Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date
Hi Pastillies,
Wow! You look so pretty & sweet! The whole solemnisation seem wonderful. I also saw your photos taken after ROM. May I ask how many hours did you engage the photographer for?

Hey viv&bl & lingandyang,
I've added you to my multiply! Look forward to seeing your photos. Lingandyang, you going to Siloso Beach Resort? I actually called them up for their ROM package @ Rooftop but they said they are not ready yet but the coordinator says she will work out a package for me! I hope it will fit into my budget! =) Let me know how you feel abt the resort when you return!

Hey DollieBride,

I added you already! Oh yes i'm going to the Siloso Beach Resort on Vesak day. Hehe. . . actually planning for a short trip after our ROM, but pocket a bit tight, so just go sentosa. I think this resort is quite new, that's why they may not have ready package for ROM. But it's good that they can customise a package for you! Sure will share with you how's the resort after my stay. Heh!

hi dolliebride,
hee thanks for ur compliments
yup was glad the whole ceremony turn out great esp december being the rainy season..
went to sentosa & fort canning for post ROM shoots, all in all I engage my photographer for almost 1/2 a day (6hrs +/-). If u need a PG, can recommend mine.

wah u're lookin also at siloso beach resort?! must be very cool! to have ur solemnisation @ rooftop

hi viv&bl, wah! u win liao lor! ask hubby to do the rest! haha but u must also participate in the hse planning la! it's actually quite fun! but can hv quite alot of arguments too! ;p

hi lingandyang, enjoy ur mini trip @ siloso beach resort
Hv a great holiday!

hi pooh bear and dolliebride,
i had added both of you to my multiply. happy viewing!

hi lingandyang,
i just went to sentosa last sat but only stayed there for about 3 hours. it has been many years since i last went there. there are so many changes. we managed to take the luge & Skyride which was fun but too short ride. i passed by the siloso beach resort. wow...seems like very nice to stay there leh. it makes my heart itchy...feel like staying in their resort, chalet or shangri la hotel...haha.

hi pastillies,

hahaha. sure, i will want to participate in the house planning. we are lucky that the owner left us most of their furnitures so we can save a lot of $. mostly likely will renovate kitchen and paint the house only. so i think i won't have much arguement compared to couples who renovate whole house. what about youu? how's your house preparation?

I must say that all brides looked so pretty on the ROM day! keke

I think after looking at the photos, I prefer the Cabanas! But it would be weird to leave the courtyard empty cos it's a empty space just outside the function room. pastillies & viv&bl, did you utlised the courtyard?

pastillies, I also thinking of taking a bit of outdoor photography after ROM but the event ends at 5pm so it will be a bit late for photos after that? Also I was thinking of having a immediate family dinner after ROM (cos I not having wedding dinner). Time not enough! Sigh!

hi dolliebride,

yaya...that i agree. we look most beautiful when we are bride...hehe. i only made use of the courtyard to take photos with my relatives and friends cos i love the waterfall as our background. we actually asked if we can have the tables for lunch to be setup to be in the courtyard. but our coordinator said that it will be hot there. thinking that it makes sense, we heed our coordinator's advise.

Hi Pastillies,

thanks! YEs yes will enjoy as much as i can!

Hi viv&bl,

wow you just went Sentosa huh. Yah i also quite long din go there le. Actually wanted to go somewhere for a short trip after ROM, like a mini ROM honeymoon. Thinking of going KL like you, but hor in the end, we decided to save a bit more loh, so just stay at sentosa. I think this siloso beach resort is quite new right. Hehe, after my stay there, share with you the photos k.

Hi Dolliebrides,

haha yah, in fact most of the ladies here all choose cabanas leh. When i choose i also dunno what will be the setup like, so i choose courtyard. Cabanas is nice as it has a baliese feel.

hi celeste, i had invited to as my contact.

hi lingandyang, sentosa is a good choice for relaxation. u can save up more for your honeymoon lor. ok, i shall wait for your photos! enjoy your stay in sentosa.

hi Celeste,
added u le, checked ur email, thanks for viewing

hi dolliebride, mine's at the carbanas, not waterfall(courtyard). As mine was at the carbanas, place not very big so definately manage to utilsed the whole place, still can hv a mini walkin up the slope & stairs

hi viv&bl, that's good, can save some $$
every little savings counts towards the wedding preps

meetin my contractor next wk at my new place for him to give a more definate quotation & also for the contractor to see if need any extra reno works then wat we have discussed...small arguments btw u &HB sure have but jus give & take
me & HB can every argue on the color of the sofa! haha! but okie in the end finalise with Black.

hi lingyandang, yes yes must enjoy & relax youselves! i also like sentosa alot..the beach the sea & sand kind of feeling hehe so I'm holdin my wedding dinner there! yeah! then i can also relax at the beach the next day after my wedding dinner! haha

I'm planning to have my tea ceremony and solemnisation, follow by buffet lunch at Carlton. I have yet to meet up with anyone there. But can someone here show me the outdor pics?

We are not keen with the ballroom so juz the carbanas and the waterfall. hehe.. But we have around 120 pax, can both place fit the bill? :S

Thanks ladies.

Hi pastillies,

yah i also like sentosa. But not many chance to go there often. Last time i still tot of applying it islander card, but lucky din apply in the end. Cos din really go there very often. Now it seems that they had added many interesting things. This time can check it out! So good you can hold your wedding there! Can wake up to the nice beach scenery!

HI Christy,

I had my ROM at the courtyard (Waterfall). Perhaps you would like to take a look at my pic? You have multiply? My ID is lingandyang

120 pple seems quite a lot. Not sure if both courtyard and cabanas can fit but i believe Carlton may be able to work out something for you.

Hi lingandyang and pastillies,
i am also a carlton bride to be ghee..but still got to wait coz is in June
By the way, can send me the rom fotos that u gals have taken?...pai seh ah coz i don't haf multiply so can u gals kindly email to [email protected] thanks in advance

Hi viv&bl,
gd luck in your job hunting and may u find a job that u like soon ya ;)

hi sleepydopeey and christy,

my photos are also in multiply. cos there are many photos so i think if u want to see more of my photos, u will have to sign up a multiply account. it is quite easy. just to go www.multiply.com to get an account. let me know your multiply id and i will be able to invite both of u to see my photos.

hi sleepydopeey,

thanks! i don't want to give myself to much pressure so i said to myself that i have 3 months to find job. i am left with 2 months. hopefully i will be able to find a job by end of june.

Hi Sleepydopeey,

Congrats in advance! Me same as viv&bl, there are quite a number of photos, and the size may be too big too email to you. Dun mind can open a multiply account for free, and i will add you to my contact so that you can see.

hi celeste, thanks for ur compliments

u can also consider taking some post ROM outdoor shoots

hi christy, like wat lingangyang says, 120pax is a bit ...mmm alot of ppl...have u went down to take a look at the place? lingandyang shared with u her photos @ the waterfall rite?? Ive added u to multiply too, mine Solemnisation was at the Carbanas.

hi Sleepydoppy, sorry but as the file sizes are quite big so wont be sending via email. i've drop u an inviation to join multiply..jus flow the insturctions there
see u on multiply soon

hi viv&bl, dun stress urself too much! take it easy! gambatte!

hi lingandyang,

Thanks! Seen the pics, very nice.. with bright sunlight, the photos are very natural.

hi pastillies,

Thanks too! So Carbanas is sheltered.. good at noon time, else too hot! hehe.. Nice pics too! ;) outdoor is always better.. ;)

well, the reason for 120+ pax is coz this will be our actual wedding as we dun wan to have dinner. We intend to have tea ceremony 1st, then solemnisation then lunch. so that will include relatives & frens! *sweat*

will go down next week to view & discuss....

Hi Christy,

thanks for viewing! Yah because of the bright sunlight, the photos turn out to be quite natural. But courtyard can be quite hot as there is no shelter at all. But that time, during the ceremony, only us (those involved in the solemnisation including JP) are in the sunlight, the guests are in shade. So quite lucky, otherwise all guests will hide under the trees. Hehehe.

The cabanas has another feel which i also quite like.

Oh i see, perhaps carlton may block off the entire pool area for you? Maybe you discuss with them le then let us know how is it. Btw who is your coordinator? If you haven't set on the coordinator, maybe you can consider Jason. He is my coordinator and is very nice and accomodating.

All the best for your discussion.

Hi pastillies,

Yes i thought of doing abit of post ROM shoots. Has told my photographer abt the idea. Will share with u my photos after the whole event of solemnization & shoot out.
Date getting nearer.... i'm getting more nervous.

Hi Christy,
I see you have alot of guests for the wedding. Since it is also consider the "customary wedding", why not consider a slightly more grand place which is indoor & can occupy so many ppl. In this case, everyone including urself will feel more comfortable. It's a once a life time thing. I can intro u my solemnization place at Raffles Town club. The pricing is reasonable & they provide a wonderful ballroom with red carpet for march in. Food choices are pretty good too. I took tea buffet so maybe you can take the lunch or dinner set. If you need further infor, feel free to contact me.

hi lingandyang,

Im suppose to meet Rose..... so I guess she will be my coordinator. :S

hi Celeste,
hehe.. I am considering Raffles Town Club as well! Big ballroom rite? Well, we like to have a special venue. so hope to have something outdoor for solemnization. well, still considering. thanks for suggesting!

Hi Jean,

My ROM is on 07/07/07 also! Wat time is urs? Mine is at 1pm at the cabanas.

Hi viv&bl and Lingandyang,

Can add me on multiply also? wanna see ur pix!
Mine is deprincesssharon . Did u all have additional deco besides Carlton's? Coz now I abit worried will the solemnisation table look too bare, the stairways etc.

Hi Pastillies,
Hows ur house reno and wedding preps coming along?

Hi emeraldbride,

i add you le! thanks for viewing!

Hi De_princess,

i just added you too. Eh, no i dun have additional decor. I think their decor look quite sufficient to me. Your solemnisation is at cabanas hor, then you dun have to worry. Cos cabanas have more decor than courtyard actually. Mine is at courtyard.

If you worry, perhaps can arrange some of your friends to throw confetti over you when you march in, so the stairway will be fill up with confetti, and in a way is decor also. You can take a look at my pic. Cos before i march in, i also tot the path look very bare, but after my frens started throwing confetti, it added some colours. Hope this help!

hi Christy,

like wat Celeste says, take ur time to look ard for ur venues, afterall it's once in a lifetime & moreover u're having so many guest! 120pax is like 12 table! so must make be a bit more grand as well.
if u still need any info regarding carlton let me know, i'll help with watever info i rem

p/s i'm havin my wedding in sentosa, it's another venue which u can consider to have ur solemnisation by the sea
(though i'm not doing solemnisation by the sea since already ROM, only doing dinner).

hi deprincess,
hse reno havent started but i've almost finish purchasing almost everything for the hse! haha a bit KS hor....but wasnt done on impulse la...went to see a lot of furniture shops (at least >5-6) before finalising & ordering...now just waiting to finalise on my reno quotation & cant wait to bring in the furniture to our new place after the reno!
how abt u? hows the preperations?

u took any bridal pacakge for ur ROM or going al la crate? hows ur gown choosing?

hi de_princess.

i had invited u to my multiply site. 07/07/07 is a nice date. must be a popular date.

i didn't have additional deco besides carlton cos i think it is sufficient. you may have a look at my photos then u decide whether u want to have extra deco.

Hi pastillies,

Thank you for your advices.
Just wanna book a nice place & then relax.. hehe.. As for Sentosa, my future bro-in-law had his wedding there, so we are not going there for our wedding. Sentosa Rasa was my 1st choice last time when we talked about wedding. Sigh..

i'll be holding rom at carlton, read that some of you held it at the cabanas and some held it at the courtyard (same level as the esplandade room), i was wondering what's the pros and cons of the 2? How about the poolside, that's the cabanas issnt it?

How much did you guys pay? Mine 's max 30ppl @ $1380+++

Hi moomooland,

great that you have chosen Carlton. I think you will be satisfy with their service too.

I had mine at courtyard. In fact, both courtyard and cabanas have their special points and feel, perhaps not so much as pros and cons, but depend which kind of feel you like.

For courtyard, the good things are seats are provided for your guests. It is like a more formal setting. But at courtyard, it maybe slightly hotter especially for the ceremony table, as during noon it is direct sunlight. And waterfall is just beside you, so at the same time when it is a nice background, the water sound can be a bit noisy too.

As for cabanas, the guests usually just stand around, but there will be more decor for cabanas actually. And your ceremony will be under the pavilion which has a balinese feel. Hence you will be shelter from the sunlight.

The cabanas is nearer to the poolside, but at the courtyard, you can't see the pool. The courtyard is like one level lower than the pool.

I signed with them last year, so my package is $1120+++.

Hope this helps a bit.

hi lingandyang,

yes i checked out your photos...simply lovely! you look very sweet and both you and your hubby look very happy and blessed

your pics inspires me to hold it at the courtyard as well.

i suppose your package came with complimentary nite's stay as well?

hi moomooland,
the poolside is near the carbanas but not exactly next to it. it's rather cosy due to the small space hence more private...like private party kind...there's only 2 carbanas there & 1 would be use for ur solemnisation while the other is left freely, hence most guest will just crowd ard, take shade/shelter fm the sun in the other carbanas...

I had mine at the carbanas. there'll be a small slope for u to walk up fm the esplandae room to the carbanas. we used that path as a mini walk in.

exactly wat lingandyang says, the carbanas will give a more balinese feel while the courtyard more formal. Hv u check out the actual venue? u shd & u can hv a better feel of the place.

Hi moomooland,

thanks for viewing and the compliments! Hehe. . . Oh really huh that my pics inspire you to hold yours at courtyard. I feel so flattered! Most of the ladies here held theirs at the cabanas. Hence before my ROM, I can't find any reference photos of the courtyard. But I'm glad everything turn out well. If your timing is around 2pm like mine, then not to worry about the hot weather, as the guests area should be in shade.

Yes my package comes with the nite's stay.

Yah perhaps like what pastillties said, you can check out the actual venue if you haven't done so. I think both courtyard and cabanas are nice.

Btw can share when is your ROM?

Ok thanks gals..think I no need worry abt the decor for solemnization table. I realised all of u took Esplanade rm and there is a reception table... they will deco too? Mine's at Empress Rm at Level 2.. u think necessary to have a recption table there?

Hi Lingandyang,

U juz bot the rose petals fr florist for the confetti?

Hi De_princess,

for the reception table, usually they will cover the table with cloth, and there will be a centrepiece. I think that's all for the decor for reception table. Yours is at Empress room, i think there will be a reception table too. eh. . . for me i think it will be good to have, but also depend if you think is neccessary not not. If you intend to give your guests something to write, like cards for them to write their wishes, then perhaps a reception table will be nice. Also i find that reception table serve like a gathering point, i notice my guests like to gather themselves at the reception table too.

But still depend on how you feel, if you think there is no need to also fine de.

Oh the petals i bought from wet market. They are cheaper and the petals are smaller. cos bigger rose petals are more ex. When i bought them, they are like small roses, and i had to pluck their petals out.

Tks lingandyang! Hehe think I wil get the rose petals
As for reception table gotta reconsider again... Btw ur solemniser is Mr Phang? I am also getting him...how is he? He sounded quite nice over the phone, very fatherly haha

Hi Celeste,

Can you give me your contact from RTC? I waited for one of the gals to call me but she didnt. So hope i can get another contact.

Thank you!!

hi de_princess,

my ROM solemniser was Mr Phang. u can see photo of him in my multiply site. i have never talk to him over the phone cos i asked my hubby to call him. that day was quite rush for Mr Phang as he had to rush to another ROM couple after us. somemore, our ROM ceremony started about 10min later than the time that we should had started due to we were busy and forgot about the time. so didn't have the chance to talk to him. feel quite bad as i think he had to rush as we started late. also, i forgot to ask my friend to give mr phang the parking coupon. so do remember to ask someone to pass Mr Phang the parking coupon when he reach carlton.

Hi De_princess,

My solemniser is Mr Goh. Mr Phang is quite popular too.

If you also plan to buy petals from wet market, its better to order from them a few days earlier. Think will be safer.

Hi Christy,
My contact is Nur'ain Ameer. Is this the same contact as urs? She can be quite busy at times so it's best you send her emails. I got reply from her very fast thru mails but always can't get her thru phone.

hi pastilles/ling,

my rom date is 29th Jun afternoon, i just went down to confirm with Jason to chope the date, also paid $400 deposit. i'm abit ks, went down carlton 3x already, twice on my own to check out the venue hehe...still undecided on the venue...if i choose cabanas, the guests will stand..., if i choose courtyard, the guests get to sit (more formal too), does that mean, the workers in Carlton have to hurriedly move all the seats to the function room for hi tea?

dilemma!!

oh, any one of you have any recs for JP? contacted 2 today, and both dont do weekdays...
any help is welcomed here :D

hi moon
nah u're not KS, it's once in a lifetime definately worth the recee
if talk abt KS, i actaully so KS tt i book my ROM date almost 1 yr in advance haha;p;p anyway tt's over.

nah, i dun think they will hurriedly clear the chairs at the courtyard back to the esplanade room. they will have enuff chairs. cos when i had mine at the carbanas last yr, there were couples holding at the courtyard too (different timings of cos). but doesnt mean i have lesser chairs in the esplande room for my guest to dine.

my JP was Mr Chan, & i do recommend him
not sure if he does wkdays but no harm giving him a call

hi de_princess,
regardless of which function room believe they will have a reception table for you. hw'eve hv u tried requesting for esplanade room?? since it's on the same level as where the solemnisation is going to be held?
fyi i bought extra roses fm those wholesale Florist (Far East Flora) as i DIY my own Bouquet.....quite cheap for the roses i mean....then pluck them out yourself for ur guest to throw as well as for ur own deco.