Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Dorami.... aiyah, he got no problem one la. hahahaha. So what did your hubby do?

Heehee... hope you had a VG to record down the speech! Then 10 years later play it back for your children to see!!! hahahhahahhaha

Dorami,
ur cake hor, like toy leh.. put there cannot eat that type.. so nice leh!!!!
hehe..ya 10 yrs down the road, show the VCD to ur kids.. make ur ah lao pai seh!!!
hehehhehe

mgt.. hehe.. yah lor.. tt's y decided to engaged a VG.. cos my MIL say nxt time can show our kids heheh

milo.. congrats congrats!!! i'm sure she's havin a gd time nw

Milo's big day!!!! Heeheeheehee

Dorami, my office very near the hotel so I dun mind, heeheehee. You gonna gatecrash?

Congrats to all the married brides!

Seems most likely I'll be holding my banquet at GCW, in Mar 2006. Went down on 5th Nov (Saturday) to take a look at the set-up for Riverfront Ballroom. Was told by Theresa (wedding coordinator) that I could pop by between 5.30 - 6.00pm. However, there was a seminar in Riverfront that day and the event over-ran, and the place was not ready by 6.25pm. In the end, we had to leave before seeing the whole set-up. Wonder if this will happen on my wedding night.

By the way, are there any feedback on the parking capacity at GCW? I understand that if I sign up with GCW, there will be a total of 4 weddings that night. Will there be enough parking lots? Some more Zouk has re-opened, don't know if party-goers will park at GCW then head to Zouk.

Do you think service will take a dip since there are more than 1 wedding for that day? Sigh... getting worried as the wedding day is nearing but nothing concrete has been decided on yet....

hi Kanzashi,

Are you having your wedding on a weekday or a weekend? And is it a hot date?
The full capacity for GCW is 4 weddings, but dun think it will happen all the time.

The parking between Zouk and GCW can go both ways. You can also ask your guests to park at Zouk if they got no space. heheh. In any case, wedding guests and clubbers come and go at different times so I don't think it should affect your plans.

hi btbs who are interested in GCW,
just wanted to share my experience with sanaya, the events execeutive. My FH and me met up with her and were given poor service. She gave mostly one liner answers and you could cut the silence with a knife. Having said this, the grand ballroom was indeed beautiful but we were put off by the service and are def. not going to consider GCW at all. She could be in a bad mood or whatever but i personally feel that GCW being a 5 star hotel could have offered better service, so anyone planning to meet up with them, please arrange an appointment with someone else.

Hi Sherl,

Thanks for your reply. Mine is on 4th Mar, Saturday. According to the Chinese Tong Shu, the date is not special, I think. At least, for hotels that charge a premium on banquets held on hot dates, 4th Mar is not on the list.

Just wondering if anyone is served by Theresa. I think she is quite nice, though we were unable to ask for any extra perks when we met up with her last week. Or maybe it's the hotel policy...

Dorami, I'm thinking the same thing... now wondering how to check if my coord is still working there... but dunnoe how to ask leh. Call him up and say hello, just checking that you are still around??!!

hahaha.. sherl u super funny leh

hmm.. i'm sure alvin is stil ard.. they cant leave w/o informin us rite??? d last time my coordinator left she oso called us to let us noe

Dorami,

They always say they won't leave without informing us, but what if they do??? heheheheh Then we also cannot do anything abt it... hmmm... cannot, i must find some excuse to call up and check.. hahaha

Sherl.. haha.. ok.. brainstorm for sme excuse to call him

btw dun tink wil go n gatecrash milo's weddin .. raining super heavily at my office.. n somemore my hubby is at gym .. he say he no bring pants on shorts so nt very nice haha

hmmm... wondering how milo's wedding went... ;p
she's really lucky i must say, perfect weather the whole day! right now it's lightning and thunder over in the east...

Kanzashi,
my wedding was held on the most popular date this yr and there were 4 weddings on the same nite. same concern as u but all went well other than some inexperienced service staff (all part-timers since 4 weddings) & florist... i guess service staff is always an issue even in the best hotel on any day. Heard from my fren they only started to set up the ballroom after 6pm coz the lunch banquet was delayed till quite late, but i planned to open the ballroom only after 8pm, so still in time. Din hear any complaints abt car park (mine was grand ballroom) but i did tell my guests to come early. Oh yes, that day was also Zouk's pre-renovation party before it close. Big plus for GCW: Food was excellent, compliments from all our guests... hope this helps.

morn gals!!! milo sms me juz nw.. she's having her breakfast.. said she had tons of fun hehehehe

her hubby was drunk kekee.. so she didnt slp much

helo gals...
remember milo? i oso come back wif a ring...

thanks gals for your blessing...hehe i on headlines on 10nov gcw forum...haha

yup ...i had fun ...haha

milo!!!!! welcome to d MRS Club hehehe

dun forget to share ur pics.. any funny or excitin thing happen to share with us 1st??? hehe

I am new here, and currently looking for hotels to hold my customary.

Heard that GCW ballrooms are nice, so pop over to check if any of you can offer more info about GCW.

I have called the hotel and asked for a initial quote just now. Unfortunately, the service I get over the phone from this guy from the banquet side, doesn't impress me.

Can any of you who has liased with the hotel b4, provide some valuable info I should know???

I am v v v new to this wedding planning, don't even know where to start????

sherl...
no pics yet...will definately share when i got them oki...hows ur pic selection?

ya odiey..rite ...heng day time no rain...hehe...manage to take some od pics at the hotel ...

mgt...
ps soon rite? where r u goin for ps?

target...
welcome...hmmm...u can try calling the events services tel 62331079

hey milo,
had a great time? yah lor, u can't be more heng liao ;p so how u feel now that the big day is over?? the day passed so fast rite? did your hubby had a hard time at gate crashing?

yo milo....
MRS club.. hahaha.. i still got to wait till nx year to be MRS FOO
hehehe...

I postphoned my PS till late NOV coz something happened with photographer lor.. ya.. till 27th Nov or maybe later.. not sure when lor..anyway, no rush lor for me...

How was the food and the ambience and all??? which florist u choose and was the turnout of the deco nice???
when u walked in hor.. how??? kan cheong spider or not???
hehehe... I sacared i walk inand fall flat on my face ah!!!

hi all GWC brides or bride to be,
went down GWC to get the wedding package list. how do i check if the date i wanna is avail? is it to call the banquet sales? is the ballroom nice? cos i read somewhere in this forumthat the ballroom is not so nice now cos of the lightings. is it true?

hi nicole,
Since U went down to GWC, U can meet the coordinator, ask her/him to show U the ballroom & check the date available

Hi Nicole,
U can call the banquet services to find out more.. they can tell u if the date u're looking for is still available or not...

the lightings are still nice though.. really depends on how individual sees it..
yup...

hazel i got my own favors because i want to be unique and different, hahaha. initially wanted to exchange the chocs for other things or get a discount but it wasn't worth it so just put in the chocs for guests to eat in case they are hungry. The chocs are more expensive than the other favors provided. Yup, it's gourmet chocs but i must say i really hate white chocolate, its so sweet, the dark chocolates are so much more exquisite.

HI gals,

I considering my 2nd day wedding at GCW. Tot I share w u gals on my experience there. Was down twice within a week a few wks back for 2 weddings and having another one in May and Dec next yr. Hot place.

The wkday din, food was aplenty and find the menue better than the wkend. I find the cold dish combi better than the honeydew prawns.

Then the service. Both weddings were in the grandball room. On the sat nite, there were 2 other weddings, but the service was still gd. In contrast, I tot the wkday service was ok oni cos a lot of PRCs and they didn't seem to understand what we wanted & goto wait for a while.

1 thing gd, after the din, the staff will check for guest feedback, so think they r conscious of their service.

Also, note that the walk in v long, if u follow the script, then guest will start to clap once u enter, half way the clapping dies off while some still clap, v funee. One thing, check tat coordinator liase well wif the Mcs, 1 of the wed bec there were alot of tables and they were rushing, coordinator didn't allow mcs to finish speech so mc didn't thank guests, the groom had to go up stage later to thank guests, not v nice.

jus my comments...hope it helps u gals...

hihi gals..mon

my hubby came late...the jiemei keep calling the xiong di...AYE jam!!!
So he kana takan lor...hehe...

mgt...
i chose steiff...the lady came down to checkout the decor...quite hapi wif the decor...
i got my gfs to throw rose petals while i did the first march in...hehe

i walk slowly ....wif beri high heels mah.....
i oso wori i fall...haha...

Comments for food is good..hehe...

hihi gals,

need to ask you guys something ah. For those who have already had their banquet, did you inform the hotel beforehand if you were having more than 10 people at some tables, or did you just inform the banquet staff to lay extra places at those tables on the AD? and did the hotel charge for these extra people?

Hi Sherl,

Just check this issue with my coordinator, she say best to let her know 1 wk before of tables with 11 seats. No problem if need to add on the actual day but no door gift loh. So she is saying if you want to have 11 pax and all adults, may want to consider adding $$ (cost per tables divide by 10) for per head to get extra food portion and door gift...

hi yipee, thanks!! My extra headcounts are mainly children, so I'm not that eager to add $$ for additional food. Will talk it over with FH...

sherl
I did have abt 2 tables with 11 adults. Not a prob as ours are all 6 ft tables. Also coz ours is just a handful of 11 pax, think hotel still provide the favour FOC. Have to inform the hotel a few days in advance the arrangement ie which table for extra setting. BB chairs also have to pre-arrange. As for those who have vegetarian guests, try to arrange them in a table of 11 max 12 if you have 6 ft table =)

hi thks all. emailed the person i/c and did tentative booking liao cos on wait list. anyone has the pictures of GWC wedding favors and invitation cards? can email me? [email protected]

anyone did ur solemnisation there as well before dinner?

I liaised wif Theresa. She is a nice lady but like some of you, didnt really managed to bargin much.

Like to check for those who booked or considering Waterfront or Riverfront, did anyone manage to bargain for wavie off wine cockage and projector rental, free flow of beer and free food tasting?

good morn gals...

hehe odiey we can shake hands ...mi too had special diet guests...but i only arrange 1 table wif 11 guests the rest are 10 seaters (even some are special diets)

sherl, i inform the hotel coord 1 week b4 AD about the special diet guests, and their sitting arrangement.

On the AD nite, i got bro to check on the sitting arrangement, to ensure the hotel make the arrangement for the 11 seats and 11 wedding favours...for the particular table...

milo, did you pay extra for the 11th seat? The last time we asked our coord he said we need to pay for the 11th seat if we need to add pple, but like I said, most of my additional guests are children, so i dun really need the extra food portion for the 11th guest.

hi nicole, I will be doing my solemnization in one of the function rooms near the grand ballroom before my dinner. Managed to bargain for free use of the function room but will just be reusing my decor from the grand ballroom.

Hi zenn, dun think anyone has managed to get free flow beer and free food tasting yet.. most of us got just 50% off food-tasting. Think the hotel is quite firm on that, but you can explore the possibilities!

Thanks sherl! Guess the chances is slim esp we dun ve many tables. How abt beer? 20L or 30L free? And free wine cockage? Lastly, any pre-dinner provided?

Sorry for so many questions

sherl...
i paid for the 11th guest, if urs are kids dun tink u need extra food portion...but try to bargain for FOC wedding favours...haha

u gotta let them noe 1 week b4 AD, if u nid baby chair...

helo zenn...
i got free wine cockage and pre and post dinner...hehe

hi zenn, I signed up during the June wedding show so I got an additional 30l free, but I'm using the grand ballroom for a weekday. Corkage and pre-dinner also included in my promotional package.
Believe the last two are things you can bargain for though. You could also try exchanging some perks you dun need to get what you want.

thanks milo! I think I will do that...