Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Nami,

Who served you at St*r Cellar? I managed to get a slightly better price along with my friend who called along a few people from the forum to join in the bulk purchase. Think we bought about 200 bottles in total. See if they can give you a better price if you offer to pay in cash in full. But then again perhaps their policy has since changed since it's been about a year since I bought my wine.

nami,

I think they quote me about $15 for the wine. We dunno wine very well so they recommended us some wine and you can go to their shop to sample some wine before you commit. They do consignment, commit a dozen and consign another dozen. Can call them to chat, very friendly

www.winebos.com

Hi Sherl,
Nigel is the one who served us. Hmm, I tried asking if I can consolidate orders to get a bulk discount, but he say no leh...coz they dun deliver to different places. But like you say, maybe their policies has changed. But thanks for your info and advice hee

Hi Stfanie,
Thanks for your info! I will call them and check

i understand from GCW that we have to be presence at their wedding show to sign up for the package to enjoy for the perks..must we die die be there or can i book earlier? i happen to be overseas during their wedding show leh.

AL,

you can email your coordinator and request for the package to be extended to you. I was also overseas during the wedding show during my time, but I informed my coordinator before I went overseas that I was interested in signing the wedding show package, and he extended the offer to us. Also, I think normally the wedding show promo will last for about a month, it's those special perks only extended during the wedding show itself that you have to ask for.

For those looking for wine, maybe U can go Parker's Wine, its $13/bot
I only order 24bot...I had 2 diff wines, 1 fr Chilean & another fr Australia
Cos most of my guests r non-drinkers, the Australian wine is quite light.
Therefore most of them quite like it.

hi stefanie...u with GCW too? din realise tt...hee hee hee....wat u got wine liow...winebos ah... thk will chk out a couple of wine cellar b4 deciding...am gonna go wine tasting later with another girl in tis forum...

which wine did u buy?

Parkers Wine is opp the speakers' corner..
ya, they accept consignment..
U make go & taste the wine too...

stefy,
I came into the wrong forum.. hehe.. I am not with GCW.. i am with grand shanghai.. hehe.. oops..

I haven confirm my wine. Only got recommendation and quotes from winebos. I dunno much about wine.. haha..

Hi Nami, i havent sign with GCW yet. but its one of our shortlisted hotels. we're quite torn between GCW and merchant court. MC is cheaper and more accessible. more things are thrown in also. But GWC is much grander and has better service and reputation. And i like the coordinator i'm working with. so on the ball man. appreciate that kind of service very much. hmm now i'm also thinking of Pan pacific coz similar pricing to GCW for the kind of capacity we're looking at leh. But i havent seen PP's venue. only heard that its nice. hiy this hotel thingy is getting to me liaoz. arghh

Hi annpaul,
I went to Pan pacific before. If you have alot of tables, the ballroom is actually a rectangular one. The stage is at the far end. So, if you have too many tables, those tables place at the back might not be able to see clearly. It was quite noisy when the couple march in coz those at the back couldn't see or might not even know that the couple is marching in. Have you check with the co ordinator yet? coz I went to them before but they dun seem like they can throw in alot. Just to share with you

But I agree with you that GCW is grander. The ballroom is 1 of the main reasons that I am choosing it hee

Just went to see GCW Grand Ballroom yesterday. I must say the ballroom is really unique. With the garden view of the Gazebo, i think it really pretty if it is lighted at nite...any ex GCW bride care to share their photos taken in that ballroom

Hi Tulips,

U met William? We're supposed to go yesterday too but my hubby came back quite late that we've missed the appointment... How is the package?? Is it attractive??

Hi Cha Bo,

I met Sheena actually. She took us thru the Grand Ballroom n to the water fountain outside the hotel as we were thinking of solemnisation too.

Package i think it quite standard thru out every hotel. But GCW is the most affordable one among all my shortlisted hotel.There is a promo going on for their next coming show on 24 Sept.

The below perks will be extended:

1) A rebate of $888nett from total wedding bill for weddings with a minimum of 35 tables (one day promotion only)

2) Use your UOB credit card for deposit and get one complimentary night stay in our standard room (room only) plus choice of free flow beer or one bottle of red wine per table to be consumed during dinner with a minimum booking of 25 tables.

UOB promotion is valid till 23 November 2006 for weddings held before 30 December 2007.

But I still have a few more hotels to view these few weeks.So dun think i will decide so soon.Mine AD is only in Dec 2007. When is yours?

Hi tuplips...i'm attended by sheena too. we're quite happy with GCW and shld be signing the package with them for our wedding next april. now the promotion really comes in good time for us.

you went to the water fountain outside the hotel? how is it? nice? can sit how many? we're going to have solemnization service before dinner too. but shld be in paradiso room. thinking of outdoor too but sheena says coz of construction its not very nice. can share ur views?

i just have one more concern. hope ex-brides of GCW can share ur experience with me. we should be doing the L-Shaped walk-in coz the backdrop is much nicer. but is it hard to march with your gown having to turn a L-shaped huh? will guests near the back or the door be able to have a clear view of the stage since its like at an angle compared to seeing the full stage if its straight walk in???

hi gals...am attended by sheena too....she is quite nice

annpaul...can't help u on the walk in coz my AD onli in dec....dun thk shld be a problem with the gown lah....or the stage have been to their wedding show n the deco is quite nice...

Mmm... seems like no one is entertained by William...

Tulips, my AD is on 7th of July... But heard that it's gonna be fully booked... so worried.. cause not many hotels left in my list...

Anyone is having Lunch banquet?? Please share your experience....

Hi Ann,

Well the fountain outside can sit quite a number of ppl. It will be really nice after decor. The construction behind really a sore eye but if you do it at nite then I think it not so obvious. I asked for about 100pax, Sheena said it ok but usually she did was only for small group like 30. The guests will be seating around the fountain n u will be having you soleminsation underneath the water fountain. Which I think it really nice. But I'm not considering this as I'm booking Burkill Hall to do my Solemnisation. I just ask since I'm already there n heard they got nice place for solemnsation.

I'm also think of L-shaped walked in if i really sign up with GCW. Which I think the guests will have clear view of the stage as the ballroom has no pillar. My FH's best friend did his there a fews years ago, that y he suggested in going to see GCW as he also liked the place.

Hey Cha Bo, I heard from Sheena 7th July 2007 is quite fully booked. She left with only small ballroom if I remember correctly. And also this special date has special price, which will not be the same price as what the package states. But I think you can reconfirm with your coordinator to confirm.

Hope all this is helpful.....

annpaul,

I had no problems with the L-shaped march-in. As for whether the guests can see, I think it depends on how tightly you have packed your tables. I had 35+2 so it was quite ok, if you have more than that then the back and side tables might be pushed very much to the side, if you know what I mean, and then some parts of those tables may not be able to view the stage clearly. But of all the hotels I saw GCW was the one which I thought offered most of my guests a good view of the stage and going ons.

Hi Sherl, when was ur AD?
How do u feel about the service of GCW?
And also the decor of the ballroom?

GCW does not have themes as they only play with colors. Seen their colors for the ballroom, does not really impress me le.

What did you do to yours?Any additional stuff you add on top of the package?

Hi Tulips,

You are right...
Quite a number hotels are fully booked on that day... Tonight i'm going to meet the coordinator...

By the way AnnPaul, personally, I don't really like L-shaped march-in. Either one side of the relatives & friends are not able to see you... Just like what happenned during my cousin's wedding.. She held it at Trader hotel and their ballroom are widish types (with 5X4 rows of tables at both sides) with two huge pillars! Then, when my cousin & hub walked in, the other side couldn't see them at all... Beside being blocked by the pillars... and also, the last two rows were kinda isolated...

Tulips, my AD was in March this year. Service wise, think it was adequate for the banquet staff. In particular we liked the banquet manager and also our coordinator's service. Decor of the ballroom is really up to you as GCW does not have set themes - you just go to the designated florists and ask to see what kind of decor they will provide for GCW, and then you can mix and match from there - if you want something more special, you may have to pay extra. However, we thought that the Grand Ballroom wasn't a place that needs much decor in the first place, as it looks so classic and grand on its own already, overembellishing it will make it lose its own charm.
What colours are you talking about leh? the colour of the tablecloths? You will have to match it to the colours of flowers and centrepieces you chose at the florists also. Think about what kind of effect you want and that should help you in the choice of colours.

By the way if you are having trouble deciding on colours of decor, do ask your florist to give her opinion. We went to June Florist and were served by Peggy, the director. She gave us a lot of useful tips on what would look good and what wouldn't in the different ballrooms. For example, I originally wanted blue roses as I thought of having a blue theme, but Peggy advised us that blue doesn't really go with Grand Ballroom's ambience which is kind of grand and classic, so I went for white in the end.

Didn't add anything else for the decor as we didn't think it was worth it paying for something that no one would remember besides us. I know some brides have asked the hotel to book ice sculptures though - but that comes at a cost.

Cha Bo,
Think for GCW Grand Ballroom it is all right to have an L-shaped march-in because it's pillarless and quite spacious; guests should be able to see you.

Hey Sherl thanks for sharing n congratulations.
Ya I guess if we really decided on GCW, there alot of work to be done in that ballroom. The tablecloth colors not alot also. Got to work with the florist. N we will definitely do L shaped march in. Cause the gazebo is the main thing y we chose GCW n nothing else.

Do you have any photo that can share with us?

Hi gers,

I went to GCW yesterday... Well, I'll suggest anyone of you to get the grand ballroom... It's really nice with a garden at the backstage...

The other two halls are too small and the ceiling is very short... One of the halls (i can't remember what it calls has two pillars!)....

But I really like to grand ballroom... look very very grand and the ceiling is very high ... without any pillar...

Hi Sherl,

Unfortunately we may drop GWC, 'cos we only have around 20 to 25 tables. In order to use the Grand Ballroom, the minimum tables required are 30.

Hey tulips...what kind of themes are u refering to? where do u see nice themes? my FH and me went to a few hotels but find GCW nicest coz its classy tho it doesnt haf 'themes'. aiyah its just the terms used. the hotels put all blue stuff then give it a name and it became a theme. put all red stuff and give it another name then become another theme. think GCW is nice coz there are more colors to choose from compared to other hotels we've been to. and i like the extra color sash on all tables. not just a white table cloth. i think can just play around with colours and flowers and it'll be really nice already. somemore theres already a very nice backdrop. i agree with sherl that you dont need to add much more to the ballroom coz its grand enough. unless u have very little tables. my sis attended a wedding there and find it empty looking. i think its coz not enuff tables lah. but we're gonna have 40 tables so shouldnt look too empty. we're just gonna play around with the candles and flowers.

Hi Annpaul,

Oh the themes that Regent n Hyatt have are quite nice. I only saw the plain GCW ballroom. The rest are what Sheena show me in photos. The dolphins ice sculpture are like quite passe, the colors of the table cloth she show us are also not matching.
And I agree with you that with more colors n flowers it should be very nice. I think all these can be fix easily la...

My FH say can get designer to do up the place if i really like the ballroom but dun like the decor. Till we finish all the hotels we wan to see this mth...GCW will be on my list as they can cater to my capacity of at least 50 tables...

When are you having your AD?
You are also busy looking at hotels??? hehehhe fun for you? Where have u see so far?

hi tulips, i agree Regent has nice themes. of all the hotels i've seen, think regent has one of the nicest themes, i esp like the one called la viva or somth. the new theme for 2007 i think. but as they are themes, quite standard after a while loh. every other couple would have the same thing. and i dont like the location. quite low ceiling also. eh i dont like hyatt also. so many weddings going on at same time. that time i went, ALL the ballrooms and whatever rooms they have had weddings going on. thats like 5-6 couples leh. not exclusive enough.

hmm have seen quite a lot of hotels. not exactly fun man. so tiring loh. arghh been to regent, hyatt, marriott, four seasons, merchant court, swissotel raffles, goodwood park, conrad, fullaton, intercontinental, meritus mandarin, marina mandarin, ritz carlton. haha quite all the hotels liao hor. yet to see pan pacific tho. heard its quite nice oso.

anyway dont think we going anymore hotels liao. sian already. i think GCW is nicest of all coz i'm thinking of engaging people to do up the place anyway. add more flowers and colors and flower arch and stuff. we like garden theme mah. its simplicity is easy to play ard with. very grand also. and i like the bronze ceiling in the paradiso for solemnization too. very sophiscated lah. haha

my AD is 30 april. we're quite settled with GCW liaoz. short of meeting our coordinator to sign contract only. ohh now they have promotion so its a perfect timing for us. quite a good deal.

aiyoh i talk too much liaoz! haha so have u settled ur hotel? ur BS? whens ur AD?

Hi Annpaul,

Wow u really been to almost every hotel in singapore le.....i haven settle for any hotel yet. Still have Pan Pac, Ritz, Shang to see then after tat we will decide already. Dun wan to see too much also....my AD quite far, it next yr Xmas day.So now slowly plan.
BS decided on Silverlining. Still have alot haven decide yet. I'm planning mostly for my ROM next yr first.

ice, nami, stefy.. me visitin June florist today.. any1 of u been there oledi?? care to share ur findings?

n i'll b most probably gg dwn to T-dragon on sat aftnn to look at their cards.. any1 gg dwn too?

Hi Dorami! Yup i've been there already.. I think you only need to think of a colour scheme if you intend to have one... They have an album for you to refer to.

T dragon is damn crowded.. we went there aroud 4, and they told us to come back an hour later. and no point making appointments cos there are just too many walk in people. I think you either have to go really early or really late!

BTW, EH said my layout will be ready this week or next. getting abit excited.. I have already waited 2 months for this!

ice.. i sort of hav a color scheme in mind.. hopefully peggy can help me sort out the appropriate flowers.. so u r cfm on june florist liao??? did u top up anythin??

yah.. oso heard abt t-dragon being super crowded.. i did call up n they oso tell me no nd to make appt.. so u do hotstampin or print on inserts.. managed to get a gd price for them?

ice.. u mean once v choose d pics EH needs 2 mths to come out w d layout?? i havnt seen my layout oso.. guess it's nt ready.. 2 mths is long! but as long as d results r gd.. it's definitely worth d wait.. dun forget to share w me when u get d soft copy.. wana admire ur nice nice pics too

i think June florist is quite flexible, just tell them your colour scheme and they will suggest accordingly.. dun forget to ask for free petals (i got 1 pack free)!! hee hee.. very cheapo..

i printed on inserts cos i was cheapo and I didn't want to waste cards in case I mispell pple's name. But take note you have buy the string to tie all the inserts by yourself, unless you want to fork out more $$$ for them to tie for you. The v plain inserts cost $100 for the first 200 pcs and 20cts thereafter. If you want those cute cartoon I think it's $50 flat fee.

Yah.. I got v tired of waiting and decided to email him cos v near my AD already! then he said he's still doing the layout.. Think you also can wait long long also...

ice.. ok.. lookin fwd to mit peggy n get 1 more thing settled

i oso dun wish to spend $$ on cards.. dun c d point.. rather spend my $$ elsewhr hehe

nt cheapo lah.. weddin oledi spend a bomb liao.. areas tt can save of cos muz save lah hehe

ice.. so u havnt seen ur layout as yet rite?? last time EH told me wil show us 1st b4 printin out d album.. guess i'll stil hav to wait a long time hehe

Hi Dorami,
I havent been to June Florist yet leh hee. Maybe will go down there in 2 weeks time. As for T Dragon, I am getting my cards this Sat. I didn't make any apptm too. I guess it is crowded now coz its the 2nd 7th mth liao. Hmm, I did hotstamping which cost me $120 for the first 100 pcs and there after 40cents per pc. I lazy to source and compare prices haha.
Hmm, who should I look for when I go down? Is it better to look for Peggy? She is the boss right?

I attend a wedding show in Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel this year, somewhere around april 06 I think. There is a vendor who did up the candle display along the isle for the show. I would likt to check if anyone knows the company name? its printed on the wedding show brochure, but unfortunately I threw away the brochure. Thanks

Wow..i can really gather a lot of info here.How do i sign up for their wedding show?

I'm interested in GCW wedding package. Can i have the contact for Sheena as well? My email add is [email protected]

Thankie : )

Nami.. hw many pcs did u print in total???

as for June florist.. yup.. look for peggy.. heard fr ex-gcw brides tt she gif gd advises..

stefy.. i tink i'll probably reach ard 2pm.. if really too crowded like ice said.. then v plannin to walk to MS to do sme shoppin 1st lor.. i nd to do sme shoppin there anyway

dorami...

oic....i'll probably drop by but will be later lor....go meet my insurance agent then shop shop in orchard first....ha ha ha....