Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Hi hazel,
thanks 4the info.. i'll be signing the register in church though.. so hor... how ah?? supposed to collect the cert 1week b4 wedding rite??? dunno leh..

Odiey,
i work in the operating room.. not A&E lah.. heh..

Sherl,
i also forgot about the shrubs leh..
may drop by 1day to look look see seee...
hehehe

mgt, my solemnization on 13 Mar, they gave me an appt on 8 Mar, so I think it's about 1 week before lor...

Will be trying to fix up an appointment with my coord either next week or week after next, so will let you gals know how the shrubs are looking. Hahaahahahaha

Ask you all ah, what is the sitting at VIP table supposed to be like? Is it supposed to be bride and groom's parents sit at one table and the other table (bridal VIP) is given to the elders from the bride's side, or bride and groom VIPs sit at respective tables?

Sherl
the latest i know is that hor.. ur parents and his parents one table.. and u on the same table.. the other red is for your side of the reds leh.. that is wat i know lah. if not ah, then its his red and ur red, but u sit on his red!
hehee

thanks mgt. I thought it was his parents and us at one table, then my parents and their VIPs at the other table... if like that then must discuss with my PILs liao. Coz my mum also thought it's the way you described it.

im a BTB , planning to hold my ROM and AD in Grand Copthorne this dec on a weekday.

I read a few archives of this thread... But there's simply too much to cover...

I hope that you gers will able to help me abit on my planning of this day of mine...

I will be meeting Sheena this sun to view the ballroom of GCW..

Looking at 35-38 tables, what kinda perks can i ask for?

Is the ballroom pillars free?? Been once to attend a wedding at GCW, i personally feel that the food is pretty good.. But i cant rmbr abt the Ballroom.. All i rmbr its very spacious... The aisle is very long..

Any extra charges for usage of a small area for ROM b4 dinner OR, rom setting just b4 the dinner starts??

Regarding the 2 / 3 wishes off the package, is it one of the perks that u can neogoiate??

Have you gers seen the Bridal Suite?

Any day rooms for helpers? Will there be one room to stay overnight - looking at max 40 tables for weekdays??

What is the special rate for Overseas guest?

What do you tink when there's no MRT nearby?? (for guests that dont drive)

Anyone manage to get free flow of beer thruout??

Hope that I not intruding..

Hope to hear from you gers soon...

Thankie thankie

i'm new here. can anyone advise on the food from GCW. which dish to choose from both menu 1 and 2?
mine is a weekend package.

many thks!

Wah! flooded with qns.. hahaa... welcome welcome tannabee and snoopy..

1- Sheena's a nice lady
easy to talk to and will be able to give u her comments and ideas or rather wat is best...

2- the standard things that pple ask for, or rather i asked for was 30% car park coupons, 70% invitation cards. Wine COrkage nett rate or waived since u have that many tables...

3- Grand ballroom i assume u will be having it, coz of the number of tables, is pillarless and spacious, depending onthe number of tables u have...

4- The FooD is GREAT.. from the reviews that we've heard so far..

5- Not sure about the small area for ROM... and the 2/3 wishes that u got...

6- Bridal suite is like a normal 2 bedrooms into one.... there's one with a better and nicer looking bathtub for 2 and the other with a normal bath tub...

7- Day room for helpers or room for them over nite, can negotiate bah..since u're looking at 40tables.. can ask for it though...

8- for guests who dun drive, u could actually cater a bus from ORchard boulevard(dunno spelling)...and from there to GCW.. quite near.. this way, there's a good chance that dinner may start on time
like put there transport is from 6.00pm to 7.30pm

9- i didnt get free flow beer even though i got 45tables..
but coz i signed up during the fair, i got 2 barrels of 30L beer (abt 180glasses of beer) and wine corkage off

That's all for now.. brains aint working anymore...

Snoopy,
I think in the previous threats, there were some comments about the food.. cant remember from who already, but it was a rather detailed complimentary on the food.. oh ya.. its was someone's food tasting..
when i go for my food tasting.. if i have, then i will let u guys know

Sherl,
food for now, its urs liao...
u going tasting or not??? if not hor,mus tell us how's the food after ur AD k...

mgt, me not going for tasting leh... so just blindly go in lor, hahahha! But dun worry, I will make sure my jiemeis give me ample feedback on the food!

tannabee, if you are more flexi about your date, you might consider waiting for the wedding show because their wedding show packages are quite good, usually comes with free helpers' room and waiver of corkage (for grand ballroom).

It's unlikely you can get everything, but you can try requesting for all you need, and come to a compromise with your coordinator. Happy bargaining!

snoopy, one of the hotel's signature dishes is the chicken with roasted garlic, so you can try that. Others I'm not so sure as I've never tasted any food from there before.

thanks Mgt and Sherl...

I appreciate your help ...

Yep, I ate that Chicken with roasted garlic b4... And its like Nian nian bu wang.... It's definetly one of the best dishes they served there....

When's your AD, Mgt and Sherl??

There's not much fairs going on now... But i knw there's New Paper wedding fiar this weekend which im going to take a look... Do you gers' know when the wedding show is???

Hi tannabee-wannabee,

Any idea for the New Paper Wedding show which hotel is participating? Wanted to source for AD.

Hiyo yuki,

Im not too sure who is participating... I guess you can buy a copy of NewPaper on friday and sat to check it out...

Im oso wondering.. But the Sunday times says that there will be 35 booths ...

Anyone out there knows??

Hi Tannabee,
you're welcome...Sherl's AD is in march, while my AD is on June 24th..
Sherl, can drop by ur AD or not..
hehee... want to see you leh...
Dorami, milo, odiey, yukie, want go or not...
hehehe. make it out 3rd GCW outing.. ahhaha

hihi gals!!!

woah.. so many qns flyin ard abt GCW huh?? hehe

mgt.. dun mind d gatherin.. but when is sherl's AD liao ah? Mar 13th isit?

mgt, sure sure, you gals are mor than welcome to drop by, heheheh. Just let me know lor. My wedding solemnization will be at 6.15 or 6.30, then after that I will be wandering around the reception area to greet my guests.

Yupyup, my AD is 13th Mar, Monday....

hi tannabee,
my date also specially picked by my FIL lor.. my FH and I are catholics, but FIL is taoist or buddist.. he picked the dates for us

Sherl,
excitied or not.. 1month away...
4weeks... 30days!! ) hahaha... counting down leh! haha..i also counting down... 4months plus time it will be my turn!!! hahaha

Hi gals...

Sherl, must b excited & busi liao.. hehe
have a checklist to see wat is done and wat is left...

Mgt, u r next...haha

Hihi tannabee, my date is also specially pick

hehehe...

my Future MIL is not pantang abt dates... So i can do it anyday i want...

Hopefully i can hold it by this dec.. or latest mebe Jan...

Im gona have a Military wedding.. probably ROM solemnization at 6ish , same like Sherl...

getting pretty stressed up as Im having a very busy yr at work this yr...

arghhh.. many tings to do, decide, must do home work...

Gers, any good BS to recommend?

Hi Sherl,
thks! will try the dish during food tasting.

Hi Mgt,
thks as well...
ur AD is quite close to mine... mine is 18Jun. still have 4 more mths to go... r u going for foodtasting?? when?? any idea wat is the wedding flavour for this year??

can anyone suggest where to get wedding shoe?? me have hard time looking for it... been to metro, taka, og, wisma, marina square, suntec... still cant find any... i'm looking for a pair of silver colour wed shoe ard 2.5inch.

many thks!

hi snoopy12....

did u try novo on 2nd floor paragon...i just got mine 3.5inch for 30% off...

if not u might wan to try the custom made ones in international plaza, thk its called leaping lizard but dunno how much they charge leh....

hi snoopy,
i got my shoes from this place called PRima Vera... nice shoes.. and comfy as well.. will go home and take a pic of my shoes lah.. i got 2 pairs.. one for WG and one for EG
very pleased with them
total about $100
cheaper than my budget..

Heard NOVO has got nice shoes too...

Leapin Lizard is rather ex although u could get wat u thought of getting.. standard from $99 onwards.. additional price for diamonds and the rest lah..

hi mgt

wow ur shoes r so cheap....where is tis place u got ur shoes from? I thking of getting another pair when I confirm my EG.....

sherl,
counting down... muz be getting excited! If the gals going down to see ya, i'll try to make it!

Tannabee,
u can take a look at Kai Bridal's gowns if u like dreamy and flowy kind =) The Wedding Present has nice gowns as well...

Novo having sales when i went shopping last weekend... think i saw some silver shoes with diamantes. Essex walk has lots silver wedding shoes, but prices r at least $180 and above.

Hi step,
am not sure about their other branches.. but i got mine from Bishan level 1.. Prima Vera..
they got season for the shoes one... when i went there to look see 1st time, i managed to find my EG shoes.. but when i went back there about 1mth later, i saw this nice white one for WG
so both my shoes are from there lah..

Odiey,
Novo super expensive leh.. although nice. but budget not nice..
but am glad i got my shoes liao! hahaha

hi tanabee,
i signed up with Golden Horse Awards..
name a little "or biang" but i love my WG and EG
photos dunno yet coz not taken yet
prob the week after nx.. i think 2weeks time i can see pics liao!

Just finished my GDL today. Another thing down! Heheh... been very busy at work and at home, writing invitations and calling people to invite them... Tomorrow going to give out all the cakes and invites to my relatives...

snoopy, you could take a look at OG Orchard Point, this brand called Lucieno. Got quite a wide range of designs. I got my own WG shoes for $99 from Leapin' Lizards as I couldn't find the exact thing I wanted anywhere else. Mgt is right, if you want to add stuff like diamante straps or diamante buckle, etc then it will cost more.

mgt, any idea if Prima Vera has branches anywhere else leh? Me still hunting around for my EG shoes...

odiey, sure sure! You all are more than welcome to drop in! Heeheehee

Ask you gals ah, which colour roses do you think suits the ballroom better, red or champagne? I ordered champagne but now am thinking of changing it to red...

sherl,
i will go check where the other branches are...
i think champange colour roses will be nice lor.. depends on the effect of the place u want it to be lor
i would prefer champange..
red will look more grand lor..

Tannabee, I suggest for BS you do some research on your own first, can look through bridal magazines and pick out a few BSes whose designs you like... Then go down to the shop to take a look.... Don't sign up on the first visit unless you are really really keen... You have plenty of time so do your shopping around to have an idea of what the BS market is like; this will give you more bargaining power because you know the "market rate" then.... If you have the budget I strongly recommend taking ala carte packages rather than comprehensive BS packages... I feel you can get better service that way...

hi mgt...

wow i love your WG shoes....very nice...if u wan can add diamonte urselt to the satin portion....am sure will look good...

....here's a pic of mine from novo also pretty comfy.......

347348.jpg
347349.jpg

Hi step,
wah, ur shoes look super expensive leh!
hehehhe... and super high leh!!! hahaha
if i walk on that height, i think i willl fall flat on my face!!! hahaha
my BS will be adding some diamonte for me on the shoes lor.. both EG and WG shoes
hehe

hi mgt....

hee hee hee...my FH a lot taller so got to wear shoes that's high lor bo pian...
its not ex lah cost ard $77. got 30% disc mah tt's y....i've been to many shops but all either the design veli nice but not comfy or veli comfy but no high enuff...
luckily i chance upon tis...

wah ur BS so good ah, they add diamonte for u...its not cheap to get leh...

I am considering Waterfront as my venue in Dec too. Would appreciate if you can share the package with me as well as your opinion of that place or what you've heard. It would definitely help me a lot in my decision.

Here's my email: [email protected]

Morn gals!!!

mgt.. i like ur WG shoes too!!! looks really nice! simple n elegant

steph's shoes is really super high.. tink i wont b able to walk in them hehe

Morning gals!

mgt, I also like your WG shoes!!! Very classy!!! Heeheehee...

Steph, $77 quite reasonable for your shoes... I also took a look in Novo but their designs dun really suit me...

hi sherl...

slowly find loh...everytime go shopping just pop into all the shoes shop...might find one that's suitable hee hee hee...tt's wat happen to me...

milo, nope I'll be going down to my BS this Sunday to choose my gowns... Might take back the same gown as PS, either the blue or purple one, but cannot really decide yet... going to see if got any new gowns... heeheehee

milo,thank you thank you... heeheehee... I thought the blue one showed up well in photos but preferred the purple one in real life leh... aiyah anyway in the end I think I will let my WG decide for me... if my WG is bustier then I will take the purple halter EG.. if my WG is halter then I will take the blue bustier EG...

dorami,sherl
the shoes are from prima vera lor.. can go see see
ehehe..thanks ah.. i also fell in love with it the moment i saw it.. nice lah.. i like lor...

Sherl,
ur pics come out liao mah??? put up on the internet leh.. show show leh...

Steph,
with the height that u have, i think i will fall down also lor...
i git weak ankles... i even thought of wearing sports shoes.. ahahhaa.. kena scolded by my BS designer.. ahhaha.. my FH also say i xiao! one day wear heels only mah...

Dorami,
not sure leh..i tried searching the web also cant find other outlets...the only one i know is from bishan lor...
sorry ah