Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date

re

I am thinking of holding my ROM solemnisation in Carlton Hotel and currently they are having a $800+++ package with complimentary items. Appreciate if any one who had their solemnisation in Carlton hotel can provide some feedback on their food - buffet lunch or hi-tea including services. Any comments are welcome.

Hi RE,

I had my ROM at Carlton ... think not to worry abt the set up and food .... but have to 'bargain' for alot of things like carpark ... mic ... music etc

Service before that was not too good due to the 'bargaining' ... but actal day was alright ... hopw this helps ... but I must say that the package is quite worth it =)

Hi Seabreeze,

Thanks for your reply. I have a couple of questions in my mind and hope that u can help me with it. Sorry for the trouble.

1. May i know who did u liaise with during your negotiation?
2. Is yours a hi-tea menu or buffet-lunch menu?
3. So the food is good?
4. Music, carpark and mic etc etc have to bargain real hard?
5. When u mentioned the service before the actual day was not too good due to the bargaining meaning very bad attitude or ......?

Hope u can help again! Really appreciate it.

Hi Seabreeze,

Some more question: HOw many guest u have?

I am looking at 40 persons. Btw, do u happen to have the hi-tea or lunch menu? Can forward to me? My email is [email protected]

Re, im also having my ROM solemnisation with Carlton on this september. From some of the feedback from gals here that the service and the food are quite ok. As for bargaining.. i agree with seabreeze, i did bargian for the carpark tickets.. for the mic and the music i havent call them yet. I think will call them next week or a few weeks b4 my ROM.

seabreeze.. when did u ask for the mic and the music.. when u sign the contract or b4 your ROM?
I find jerrie quite hard to negotiate more things from her.. she says ROM dun give complimentary tics but my FH manage to get a few from her, we will get a few more for our friends's cars.

Hi RE,

Try my best to help k ...

1. I liaise with Jerrie who is the one and only person in charge. U can contact her at 63118183
2. I had a lunch cos it was more 'worth it' cos they have more food and the cafe is actually open to public for lunch which gives me the assurance that he food must be of certain quality lor ...
3. The food is normal hotel standard food ... not too fantastic but not too bad lor ...
4. Have to ask for it ... but I guess for mine was cos that few days they had many ROM so they didn't mind setting it up for us ... but they only provided 1 mic which wasn't enough ....
5. Cos they accepted my booking first then they went to accept another booking on the same day of my ROM and they didn't tell me until 3 days b4 my ROM. The thing that I was mad was cos they wanted to put us in the same makan area of the cafe which I was very very uncomfortable with. Its like sharing the same ballroom with another couple so I insisted that we be located on 2 diff corner of the cafe. This was quite unpleasant but they relented in the end. Jerrie is not very prompt in her response but I suspect is cos ROM is a small business deal unlike actual day dinner and she is the only person dealing with ROM.

Have to bargain for the carpark rate ... they will give you a few complimentaries tickets ... the rest can pay $3 per entry.

I had 35 guests in the end .... but me booked for 35 + 5 (comfirmed + standby). So if you are expecting 40 guests than its safer to book 35 + 5 so that in the event that your guests dun turn up you dun have to pay for them.

Hi Elanie,

It was after we signed the contract cos we found it really strange to start without a march in and we had 35 guests ... so we were worried that they weren't able to hear. But end up with only 1 mic ... they couldn't hear ... so its the same hahahaha ....

Hi seabreeze,

Thanks a lot for your reponse! Really appreciate it. Seem like Jerrie is a tough gal to deal with. Rather inflexible. U mentioned no march in at all? So how do u resolve that?

hi RE,
me also had my ROM in carlton n it's a day b4 seabreeze. think we saw each other on tat day haha...
anyway, for my ROM i exchanged my complimentary nite stay for a function room cos i want to have everything to be done in one place instead of running around, but i asked for a day use room from 10am to after the whole thing. at first jerrie sound quite reluctant cos she told me must see if the hotel got any rooms or not then told me i can have the room til the ceremony starts cos she dun think i'll need the room after tat. i din really bargain with her over this cos i only needed the room for changing n make up but on tat day she let me have the room from 10 to 8pm so it's not so bad lah...
as for food, i took the lunch menu n my guests gave quite good comments about it so u dun have to worry abt it, i only booked for 30 but i think i have one or two extra guests n they din charge me for it, an extra guest will be $25+++ i think. anyway, on tat day my coordinator is not jerrie but another two guys who were really very very nice n helpful.
as for mic n music, i din really ask for it but they prep them for me. i even forgot to ask for car park coupons when i signed the contract but the two guys were very nice, after our solemnisation, they go around to give out the complimentary coupons for my guests who drove, n one of my frens came after the ceremony n when we asked if they could give us another coupon he's ok with it.
so to summarise, we really had a wonderful time there tat day cos of the services of the two coordinators but i really cant remember their names, i dunno if seabreeze's coordinators are the same..

Hi Re,

The 2 guys on stand by are very nice ... my prob was more of the before that lor ... that day went very smoothly except some hiccup with the carpark arrangements thats all ....

I entended one more night stay and they were nice enough to give me a free upgrade to the premium room (which was in our package) when I paid for the superior price.

ya like seabreeze, it's more of the before tat has prob haha... tat day itself was ok

hi seabreeze,
so u stayed another nite? b4 ur impt day? is tat y y were there when i had my ROM? actually wanted to ask u how come u have to bring ur own flowers? for deco?
and i saw ur pics, u look very nice i like the colour of ur dress, quite unique... do u mind telling me which bridal shop u signed up with? so when's ur actual day? mine will be in Nov... quite worried cos will only have my PS in Sep, dunno got enuff time or not..

Hi Re,

I still had my march in ... if u want you give me your email add and I can send you the link to my ROM photos and you can take a look ... we walked up via the staircase ...

Hi boo,

My bridal is White Link and my dress is MTM ... me liked the colour too ... but it is more green than blue actually ... but it looked very blue on the photos ...

The flowers were used for the march in ... we only used the flower petals ... actual day not sure yet ... waiting for the tong shu ... PS in sept should be in time for your actual day .... where you holding your dinner at??

Hi Boo,
After reading your comments, I just called up Jerrie this afternn to clarify with her , why sometimes they give free car park coupons , she told me unless the high tea hold in the private function room due to the one nite stay in the room was forfeited that's y they are able to give free car park coupons, not like the original package to be held Cafe vic ....isnt true ?....

Hi wonderwoman and all,

For those considering carlton hotel, not sure whether do you all have this feeling that Jerrie is a tough gal to deal with. She is inflexible and difficult to book appointment with her. :P

Anyway, the carlton package is really value for $$$.

I will try to arrange to meet up with her again next week.

can I checked with you something? Is it true that if you didn't book your wedding dinner with carlton, then you have to pay for room rental to rent the place for solemization ceremony?

Hi RE,

Jerrie is okie lar ... just have to be firm lor ... guess its the same everywhere ....

Hi Candy,

Nope ... its a ROM package which you can find the details from the website =)

Hi Candy,

Under the ROm package, you can opt to have the makan in a private function room. When u opt for that, the complimentary stay will be removed. If you still want the complimentary stay, just add another $120.

Hi Seabreeze,

Jerrie send me a sample menu. Can i send to you and see whether is it the same with yours? Can leave down your email?

I am helping my gf to source for ROM venue. Anyone here tried Carlton? Any comments or idea abt the pricing/package? Pls email me if you gals ve the soft copy. My email is [email protected] Thanks!

Jellie,
It is happen in most of the hotel wedding banquet too...very difficult to get them thru phone..you may email to Jerrie at this address : [email protected]..
hope this will help you to get some info..

Hellio kittycat,

Thanks for the info! Anyway, I managed to get her on the line last week, and went down to Carlton last Saturday.

Dunno izit cos I'm easy to please
but I'm quite happy with the overall package. No extras for me except for a complimentary vegetarian main course for my Dad. Think the premium room is quite nice, with a spacious bathroom hahaha

Think Jerrie is alright, not as prompt as I would like her to be, but still acceptable. Perhaps it's difficult to get freebies cos the package they're offering is already much cheaper than other hotels. Most hotels charge abt $30 per person for buffet, and a separate $300 for poolside solemnization, and do not provide a room stay.

Hi elaine,

How many free carparks coupons did you get from Jerrie. Anything else to bargain with her?

I tried asking her what kind of flowers was given but she just say is normal flowers and did not want to tell me what colour and also say that there is not as many flowers as in the photo that she show us.

Hi, I had my ROM at carlton too. Well, do agree that there is nothing much you get out of Jerrie. Like what you gals, maybe the package is comprehensive & reasonable enough, indeed, most hotels are charging at 30+ onwards and don't come with one-nite stay!

Jerrie also told us the carpark of $3 per entry which we really feel very exp! Nevertheless, we decided to pay for our guests and when we went to purchase the coupons, they gave us complimentary! Maybe they can give a few complimentary but didn't want to make it official. You can try your luck, greenleaf.

One more impt thing, better to request for 2 mics if possible. We were only given 1 mic and JP used it. I doubt if all of our 40 guests can hear it clearly!

Oh yah, their food...hmm...not as good as the usual leh. Quite a disappointment. And Jerrie will not be there to "enteraint" you and like what seabreeze has said, yes the two male assistants are good! I think one of them is called Alex if I remember correctly. Good service. Wanted to write a compliment note to him and suan Jerrie for her poor service but aiyah, decided to drop it since everyone just trying to keep a job...

Hi sc,

Thanks for your advice!!!

I really hope that I will be able to get some complimentary carpark on that day..

Congrats!!! When and how was the ROM? Where did you hold the ROM. Is it at the hut or the hut with 2 of it close together? Your guests stood throughout the ROM? I talked to Jerrie about it but she say it is ok for the guests to stand. Did you have a march in? Did you also put some music before the ROM and how was the decor? So you also did not get anything complimentary from Jerrie too?

Did you have an enjoyable ROM and I guess that is the most important thing..... Sorry for asking so many questions... Worried that I will make the wrong decision....

My two cents worth of comment.

From what I saw and experienced during my friend's ROM ceremony, I think you should consider looking for another place. No point settling for the place just because it's cheaper than the rest. This big day of yours happens only once (I hope) in your lifetime.

Some examples to support my views:-

1. The ceremony was held at this cabanas (I hope it is spelled correctly) just beside the pool. The hotel only set up the place 1 hour before the ceremony. The helpers only had less than one hour to make sure the set up is okay. This, I feel, is pretty risky. Just imagine what would happen if something went wrong.
2. I agreed with the comments about Jerrie. In addition, she gave us a feeling that my friend's ROM ceremony is just another ordinary event. This really sucks. When we tried to make sure that this or that will be provided or done, she will just give us that "of course lah" or "i know what to do" look.
3. Food at the lobby restaurant is very ordinary. Most of us simply had one round of helping and we stopped.
4. To revisit point number one, the location is not ideal. The layout of the place only allows two ways for the couple to march in: from the swimming pool or by climbing up the stairs. Both are extremely awkward. Either you are exposed to the guests in the pool or you have to walk the long way from the 4th floor lift lobby before you reach the cabanas. Take note that sound system is lousy (one home use hi-fi supported by a speaker). That means that should you choose to walk up the stairs from the 4th floor lift lobby, you will be walking in slience coz you won't be able to hear the music until you almost reach the top.
5. Support from hotel staff was lacking just as a few of the contributors had said.

That's all I have to say.

Hi Seabreeze, not sure if this thread is still active..Just want to try my luck :P
I understand that your ROM gown is from White Link. Could you send me your pictures please? I have signed up their wedding package that comes with complimentary ROM package. Have not seem their gowns yet. Would appreciate it if you could share some of your pictures with me. You may send to my email address at [email protected]. I look forward to your reply and thank you in advance.

just want to share something with everyone.

I spoke to a lady, Lena wrt the ROM package and I must say that I am not very happy with the way they handle things. The lady send me an email with attachment and the wordings on the email says that its $900+++ for Hi Tea or International Buffet Lunch (min 30pax) which seems quite a good deal.

So when I go down to speak to the lady, she didn't print out the email only the attachment and then the shock, for International Buffet Lunch, it will be $40 per pax, the $900+++ is only for high tea!

Note that even the attachment also mentioned only $900+++ for High Tea or International Buffet Lunch which is so misleading...!! Well, maybe you can say that I can't read the email but at least over the phone, they should have highlighted to me before arranging for me to go down.

My advice, ask carefully (esp ppl who are like me with budget constraint) before u go down.. otherwise you might be wasting your time.

I had my ROM last Dec in Carlton too. Was a better package at 800+++ with comp one nite stay in the superior rm. The banquet sales exec was Diana and she was very nice and patient. From my recollection, she knew my day was on a weekend and told me that weekend is hi tea for 30pax, if weekday would be buffet lunch. She din tell me abt the extra cost as mine was on a weekday anyway.

Hi Bleue,
I'm interested in carlton too. However, just kind of worry about their services, and food. did you get a ball room for your own celebration? or you shared the restaurant with others?

hi everyone...i had my ROM in Jan this year...i rem paying abt 900 bucks for 32 guests...i had my solemnization at the cabanas...and then head to the vic cafe for international lunch buffet....the hotel gave us a corner of the cafe...but other guests can still eat at the remaining cafe...the package also include one nite stay in the hotel and breakfast for 2..and a wine and some fruits...overall i think everything is pretty reasonable..given the amount of money paid
i am quite happy with their service

u can see my ROM pix at this website www.singapore20plus.org click gallery on the left column and look for the album edy and gina rom

Hi QQ(mmqq),

I just had my solemisation at Carlton Hotel yesterday. I also used the Cabanas for my ceremony but I had my buffet lunch at one of the private function room at no extra charge. You can check with the banquet staff to see if such arrangement is possible but be prepared that the buffet spread will not be as much as those offered in the cafe. Overall, a great experience

Hi Clare Woo & Gina,
Thanks for your response. Will discuss with them few months later. My plan is still quite far away. May I know how many guests do you have? I received a quotation from Carlton and it indicated that $5 +++ will be imposed for the lunch menu. I might have 60-70 guests, coz I won't be having my dinner. :P

I had my ROM at Carlton too. The package now is not as attractive as the I had in Dec.

Personally if I would not be having the banquet and has 60-70 guests, I might choose other places. Maybe you would like to check out the packages in Merchant Court or Hyatt Hotel? I think the cost will be abt the same. Its only that you will not get the comp rm.

Just a personal comment, no offence!

Thanks for your comment. Personally, I'm perfectly okay for not having the comp. rm, and what I want is their help to setup a good place for solemn. and some buffet spread(my Budget < $50 pax). Will keep on hunting.

HI QQ,

that was what Im trying to put across, other than the comp rm(which you dun mind not having) I think with your budget, you can find some other hotels having good deals too.Not to say Carlton's setup is no good, but just that there are better choices. Perhaps u can just go and see the cabanas@Carlton on fourth floor to see if that is what you like. If not, may like to chk out other five star hotels.

Hi Bleue,
Will visit the place one day if i happen to pass by these days. I visited Gina's photos and I think the cabana is quite a small place.
I've already obtained a few other quotes from Marina mandarin, trader's hotel (heard that the food is good, but quite unaccessable), M-hotel (good food review), and waiting for a few more.

If any of you would like to have a copy of the details, I can share.

Hi QQ,

I've invited 38 guests. Like what bleue mention, I find that their ROM package is not as attrative now especially if you're looking for a lunch venue.

Hi gina, u look very pretty. May i know who is yr make up artist. would like to engage her as well. could u give me her contact nbr?

hi lisa my MUA is sandy ho...she charges 80 bucks. quite reasonable. u can find her contacts from singapore brides forum...i dun have her num now.

Hi, sorry that I have been out of this forum for quite a while.. and I lost the emails from carlton because of my hardisk crash. The details are in the website.
http://www.carlton.com.sg/weddings.htm
look for kelvin and he is very helpful. Heard that Agnes is not as nice.
I went to see the outdoor area (swimming pool side) but I do not like it. However, my FH likes the indoor area. very wide (esplanade room 1 &amp;2). And he likes the buffet there too.. so...

hope it helps.

hi gina
ive seen ur rom photos at carlton
im having my rom at 28/02/05
planning to have lunch buffet at tat hotel.
seen their rom package 2005 tru internet, include
complimentary usage of poolside for solemnize, one nite stay at deluxe rm, complimentary carpark coupons up to 20% etc.

if im having my solemnize at the ROM then headed to the hotel, do u tink its convenient for my guests to go to the hotel?

or.. instead of having solemnize at ROM, plan it at carlton hotel will it be better?

their rates for my 30pax is $900.00+++, subsequent guest will be $28++/pax &amp; additional $5++ if im choosing for lunch buffet.
do u tink their rates is xxx...??

till now still left 3mths to my rom cum solemnize, im in a lost &amp; confusing..
pls help...

hi gina

im in a loss now...
im thinking whether to have my solemnize at rom then headed to carlton hotel
or
to have my solemnize at carlton hotel.

if im gng to have it on carlton, i muz find a jp for the ceremony..
but ive left 3mths to go
pls help....

HI ger,

Carlton mentioned that their rate is 999 nett if you can confirm by end of this yr. so why don't u confirm the place and date, and start finding a JP and hold it at the hotel?

Then ur guest dun have to rush here and there.