learn Hokkien in my teens and young adulthood but kena laughed at all the time. No talent.

WJ, my stake very small for MJ because I love the game more than winning the money. Don't think anyone can tahan a few hours at the MJ table for a few dollars leh

Doll, I only know 2 kinds, the clean version and the X#$%#YZ version. Clean version is what we hear from News presenters on TV. And the other version can be easily picked up in ChinaTown from the old shopkeepers.

HK, Guangdong and KL versions are very similar. Except Singaporean version is bascially rojak.

Doll, my mj stakes are small too because I don't have the level of energy to sustain for long. Most of the time, I end up losing on the 2nd half of the round. I agree that its more for fun than to win.

WJ..next time when you are really short of kaki, u can always call me

When I was in uni I had a HK housemate and we spoke in Cantonese. Under his influence, I used "you" a lot, which is a varied and civilised version of the swear word "diu".

hey, know what, on this thread, there're 3 kakis and a 4th one that will always lose in the second half...doesn't that tell the remaining 3 it's a GREAT idea to make the 4th one play with us? haha

Doll..erm, I do play slightly higher stakes. I usually play 50c/$1..i guess the smallest I've played is 30/60c Any lesser and I'll zzzzzz.

correction, it shud read "I play, fullstop"
haha, money or no money i also play.
jio means invite right? yup must arrange a game soon.

Doll n siobhan keen to play this sunday?

This Sunday I can't leh.

Can I ask if you all prefer to play with players of the same calibre? I must say I am quite lousy and slow hor.

WJ..this weekend I can't unfortunately. kiddo's exam period so I gotta do as much revision with him as possible..next week onwards no problem.

doll...heh, no worries. if my hands are really itchy, im okay with playing with any kinda players.

Siobhan, I have a feeling that WJ and you are MJ master leh. I sure kena makan meat plus bones.....

Friday evening is better for me actually.

doll, erm, how slow is slow har? i THINK i'm not bad, play for fun lah, anyway u have Milo as back up heh

*mopiko, where art thou*