Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date

Hi jsim15,

No prob! I had invited you already. Do check it out. Thanks for viewing.

Hi Celeste,

I had invited you. Do check your email. After joining, then you can see my photos. Thanks!

Hi lingandyang,
Thanks i have received ur mail. I will join in once the site is up. Now it is under maintenance.

hi apple,
think u can get the pricing & details incl in the package from carlton's website. it's
S$1380+++ (This package is for guest attendance up to 30 persons and subsequent guest at S$35+++ per person) *Prices quoted are subject to 10% service charge, and prevailing government taxes, including GST, unless otherwise stated. Prices are subject to change without prior notice

**cut & paste fm the website*

hi jean,

what i heard from my bs's staff and my hubby's colleague who we asked to help us be our rom main photographer was that actually we have to pay to take photos in chijmes. we didn't engage any professional photographer. just ask my cousin to secretly help us take some photos. luckily, security guard didn't drive us out even though he saw us taking photos at a distance...hehehe

Hi Celeste,

Welcome!! I get them in wet market. Cheaper and quite a lot. They are like small roses cos if i get the big rose petals it will be a lot more expensive and because my purpose is to let my frens throw, so if buy the ex one a bit wasted. So i just buy the smaller petals. But for me i have to pluck out the petals my own. they comes in the normal rose shape. Better to order a few days in advance.

Hi jean,

thanks for viewing.

So how much did you spent all in all for the petals, DIY cards and mock setup? Looks very pro!! I dun think i can make such wonderful cards.

Thanks for sharing with me your photos!! I will put mine in after my ROM & share with u.

Hi Celeste,

thanks. . hehe. i also like my card quite a lot. Spent a lot of time on them. Eh . . i think i spent less than $50 for the whole setup, cos many thing i also DIY. So just bought the material, many are paper materials then print and do on my own. Just that the bowl and basket have to buy.

The petals i think is about $5 for one bag. I bought 2 bags but i din use up all for the confetti.

Yah shall for your ROM photos!

Hi Celeste,
When's ur ROM? Mine's on 7 July and my JP is Mr Koh

Hi LingandyAng,
I like your DIY cards too..and all ur props..

Hi Vi&Bl,
U mean we have to sneak into Chimes to take pics ah?

I rent an ROM package at SB at AMK. We dun have a photography. Prob ask my cousins to take for us.

Hi jean,

thanks for the compliments. I spent quite a lot of effort making the cards and other props. Glad they received positive feedback.

Oh your ROM package is from Seletar B.way mah? It is my Bridal studio too. My ROM gown is from there. You live in AMK?

You booked Carlton already?

Hi pooh Bear,

sure! Do you have multiply? Perhaps you can add me then you can see all my photos.

My id is lingandyang.

Thanks for viewing.

hi jean,

don't know consider as sneak in or not cos we only saw a security guard near entrance of chijmes. we didn't bother and just went inside. inside chijmes, we don't see any guard so we took our time to have our ps. think u can try your luck to have your ps there.

Hi Lingandyang,
I stay in amk and my BS is Seletar B.
I took the ROM package there. Can we take pic with the gown or not huh? I kinda forgot how my gown look like .. haha coz i tried it in Jan and the next visit is end Jun.
I booked Carlton Last Year Sept coz my my rom date is a popular date.

Hi jean,

oh so qiao! I also live in AMK. eh i think can take pictures de. Cos last time i also take. But if cannot hor, can try s..e..c..r..e..t..l..y take . Hehe.

Did you choose Carlton courtyard or the Cabanas?

Hi Celeste,

I will have Mr Chan to be my solemniser on Jul..
Mind to share the experience of the ceremony after ur ROM??

hi lingandyang,
Ya it's so qiao.. Same BS , Same Hotel , Same at courtyard too. What time was ur ceremony at that time and who's ur coordinator?
I stay AMK Ave 1 , how abt u ?

HI Jean,

Ya wo. . hehe. My ceremony that time was about 2pm. Coordinator is Dennis, very friendly and nice, perhaps you can request for him if you wan. What time is your ceremony? Mine was quite hot at that time, as the it was direct sun on us.

I live near AMK central.

hi Jean, sure no prob, i'll send u again...u have a multiply ac already? whats ur id?

lingyangdang, viv&bl,
hows ur preperations for ur wedding? whens ur wedding? i just had my PS today...so so so tired.....but fun!

hi pastillies,

my wedding is on 16 dec 08. not much preparation for my wedding yet. i will be trying on my WG and EG gowns on 28 april...2 more weeks to go....hehe. getting more and more excited whenever i think of it! most probably will have my ps around june. cos i guess we will be busy with house preparation in another 3 months time as we just bought a resale flat.

wow...u must have gone to many places for your ps so very tired. which places did u went? any nice places to recommend so that i know where can have ps? i shall be looking forward to see your ps photos in your multiply site.

Hi pastillies,

my wedding still far away, 21 Jun 2008. So right now, we are not really starting with any preparation yet.

Wow so good you have your PS already. I'm so looking forward to it. Hehe. . . tired right. . But i know you must have tonnes of fun! yah do share where did you go for the PS wo..

Same as viv&bl, i wait for your photos too.

hi viv&bl, how come ur wedding next yr dec so fast u tryin out gown in april? is it for ur PS? when will be ur PS? this yr or next yr? if for ur PS this yr, then will u get to rechoose ur gown again next year nearing ur AD?

sure got places to recommend
I went national musuem, a Pub, Telok ayer (tian fu gong) & Shenton way...however hv to wait for the photos to be out first then will koe how's the effect taken at the place...

hi lingyangdang, i went to those places as mention above...very fun but tiring too!
when's ur PS then? since ur wedding june 08, most likely u'll be takin PS yr end?

I actually went for a lot outdoor, didnt wanted any studio at all, but my PG suggesteed take a bit at least, dun say dun take at all...take already then can decide whether I wan the photos...but if dun take studio shots, next time regret also no use...so i tot abt it...mmm make sense jus take a bit lor. However mainly is still outdoor...

hi jean, I added u on multiply already.

Hi pastillies,

wow you had really enjoyed yourself! You seem to had visited quite a number of places hor. Did you choose to go these places yourself or your BS recommended to you?

I think most prob my PS will be this year end or beginning of next year le. Aiya still got a long way to go.

Yah studio shots tend to be more conservative, not that fun as compared to outdoor. But i think at least got a few studio shots also not bad. Can have a different feel.

hi lingandyang,
hee i choose all the places myself...research then decided on the places...(hehe incl the wirteup in my multiply to share
my BS PG & MUA helped in suggesting the sequence & feasiblity of the locations..

even if it's this yr end or beginning of next yr, nv to late to start taking note of locations mah

yup outdoor is more fun...but hot...indoor more conservative haha but got aircon! so took a bit of indoor just to have a look lor

oh, by the way, my PG did also mention that it's not usual to go so many places for outdoor...most ppl will take finish studio then one shot got outdoor & take....instead of like me keep taking outdoor;p;p

hi pastillies,

pai sei...i typed wrongly. my AD is in 16 Dec 07 so i think it is the right time to choose my gowns. most likely to have ps in june if nothing goes wrong. i a bit kia su so want to settle my ps earlier. then it will be another load of my mind.

wow...the places u go for ps also unusual leh. can see that u must had lots of fun visiting these places for ps. it is good to be different from others so that there will be something special in your wedding album. guess the effect for your outdoor ps will turn out nice since u made a research. me lazy to do research so think will just get suggestions from bs and u gals in s'pore bride forum.

hi viv&bl,
hehe no prob! we all share ideas ard here mah, like i also got the Pub idea fm Nee, another bride in the singaporebrides forum mah, she recommned the place

yupyup, june is abt time for ur PS if ur AD is dec this yr
haha tot it's dec next yr then u will realy be very KS taking ur PS so early;p;p. yup at first i tot mine PS is super early...but then now thinkin back, at least 1 big big thing settled so I can concentrate on AD preps & hse reno;p so now just lookin forward to be able to view the photos
hey take more pic if can when u go for ur gown fitting!

p/s there's a place in Esplanade , it's call V-Tea room. the deco is very victorian style. Hence if u like this kind of deco as background / or ur albumn wants to capture this kind of mood, can consider this place. they charge $30/half an hr incl 2 pots of tea...but they say wkdays is better. wkends too crowded...As my PS was on a sat, & when I ask them was jus 2 days before my PS...so too last min, I didnt go there. although I didnt take my PS there, but Just to share another of my research for ur consideration

hi pastillies,

i don't think your ps is super early lah. is just nice time. heard from u some time ago that u are preparing your house renovation. your house not ready yet? i have the same thought as u. settle ps first then settle house and AD preparations.....hehe. my bs don't allow me to take photos. so maybe can only take photos of gowns i had selected.

i had read posts on V-Tea Room in this forum when i was looking for ROM venue. passby there before and the atmosphere there seems to be nice. i think it will be better to have ps in weekdays as don't have to be in a crowd. thanks for more of your recommendation! i will keep that in my mind.

Hi pastillies,

thanks for sharing your outdoor PS locations. Wow you had done a lot of homework wo. Me must also start searching for places too. I think outdoor shots is fun cos we seldom have chance to dress up pretty pretty and guang ming zheng da take photos.

I also prefer outdoor shots, the scenery will make it more natural and nice. Indoor shots is more emphasize on what poses we having hor.
But the impt thing is to do what you like, and the result will be very satisfying de. Do share your photos when you get it!

Hi viv&bl,

how's thing recently?

hi lingandyang,

my hubby's house valuation report is out. was hoping the value will increase but it remained the same as previous report. think my agent will be submitting the documents to HDB soon. hopefully, will be able to get key before 3 months period.

i am still busy looking for job. went for 2 interviews this week. 1st one is not successful. 2nd one have to wait for the company to shortlist candidates for 2nd interview. i guess i will still take some time to find a job. have to go for more interviews to gain more experience.

will be a super busy year for me this year. hope that all things will run smoothly.

Hi viv&bl,

All the best for your job hunting. Dun be qi nie. At least you still got interviews. Finding job is very hard. but i believe very soon you will find one you like. I guess we all going to have busy year soon, since there is still preparation for the wedding. However, this is also a sweet process, I think we will enjoy it too. Dun worry viv, keep us updated about your job hunt. Everything will be smooth.

Hi Jean,

yes, my ceremony is 2pm. That time is quite hot, but luckily the area where the guests are seated are in shade. Only us (as in those involved in the ceremony, including JP) are in the SUN!

I was quite paiseh as i see the JP starting to sweat. Hehe, you can see in my photos, my mother's eyes almost closing as it is too glaring.

I think by 3pm, it shouldn't be so hot.

hi lingandyang.

thanks so much for your encouragement! though will be very busy year for me but i agreed with u that it will be a sweet process in my wedding and house preparation. sure! i will update u when i find a job.

Hi viv&bl,

hehe welcome! I know at this point of time is when you really need encouragement. This is may be a tougher period but take this opportunity to have a rest and do the thing you like. Cos once you found a job then it's back to work every weekday. Then life will be like routine again!

I'm sure you will find an ideal job soon!

hi lingandyang,

ya lor. this is only time i can really rest but rest too much will become lazier so also no good. i hope to find a job before i will be busy with house and wedding preparation. have to leave to fate liao. can't push things to come. when job want to come, it will come.

I am new here. I have started scouting for a ROM venue & is considering both Amara & Carlton. Rose @ Carlton is supposed to send me pictures for my reference but has yet to do so. Anyone who has held their ROM there can share their pictures with me?

In addition, I wonder if the basic decoration is sufficient or do I have to engage a florist? Anyone has ROMed @ Carlton & brought in their own florist? What is the estimated cost?

hi viv&bl,
jia you in ur job searching! it's not easy leh changin new job, at the same the preparing for wedding, house, etc...dun tired urself out!

hi dolliebride,
there's a few places to hold ur solemnisation at Carlton: the carbanas, the waterfall & inside the banquet room. Mine was at the carbanas. Ive send u the link to hv a look.

the basic deco is enuff...at least for me i felt so...actually on the day, u'll be so nervous & excited to even notice much haha;p didnt search ard for florist for additonal flowers as didnt wan to waste too much $$..;p

Hi viv&bl,

yah agreed that rest too much also not too good. But in the meantime, you can do some activities you like. Just try your your best in your job hunting but dun be too hard on yourself. Shun qi zi ran, i think you will get a job you like soon. Like last time when i was jobless for 1 year, it seem like i will never find a job again. But luckily still managed to get one. jia you wo!

Hi DollieBride,

i held mine at the courtyard, which is beside the waterfall pastillies had mentioned. Do you have multiply? You can see some of my photos there at mulitply. My ID is lingandyang.

I also din add any more decor that day. I only decor the reception table. They will provide centrepiece for reception table and the ROM table. If you choose cabanas there will be more decor actually, but mine is at courtyard. Overall decor i think is quite nice and sufficient already.

hi pastillies,
thanks! if too busy with work, i will throw the house and wedding preparation to my hubby...haha. just kidding.

hi lingandyang,
thanks! ya, i agree with u. as long as i persevere, i guess i will get a job sooner or later.

hi dolliebride,
u may view my photos at multiply site too. my multiply id is teovivian. but u need to be my contact to view my ROM photos. my ROM solemnisation was in Cabanas. i think the basic decoration is sufficient so i didn't engage any florist and can save $ like pastillies.