Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date
hi pastillies,

you're welcome! i must say a big thank u to u also for sharing with us your pics and experiences on rom in carlton.

Hi Pastillies,

I would like to know ur BS and PG contacts, and also ur ROM photos

My ROM is on 070707. Today i jus went to Chevrons to view the room... the lady ask me if i got any questions... i m not prepared... haha.. now reading the forum.. i should have ask her whether do they provide sound system all tat to play music... now in a lost of how the ROM will be like...

Can i check with you gals, those marching in all that, is it the organiser at Chevrons will help me? or is it i have to Plan all on our own?

Pls Advice.. Thanks..So noob...

Hi viv&bl,
sure, looking forward to see yours soon too!

Hi Alice,
Congrats on ur coming ROM on 070707. Wah! very popular date leh!Better book ur place, etc early =)

My BS is JWN-Julia Wedding News. PG is Jacky Tan. If u need the contact can pass to u.
haha to view my ROM photos i need to send u the link. what's ur email?

oh whether ur Chervons organiser will help u with the march in, etc, u may have to check with ur Chervons organiser directly....can't advice u as ours is held in Carlton. For carlton,yup the organiser/ ops manager will assist u on that day. of cos, u got to before hand tell them what u wan, i.e a march in or not...etc

which others places are u lookin at for now?

Hi Pastillies,

my email add is [email protected]

i dont have any places to choose from.cos mostly already booked by others.

thanks for your advice. i will ask e organiser will she assist me on that day.

by the way, my organiser has describe briefly the room deco, how can i know whether i need extra deco as i don have any pics of the deco she describe to me.
Do you have any other places to recommend?

hi alice,
sent u the link.

mine was held at Carlton (which is the subject of this forum thread)....so really unable to advice u on whether u need extra deco for ur ROM venue at Chervons. For carlton, no extra deco needed for the place, they did a great job in providin the deco for the solemnisation as well as ballroom for dinning. I only provided my own deco for the reception table tt's all...

mmm the way u put it, so u r still considering other places or have already decided on Chervons? a bit confusing ah..

HI pastillies,

thanks for the info about the courtyard! yah all i know is that courtyard is beside the waterfall, and i also wonder why am I the only one who choose courtyard. All others ladies here seem to choose carbanas wo. mh... never mind, hope it turns out well too..

Yah will take a look at the photos you mentioned. Thanks again pastillies!

hi lingandyang,

hahaha...i choose cabana cos most previous couples had their rom in cabana. like it as it is in a nice greenary surrounding.
i curious why u choose the courtyard. not bad also leh as u can have seats for your guests unlike cabana where guests have to stand.

Hi viv&bl,

Because I choose courtyard already then i realised from the forum that most of the ladies chose carbanas..hehe. In fact Jason brought us to see both courtyard and carbanas. we tot both are nice, but courtyard seem to be more open-space and our guests can sit comfortably. And moreover, the courtyard setting is the common one we know about ROM ceremony loh. that's why we choose that. gee...

Hi zhen84, i've send you the link already

Hey pastillies, you signed up with JWN?
Hmmm..mind sharing the package with me? So where at AD will be held?

Anyone consider AD at Carlton?

hi viv&bl,
cheers no prob

hi xinglin,
yup my BS package is with JWN, that's where i got my ROM gown, Makeup, as well.
hv PM u abt it.

hello! So long never pop by this thread le.

Pastillies is like the official spokeswoman here :P very helpful!!

Pastillies, how is wedding prep & house reno coming long? I have been bz searching for IDs still finding... And I havent got my dress for ROM! I went to JWN last wk and they have very nice gowns! Tried a few but i forgot to ask them to show their ROM dresses coz I dun want the long kind. They have short kind?

hi de_princess,
wah! such a Big Hat! not sure I'm up to it! just sharing my own experience only la, not the offical spokeswoman , too big to handle
;p

still searchin for IDs too..but was discussing with HB the other day, as we had more or less a concept & idea of wat we wan...we may or may not be engagin an ID afterall...maybe jus need a contractor will do. how abt urself?
when's ur AD? when u need to get reno done by?
yup JWN has short gowns, but they r better in long ones.. anyway mine's considered short, or 3/4 lenght...i've tried on & seen shorter ones than mine too...
which other BS have u look at? did u also try out their WG/EG at JWN. importantly is to also let the BS that u visit let u try out their gowns..cos what appears nice on the rank or not nice on the rank, may have very different effect when we wear on

Hi Pastillies,

Hehe u have been very helpful in this thread ma

My AD is in 2008 so we still have enough time after we get the keys. But wanna settle the reno stuff quickly hehe. Think Ho Bee is quite gd contractor ... will be meetg them next wk for quotation!

I went Sattine, La Vie, J&C and planning to go Ted Wu, Silverlining but know they can be ex too. I quite like JWN actually...Which package u chose - wif the latest designs or normal?

finally, my rom solemnization was just over last sun. it was a memorable and wonderful rom. =)

luckily it was a sunny day so i could have my rom in Cabanas and photoshoot in Chijmes. there were minor crop up due to miscommunication between the staffs but it didn't really affect us much.

pastillies, thanks so much for recommending Louis to me. he had left Carlton. he told us on my rom day that it was his last day. so my rom solenmization was the last one he was involved. glad that i had him as my ops manager. he was very friendly, polite and nice guy. i wanted to da bao the extra food from lunch for our dinner. then Louis said no. he will give us 2 complimentary main course dinner and beverages. he so nice hor?
i guess this was due to the minor crop up in my rom. i ordered crayfish hor fun for dinner and it's so delicious and yummy.

ok, ladies. i will upload my photos to multiply soon. hopefully can do it soon as i have to compile photos from 5 cameras. 3 were from my hubby's camera (2 of his are film-based and i had just got the softcopy scanned by a photo shop today). my hubby also managed to get his colleague to take video. if it's not too huge in size, maybe will upload as well.

Wo viv&bl,

so good wo Louis. Too bad he left liao, I can't request for him. Last Sat when i meet up with Jason, I requested for Louis and jason say he no longer with Carlton. So your ROM will be his last project le. Hopefully my op manager will be as good.. perhaps i can hint about free dinner too
kao_drool.gif
Crayfish hor fun?

hi liangandyang,

ya..louis is very good. a pity that he's leaving carlton.

he suggested for us songs suitable to be used for our march in, signature session and just after the signature session end. we used the song "I Promise You" that he suggested to use during the signature session. the other 2 songs is from my cd. btw, what songs have u decide to use in your rom?

we managed to check in much earlier at about 9.15am so that i can have my make-up in with Louis's help.
even though our coordinator promised us earliest 10am.

with jason's help, i am sure he will arrange a good ops manager for u. hehehe...u can try and see if can get complimentary dinner lor. my hubby took photos of our dinner. i will upload it as well. don't drool after u see my crayfish hor fun...hahaha

hi viv&bl!
congrats on becoming Mrs!! can't wait to see ur photos too! wahh i tink i Will Drool over ur Crayfish Hor fun lor...just by typing & tinkin abt it makes me hungry le...so good to have free dinner!! so envy i also dun have..

yup, Louis is great rite
but wat happen at ur ROM? the mis-comm that u mention? in any case, most imptly ur ROM turns out great
lookin forward to see ur photos

Hi lingandyang,
dun worry, i'm sure like wat viv&bl says, ur coordinator will surely assign a good ops manager one for u
U know, I didnt even koe there's suppose to be an ops manager untill Louis called me the nite before to inform me that he's my ops manager. though last min, but things turn out well. so goes to show that I'm sure Carlton has their own SOP (standard operating procedures), will be fine with any ops manager

hi pastillies,

haha...u will drool more when u see my photos of the crayfish hor fun.

ya, Louis has done a great job for us. we requested for upgrade to bridal suite. but when we checked-in, i realise it was not bridal suite. so i had my make-up in the deluxe room. Louis was having difficulties getting us a deluxe room early at 9am as i think they don't have empty room and have to wait for their guests to check-out. so he only promised me can check in at 9.30am. he told us that if he had known it was bridal suite, he could have easily helped us to check-in at 9am. luckily, we were able to check in at around 9.15am, the time that i just reach carlton. he arranged for change to bridal suite while i was doing the make-up. was very happy that we upgraded to bridal suite. very big and nice room.

another thing was we requested for 2 VIP tables but there's no VIP table arrangement in my rom. so i guess that's why Louis gave us complimentary dinner.

i will only be back from KL on sun. so will most probably upload my photos next mon.

Wat kind of music did u all play for the ROM solemnisation (before, during the solemnise & after)? When match in , wat kind of music is suitable?

hi celeste,

i will suggest u to play short instrumental song during march-in and soft music during signature session.

i had instrumental song "Canon in D Minor" as my march-in song, "I Promise You" song during signature session (song from my ops manager) and song "今天你è¦å«ç»™æˆ‘" (Jin Tian Ni Yao Jia Gei Wo) right after the signature session.

Hi viv&bl,
did u had a slow march in like church wedding or swift march in to the table?
Have you still got the i Promise you song? I wld like to have a listen to it.
So total u just played 3 songs across the ~2hrs session?

hi celeste,

actually the distance from start of march in to solemnization table was very short. so u have to walk slowly so that your song will last longer. i don't have the song "i promise u" but carlton hotel has it so i used theirs. beside these 3 songs, we have other instrumental songs we prepared played during our lunch buffet.

So viv&bl, u did a church wedding march in? Is it awkward to march in slowly as it is just a ROM and our ballroom quite big? Can u use a Weddng march(Harp & Sax) music for us to walk in? Is this too exergerating?

hi celeste,

me not a christian so is not church wedding march in. we didn't march in inside our ballroom. instead we march in by walking up the stairs towards cabanas. then followed by our solemnisation in the cabanas. is your solemnisation in the cabanas, courtyard or function room?

pai sei...i think i have not heard of Harp & Sax. maybe u can email me the song so i can hear and see if it is suitable?

Hi vivbl,

I see.
Mine is not at cabanas. My venue is at raffles town club & we have a rather big ballroom and they prepare a red carpet for us from the door all the way to the solemnisation table. So i wonder how we should march in. Feeling awkard cos ROM only. Also not church too.

Oh it's just the wedding march song play by harp & sax instrument. I dn't have the song. Heard it from a website. Thought it songs quite nice but duno appropriate to have wedding songs play on ROM day or not.

hi celeste,

oh i see. in that case, it depends on the distance from the door to the solemnization table. if it is long enough, u might play meaningful english or chinese song instead of instrumental song. i find that the wedding march is a bit exaggerated to be played in rom. it is more suitable for wedding.

hi de_princess,

carlton's rom package doesn't include invitation cards. but maybe u can ask your coordinator if they can provide.

hi de_princess,
u are welcome.
it is actually up to u. i didn't do any invitation card for my ROM cos not a lot of tables like wedding. we reminded all our guests few days our ROM in case they forgot.

My ROM at Carlton is finally over! And I'm glad that I have chosen Carlton. Certainly a great ROM venue and wonderful service too. From the first day I met up with Jason, their good customer service had been consistant throughout.

I got plenty of good comments about the food too. Though i dun really have chance to eat. but still, thumbs up for them!

lingandyang,
wat music or songs did u play there? Did Carlton provide music or songs for u? Like reception time, march in etc...

Hi Celeste,

i combile my own CD to play there. But I know Carlton did provide some songs for us, if we dun have any. The 3 main songs that are more impt are the march in song, the song when you are signing the cert and after the ceremony when you are announced husband and wife.

During the hi-tea, i let them play my CD.

You planning to hold at Carlton mah? When is your ROM?

Hi Lingandyang,

So wat are the 3 main songs u played? Can u share with me?

No i'm not holding my ROM at Carlton. My ROM is on the 9 June 07.

Hi Celeste,

I played the following 2 songs:

March in - Life is Beautiful (Previous DBS Ad)

Signature - Canon in D

After ceremony - Carlton played some songs for us cos we din prepare the 3rd song

Your ROM is also coming up soon. How's your preparation?

Hi Lingandyang,

Oh so all the while the environment is quiet? Cos i have heard Canon in D. It's a short music.How long was ur whole ROM ceremony?

Oh i have almost everything prepared. Now left with gown choosing. So excited. I scare there are too many nice gowns that i do not know which one to choose

Hi Celeste,

the whole ROM ceremony is about 10 min. Yah after the march in, there is no music when the JP is speaking, then when we sign the cert, the second music will come in.

Yah choosing gown is always so excited de. Which is your bridal shop?

Hi Lingandyang,

How abt the part where ppl are waiting for ur march in? Say maybe 15mins before the solemnization, is there any music?

I chose LBelle Couture as my BS. Wat abt u?

Hi Celeste,

oh before the ceremony when the guests are waiting, i think Carlton played some music too. Not my CD. i also came to know it when i view my own video. Cos that day i'm in confused state so a lot of thing also dun know. Hehe.

But after all the guests are seated and waiting for our march in the music had stopped as the ceremony was about to begin. Then awhile later then played our march in music.

I choose seletar b.way.

Oh still hotel service better. I took up Raffles Town club. All music to be provided myself. Now headache duno wat to choose.

How is seletar B.way service and everything. I have yet to sign up a Wedding Package. Still looking around.

Hi Celeste,

Yah Carlton service is really not bad to me. But Raffles Town Club is very grand i think. Perhaps you can combile some of your favourite songs into a CD. Or if you dunno what to choose, maybe can buy a CD full of jazz music cos I think Jazz quite suitable for ROM. hehe but still, you have to see what kind of music you like.

Seletar B.way service gown is quite good as well. It was recommended to me by my fren. And after i sign up with them, i realise many of my other fren and cousins also sign up with them too. Oh you haven't sign up with LBelle mah?

Hi Jean,

I have some Carlton photos at my multiply site. You have multiply? my ID is lingandyang. Perhaps you may like to take a look.

Hi Lingandyang,

Maybe i will consider Carlton for my wedding dinner since u highly recommend it. will talk to my Fiancee and see he has any objection. This save my hassle to search for a hotel. Same for Seletar Bway. Do you think you can share with me ur pics? I do not have a multiply. Can u send me thru my mail : [email protected]

Raffles Town club is grand but not very grand. I wanted it to be grand. I wan it to be memorable for my whole life, since it's a lifetime thing. Since we can afford, we'll make it nice for everyone.

Yes i have a few piano music. Maybe i can play that. Thanks for your advice!

hi jean,

my rom was just over last month. i had invited u to my multiply site. you may view my rom photos there.

hi Jean,
mine was over last dec, i just emailed u the link

yours is on 070707? woh tat's a super hot date!
congrats on ur comin ROM, hows the preperations coming on? where u having it? at the cabanas? or waterfall?

Hi Celeste,

Yah most of the ladies here all give positive comments of Carlton. Probably you and you FH can consider too. As Seletar Bway is at AMK so is more convenient for me. THeir pple are quite friendly and accomodating too. My pictures file size are quite big, not sure if can send all thru your email. Do you mind if i invite you to multiply?

Hi Jean,

had invited you to my multiply. NOw you can see my pics le. THanks for viewing in advance!

Hey viv&bl,

I had posted some ROM photos but not those taken by PG ones. They are taken by our fren. can take a look if you are free!