Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel (formerly known as Century Roxy Park Hotel)

Joeynben, don't really think there is possibility to waive the marquee set up but u can try to neg wif the co-ordinator if u r really interested in the venue.

Not too sure abt the timing for soleminsation think it will b better to speak to the coordinators abt ur concerns. Think they r much experienced in this area & shld be able to assist ur enquires.

Thanks miumiu,
ya I will go down to the hotel to take a look for the poolside and ballroom.
We have sign the package for solemnisation just havent decide to held it at poolside or ballroom.

MiuMiu

can I know when are you holding the wedding and who is your co-ordinator? I have also signed at the BOWS wedding fair at the last day last few hours.

Seemed like Roxy is not that popular among the other hotel booths.

hi cherie, my AD will be on 7/3/09 and my co-ordinator is Jason. Wad abt u? Btw which venue have u selected for ur wedding?

I agreed dat Roxy hotel may not be as popular as other hotels. Mayb they lose out based on the location. Guess dat most couples wld prefer popular or more accessible hotels.

Hi Miumiu

My co-ordinator is also Jason, I find him pretty nice insofar, quite proactive and keeps me posted of what is happening.... What do you think of him?

Most importantly, I find that their perks are rather good and pricing is attractive.....

I am holding in the big ballroom as I have having 30-35 tables and so the poolside cannot accomodate...

Cherie, haf u gotten ur draft contract from him yet? Hmm.... he keeps u posted on wad? I have yet to receive anything from him.

yup, i think their perks & prices r good. my weddiing will be in the roxy room as we haf less than 25 tables.

hi all, we had make reservations for the new ballroom. had rough count of abt 30tables. signed up with them during the BOWS roadshow. But actually we had went to check the venue out before we signed up with them. the old ballroom looks ok but there are 4 big pillars, if i remember correctly. ceiling is abt 3m high.

New ballroom (under renovation) have 6 big pillars but according to our co-ordinator told us that there might be projectors on each of the pillars (not confirmed yet). if our tables is abt 25-30, then the hotel can arrange the tables in a way that there is minimum blockage. They will do a mock up of how many table can the ballroom actually hold. the new ballroom have a slightly higher ceiling of 3.2 to 3.4m.

We didn't actually have much choice of hotels since most hotels are fully booked for the last four months of the year. And on top of that, the perks offered during the roadshow is more attractive than the normal time.

hi sleepygal, welcome!
when is ur AD & who is ur co-ordinator?

we also viewed the roxy room b4 we signed up the package. I was also told dat the table arrangement will b in min. blockage.

hi miumiu, our inital counting came to abt 30tables. There might be more as the time comes closer. Ya, we saw their chinese menus. Katherine said that there are still room for changes for the dishes. Meaning, we can swop dishes according to our preferences and if the chef knows how to cook the dish.

sleepygal, does dat mean wadever dish u like u can request the chef to add into ur menu? or swop dishes as in between the romance & enchanted menu only?

hi miumiu, ya, can only interchange between the 2 menus, or even reference back to their old menus. So far, we are only dissatisfied with the dessert, which we wanted to make the change.

Hi Miumiu,

yes he does follow-up with me as I didnt confirm on alot of details on the day I signed up... infact I yet to see their ballroom even, just find their prices really reasonable.... have you seen the old ballroom, can make it or not??

Anyway we are firming on the contract this weekend, I have changed to the small ballroom as there will be another function in the new ballroom.. Was initially quite angry over the change but they have been accomodating in releasing the small ballroom. In the end, I have to cut to 25 tables since we must stick to that auspicious date, my guestlist was hitting 35, now have to shrink....

We will have lower priority if there is a internal/VIP function... thats why better get the contract signed and done asap....

Jason has told us to do the invitation cards 3 months in advance, printing charges at own costs...

Also I need to change the dishes....

Sleepygal,

we can only swop from Enchanted to Romance package rite? Cant be swopping to the more ex without additional charges....

hi cherie, for the time being I dun think their after sales service is good.

Anyway.... i m taking the smaller room. its alright lah, cosy lor though there r big pillars blocking. but since got projectors, think it won't b dat bad. Btw, wad dishes u plan to change? I think if swop to more exp one may need to top up $.

sleepygal, we also haven't cfm on the menu yet. was also thinking getting the enchanted one. My fiance & i also prefer the dessert in the romance menu too.

Miumiu

Is the small ballroom crampy? Anyway I am going down this weekend to firm on the contract.... Not sure why they have not been following up with you, why dont you give Jason a call? I can PM you his number.

I am meeting him this weekend to confirm on the contract and invitation cards stuff though my wedding date is in Dec.

I am taking the romance package and changing the sharkfin soup to 4 treasure soup (my hubby says sharks are endangered species)... I prefer the romance menu bcos of the dessert and the ee fu noodles, the lotus wrapped rice in the enchanted menu will be too filling at the end..... I think the guests will be too full to even touch it....

sleepygal

have you selected your theme? I think I will be choosing glamour glitz, oriental style looks too chi-na.... for the dishes, they will only allow you to downgrade or something equivalent..... btw, hard to negotiate for anything extra, i tried to convert the food tasting table to a table on AD, but failed.... they are very firm on discounts and perks etc...

Excited to choose the invitation cards now....

so happy to see 2 more Roxy BTB around.....
I thought rarely couples will choose it......

cherie, think u need to see the ballroom for urself to determine. thks, I alrdy have jason's contact. I did contacted him couple of days ago. Was rather dissapointed dat i have to initate wif the follow up job after we paid the deposit. Same as u, we also did not cfm on alot of details during the day we signed up. Mayb my AD is next year, so mayb they r taking their own time.

Miumiu

That means you have alot of time to consider and think about it.... at least u lock in the pricing first... Just got a call from Jason this morning again.... I find him q proactive... Maybe he is very busy with his co-ordinating stuff, but overall he is good... I asked for the deposit receipt and he sent to me within seconds....

Maybe you should arrange 1 day to go down and discuss to take a look at those wedding favours and wedding invitation cards to progress slowly.

Miumiu

That means you have alot of time to consider and think about it.... at least u lock in the pricing first... Just got a call from Jason this morning again.... I find him q proactive... Maybe he is very busy with his co-ordinating stuff, but overall he is good... I asked for the deposit receipt and he sent to me within seconds....

Maybe you should arrange 1 day to go down and discuss to take a look at those wedding favours and wedding invitation cards to progress slowly.

hi Cherie, guess so bah. anyway can't expect much from them either. dunthink he will contact me so soon to select the wedding favours & invitation cards.

Really need some guidance here....=) I've just went down this morning to meet Jason. I'm still thinking of whether to choose Grand Mercure or Club chinois...I really like the Poolside theme, but scared that I'll get dispointed on the actual day if it doesn't look like the one shown on brides mag. I also find the price is quite reasonable, however just find that the location is abit off - not near to MRT.
Anyone care share with me more info on this hotel? (like pictures taken on actual day, perks...etc?)
O miumiu,I think i'll be taking the Enchanted as well if i confirmed to sign with them.

Hi cherie, i agree with you. After the the first 5 to 6 dishes, the guests should be more or less full to have the otus wrapped rice in the enchanted menu, so I think I may also change it to the ee fu noodles.

I have not chosen my theme yet. At the BOWS roadshow, i feel that the Oriental style is a bit too red and with the "red lantern stand" on table, its a bit obiang. I think I will be choosing glamour glitz too.

I am now sourcing for the "suppliers" to print the inserts for the cards. Get the quotation first. Haha, I too kiasu ba. But I think these things can start first. I think the supplier that this hotel is working with is a bit xpensive. My FH's elder bro says there is one at AMK that is cheaper, so I am also open to other options too.

Hi Fang, when u pop over this morning, there wasn't any set up at the poolside for you to reference to? Perhaps you could ask Jason to arrange for you to view the actual site after they have done up for the wedding at the poolside. When I view the place, I actually saw the poolside deco, it was very nice and properly done up. But for the details, I did not place special attention as the place is too small to hold all my guests.

I also have the same dilemma as you, since the place is quite out. But my FH assured me that the younger guests should be able to make their way there. The older ones could probably drive or take a cab there.

I am interested to have my wedding in Grand Mercure. Personally I have approached Xinying, but its she does not give much rooms for negotiation. Can anyone pls give me Jason's contact? Also, is it true that they cant put our date as tentative without us paying the deposit.

Dear White bell

I believe no hotel banquets will allow you to lock the dates if there is no deposit, this is a standard practice bah.... I do not think Grand Mercure will hard sell their packages with price slash or freebies..... I will email you Jason's contact, you can go to singapore brides banquet section to get the main hotel hotline as well....

Hi sleepygal,
actually parkway parade is so popular and accessible.... there are alot of buses going there and I think there are shuttle buses from bedok MRT (not sure if this service still available)... singapore is not that big afterall.... I thought that it is compulsory to get the inserts from the GMR suppliers, you mean we can source for own inserts? How about printing? Can provide me the contact at AMK? Send to my email: [email protected]

I am still comtemplating on the MENU to choose... what do you think of the 2 menus?

cherie, sleepygal: Can i check wif both of u whether u r getting ur contract soon?

whitebell, i agreed wif cherie. Unless they having some wedding shows or wad, it is more difficult to get more perks.

Hi Cherie, the inserts can get from outside. Only must get the cards from their supplier and the inserts can outsource. I have not get the contact from my FH's bro. But I do have the contact for another printer (my ex-co's supplier), but the person in-charge says that they will need to see the invitation cards before they can give a quotation. Have to see what type / size of inserts you are using.

Well, for the menus, its entirely up to you depending on your hubby's and your preference. For my case, we perferred the Enchanted Menu so we opted for it. Enchanted menu offers better dishes and choice will be given. In addition, the cost difference between the 2 menus is only $50/table which average out to be additional $5/pax which your guests will be "entitled" to better food. I think Enchanted Menu is still worthwhile.

Hi whitebell, it might be possible to have the co-ordinator to tentaively block your preferred date but the blocking is only valid for at most 1 week. After that, if you do not make the reservations, the date will be opened to public again. So its better that you make reservations once you confirm.

Hi miumiu, I have not got my contract yet cos my co-ordinator just came back from her leave today. Should expect to receive it within the next 1 week.

Thanks Sleepygal for ur information....

Miumiu
yesterday met up with Jason to discuss on the details, he has given us a list of to-do's and preparations for the wedding banquets... my contract should be signing in June (6months beforehand) because my guestlist not finalised... he has also encouraged us to join the Grand Mercure Wedding Show on 1st/2nd March 4.30pm, there will be actual wedding setting, package explanation, banquet suite room and poolside decor and lucky draws, you can let him arrange for you to go for that... it is easier to visualise ur AD banquet.... maybe you can call him to join in the wedding show, he should be able to absorb the registration fees since you made a deposit....

hi sleepygal, my fiance & I also prefers the enchanted menu.

hi cherie, thanks for ur info too. yup, we heard abt the wedding show n will be attending too. I've arranged to meet him next Sat to furhter discuss on our contract details.

Hi cherie, my food tasting is not so soon cos my AD is on 23-Nov. Still waiting for my cooordinator to send us the contract. Heard from friends saying that the food there is not bad.

hi gals, i have also heard dat they serve good food. however, they haf changed a new chef lately...hopefully they still maintain their standard.

just met up with Jason to discuss on our draft contract. more or less the items has been decided and will b finalised as we approaches our AD. He has been helpful & hopefully all things will go well. we will also be atttending to upcoming wedding showcase in March.

Great Miumiu!

Can I know which day you are attending? 1st or 2nd March? I am going for 2nd March.....

Yah Jason is very professional, he told me that he supposed to work on 5-day week, weekends are actually his off days. Think he takes initiative to meet us on weekends.....

Finally received the contract. But there are some terms and conditions incorrect. Had written back to them. Waiting for their reply. I should be attending their 1st Mar wedding show to view the indoor one.

How long before our AD will they actually get in touch with us on the details?
I signed up with them during the BOWs show for my AD in Feb 2009....

Hi Cherie,

I signed last year, October. :D But what I dislike is the location, too FAR. My guests all stay at north area. But too bad... my HTB likes that hotel and most impt is the package is very attractive. :D

hi winterling, I also staying in the North side too but my fiance staying nearby GMR so we decided to choose this hotel. And I think the package is quite alright too.

Hi winterling & Miu Miu, I am in the same boat as both of you. I am staying in North, my guests are from north too but my HTB and his guests are staying in the east side, so we opt for this hotel. The package seems ok too.

Check with you gals. Have you received your contracts yet? I have received mine but there seem to have some variance from wat was being promised to us during the Bows roadshow. Now we are re-negotiating the contract with the co-ordinator again. haiz....

hi sleepygal, yah man. my fiance & his guests r staying around the region too.

I haven't receive my contract. I was told mayb 6-9mths before my actual day. During our discussion with our coordinator, we jot down our requests & agreements for future reference.

Mayb coordinators might forget to input the things they agreed, thus results in re-drafting of the contracts b4 its finalised.

Btw is ur variance a great difference from wad was promised initially?

Hi Miumiu, my variance are not really big differences la. But we feel that its better to get the stuffs stated in black and white otherwise may have some problems and there are some grey areas which we are not really comfortable with.

We are actually faced with the problem of the room size of the new function room. Inital information was that it can allow ~40-45 tables, but as the days goes by, the co-ordinator states in our contract that it can only arrange max of 35 tables. But this morning, she called my HTB and told him that the max number of tables are between 35-40 tables. Confusing, right? That is why we are talking to them to amend and indicate black and white in the contract.

Enough of my grouses. All the best to you gals.

Winterling, have you received your contract yet? Any problems? Curious only.