Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

hayashi,

hee... my neckline about there. i guess my wedding is the only time that i can wear 'loud' stuff.

i've yet to take any photos on it. will take some once the CS is completed.

hi hayashi,
all 3 pics r taken at my wedding by my photographer. yup, it's quite nice. i never it's not nice mah. hee.
i scared ur standard high mah cos i've some frens who wants those to-die-for kinda floral arrangement. I dun think there's any centrepiece for the guests' tables. They just had a stalk of rose in a normal white vase provided by GCW. Basically, i think June Florist will meet your requirement. You won't need to pay for anything extra unless u ask for something expensive.

i shld show u what i asked for then u'll understand why the kinda floral arrangement i want needs me to top up $.

hi psmissyou,
yup, i did my solemnization at GCW. nope, they never charge me extra for the flowers in that room cos they are mostly "borrowed" from the Grand Ballroom. let me try to find a pic of the solemnization table & the flower piece on that table. there's also a similar flower piece on reception table outside the solemnization room.

my stage is nice but there's another stage deco that's nicer if u choose the L-shape march in. hiya, i cannot have L-shape march-in so this is the nicest, i think, for a straight march-in stage.

hi keruri,

what's yr timing like for your solemnisation and banquet? flowers borrowed from the grand ballroom so our helpers have to put them back? it will be fantastic if you can show me pictures of the solemnisation room and the table.

btw, which JP did you invite? sorry for having so many questions though.

so keruri,

how much more do u top-up?i think the floral arrangement is quite nice leh,especially,the stage.maybe getting flowers that are in season will be cheaper right??
do share with me more photos..

anyone who also engage stefii???pls share photos and comments.

thanks alot.

hi psmissyou,
i put on solemnization invitation cards, guests to arrive at 530pm. After all the guests have settled down, we start at about 615pm or so. we finished everything by 640pm, then went for some photo-taking with guests. our guests were treated to 2 trays of canapes and refreshment after our solemnization. after that, we adjorned to the Grand Ballroom reception upstairs. The staff at GCW helped us moved the floral arrangement upstairs so our helpers just need to remind them and make sure they put them back at the right places.

the timing for our banquet is the usual 730pm sharp for all guests to arrive lor. reception starts at 700pm.

Here's a pic of my solemnization table, see if u recognize the JP in the picture.

108360.jpg

Here's a pic of what's on the solemnization table.
108361.jpg

Here's a closer look at the flowers.
108362.jpg

hi hiyashi,
i don't need to top up for my flowers.
getting flowers in season shld be cheaper.
anyway, roses and lilies are in the package but not calla lily.

here's one more pic for you. the rest all got pple, not suitable.
108369.jpg

this pic is just like any of those typical promotional pic of GWC but this one is taken by my photographer to depict how the ambience will be like with all the floral arrangement.

keruri,

We share the same JP.Wow,u have got alot of tables there.For instance,i don't want to have a rose as my centrepiece for the guest tables,but maybe some floating candles or rose petals scatter on the table,do u think i have to pay extra.Rather,if i need those rose petals,do i get it directly from the florist?

keruri,

the flowers on the solemnisation table was by June Florist too? any extra charges? the JP is the famous guy in the newspaper right?
heard that he is a busy man.

solemnisation room doesn't cater for many people right? did you manage to start the banquet at 7:30pm?

^5, hayashi!
i'm not sure abt the floating candles but i think if u need just rose petals to be scattered on the table as decor, shldn't need to pay extra. i think u can get direct from the florist.
anyway, i think it's a nice idea to just scatter the table with flower petals, it creates a soft touch to the decor.

hi psmissyou,
yup, the flowers on the solemnization table was by June Florist too, no extra charges.

ya. the JP is a busy but real nice & friendly man. i bumped into him at paragon once, and he can still rem me by face. amazing guy! heard he solemnized 500+ weddings last year.

the solemnization room is fine for 30-40 pple. of coz, i didn't manage to start the banquet at 730pm lah. whoever manages to do that, i salute her/him. hee..

^5, hayashi

I had a small low square glass vase with one floating candle and a stack of lily for my tabels centerpiece on each table

I have seen petals messing up the table at end of the dinner cos the table can be quite dirty with sauces and bits of food leftover...

MAG,

do u have any photos of the centrepiece to show me?I do have alot of those candles at home,want to make good use of them.Did u pay extra charges for ur centrepiece??

Hayashi

I need to go check if my photographer taken any pics about it
I didnt pay anything extra on flowers
Onli if someone took the vase home :P

Bottle, ^5, Hayhashi

paiseh, i checked my pics and found that the vase is a round one hehehee.. :P AND its a rose not a lily :P

109117.jpg

hi lily,
yes, i have to pay to use the solemnization room. i forgot how much i paid tho. the room i rented was the Paradiso, it's on the 3rd floor, one floor below the Grand Ballroom. there's an escalator near the Paradiso that leads you up to one of the entrances of the Grand Ballroom. you can check it out the next time u r there.

lily
The GCW has many function rooms that you can rent, but if you only need it for a short period the day of your dinner mayb you can negotiate with your coordinator? I got to use a small room beside the grand ballroom for 1-2 hours for my tea ceremony free of charge. They were so helpful they provided hot water, tea and even a waiter to help wash the cups! I was rather impressed...

hi lily,

like what miaows had said, just speaks to your co-ordinator that you only need it for a while. i think they should be able to give you the room FOC.

i manage to get the solemnisation room FOC.

hi hakida,

not yet. for florist, most likely to be June florist.

for printing, i'm probably taking Jasvy since they have ang bao printing but i've yet to go down to their company to see.

how about you? you had done your PS already right? oh no... seems that i am abit late...

hi ladies, very excited to know more weddings are taking place where I had mine just this past May! My coordinator was very flexible and because hubby and I live overseas, I only came back less than 2 weeks before the wedding, and only decided the flowers and menu 2 Fridays b4! Everything went smoothly and we couldn't be happier.

As for food, I had rave reviews about having one of the best dishes eaten at wedding dinners, make sure you order the garlic chicken!

I almost had my cards printed by tdragons but I just couldn't do it with their designs and costs. I picked the simplest design (not hotel ones) and still had to pay for printing of the CARDS plus the inserts, and came up to almost $2/pc. I don't think it's their fault but I feel the printing industry is taking wedding couples in for a ride! How about printing your own? I know it sounds challenging, but really, it's not. I did it on my PC and colour printer and it came out very elegant. Just my 2 cents.

The paper can be seen here http://www.wausaupapers.com/see/see_ap.htm, go to "swatches" and it's Ancient Gold.

I have 2 versions, English for friends and colleagues (on 175 gsm ancient gold Astroparche artcard) and English/Chinese insert on 90gsm (same patterned paper) but used a 175gsm red artcard to use as cover, printed the words "xi tie" on the yellow paper and pasted on the red cover, complete with organiza ribbons to tie it. I like the English version better coz it's cleaner, more slick. I bought the papers in the US, but I'm sure you can find decent paper supplies in S'pore too. I can email you pictures if you want, email me at [email protected].

Wow it really took me a few hours to read all the messages in this thread! I am new here...

Yesterday managed to take a peep at the Grand Ballroom, someone were having their solemnization and dinner in there.

Wow I can say it was so nice and grand! Both my FH and I loved it so much that we are now considering GCW for our wedding banquet. They are having the straight walk in concept ( instead of the L shaped concept ) with the curtains open and we could see the full length window with the landscape behind.

The-in-charge brought us in and let us view the whole ballroom and later passed us Alibi’s name card. Is she good?

I went to see the wedding set-up at the Grand Ballroom. It's very nice. I like it. But the price is a bit on the high-end side. For weekday dinner, cost ~S$700. I am still considering.

Hi Bottle & bugbear

I signed up during the bridal show. So if you can afford to wait, you will be able to get discounts and other perks... If i'm not wrong, their bridal show's a once a yr affair... Bottle, the weekday package is $628+++ rite?

Hi Odiey...yup...i had a peek at the latest OCBC promotion and i must say that the discount is like 30+++ off the package price...but even after the discount, it's still out of my budget of $800nett weekends...hence...i can only hope that by the time i am ready to book, they slash their prices down...heheh

I can't remember exactly how much, but I know after +++ and round up is $700 for weekday. Weekend even more ex. If I choose this hotel, I will go for weekday. Else it's totally out of my budget.

Any idea how's the food? I am only like the ballroom and the ambience. Just nice, it fits my requirements.

Ya, i heard from my cordinator, Sam. He said the bridal show just ended for OCBC promo. But, there will be one coming up in early Oct. You gals can keep a look out.

Bottle...is your package for the grand ballroom? Cos the package that i got, the weekday is like $628+++ = $733 leh...so ex...

Lourdes, i have the OCBC promo details..but the promo is actually over already...i heard from the coord that they might be having another promo/wedding fair sometime in Sept or Oct...not confirmed yet. If u are interested to take a peep at the OCBC one...let me know...i can forward u the details. my email: [email protected]

I can't remember as I am only looking at the min capacity. Mine is a small wedding dinner. You might want to call and check out.

I m interested in getting GCW for my wedding diner. I know their secret weapon is the beautiful garden behind the grand stage. Which type of ballroom will be able to view the garden? Or all the ballrooms are able to view it?