Catholic Brides

Hi carelinwen,

Congratulations! All the best!
Enjoy your day!

<font color="0000ff">anyone getting married (or married) in St Francis Xavier? What's the procedure for the flowers decor ah? advent must have purple ah? Is there any colour we're not allowed to use?</font>

anyone got married(or getting married) at Nativity? Wat's the procedure like for arranging the deco, etc? Also, heard that the function room where the recpetion will be held doesnt come wif tables n chairs?
thanks...

hi lissa,

my florist is susan from font creative.. she is at 9699 0104. u decide the budget and she do up the flowers accordingly.. u can consider

she is a catholic so she knows what to do...

Hi carelinwen

Congratulations on your wedding day today! I'm sure you had a beautiful ceremony - enjoy your honeymoon and share with us how your big day went when you come back from your holiday, ya?

May your wedding day be filled with special memories and laughter, as you look forward to all the years of happy ever after! God bless!

Hi Elizabeth,

Congratulations on your engagement! Sorry for my late post - I haven't checked this thread for a while!

Glad to know that your engagement mass went well! Write to us when you've settled down at your new place! All the best to you and God bless!

I had a great wedding, the weather was good; not hot and breezy. Everything was relaxed and kept simple. I was not very stressed but events flew past in a daze, did not even see the flowers deco along the alsie until I view the raw video footage.

There were small minor hiccups in the church though but by then I had decided not to let anything affect me. I had prayed with my hubby in the morning to let God handle everything. We stop to pray together cos he misplaced his cufflinks and I was frantically searching for it high and low. It was affecting my mood so we stopped, prayed and after that I decided to stop searching and improvised with thin ivory ribbons tying his cuffs together instead. It complemented the row of ribbons down my back of the gown so we managed to pull it off.

We certainly had many laughs, the best was that one of my cousins who was my bridesmaid got separated from the other two and sat chating with her boyfriend at the front of the church not realising that she was supposed to standby at the door to march in with me. We were outside the door and could not reach her on her hp and was preparing to go on without her. Until the church bells started to ring then she suddenly remembered and did a 100m dash down the alsie and slipped out thru the door before the bells stopped. It was all caught on video and it is hilarious!!!

Thanks to all for your well wishes! My dinner banquet is on Mon, so have to start the preps for it today.

hi carelinwen,

sounds cool! hee.. i am sure there are always nice &amp; funny things for us to talk about after the AD

finalised your guest list &amp; table seating arrangement already? thats always the biggest headache for all brides man

Hi oraia!

Thanks for your help.
I have spoken to Pauline before cos initially i was afraid that SFA would not do wedding mass during advent. I was really relieved to hear that they are fine with it. When was your AD?

I am meeting Father John Lau in July next year.. so it's still a long way to go. Thanks once again!

Hi Carelinwen,
Good to hear that you had fun! Yap, we should let God handle everything. Enjoy your dinner banquet too!

Just to share some thoughts with you gals: Initially, I was so stressed over deciding the banquet venue, as several hotels were either taken up or had tentative bookings on the date we were looking at. I wanted to leave the church booking to the last, as I thought that was not so important. Then after reading all the responses that we shd be "kia su" abt the church venue too, I started to ask myself, why am I leaving God to the end?
I shd put God first, then everything will fall into place. So, we prayed, and went ahead to fix the church date and booked the church. At that time, we still haven't fixed the banquet venue yet...But, after we had fixed the church date, suddenly one of the hotels was not only available on the date we wanted, but also on the next day (Sunday)! So we could have a choice of spreading it out over 2 days (church on Sat, dinner on Sun), attend mass on Sun morning and still not feel so tired. And its package suited us better. Really, things just fell into place on its own.
So gals, offer up your worries, and let God take control.

hi kyrie,

no problem
glad to be of help.
my wedding day was on 12 Dec last year (2nd sun of advent)

good luck with ur wedding preps!

hi csi fan,

cool sharing
i guess at the end of the day, the holy spirit will talk to us

another thing i would like to share is this: i have a christian friend who gotten very engrossed in her planning of her wedding. she warned me some time ago that we should pray and not just do things on our own

there were times when i was stuck and prayed and god will eventually open a door for me

hi oraia,

oh its gonna be your first year anniversary soon! :D

Hi Minssy,

Thanks for your florist contact. Can i just get a gauge from you on how much you spent on your decorations and what was included? I'm thinking of DIYing the pews with ribbons if it'll save me some money.

Lissa

hi minssy,

ya loh... hehe. yest my mil was just saying tt if counting acc to church calendar, yesterday was the anniversary cos yest was 2nd sun of advent.

hi lissa,

$400: 20 pews flowers + ribbon arrangements, 2 floral stands (entrance), altar arrangements (but replaced by floor flowers), ROM signing table arrangments.

hi oraia,

wah..ok chim. i dunnoe what is advent actually. wahahaha

Hi Minssy,

Thanks so much! Sounds good... not too ex. Although cheaper would be better. Did she package everything up for you or individually priced all the items?

What flowers did you use? Any chance you might have some photos of our church decor all done up on your wedding day?

Lissa

hi lissa,

i think $400 is cheap for all these stuff already.. try typical florist and the basic you get is $500. i know nuts abt flowers and just tell her what i want, my budget, my choice of flowers (roses), the color theme and i leave everything to her...

photos are here but i haven really sort it out yet.. no time lah
will post when i have more spare time

Been a while! Will fill all of u in about the engagement mass. This is the second day in Holland. still feeling tired. going to sleep a bit more! will write soon! dag!

Hi Minssy,

How many AD photos did you take? We are deciding between digital photography or the conventional one. Digital photography is good, but I am relunctant to pay more. Besides, I think 6 rolls of film should be more than enough.

By the way, a bit of digression here... How many extra photos did you choose for your wedding photo album?

hi fleur,

errrmm, my package is digital.. all in all, i had 1200 pictures for day and nite... of cos there are abit of repeat shots but i could choose the one i prefer and get it developed out. if its on film, its limited leh...

6 x 36 = 216 photos.. even a typical traditional film package consist of 8 rolls and pple have to upgrade.. unless yours is just on church or a very simple wedding, i guess 6 rolls shd be cool... but given this era, i dun think so

i had 30 in my package and i had extra 15 photos..

Thanks minssy!
You're always so quick in answering questions! hehe

Hee one more qn, anybody can be the 2 witnesses right? From either my side or my FH's side?

hi kyrie,

happen to be online mah

technically yes anyone can be (min age 21 if i am not wrong) but its always meaningful to have parents (1 from each side), or guardians who are close to you &amp; your FH...

just get their IC numbers and submit when you apply online.

hi csi fan,

all rite lah.. slightly more experience in certain things since i had been thru mah

feel free to ask questions and if i can answer, i will

Hi Minssy,

We have to collect some stuff from ROM before the AD right? How early can we collect it? And must I go with FH personally to collect or one of us can already? Must be weekday or weekend also can? And must we pre-arrange an appointment or can just drop by anytime? What do we have to do at ROM anyway?

Sorry for so many questions... but this is one part of the wedding planning i am TOTALLY lost at.

Lissa

Hi Minssy,

Thanks for your advice. I gave it some thought, consulted another friend and have decided to go for digital photography instead.
Besides, I think it will save me the time and energy in physically giving my friends the photos of the AD. But wow! 1200 photos! That's a lot of photos! This is the most record-breaking one that I have heard so far. That is like three or four times the norm. Cool. Heehee....

Hi Kyrie,
2 witnesses of above 21 years is needed esp if you are having the ROM at the same time. Believe that in such cases, two certs need to be signed. THe ROM one and the church wedding cert.

hi lissa,

after you efiled successfully, there will be a link of instructions. the time &amp; date that you are supposed to go down with FH is stated. its normally 3 working days before your actual ROM date.

u just need to bring down your original ICs and photocopies of witnesses' ICs. for church wedding, you need the 'letter of consent'. u shd have filled up this form already at your 'pre nup interview'. its filled up by you all and endorsed by your priest. if you dun have it, get it settled. no worries, all instructions are listed

when you are at the ROM, take a queue number, wait for your turn, say oath, and take your documents. then pass the documents to your priest before AD.

hi fleur,

all rite lah.. i asked for 'details' so there are shots of flowers lah, mirror reflections lah.. etc etc.. but since we have church wedding, there are many more photos that were taken

yes good that you take digital.. nowadays this is the norm

hi missy,

hehe.. got something to tell u.. i dare not call phillip lye leh.. i also dunno why.. guess its coz i usually get very nervous talking on the phone.. would actually prefer to email.. haiz.. but guess no other choice.. hehe..

been plucking up my courage to call him ever since last week but till now.. still have not.. haiz.. dunno what happened to my confidence..

missy.. u mean simon took 1200 photos on ur AD ah? so much??? i thought usually it'll be around 600 only?.. wah.. impressive leh..

hi petrina,

huh? its only making a call leh... just call and say that you would like to engage his music services. he will ask questions and you just answer can already

yes.... he made the effort to take 'details' which is what i want.. of cos i cant take all but there are nice memories to keep

Hi Minssy and fleur,

thank you thank you.
Hee lissa asked the other questions that i had wanted to. But got one more question though.. when can we efile the notice to get married?

OK! i called already.. haha.. finally..

wah.. he sounds a bit serious leh.. haha.. either that or i was too nervous..

thank u missy for supporting me 'internetly'.. hahahaha.. u're really very cute!..

i'll have to call him again in july to talk about the songs and to meet up with him.. hehe.. but he didn't ask for any deposit or anything leh.. only told me to call him if there are any changes.. is this normal?

hi petrina,

hahahhh! ok good good.. yes he dun ask for deposit one.. just pay him on AD itself

if you have probs with choosing songs prior to meeting him in his house, you can call him.... he can advise you.... the other time i chose some but i just feel that something is not right. so when i went to his house, he showed me some samples of some christian songs and we used his suggestions! he know so many songs! really awesome!

hi kyrie,

welcome.. just also make sure you have credit or debit card to pay the $26 ROM fee when you efile

oh yah! must have the priest's ID number also. all these can get from him during the pre nup.

Hello girls

I know this is an abrupt post and my first time here... but I desperately need your help. I'm planning my wedding from the States and we've been having a hard time getting our church to send us a sample program (or what is commonly referred to as the booklet). We are having a ceremony instead of a mass and I'm hoping some of you would be able to help me out. Our wedding is on 31 Dec and the church has told us repeatedly that they would try to send a sample along but we've been waiting/chasing for 2 months. We figured it's time to seek out help elsewhere. Any suggestions/advice will be great... my email is [email protected]. Thanks so much in advance.

I'm trying my best to not freak out at this time.

Hmm.. thanks once again minssy.
I'm only meeting the Father sometime in July next year. Since my AD is in Dec next year, when do you think i should arrange to meet Fr?

hey missy..

haha.. yeah.. he told me that its based on trust... so i'll be paying him only on the day itself.. my mum was saying to give more to him.. so it'll be considered an angpow too.. hehe..

hi kyrie,

i think u should go to the church to meet Fr.. which church are u getting married in?

Gosh minssy, thanks for responding to my plea. Thank you thank you thank you

Liz - thanks for your assurances too - I haven't had the chance to peek at your pix, but I'm pretty sure you looked gorgeous.

hi kyrie,

yes you shd still meet at least the first time to invite him to do your ceremony... the rest can be done later (which is after EE or MPC when you do the pre nup).

hi petrina,

yes i gave him double and treat that as ang bao too

hi maddcow,

i realised that i dun have the file with me as at the time i posted. gimme a couple of moments and i will send to you asap

Hi Petrina,

Thanks for the contact for the organza. I'm quite interested cos i'm considering DIYing some church decor. Any chance you can gimme a gauge of how much wavey is selling it for?

I'm going for EE this weekend! Will be having my meeting with the priest on 3 Jan. Think i'll be able to e-file right after that liao right cos my AD is 11 Mar. Wanna get that out of the way as soon as i can.

Lissa

Hi Minssy and Petrina,

I have gone for my MPC already. (hee KS
) That was when i called the church to actually want to arrange a meet up with Father. However, after Father Lau knew that my FH and I are both Catholics, he said we only need to go down in July next year. Hence I only booked the date of the wedding mass with the secretariat.

Pet, i'm getting married in St Francis of Assisi.

I got another headache girls.. my FBIL who got married a few years earlier (also in SFA) had his lunch recep at home. However, that's becos his wife's side is non-Catholic and my FH's dad's side is also non-Catholic. Hence, they had their lunch buffet at home and at the same time, the tea ceremony. As for my side, both my Mum and Dad's sides are all Catholics and most of them will be travelling from the North to the West for my church wedding. I was planning to have my recep in church but what happens to his Dad's side?

What do you girls think? Do you think i need to have 2 buffets? 1 buffet will prob be in church or my mum's place and the other buffet in FH's place to cater to his dad's side. Hai.. headache.. hee paiseh ah, if i confused anyone of you..