Diamond ring - wat size ?

Im gg ring shopping today, which shop do you all recommend? I normally go for Lee Hwa, but now I realised they are really ex....what you all say?

Which do you all think is good and reasonable?

Lee Hwa
Poh Heng
Goldheart
Soo Kee
??

P/S : what is H & S ?

Hi Ben.... I suggested Taka.... cos I thought you wanted the biggest possible rock for $2k... Yes, their diamonds tend to be yellow. no offense meant by the recommendation.

I personally think it's hard to advise which is the most reasonable shop. COs each shop carries different range of diamonds. If you have something in mind, you can just go to one of the above mentioned shops and ask for the biggest stone at under $2k. I think the best size you will get is a 0.49, cos there is a price jump at 0.5. Decent stones at 0.5 cost alot more than a stone at 0.49.

Even if you ask for a stone at 0.49, it may be D, IF. Then, you could be looking at closer to $7k cos IF diamonds are very rare.

Ben .. you can try SK. Here's my recommendation on the specification with $2k as a budget

Carat : 0.49 to 0.55 ... cos' it will be nice that the diamond is 'big' .. too big then you need to comprise on the quality of the diamond.

Color : G/H ... cos' you dun want your diamond too be yellow. :P

Clarity : VS1 ... at least.Anyway, for showoff purpose, ppl wont see the diamond too closely, So size and color is more impt.

Always compare 2 diamonds side by side. 1 with international certification, another with inhouse cert.
then you roughly the quality of the diamond. Take the inhouse one of course.
ask for the higher quality inhouse cert diamond.better value for money.
Normally, you will find for the same price you pays. You get a better diamond when the certification is inhouse. :P **shut your ears when the salesperson physco you to buy the GIA ones**

Ben.. my friend is call Amanda **you need to make appt with her, cos she is very busy** She went to the states (GIA) to study gemology. Now she can appraise diamonds :P I am jubilee.

Dun go Taka.

My Mum resized her saph ring there. After that the colour totally changed. From very deep blue to a much lighter a bit see thru blue. As if they swapped it like that. But we got no proof so cannot say.

Heard from a friend that one of her friends bought a ring from there, the diamond turned black like rotten like that. Dunno how come.

Anyway, I feel the quality is not good. If want to get from Taka, might as well go get Crystal. May shine longer than their diamonds.

Disclaimer (I dun want to get sued):
This is my personal experience and opinion. It could be purely coincidental or due to any other reasons unknown to me. It is not meant to affect the jeweller's reputation in anyway.

THanks for the warning Fifi. I never knew Taka had such bad reputation. No wonder their stuff so cheap.

Your disclaimer so cute!!!

thanks gals....for sure I wont go taka.....even if I dun hear this from you :P

I have check it out 0.5 cts is about 3 K plus to 4 K

now waiting for FH to 'earn' more money by selling more houses than he can decide on what size...keke.... #Praying Hard# :D

Hey Ben, just a tip, if you want a 0.5, do consider 0.49. All things being equal, the price would be lower. Just go to any major jewelry shop, tell them the specifications and ask them to search their computer system. Less leg work this way. You can request them to bring your desired ring to a branch convenient to you.

cactus: I scared kena sued ma... wanna share what I know but since it is not nice, better put disclaimer to say it is my personal opinion only.

Ben: You can also consider getting smaller diamond but triology or eternity kind. Nice also.

I think eternity band is more suitable as a wedding band or wedding anniversary band. Trilogy is more suitable as a piece of jewelry.

If it is proposal ring/engagemnet ring, I think the traditional solitiare may be most appropriate.

Just my 2 cents' worth.

Ben: After reading this thread, I went to dig out the certificate of my ring, then I realised that the weight is 0.20.. @_@

I got Destinee 10 solitaire as engagement ring cum wedding ring?? from Lee Hwa, the price is S$2088, ex arh? for a small starry?

Personal opinion:
- Lee Hwa - I've always like LH, as the workmanship is finer, and they have their own in-house designer/jeweller.
- SK is alright (but I find the designs a little stiff)
- Goldheart - I used to patronize them, until they started outsourcing jewellery making to outside jewellers (my BIL's sister does their consignments)
- Taka - I fully second Fifi on her opinion
- Soo Koo - Personally I never liked their pieces, a little rough in workmanship

Destinee 10 is NOT ideal cut. It consider fancy cut like brilliant rose. Thus, u can notice that destinee is more expensive than destinee 10 for the same ctr.

If i am not wrong, your diamond shld be D color, IF or VVS1, else it is really very very expensive to pay $2k for 0.2ctr.

wow.. JGal, I am very impressed.. The color is F, and Clarity is VVS. (I went to check the cert again.. LOL)

I was shown with Destinee of similar quality, but it's actually lower in price. (or maybe I remember wrong? I am quite muddle-headed when comes to registering digits)

hey jgal,
you mind sending me your gf's contacts to me?

my FH wants to bring me ring shopping and we have been to most of the retailers but would like to explore other options as well.

thanks a lot!
PS: n u r really very knowledgeable. :D

My friend is Amanda. Her shop is at shaw shopping centre (above mac at isten scotts). She also have a online shop. http://www.eclarity.com.sg Need to make appointment with her b/f you go down. She does jewellery design and currently supplying some shops. So she can customized your jewellery also. **thinking of asking her to do my 4-dian jin in cartier design with 816 gold** ha haha

lissy, probably the destinee is of lower clarity. The order of impt for a diamond is cut, clarity, color.

In any case, all happy brides out there .. It's wonderful to receive a diamond frm the person we love no matter what is the quality of it .. ha ha ha

hey jgal
i visit ur friend today.
Really happy..she ask me about your name..but i forgot..slip of mind..i jus keep saying ..oh start with J..then she ask if its joy or something..hahah...

we are very impressed with her and she is very patient and explain all things to us. She didnt push us to buy, instead she say we can always go elsewhere to check on the prices before we come back to her.

i got a 0.5 F colour VS1.
Hope to "upgrade" next year!!

Hi Ben,

Just to let you noe:

My FH and I were at the Jewel Fest in Nov 2006. According to the sales lady at S**K**, she said this year's theme is on solitares.

Perhaps you could go S**K** to have a look?

We wanted a BR but figuring the 4Cs are more important than the brandname, we got a Staria - a housebrand by SK, I think. The salelady is very nice and not pushy at all. She is the assistant manager at citylink.

We paid about 2k for a solitare: Cut excellent, Clarity VVS2, Color E, Carat 0.4. We arranged the 4Cs in sequence to what my FH and I hold importance to. If you like, you can quote your budget to the staff and get them to show you what they have to offer you.

If you are considering to get one now, those deals they have for this festive season are kinda worthy. Good luck with your hunt together with you FH! It will be fun!

Happy Shopping! =)

Hi Ben
Not I pay, my FH paid...hehe...

Actually, I am not sure how much exactly my FH told Amanda..but he did state his expectations..
as in the cutting, n the colour n carat...

So she printed a list for us to view...But the printout all are 0.5 c. Jus different in colour, clarity and cut...
She recommended us a $2400 plus...
But in the end we took a $2700...cos FH says, he wants to pay for quality..

I dun tink it is expensive, given that it is H&A, there is no flouresence and the cut is excellent..
I am quite please with it though of cos I hope for a bigger CARAT lah..

But I would recommend Amanda anytime.

Anyone ever considering an engagement ring that is not diamond? I am actually considering other types of stones, like emerald or topaz.. think it will look nice?

It's up to the individual. My friend's engagement ring wasn't a diamond. It was some family heirloom ring made of some precious stones.

Thanks noxy.. =)

I think I will call jgal's fren, Amanda to see her collection first..
Hope it will not look funny accompanying bf to search for an engagement ring

Actually, I felt a bit uncomfortable shopping with FH on the ring..
But he insisted that I go cos he wants me to choose something that I really like..
Guess, if we are talking about thousands, maybe worth it to get our opinion, hor? ")

I have not found mine yet...keke...still waiting for FH to earn more to get a bigger carat....haiz but judging the things we are getting, like marina mandarin already 30K guess he has no more budget

btw, what is H & A?

for a 0.5 F VS1 at S$2700 is consider very cheap.... those I found at least S$3900 or more for those branded shop like Lee Hwa, Gold heart etc...

Actually I also prefer surprise ring from FH...but you know la...wait they get those small small diamond or those design you dun like...you also sian what...kekekekeke

hey ben,
when is your wedding?

actually, my FH only brought me the ring after we settled on most of the wedding prep..e.g banquet..etc..

H&A= Hearts & Arrows..
I think it refers to the cut...please forumers correct me if I m wrong..
Most girls like this cutting cos its romantic..
haha..but for me, i dun really care..
But for FH, i tink he read a lot liao..so he kenna sapped in..he insist must get a H&A..

My FH ask me to give him a few more months after we settled the wedding ..then he can save up for the diamond ring..

I also much prefer surprise..but I know FH not a very ROMANTIC kind..Actually, when he was at Amanda's shop, he was studying the list more closely than I, then he just point and say, this one..
Then I look, and say, ok lor..haha...

Luckily, I have very slim fingers..otherwise, I think he needs to get me a BIG rock to complement my physics..haha..

i jus tot of something, or like what some of the girls say, get a 0.45 to 0.49..maybe it will be ard 2K?
i tink worth a try...

7th July? thats another 7mths more...
excited!??

mine is in Sept ..

so ur preparations all done??

hey hippo,
agree that round solitaire is classic..a design that will never go wrong.

Can i check i have walk ard and search but dunno which 1 to choose... if you are me which will u choose?

Ring A
0.40 F VS2
Cut: Excellent
Polishing: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Price: $2071

Ring B
0.39 F VS1
Polishing: Very Good
Price: $2217

Ring C
0.43 E VVS2
Polishing: Very Good
Symmetry: Very Good
Price: $2135

Ring D
0.41 F VS1
Polishing: Excellent
Price: $2300

I am really so lost.. dunno which 1 to choose.. all shines on naked eye to me =(
PLS HELP!!

I have a 0.9 cts F color ring, which I bought a few years back.....I was thinking how to make use of it as a wedding ring....but of cos I hope I can either upgrade it or at least change the setting as I do not wish to have a 'old' ring for my wedding? can you all say? any suggestions?

Ben:
Why Ring C? actually i like ring C alot but its not all excellent... dunno if it affects the briance(dunno how to spell)

hey ben,
maybe u can change the setting to what you like.
I think it will look beautiful given that u can decide on how u want it to be looked..

Upgrade, I am not so sure ...

Hey Amy
i chose ring a.
cut is excellent, Clarity wise, I think VS2 is the most acceptable range cos u cant see the carbon with naked eyes..
n its the cheapest..haha..the carat difference is not much different..0.01 to 0.03 carat..

Hi Amy, i'll pick Ring A too!
To me, as long as the cut, symmetry and polishing are excellent, i'm a happy gal.

The engagement ring? Definitely a no-no for me. Call me conservative, i'll accept rings either from my FH or immediate families, certainly not from an ex.

Be enlightened. Get informed.

Worth-less
About 130 million carats (26,000 kg) are mined annually, with a total value of nearly USD $9 billion. Now if you do the math - that works out to be US$69.20 per carat! The prices of diamond is artificially controlled and inflated. Mined diamonds are bought by cartels and kept in vaults to control supply and keep prices high, in truth there is nothing rare or precious about the stones.

For a detailed exposé of the De Beers cartel, read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

Have you heard of conflict diamonds?
Roughly 49% of diamonds originate from central and southern Africa - that's the majority of diamonds in retail. But this is the same region where conflict diamonds get worked into the system.

A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts - http://www.amnestyusa.org/diamonds/index.do

In some cases, the United Nations has prohibited the export of conflict diamonds, arguing that their trade finances armies in fighting against legitimate governments and perpetrating human rights abuses, and prolongs devastating wars. It points to the UNITA rebels in Angola and to the Revolutionary United Front rebels in Sierra Leone (who it states were financed by the government of Liberia, also through diamond sales) as purveyors of conflict diamonds.

The UN is attempting to implement certification procedures to decrease the number of illicit diamonds on the world market. On July 19, 2000, the World Diamond Council adopted at Antwerp a resolution to strengthen the diamond industry's ability to block sales of conflict diamonds.

In 2002, the UN approved the Kimberley Process scheme aimed at preventing conflict diamonds entering the market.
See - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimberley_Process

Still there is no guarantee the Kimberly Process can enforce 100% that no conflict diamonds make it to the market - see National Geogrpahic interview with reporter Dominic Cunningham - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/02/0212_030212_diamonds.html

Natural mined diamonds have been coming under a lot of heat recently. Award-winning journalist Cecil Adams sums it up the best in a recent article: “diamonds are a scam, pure and simple.†Most people in the new millennium understand that between the DeBeers diamond cartel, the issue of child labor in Third World diamond processing operations, and “blood diamonds†used to finance oppression and genocide in Third World African countries, not to mention your snooty and pretentious local jeweler, diamonds are just not worth the hassle, guilt, and let’s not forget thousands and thousands of questionably spent dollars.

7 Reasons Why You Should NEVER Buy a Diamond:

1. The price of diamonds has been artificially inflated since the 1880's via the De Beers diamond cartel. Read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

2. Current public perception of diamonds is the direct result of a masterfully executed marketing campaign by De Beers that began in 1938, not inherent scarcity or value. If you've read the article by Edward Epstein (you really should), you know all of the gory details. Isn't it amazing (and scary) how brainwashed people are about the "value" of diamonds, even though they're not actually worth that much?

3. A diamond is an illiquid asset, not an "investment". Try to sell a second-hand diamond ring on eBay or at a pawn shop. Do you really think you'll get anything close to what you paid for it? Do you really think the price of any diamond you purchase today is going to go up significantly over time? A diamond ring isn't even a good "insurance policy" to fall back on during hard times - it's an illiquid asset that you'll have a hard time selling for a price anywhere close to what you paid for it.

4. The diamond industry funds warfare, genocide, and terrorism. A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts. Profits from conflict diamonds are used to finance warlords in Angola, Sierra Leone, and Liberia, who use their weapons to kill and maim innocent people. You won't be able to tell if your diamond is a conflict diamond or not?
Read BBC reports
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/correspondent/1604165.stm
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/3581799.stm

5. A diamond is - by nature - just a pretty rock. Think of the oft-quoted "rule" of diamond ring buying: the ring should cost a minimum of two month's salary (pre-tax), and you should spend as much on a ring as you can afford. Let's put this rule in its proper context: according to the people who sell pretty rocks, you're supposed to trade a full two months of your time and effort for one of their pretty rocks. Does that seem wise?

6. People notice the setting more than the diamond itself. To the naked human eye, most decent quality diamonds look the same. Unless the stone is yellow, has major inclusions, or has a distinctly lopsided cut, no one will be able to distinguish an ideal cut, E color, VS-1 stone from a lesser-quality diamond just by looking at it. What people do notice is the setting - how the stone is featured or placed, side stones, and the craftsmanship and artistry of the band. Knowing this - does it make more sense to focus your attention and dollars on a better stone, or on a better setting?

7. The opportunity cost of buying a diamond is huge. Opportunity cost is what you give up by spending your scarce resources on a single option. In other words, if you drop ten grand on a diamond ring, you have $10,000 less to spend on other things, like a fantastic honeymoon, a car, furniture, a down payment on a house, investing for the future, or further education. Are all of these options worth giving up for a little piece of colorless carbon?

From this guy's rant - funny yet true - www.diamondssuck.com

If you still dun get it... go watch Blood Diamond - http://www.gv.com.sg/Booking/movies/moviedetails_7193.htm

Not Forever
The death of South African diamond magnate Harry Oppenheimer last month might mark the end of global domination for one of the world's most infamous cartels.
By Susan Emerling
http://www.salon.com/business/feature/2000/09/27/diamonds/index.html

Nice Ice
Lab-made diamonds are as dazzling as those mined by third-world labor. This bling may be easier on your conscience -- and your wallet.
By Corrie Pikul
http://www.salon.com/mwt/the_big_idea/2004/12/24/diamonds/index.html

Combating Conflict Diamond
What you can do?
http://www.globalwitness.org/pages/en/what_you_can_do.html

Diamond... i think most ppl know that diamonds is not worth the money, and it a abusive industry... but then... engagement without a diamond is NO NO... :P Sorry, i cannot appreciate your postings.

let get back to what caret to get :P