Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date
Hi moomooland,

dun worry, they won't clear the seats in courtyard in rush and move them to your function room. They are different chairs. In fact i think, they will first set up the function room first. then for the courtyard, they will monitor the weather and set up about 1+ hour before your event. This is what they inform me that day. So after your ceremony, you and guests can all proceed to eat, then they will slowly clear off the courtyard.

I also recommend my JP Mr Goh, i think he is very nice too. He can solemnise in english and chinese. If you want, i can pm you his number?

Hi Lingandyang and Viv&bl,
Ooops sori think I mixed up both ur pics thats's why tot Mr Phang was lingandyang's solemniser .

Hi pastillies,
There's another couple who is also using Esplanade rm 1 on the same day so we didnt want to squeeze and use the next rm and confuse our guests. Hmm how much u paid for ur rose petals?

Sori I missed out on ur earlier post. I have not started my reno, still finalising quotation and sourcing for furniture/fittings.
I finally settled on my BS!Chose Silverlining and will be doing a MTM dress... hope it turns out nice!

Hi pastilles/ling,

i'm having the hi tea at esplanade room 1. btw, did you girls know that the additional guests cost $46+++, understand from Jason that prices just went up a week ago. Luckily i saw the $35+++ first.

abit off topic,

Guess what? I approached Mr Chan too :D
he's free on that day, will be meeting him next week in town. Usually do you girls meet the JP or fax the consent form to them?

Hi Moomooland,

I invited Mr Chan as my JP.. He agreed already but are yet to contact me to meet up?

When is ur ROM? So fast, u r meeting him next week..

Hi De_princeses,

haha no worry.

Hi moomooland,

i think the price for this year had increased. wow now is $46++ for additional guest huh. So ex. Yah lucky when you signed up, the price is $35++ and you can secure it.

For me i din meet the JP. I just fax him the consent form. Because before my ROM, Mr Goh is my fren's JP too, so we already seen him, and hence decided on him.

Hi Pooh Bear,
my rom's in 29th june, not fast already. we have not even efile yet haha.. think we're considered abit laid back.

Hi ling,
yes, really lucky, else it would be $11+++ extra per pax...really got to bring out the auntie in me sometimes :D

I'm rather excited about meeting Mr Chan. Just realised JPs has their own threads woohoo!

Hi Lingandyang,

Can I see your photos too?? I am still currently sourcing for a place for ROM too. Any idea how long in advance should i book a place?

My id is vicktan.

HI moomooland,

yah. . . lucky you booked earlier. $11++ per pax more is really a lot. Hope you have a nice meetup with Mr Chan!

Hi Lisa,

just added you.Thanks for viewing in advance. I had my ROM at Carlton Courtyard.

Usually we try to booked earlier like perhaps 6 months in advance for ROM. If wedding venue, will need even earlier like 1.5 year beforehand. Perhaps you like to book earlier so that you can have a higher chance of getting your preferred date?

Hi pastillies & Celeste,

We have met up with Rose last Thursday. She showed us another package for wedding hi-tea instead of ROM package. It is def more worth it since this will be our actual wedding.

We are going down to RTC later today and will compare to see which is better. My FH is very comfortable with Carlton but Im a little hold back. Still wanna see a few more venues to compare. hehe.. ;)

Anyway, thanks ladies..
My FH likes the Carbanas solmnization.

i understand from Jason they will provide music if we dont on the actual ROM day, however, they can only release the contents of the music to us one day before ROM. feel it's kinda strange?

Ling, did you bring your own cd?

hi christy,
is rose from carlton? Take ur time to choose a place u n ur FH r comfortable with as this will only be ur 1 n only wedding in a lifetime. Try to discuss with ur FH until both of u r satisfy. N that will be ur special place.
Good luck in sourcing around!

HI moomooland,

yes i brought my own CD. But before the event, Carlton started playing some of their own music, just those normal atmosphere music. I'm not sure why they only release the music content to you one day before the ROM though. Or perhaps you may like to prepare some CD of your favourite songs just in case?

hi moon,
wahh they increase prices for extra guest ah...ya agree with ling, extra $11+++ is quite a bit...

moon / poohbear, normally Mr Chan will only meet us nearer our ROM...for us to sign the consent form. me & HB so blur tt time...we didnt file for solemnisation till after meeting Mr Chan as need his JP no. to file...haha if u wan to file earlier u can actually call & ask him his JP no.
dun worry moon, u;re not the only one, cos me also took awhile before e-filing hehe;p;p

then when we met him to sign the consent form, he will also chat a bit to find out more abt both of u.. he's very nice, he may be serious but we both like the seriousness he has...afterall once in a life time..must also be serious mah...

hi christy, great, that's good that they have packages to ur liking. see if they can still further customise anything to ur liking? since u're having so many guest, maybe they can customise package just for u?

hi Lisa,
how long in advance also depends on ur date...if urs is those super hot dates, then it's better to book way in advance once u're comfortable with the package, the place, etc... For me, I think i super KS...we confirm our booking almost 1 yr in advance & tt's jus for ROM...for AD we confirm our booking >1.5yrs in advance...
but though we confirm so much in advance , we both have also seen alot of venues before finally deciding.
come to think of it...back then me & HB every alt day we will schedule hotel visits & other sites / resturants visit to check out the places...it's quite enjoyable actually

i prepared my own music,....but silly me...so nervous & busy that i forgot to pass the CD of songs to be played during the dinning to my coordinator then...but carlton have their own music that they will play as background...Phew luckily i burn 2 seperate CDs & at least I remembered to bring the walk-in piece.....

hi marshmallow...mmm for Carlton it's more of the Carbanas & courtyard (waterfall)...the poolside is nearby the carbanas only...but the solemnisation cermony won't be at the poolside , only either by the carbanas or at the courtyard.

I've dropped u an email to my Solemnisation pics at Carlton.

Hi Pastillies and Lingandyang,

Thanks for the advise. I have another question. Before you gals selected the ROM Date, did ur FH went to your parents place to seek your hand in marriage? Or this is done only for AD?

hi pastilles, i'll like to have a look at your pics too

i just met up with Mr Chan this evening, he's got a whole line of couple waiting, i saw about 4 pairs haha, he's really hot i must say.

oh ya, we've got to go down ROM to collect the documents, then give the JP a call right? Blur me, always forget procedures

Hi pastillies and viv&bl,

I'm currently sourcing for a venue for my rom. and i would like to view your rom photos. can u add me to your multiply? my id is angielsw.

thank you very much.

Hi Lisa,

no prob at all! Erm, actually my hubby din really ask my parents face to face. He so scare one, so i just told them myself. heheheh. I think there is no fix rule for this, but perhaps it will be better if your boyfren can ask your parents so that it is more official?

hi moomooland , angeline, sure
what' ur multiply ID or email? I'll send u the inviataion

oh & moomooland, yup the procedure is to go & verfiy & collect ur docs at ROM. after tat give Mr Chan a call to confirm & inform him u have collected ur docs. yup he's really very popular

hi deprincess, ops realise i forgot to reply u.;p;p
HB dun rem exactly how much we paid for the rose petals but rought 1 whole bunch (think 12 stalks white + 12 stalks red) less than $10bucks...think either $6 or $8...it was on discount tt's y we got it as we were abt to pay for our other purchases.
ohh icic no wonder u dun wan to use the esplanade room...hee actaully when i had mine, the next door esplanade room was also being used.;p;p

hi Lisa...haha belive it or not...my HB will be officialy coming to "Ti Qing" aka ask my hand for marrige this sat....haha i didnt even koe still must have this step..but apparently it's tradition & custom..something like "san shu liu li" so since parents say must have then hv....

as for how formal or informal also depends on ur parents...i koe some will discuss outside over high tea or dinner...however my mother more traditional , so wants the Groom's family to come over to our hse, so it's like olden times officially come over to "ti qing" ...still will have a "mei ren" aka matchmaker coming along cos they (HB parents) say in olden days got matchmaker cos sometimes too paisay to discuss directly

like wat lingandyang says, no hard & fix rule. esp during our era & times now...so many of us already ROM le, then only after ROM then start talking abt AD....acually "Ti Qing" traditionally is done few mths before the customary, cos during the "ti qinq", ur parents & his parents will then discuss wat items to be given for "guo da li".....so previously when we ROM, we didnt realy broach on the topics of "pin jin" & items for "guo da li" then...too early back then...haha

Hey De_princess,
Sorry for late reply.My Rom is on 7 July , 2-5pm
Solumisation at 3pm at courtyard. Coming soon.. really excited. How's ur preparation??

HI moomooland,
I booked Carlton Last Year. It cost me $1120++ for 30pax.Additional is 30++ .. looks like they have increased the price..

Hi Pastillies,

Tks... ok I shall just get the rose petals

Hi Jean,

Hehe ya i am counting down. Which room are u using for your reception? Hows ur preparation?Hmmm i only need to go try my dress and settle shoes I think.. haha. Oh and I have not settled invitations.. I dun think I will DIY and its too small quantity to print. Will probably do e-invites as guests are mainly frens.

Hi pastillies, my multiply id is angielsw.

btw, do I call the JP to ask for if he's available on my ROM date first or should I book my venue first?

Hi Jean,

wow yours is on a very hot date! yeah you also chosen courtyard! So excited while planning hor. . . enjoy the process!

Hi Angeline,

usually we can book the venue first before venue is really a impt factor and when you called your JP most prob he will also ask you where is the venue. Also venue we need to book earlier in advance, perhaps half a year or even more for safety purpose, but invitation to JP can do around 3 months before your date.

Generally venues are usually one of the top priorites when making decision. Although JP is also impt, but i felt that if really our preferred JP cannot make it to our date, can still consider other JPs. Hehe just my suggestion, hope can helps a bit!

initially we thought of making appointment with carlton hotel to view the venue and discuss the package.. but right now, they're quite packed with appointments, so we thought of going down to take a look of the hotel ourselves then make appointment with them later.. they mentioned can go to 5th storey to view the site.. anyone can advise where to view the solemnization venue, function room or makan place?

many thanx!

Hi ebearz,

the 5th level is where the swimming pool is, and that's where the cabanas is too. The cabanas is like a small pavilion and this will be one of the choices to hold your ceremony.

The 2nd choice will be the courtyard which is actually at level 4. Beside the cabanas are a stairway and when you walk down the stair, the space at level 4 will be the courtyard. There is also a small waterfall feature at the courtyard.

The makan place will be in the function room, where usually it will be in the esplanade room 1 or 2, and is just beside the courtyard.

I had my ROM at courtyard in mar and perhaps you would like to take a look at my photos if you like. Do you have multiply? I had posted my photos there. my id is lingandyang Do add me if you have multiply!

Hope my info helps at least a bit.

hey ebearz,

glad that i can help a bit. Cos my photos size are quite big it may be hard for me to send thru email. If you dun mind, perhaps you can sign up multiply for free then you can view all my photos le. http://multiply.com
If not, then i will need to try to shrink the photos size and send a few to you.

Hi ebearz,

No prob at all! Next time you can also post your thing there and we can share. .

hi Angeline,

Welcome welcome!! hope you can find a venue you like. Enjoy venue-hunting!

hi pastilles, my multiply id is moomooland

hi jean, i guess many ppl are getting married, and they take the chance to hike up the price, well, its definitely more ex to get married these days ;)

Hi Lingandyang,

Thanks a lot for the information. I would also like to book the venue first. However we must know the date first before we can book right? FH and I would go and look at the Tong Shu for a date first since his parents want us to do so. So I would have to wait till then before i can book any thing.

hi angeline, moomooland,
have added u on multiply , thanks for viewing

hope my photos will help u get a feel & an idea of how the solemnisation is set up & will go

hi de_princess,
no prob
get bigger roses, so the petals are bigger...nice too

ya..hotel increases prices every yr...goes the same for banquet dinner...so book early is always good.., but also take ur time to check ard n compare

hi Lisa,
u can also consult a fengshui shi to choose dates, cos noramlly tong shu takes awhile think mid yr before out rite?? (correct me if i'm wrong cos tt's wat i heard most ppl say)
going to a fengshui shi they can calculate the good dates suitable for u n ur HB too.

if u need one, i can recommend the one i went too. he's master Long Tian Xiang, known as Long shifu. he gave us dates not only for ROM but a whole list of dates suitable for me & HB to use for even start of reno, Guo da li,an chuang & most impt for Customary.

Hey De_Princess

Oh i booked the Bridal Shop at AMK branch(Same as Linganyang , cost me abt $480 for the ROM package. Shoes bought already at JB... hehehe. June gng to test the gown le..

Invitations haven send out yet. Have abt 60pax. INcludes my aunties, cousins & Friends...

Buffet room at Empress 1.

Hi Lisa,

Welcome!! yes like what pastillies mentioned, you can also try look for a fengshui master to choose a suitable date for you. I actually gotten my dates for both ROM and AD quite early. Because my mother-in-law helped us to get the dates. I'm not sure which master she went to though, but i know she travelled to some island and look for him, which my husband and I still find it a bit funny. . . hehe. . like must climb mountain to find the master like that :P But anyway, same as Pastillies, we also got a list of good dates for both ROM and AD. So if you look for master and you can get the dates earlier will also assist you in your planning.

Hey Jean,

oh we same same Seletar B.way! Have fun trying out the gowns!

I've decided on Carlton for my solemnization in Dec but would like have some feedback for the buffet lunch reception. anyone?

could some kind souls send me pics taken at the Carbanas? my multiply id is denril

thanks in advance!

hi moomooland,
thanks for ur compliments. yup mine was at the carbanas...maybe a bit confusing cos i took photos both at the courtyard & carbanas. but carbanas was for the solemnisation cermony. it's later on then i took pics at the courtyard as well since its jus outside the esplandae room.

hv u finalise on ur venue?

hi denril,
sure, just added you on multiply

thanks for viewing.

mine was held during dec too, last yr. the only worrying part is the weather since the solenmniation is held outdoor, but not to worry the dining is held indoor.
the spread of food is pretty not bad for the lunch reception.
hv u visited the venue ?

Hi pastillies

Thanks so much for the photos! Very nice bouquet of calla lillies + tulips. And I love your hair!

Yup, went down to the venue alr.
My wedding coordinator is Rose.

Haven't decided on BS yet. Any recommendations?

hi denril,
sorry for the late reply. thanks for ur compliments
i'm sure urs will turn out wonderful too!

mine BS is JWN. i choose them for their gowns, personally i like Lace alot...go n check out the BS & try out their gowns, it's impt rather than just seeing them on the rack...go try the feel of the gowns!

Hi pastillies & Celeste,

We have signed up the wedding hi-tea package with Rose last Monday. After comparing it with RTC and Amara, we still prefer Carlton. Rose is easy to bargain. hehe.. Glad we decide on the venue so soon. Next is to find nice & simple gown and MUA. We found ur photographer as well, yet to pay deposit only.

Cheers, glad things turn out smooth.. ;)

hi christy,
congrats! glad u found ur ideal venue! so next step is ur gown n MUA. u taken any bridal package? if so, ur bridal package shd be providin u with MUA & rom gown rite

Hi Christy,
Yippy! Great you have settle your venue. One down finally. Yes next will be ur gown & the MUA to make u pretty tat day.
Hmmm, pastillies is rite. If you go for ROM package, it will include gown, mua and ur flower bouquet. So not to worry too much. Just concentrate on searching for a Bridal studio which makes u happy & comfortable with much gown varieties.

Thanks ladies.

We are not going for BS package as we dun intend to take pre-wedding photos & i dun need an evening gown. we also not going for ROM package coz this will be our actual wedding, cannot wear too simple. so likely we will buy/rent the gowns. find our MUA and florist. shack... very DIY, so might end up cost as much as a BS.. hehe..

Christy,

Even if u dun intend to take pre-wedding photos & evening gowns, you can still engage a BS. Tell them what u need only & deduct $$ upon there or get a better quotation from them. It can be done. No need DIY so tiring. Plus BS can get pretty gd MUA & flowers for u. So why waste more money and time? It's just an advice for you. No worries, do what u think is best for yourself.

Hi Celeste,

Yup, i agree with u, we will also visit theose BS to get package for gown + MUA + florist, easier for us, since we dun hv in mind a good MUA and florist. ;) Thanks.

Recommendation of a BS that has new nice halter neck + bare back simple gown? Since my wedding is just hi-tea, didnt wanna wear too formal (long train_ type of gown. ;) Thanks!