Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

dear all GCW BTBs, can we compile who & when is our AD? So many BTBs here, confuse

Name: Mona
ROM: Dun know yet
AD: 17 Mar 2007
Hotel: GCW - Waterfront Ballroom
Coord: Zephyr
Florist: Not decided yet (i think June Florist)
BS: French Studio & Bridal

Hazel... ewwwww..... so gross! When is your GDL leh? Are you having simple one or elaborate traditional kind?

About the tables, guest list is really the most headache part of the preps lor... Try to do two rounds of RSVP. We did our second round about 1-2 weeks before the wedding and managed to cut down some tables that way... Also some people will still fly you aeroplane at the last minute one... Can try to put those you think likely to fly aeroplane people at the reserve table so that you can close it if necessary....

crescent... Think you still in good time la... good luck with your search!

Welcome ah ren... think you're in good hands at GCW..

Sherl,
How to diff simple or traditional kind?
I think mine is the simple cum traditional kind...
at least my FH wont be giving us live chicken...
but the usual stuffs will be liquor, oranges, cakes, ping jin,etc...
Then we rent a car to deliver the cakes to relatives.

most of them r my direct relatives & frenz...so most likely wont fly plane.
I never expect to ve so much tables...till last mth..I started to panic cos its not enough.
I had used up the max capacity of the waterfront ballroom.
And the Grand ballroom is occupied on tat day.
The worst case is to ve a table at the foyer.
N yes, I going to our dad's fren under reserved tb.

Morning gals...

Forgot to thank Yukie for her bb dust yesterday... heeheehee... thanks hor Yukie...

Hazel... no real way to differentiate it la, heheh... my own definition... Originally our parents both sides agreed to a simple one with only ping jin, traditional Teochew candy and an angbao to sum everything up, but after some relatives kept making comments we ended up having the oranges, liquor, pigs trotters... I would define very traditional as having the baby bathtub, tampui and the rest, which I put my foot down and said no to. heheheheh...

Your panic opposite from mine... Before wedding we almost couldn't fulfil min. capacity... really sweat boy... hahaha... Is waterfront the biggest of the small ballrooms? Maybe can try to squeeze twelve at a table and have 6 foot tables instead of 5-foot? Can save tables with that...

Oh, in the midst of the stress don't forget to take one or two days out to just relax with hubby... Three days before our wedding hubby and I threw all our preps aside and went for a date because we were so stressed and screaming at each other all the time... Leading up to the wedding it seems like that's THE event, but remember that wedding is just celebrating the beginning of a marriage, which is what matters the most in the long run...

Sherl,
Me too...tat means I under traditional GDL.
Got those candles, lamp, bathtub, etc...
all cos of my friendly "aunties", in the end I had to give 10tbs to my parents.
Initially we tot jux give them Ping Jin...
Now that 10tbs ABs got to to give to them cos those "aunties" r laughing at them tat the guys didnt give them tbs.
So in the end, everything is traditional.
Sorry, out of topic.

Actually, I had requested some tables to have 11pax. of cos, need additional cost.
N yes, its the biggest ballroom of the smaller ones.
Zephyr had warned me that it will be quite squeezy but there's nothing I can do.
Although I quite worried, cos I had seen my fren in other hotel also quite squeezy with abt the same ballroom size as Waterfront.

Hazel.. yeah... haiz.. At first you think wedding is just about two of us... but as you get close to the wedding you find that it's much more than that... everyone tries to be "helpful" and one person will say this, one person say that... My hubby and I decided in the end to look on the bright side lor... treat it that everyone wants to be involved because they care about us and our parents...

If you are taking 6foot tables, table itself will not be squeezy, but you are right, about the size of the ballroom there's nothing you can do... but think squeeze in the ballroom better than having one table out in the foyer leh..

Sherl,
I totally agree with you else I wont choose a smaller ballroom right from the start. In addition, I prefer the foyer in Waterfront than in Gand ballroom. heheee....

I worried that the ladies will ve difficulty going to the washrooms & it will look so cramp in the ballroom.

tannabee-wannabee ,
the most std items are ping jin, liquor, pig trotters, candles & oranges in a basket.

Actually U jux go to those shops that sells all these, they will tell U wat to buy.

Tea Set, Lamps, Ruler & needle set, bath tub, Yuan Ji, those dried sweet things, towels,etc...

Hi All, I am a 2007 bride and PIL are keen to hold the wedding dinner at GCW. Like to find out, wat is the maximum nos of table GCW can hold? Cos my HB's cousin held hers there for around 50 tables but i read from Bliss magazine, GCW can hold 65 tables. Possible to confirm the info? Thks in advance!!

hey who's compilin d table thingy.. me dunno hw to do table here leh hehe
kao_embarrassed.gif

my details:
ROM: 05/11/05
AD: 22/11/06
Hotel: GCW - Grand Ballrm
Coord: Zephyr
Florist: dunno yet
BS: Ritz Couture

hehe i oso don knw how to do the table leh...

my details:

Nick: tannabee-wannabee
ROM & AD: 21 Dec 2006
Hotel: GCW Grand Ballroom
Coord: Sheena Tan
Florist: TBA
BS: The Wedding Present

thanks hazel for the info...

hey jo, yes the GRand Ballroom can take up to 65tables... i heard 65 tables very packed up n squeezy lehzz...

heheh...

I was the one doing the table the last time... but I dun have the softcopy of the table liao... I'll try to rig another one up when I have the time ok...

tannabee, it's important to seek parents' opinions on GDL items. Even if they say something like, "Aiyah, get the usual stuff lor" you should still try to get them to list out properly every item they want... to avoid unhappiness and misunderstandings.

Jo... yup, GCW can hold up to 65 tables, but suspect it'll be squeezy... But anyway most hotels are like that... max capacity will be squeezy one.

Hazel... yeah! The foyer at Waterfront is really very nice! Hubby wanted to hold our cocktail reception there and then usher guests up to grand ballroom for dinner... Told him he a bit siao liao...

Hi All, thks for the info. Will let them know abt it. If the tables they need is lesser than 65 (i think maybe tell them less than 60)then maybe can still consider there if not then got to look for somewhere else liao.
Thks alot! see if i got chance to join u all here or not.

hi jo...

if u haf 60 tables then ur walk in will the straight n stage will be infront of a wall not the usual infront of the garden with a l-shape walk in....can rem the max size if u wan l-shape walk in liow...i thk is 52 tables...

if u wan really big ballroom u can consider orchard hotel, min 60tables for weekend to a max of 100tables...

hope this helps....
good luck..

Sherl,
He's only trying to be creative.
looking at the msg, it means the rest of the brides here r end 2006 brides...except for mgt & me?

thks stephanie for the info. Will let them know abt it.
hope e tables wun exceed 55. I tink its alittle bit too much plus we all like the stage infront of the garden so if it is infront of the wall then can forget abt it liao.

hi jo...

no problem...i also trying to limit the no. of tables...was looking at having 45tables with 12pax on each table...coz their table is the 6foot one so can take 12pax...u might wan to consider it as well...

the garden is definitely a plus point lah....hee hee hee....

really? I din know their table is the 6ft one. Tat is good. Got to go back and discuss with them liao. Thks!!

Ya, My MIL fall in love with that garden portion. Hee..

yups....the last time i when was toking to my co-ordinator n she told me that...u might wan to look for Sheena Tan to confirm the details of the ballroom, she is really nice....

hee... sherl, u r most welcome!

Me got the bathtub, tum pui, towels toothbrush, toothpaste, etc... tink all tis r the standard items the auntie at the shop will tel u to get. of cos u can don wan lah...

Lucky for me, i'm the one who always hv the say in our family n my parents very sui pian so hv no problem at my side. As for hubby side, hubby very u.staning. If i don find wat his family wan is necessary, i will reason with him.

Hazel, Sherl, don fret about the GDL. Discuss with both sides parents on what they expect...if they ask for something, try to fulfil it...makes everyone happy and the couple will not be so stressed

For me, i had a very simple GDL. Just pin jin, a few boxes of cakes, a few cans of pork leg, then the rest are just ang baos to sum everything up.

haha...
GDL... big headache.. so sickening one... haha.. dunno wat both sides want... must let them meet together one rite..and discuss one hor... but roughly when to do that???

mgt, I suggest get the GDL over with asap... and dun have too long a break between the joint meeting and GDL... my exp was the longer you 'tuo' it, the more patterns will come up, as in the parents might turn around, change their minds, add things (won't minus things one!). And it's very tiring for you and hubby because the parents won't tell each other face to face all the stuff they want; you and hubby will become the spokespersons... heheheheh.

MGT, for me, both side parents met quite early...cos there was changes to the AD after we went to the geomancer...so might as well get both sides to sit down and discuss. During then, both sides already settled on whether they wan the traditional GDL or the simple kind...and heng for me, both sides all dunno much about all these and settled for the simplest kind of GDL lor.

Then nearer the GDL date, my mom will just prepare a list of the qty of items that she needs/expecting to receive and my MIL will do likewise...so both sides will receive what they expect...happy for both lor

I think the usual parents meeting session will determine the pin jin, no. of tbls, items for GDL, etc...

Sherl, paiseh paiseh...hehe.

my ah lao is hainaness and i am teochew leh.. hahaha... xian leh... rather different GDL items leh..my ah lao and i also hope to finish it asap... avoid any misunderstandings..
hehehe... cross fingers and cross legs..

MGT, if the both of you are different dialects and have very different GDL items, then i would suggest that each family provides the other with the list of items that they require or expect to receive...then won have any probs lor. So when ur ah lao brings the stuffs during the GDL day, then your mom just have to return ur ah lao whatever ur MIL is expecting...so no conflicts

That's what i did for my GDL.

Mgt, a good piece of advice I received all around was to listen to both sets of parents and try to accomodate as much as is reasonable/possible, throughout the wedding. Remember that they are probably just as stressed as you are because to them it is also a very big event in their lives...

Bugbear, when is your EDD ah? Do you know whether you are having a prince or princess yet? hehehehh

hi tannabee... sorry for the late reply... was on bed rest for 2days... can hardly walk wif my BIG BIG tummy!

Bothe my gown is designed by Patrick. I jus show him the cut out fm magazines wat type of design n cutting i like n he design for me..

Won't b able to sent u my pics tis few days(on bed rest fm 3/apr-5/apr) as my pics r all save in my ofi computer. will sent u went i get bk k...

mgt.. tt's stil within my budget.. do u tink i can get a btl 1st n let my hubby try? or can v all mit up for a wine tastin session together?

mgt,
Does it include GST?
Now, Carr4, Matthew Lang-Shiraz selling at $13.80 or $13.90
+5% rebate will be abt $13.20....

YES!!! Very BIG! When i go out, i can overhear ppl saing my tummy very big lor... imagine my pre preg weight is 44kg n now i weigh 62.4kg!!! Gynae say i too heavy liao... but my hand face n leg didn't put on much, all goes to my tummy!!! :p tink so, cos gynae say head engage liao... quite low... EDD 28/apr, but hope to deliver in another 1-2wks time. Can't tahan the weight...

it's the GDL talk now. so who's next in the line? Mgt? hazel? quite lost, lotsa newcomers =)

Yukie, bedrest for next 3 days? when r u going on leave? must be quite hard to work if u can't walk ard. u muz be huge! how heavy is BB ashley now? did gynae say u will be due any time? Btw which gynae are u wif? Is it the WC Cheng & Assoc at TMC as well?

bear, so have u scanned? r u having a boy or girl? seems like the gals ard me r all pregnant, making me stressed. but i'll still wait till end of the yr coz not ready to be mummy yet...

hahhaha...
Yukie, u cute leh...
dun worry.. ur baby ashley will the one chio little gal...

Hazel,
$13.50 nett for the wine leh...no mentions about GST Or wat lor...

Dorami,
I think i may be able to get 1 to 2 bottles to try 1st lor.. i tried it b4.. rather nice and comfortable to drink lor..
yup.. let me know when u want it by okie.. will try to get it by then lah...

Odiey,
i think hazel 1st then mgt..

odiey... yap bed rest for next 3days...
Intend to go on leave the wk after 10-13/apr annual leave than 17/apr onwards start my ML... little Ashley now weigh 2.887kg. Doc didn't say leh... only say bb engage liao n can only c part of his head only. In very gd position.
My gynae is fm outside, at Far East Plaza.

Bugbear, i'm seeing my gynae once a wk fm next sat onwards. i'm at my 36wk now. Hv u went for yr detail scan...? Boy or Girl?

hee.. tks mgt... hope little Ashley will hv big big nice nice eyes like me n hubby...

yukie dear.. rest well.. excited for d arrival of ur baby ashley

mgt.. btw when muz v place our order? anytime it's convienient for u to get it for me is fine.. then i'll arrange to get it fr u.. thks gal!

hi mgt...

can help me get 1 bottle too? wan to let FH try also...

yukie....must rest well okies....ur little ashley is quite big liow must b feeling rather heavy now....take care

Yukie, do rest well.... You so slim, cannot imagine you plus 18kg... all at tummy!!! But think slim people will naturally lose the weight quickly, so dun worry, just be happy mummy!

Mummies really very wei da.... As I grow older I become more appreciative of how much mummies sacrifice..