Bookclub - what are you reading?

Oh, your FH is reading AGoT ? (A Game of Thrones...I'm too lazy to type out the whole thing! Clash of Kings will be CoK, and A Storm of Swords will be ASoS from now on :p) I think guys will like it more, esp with all the bloody battles. Some sex too, heh.

Yes, there will be dragons, and they will be connected to Dany (seeing that the Targaryens are associated with dragons). Heh, there are some major spoilers down the road, and I can't tell them to you coz they are SHOCKING. You will regret knowing it in advance
However, as of book 3, I still have no clue as to who Jon's mother is, but there is alot of speculation on his parentage. Will share em with you when you're done. Well, what do you want spoiled? *cackle*

man_tou_bear

Ya my FH is reading AGoT. He likes it very much... heeheee... i like it too, but the both of us became increasingly impatient towards the end. We were sick of guessing and guessing...

Actually i dun want to hear any spoilers but hor i m a bit sick of waiting... heehee.. i m in half a mind to ask u to tell me...

Hehe..my hubby and I are gonna fight to be the first to read A Feast for Crows (AFFC) when it's out later this year. I'll probably win, altho he did argue that he is the faster reader :p I'm gonna get Raymond E Feist too..hubby was telling me that his first series was quite good too. What were the names of the books again? I saw Magician the other day..what were the others from that series? He couldn't remember.

For a simplier, yet highly engaging series, try stuff from Robin Hobb. She has 3 trilogies out, and all are intertwined, with the 1st and 3rd trilogies based on the same character. For these 2 trilogies, the chapters are all seen from the eyes of her one and only protagonist. Her main character also bonds with a wolf (like the Stark children and their direwolves), and it is very touching indeed. Made me cry a couple of times.

man_tou_bear

Wah another series Alhana? heehee... let me finish Martin's first. Who are The Others? Are they dead or what? gd or evil?

Feist first book is Magician. Followed by Silverthorn and Darkness at Sethanon. The next few books are books linking to another series called the SepentWar Saga. Feist is very different from Martin. His is more of war and magic. Martin is more abt knights and the old way.

Yup, Martin did say that he was inspired by events of English history, hence his interest in knights and warfare. There's not so much magic in his books...yet. Later you will see the rise of the God of Light, and the Red Priests and Priestesses will gain in power. Then of coz there will be dragons. The Others..it's not really explained what they are. They are some supernatural dark beings from the old world, so ancient that people don't even believe that they exist. So far they seem evil...you will see more with Jon's chapters. Chapters with The Others are quite scary. They remind me of the Ringwraiths from LOTR :p

Ok, will look for Feist's books in San this weekend.

Hi Bear

I'd rented Magician on Sat. About 200 pages into the book. It's alright so far...taking quite awhile to build up. You're right..it's very different from Martin....Feist is really more towards old-school fantasy (ie like LOTR or Dragonlance). Man, one scene in the dwarven mines seemed right out of the Mines of Moria. The characters seem very one-dimensional now...I'm hoping to see more character development as the book progresses. Since it's written from a child's perspective, that's probably why everything seems so simplified now.

Anyway, we couldn't find the second book in San. Had to order it. Seems that way with series..always some middle book missing!

man_tou_bear

Alhana,

My FH finally returned AGoT. but i m in the midst of Mariam Keyes'latest book...The Other Side of the Story... so i haven't finish AGoT!! this is the longest time i took to finish a book! haizzz cos its a bit long winded... FH asked me to get the 2nd book though..

Ya Magician is very much easier to read... and they are rather boring with the exception of Tomas and Pug... all others are hard military men... its more of war then anything else... My fav character is Jimmy the Hand. u will meet him in the middle of the book and in Silverthorn and Darkness at Sethanon.

Has your FH told you what happens at the end of AGoT? That's when the shit hits the fan and things really start to take a turn for the worst. For the 3rd book, do take note that there are 2 versions. The US publisher released the paperback in 1 book, whereas the UK publisher released the paperback in 2 books. It's the same..just that the US one is really damn bloody thick...prob why the UK one broke the 3rd book into 2 parts. My hubby's fren didn't know..he took the UK version and he took only part 2. Started reading and wondered why the story didn't make any sense :p

Actually I'm finding Magician harder to read than AGoT. AGoT got me interested right from the prologue..in Magician, I'm still waiting for the excitment to start. Hence, it's getting draggy. Even the battle scenes are not as exciting as AGoT. Hubby sez I'm spoilt by GRRM. Perhaps. But he said it does get better, so I'm still going at it. Actually Robin Hobb is like that too. Story takes so long to build up, I almost gave up. But am glad I didn't coz the story got much better as it progressed. Heh, just found out her latest book is out. So another book for me to read. yay!

man_tou_bear

Hi Alhana,

Ya my FH told me what happened. U know how he read the book? He read all the chaps on one character! finish one character then start on another one! heehee... the funniest thing is that i instinctively tot the Starks as the gd guys while the Lannisters as the bad ones (except for Tyrion). is that true? he also told me that the dragons returned... i think the dragons will be used to fight agst the Others! what do u think?

funny, i tot Feist was easier to read... all the character hopping from Martin is making the story disjointed... not as smooth flowing... heee.. we are opps!

Reading MArtin is like watching Lost..every ep features one character...maybe I'm used to the bouncing around so it didn't bother me. In fact it keeps me on the edge and I'm just more eager to read on to find out what happens. Actually your FH should not do that, coz he will spoil it for himself. Some things will happen to major protagonists in other major characters' chapters. Major plotlines regarding certain characters may not even happen w/in their own chapters. It can be seen thru the eyes of another. Even tho each chapter is a different character, the flow is there, depending on where they are. Eg Eddard, Arya, Sansa's chapters are all based on King's Landing, and things happening to the other can be seen in another's chapters. The only time it may seem disjointed is if he switches from King's Landing to the Wall or something, but I appreciate it..coz if I just read only one aspect, it'd get kinda tiresome.

Not all Lannisters are bad. I'm very fond of Tyrion, and also of Jamie. You will see Jamie's POVs in the 3rd book, and heh, he is quite a character. Cersei's 2 younger children are quite ok too..only Joffrey is a pain. I think Cersei will have her own POV in book 4, which will be interesting. So far she's painted as a cold hearted ambitious bitch. It'd be interesting to see things from her perspective. I think that's what so great abt this book. Since you see things from all angles, the characters are not one-dimensional. It's not so simple as he is bad, and he is good. And I like that. We're all hoping that the Hound will also have his own chapter. He is also one of my faves.

Dany will have alot of obstacles to face before she even thinks of reclaiming her throne. Crossing the sea is already a challenge. However, we think that the dragons will probably be the answer to getting rid of The Others. Well, guess only GRRM will know

man_tou_bear

Heee. i guess both of us are too used to reading those one way book.. ie the story flows not jumping btw characters... Both of us are rather impatient....

I keep having the impression at Jaime and Cersei are the bad guys... sorry but may be that's what the Starks are thinking, seeing that book one was mostly from their point of view. Hrmmmm i tot he became Robb's prisoner? I think in the end, all of them, the Starks, the Lannister etc etc all have to band together to fight the Others. Even Dany too! But this ending seems rather simplistic, dun u think?

Anyway i m trying to finish Mariam Keyes' new book... quite gd as chick flicks go.... give it a try.. The Other Side of the Story...

I guess it really depends on the story. For me, whatever style is ok, as long as the story can sustain my interest. If it flows smoothly, but is a colossal bore, then I wldn't wanna read it too :p For GRRM, it's like a cliffhanger at every chapter..like watching an exciting TV show and having to wait till next wk to find out what happens..yeah I am a TV addict so I thrive on that..hehe.

Cersei so far....she's still bad as far as book 3 goes. Exactly, how we see them is how others see them..it's very different when you see things from the character's own point of view. You will see how Jaime loathes his title 'Kingslayer' later on..and how conflicted he actually is. Alot of stuff you wouldn't have known based on how others perceived him. Hence the good thing about having many POVs. Confusing but adds more depth to the characters. Heh..it will get more complicating later on as more characters are given their own chapters. Theon will get his own in Book 2..and Jaime in 3. Sam also gets his own chapter.

Man, I have too many books to read now. Still have Feist, and later on Robin Hobb, and GRRM after that. I'm also supposed to read the Sandman graphic novels, it's still waiting for me on my shelf....sigh, so many books, so little time.

dottyback

levynn wad izit abt? interesting? hehehe

i'm gonna finish reading Amy Tan's 'The Opposite Of Fate' soon n wondering wad 2 read next

levynn

serene... it's a story abt a "special" child wif sth like autistic... it mostly talks abt how he feels abt the different things that had happened ard him. gives u a look into the mind of an autistic person.

i personally find it quite nice... a little sad, but funny at some parts. however, it depends on individuals... as u will see fr the archives that some of us like it, some of us don't.

kmich

levynn...since u like 'the curious incident of the dog in the night-time', wonder if u have read 'a child called it' and 'the lost boy'. Both are no 1 bestseller and are written by the same author: David Pelzer, abt his life.

A child called it - synopsis:
as a child, dave pelzer was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother, a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games that left 1 of her sons nearly dead. she no longer considered him a son, but a slave; no longer a boy, but an 'it'...when he was allowed the luxury of food it was scraps from the dogs' bowl. outside world knew nothing of the nightmare played out behind closed doors...dave dreamed of finding a family to love him and called him their son. it took years of struggle, deprivation and despair to find his dream and make something of himself in the world...

a child called 'it' covers his life from age 4 to 12. the lost boy covers his life from 12 to 18. i'm selling mine if anyone is interested cos i never read a bk twice...

dottyback

hey levynn i finished the book! hee i love it! its farni n sad...very very interesting the kinda 'logic' Christopher has hehehe thanx 4 recommending

k-mich u mean the 2 books r by Mark Haddon oso? How much r u selling the books 4?

kmich

no, not Mark Haddon.

the 2 bks are written by David Pelzer, the 'boy' (Dave) who was tortured by his mother when he was young. now that he has grown up, he actually wrote abt himself, his past...(true story)

bought at $18.85. selling at $12 each.

levynn

serene...
wah... u read very fast. too interesting to put down, huh??
i'm like that too... if i have nothing to do, i can finish a book in 1 day.

k-mich...
thanks for the recommendations. i'll go look for them.

dottyback

levynn hehe ya lor ya lor if its those kinda thin book can finish fast fast if its interesting...err i actually finish da vinci code in 2 days tho i'm not as crazy abt it as my frens hahaha

k-mich i replied u liao...i wait 4 ur sms ok?

avid_reader

hi JL, if I'm not wrong the 1st book is Confession of a Shopaholic.

I'm reading Liu Hong's Startling Moon. Can't compare it to Amy Tan or Adeline Yen Mah's books but it's ok so far. What is everybody else reading?

man_tou_bear

Read Dan Brown bks but not Digital Fortress.. what i will call no brainer action movie EXCEPT its in a book form.... enjoyable like those action movie but in the end makes u wonder why all the actions for.. heehee.. that's my take on it..

Hey u guys can try Kathy Hooper (or issit Kooper?)... A crime writer.. with a lil' psychic.. not too bad...

Alhana I managed to finish AGoT! still haven't get my ass off to get the next book.. I like the way it ended... Danys and her dragons!!

Hi Bear,

Finally! I'm not doing so well myself. Taking v long to read the Feist books :p Already finished Magician and Silverthorn..just started on Darkness. It's ok lah..not as complex as GRRM..I find the story too simplistic, and at times, too convenient. Like how Pug & Thomas became very powerful? It took like 1 page and whoosh, they are all-mighty.

Weren't you sad that Ned had to die? I was quite upset that he got killed off. Cersei is not one to be trifled with..too bad he did not pay heed to her warning.

Hi Elly and other DB fans,

Have only read the Da Vinci code. Agree w Bear that it's like watching a no brainer action movie. I don't fancy his writing style though..find it quite childish. Even HP is better written.

dottyback

hehe aquarius i oreadi 4got most parts of those books wahahahahha its those kinda books whereby if u go long flight lah...nutting else beta 2 do than read..now come 2 tink of it..oso duno y so goot lart finish reading each book in 2 days hahaah

man_tou_bear

Alhana,

heee... May be I have very simple mind so dun really like complicated book... i like Feist becos of the magic involved. Didn't read much of it in AGoT. I like magic!!! The way Pug does magic is wonderful. also like the concept of how Tomas got his power. I didn't read anything similar in other fantasy books. Have u?

Actually it wasn't Cersei's fault that Ned was executed. Was her stupid son! What's his name ah??? The spoilt no brainer stupid fella! Did Tyrion really went back to take care of the throne? I tot at the end of the 1st book, the Lannister's patriach sent Tyrion to be the Hand or something to the throne?

My FH told me not to get the 2nd book. cos he wouldn't be able to slp until he finishes it!!! heee....

dottyback

hi alhana n bear

wad books r u all toking abt har? like so magical like dat leh! haha i oso wanna read! but very cheem anot? 2 cheem i cannot make it :p

Har? So u guys are not reading the 2nd book? The third book is the best so far...very exciting, with a lot of battles, and even more plotting against characters.

Cersei could've stopped her son (Joffrey), but she didn't. Yeah, he's a spoilt brat. He gets more irritating in the next 2 books, and Sansa will suffer the brunt of it.

Hmm...I don't really feel much for the magic in the Riftwar Saga. It's like watching an RPG computer game being played out :p I prefer how magic was portrayed in Dragonlance. And the thing abt Tomas..he's like so powerful and stuff, but he isn't featured much at all. He is kinda dull to me. I dunno..i feel his characterisations are very weak, underdeveloped. I don't feel anything for his characters, which is bad. His characters just fall in love, or become all-powerful just like that..no build up. BUt my hubby says the other Fiest trilogy is better..the one about the Demon wars. He says it's grittier. Have you read that?

man_tou_bear

HAHAHA! Serene u are soo cute....

There are 2 authors we are talking abt. George R.R. Martin wrote a series of books starting with A Game of Thrones (AGoT). That was what Alhana recommended me to read. Very complex book but nonetheless very interesting and colourful.

I intro her to read Raymond E. Feist, starting with the book Magician. She finds it rather simplistic (i agree compared to AGoT). This one has more magic than AGoT...

If u want something to start with u can always try Eddings or the Dragonlance Chronicles series starting with the book Autumn Twilight.

Hi Serene

I'm reading Raymond E Feist's Riftwar Saga now...it was recommended by Bear. You may like it coz it's not cheem at all :p The one i recommended to her, George R R MArtin's A Song of Ice and Fire series seems too complicated for a lot of people, but it is damn good. I like my stories complex, and characters well developed, and GRRM is both
If you like magic and fantasy (think Lord of the Rings type of story), try Dragonlance. It is great for people new to fantasy. Has elves, dragons, dwarves, gods etc .. lotsa magic .. love..action..drama..the works. And yes, it's not cheem..haha. Dragonlance has many books in the series though..I wld only recommend the first 2 trilogies..the rest are crap.

man_tou_bear

Alhana,

Yes yes Joffrey (sounds like a bloody whim). He gets the Hound to hit Sansa (other dumb sounding name. Gets on my nerves. She betrayed her father indirectly!) I think the Hound likes Sansa! heeee...

I read the Serpent War series, have it in fact. but there is only a lil' on the Demons but not much of them.. i do rem reading more of the demons leh but dun rem which book it is. i thinku must read all the books before that before u understand all the nuances in that series lor... Of all the books, i like Silverthorn best, cos of the dark magic....

for me i have no probs with the built up of the characters. cos i dun like long drawn out affairs.. heehee.. my personal opinion ya?

hahaha we recommended Serene the same books. Agree abt the Dragonlance books. Can only go for Dragonlance the Chronicles and The Legends. The 2nd series made me cry, esp at the end where Raistlin did see his mistake... so sad.. poor cameron...

levynn

for dan brown's books, i only read "da vinci code" n "angels n demons". got "digital fortress"... but was halfway thru it n didn't feel like continuing, been collecting dust since start of the yr...

but for the 2 i've read... i prefer "angels n demons".

Hi Bear

At least we agree on Dragonlance :p Yeah, the first 2 trilogies were really good, esp Legends. My favourite character used to be Tasslehoff, coz he was such a clown. His relationship w Flint was one of the best pairings in the first trilogy. Also love Raistlin and Dalamar.

Yah, Sansa is irritating too. She won't improve much, but she will suffer alot in the next 2 books. Feel kinda bad for her. My fave Stark is Arya. She is really cool.

If you want, give Robin Hobb a whirl. Her stories are not as complex as GRRM...it's not actually...but her characters are very well-written. She made me cry quite a few times....I really felt so much for her characters. Being a female writer, her stories are less violent and have less action. But she compensates by writing a good story filled w good characters.