Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

Gals, u're welcome
Dewberry, hehe..I'm inclined towards the heart shaped one as well. Unfortunately, favours/placecards in SG aren't the norm (yet). Recently though, there's a new guy on the block, www.duetforte.com. They've got pretty cool stuff there. Oh yes! another one's www.labrise.com Dun be fooled by its index page. I saw 1 of their wedding favours - a little wreath of scented flowers that's a fridge magnet -awfully pretty (Hahaha! just realized that's an oxymoron). And recently, I know someone who gave every female guest an atomizer with a personalized scent (how much did they spend on that?!)

Thank you, gals, for all your comforting thoughts
Spent last CNY in Finland too....hmm, I miss Lo Hei (Sya, it's that big plate of grated veg with Raw fish that everyone tosses with chopsticks) It's especially hard when FH is not at home because he cheers me up with his antics.

Dewberry, re: entertainment. Would a speech from your dad/FIL/bridemaid/best man be a good idea? I dunno how games will fit in with the mood that u're trying to create. Any ideas? If it's a cosy wedding, u may not need a hired emcee...the coordinator from Ritz will be able to steer the program..and for all announcements and such, perhaps someone in the bridal party can do it. Won't it be more intimate that way since it'll be someone that everyone will know?

ps. I hope u gals get to meet for the London wedding fair. So fun!!

JP - Justice of Peace
(basically, the dude who officiates your solemnization and says the words for you and your FH to "sompah"....)

snipsnap - haha, hello sis-tah! which pkg did you sign up for with wedding paparazzi?! ours is the long-story-short-video, but they mentioned got some new documentary-hybrid type with this... actually, i already solemnized (did our rom 2 yrs ago, sheesh) took us this long to work up to an AD date and all the details, etc. also dunno why it took this long, prolly coz of all my procrastination! so this time, i'm having a short christian "vow" ceremony to bless the rings and say our till death-do-us-parts.... coz i thought the ROM one was too short and abrupt. would be nice to do it again even if just for show! so no JP to officiate. we're using millenia 2 for ceremony and millenia 1 for dinner (only gripe is small size/low ceiling)... but i totally agree with you on the pool area. we intend to invite all the dinner guests to witness our vows, but starting to fret that they'll all be late, eeps! we're maximizing/decorating the 2 rooms, and the pre-event reception area outside... thinking of making it easier for everyone to move around if the ceremony and dinner rooms are close by.

sigh, we had limited choice due to the size of our guest list. the nice recept area + free ceremony room they threw into the deal was actually the reason why we chose ritz over raffles (so let me know if anyone wants opinions!)... those were the 2 we shortlisted. despite the small size of the Millenia rooms - some of my friends thought we were crazy coz they thought there was no comparison to the raffles casuarina room, which is an actual ballroom...

so for anyone who has not gotten their JP yet, you can try David Loh. He's really good, and very friendly, so i definitely recommend you guys consider asking him. i heard some of the other ones are rather, ahem, sourfaced. but Mr. Loh was fantastic and very sensitive to our nervousness. i think i almost burst out laughing a few times during the ceremony (in hindsight, was so appalled at myself!)

katgrrl - wow, an atomiser would be so totally kewl, but geez, you're right about the price. i'm thinking of little red cushions that we can add to the chair decor, as well as serve as favors. but oh well, i vacillate. while we're on the topic, i saw some pics of this bride who gave out tiffany crystal votive holders, blue box and all! i wish i had that kind of money!

hmm, i didn't think about a possible coordinator from the ritz (thanks!)... i agree about possibly having friends/family make announcements. but i think it's really like pulling teeth to get anyone to agree to public speaking. hence, the thought of using professionals. games, yeah i'm still undecided. you're right about the mood, we want it to be nice and sedate (elegance, et al) but wanted to do something different since it'll be cosy in a small room. we're already planning speeches by FH and me, but not many other resources to pull from. both our sides' family are single moms with a strange estrangement to extended family... so it'll be a weird audience with 80% friends and some business associates, and maybe only 2 tbls of relatives. sigh.

Dewberry, Ritz and Raffles were the only 2 I shortlisted as well!
And please show me pix of your wedding cake! I'll be having a wedding cake too.. that reminds me, cake cutting would of course be an item on your program, so will u be feeding each other (cake) as well? Here's another idea, since the mood will be elegant & sedate, how about a really low platform for the stage instead of a stage that's 1m high. This brings u 'closer' to your guests. That's actually what we're planning to do.

Just a quick hi! I haven't checked my inbox for a week and it's overflowing with posts!! Thanks so much for your well wishes.

Emirates was fine with our handcarried gowns.. they even let us board the plane early (with the familes/business class people).. which was very handy when you are travelling with lots of things to carry and inlaws. That meant that we could settle our stuff into the overhead lockers first instead of fighting for space. Whilst onboard, the wedding gowns were taken from us and stored in cupboards with coats.. we retrieved them just before stepping off the plane. I brought some wet wipes (from Boots.. Botanics) and gave them out to my family during the flight.. it smelt nice and freshened them up no end. Also I had a little bottle of aromotherapy oil which went a long way as there were some unpleasant smells circulating (guy across the aisle had BO and someone a few seats back had become ill)... so my little bottle of ylang ylang oil and increasing the air from the airvent made the flight a lot more bearable..

Things are going fine... I'm surprised how much I am enjoying being back in Singapore after 4 years. The food is fantastic.. just had pepper crab yesterday at east coast(Diet? What diet?). my church wedding is tomorrow and wedding dinner the day after. I've come down with a cold (my sinus and air conditions dont mix) but that means that I get exempted from in-law sightseeing guide duties and get to spend more time at home with my family which is wonderful! Just came back from a shiatusu massage session at Great World City and dim sum at Crystal Jade (YUM!!) .. now waiting for my MUA to arrive for a trial makeup session and to do my nails tonight (lots of shots of hands tomorrow, i think). Oh yes, there's a BBQ tonight at my parents place, Ash Friday mass and a dress rehearsal with musicians and wedding party at 9.30pm...
Wish me luck! I'm going to need it this weekend! Take care and god bless.

hi ladies TGIF !!!!

suzxie ... thx for the update. best part about singapore is the food!! mmmm pepper crab??? *drools* is it the one along still road? hehehe friends took us there the last time we were back. crabs were gorgeous!! anyway sounds like preps are in full swing. hope you recover from the cold soon! take care and enjoy your big day!

atomizers and tiffany crystals? hrmmm wonder if I can get tiffanys to sponsor my wedding ..right I'll stop dreaming now haha. am undecided on my favors still ... i just know I want them in a box and tied with lavender polka dotted ribbon

dewberry ... yep me got the long story short package too. they didn't tell me about the new format leh. will have to ask them! u know, like you, ,we actually registered our marriage in the US already ..but want to do a ceremony for the family and so I can show off my gown lah (lol). not religious so no clergy to officiate. wonder if a JP will be willing to do it even though we're technically already married. also thought of getting some relative or friend ..but yah agree with u ... probably easier asking them to give up their first born than to speak in public kekekke ... hrmm not sure about the different ballrooms. i think ours will be in the main one(?) and use the outside area for the solemnization. our guestlist is seriously out of control. hey for entertainment doesn't the ritz have some kind of string quartet for hire? otherwise dancing is also a great way to have everyone involved

harlows everyone! omg, survived till friday... no mood to work, grumble grumble....

suzxie- congrats, hang in there! sounds like the excitement is mounting.... can't wait to hear all the good news! take lots of antihistamines and brave the day (i have sinus problems when i go back too, think i'm allergic to the hot weather, haha!)

katgrrl - you too? looks like a lot of us have similar taste! yes, our room already has a built-in low platform for a stage (0.5m maybe?)... since the room is small, the stage was also proportionately lower. like you, we want to be close up to the guests. i wonder if we can even stand in the middle of the room for some announcements or speeches...

yes, we're having cake cutting and feeding et al... we're actually having a fully decorated cake table like these lovely american weddings, and i'm having the whole setup displayed in the recept area just outside the door, so everyone can ooh and aah when they arrive. squeezing every inch of eye-candy time possible! for drama, we're getting it rolled into the room for the cake cutting (so nervous, sure hope it doesn't topple and go splat!)

the cake table will have swashes of fabric and lighted with twinkle lights, and topped with a marquee "tent" think that hopefully makes it look like a grand little "castle" or island on its own.... will look for my cake pics and post'em here when i can... it's lost somewhere in my pile of wedding research stuff

let me know if anyone wants sample photos of amazingly impossible cakes (mostly fondant - i love the formal look!)... (i guess i can post them all on here, or email to you guys?)

snipsnap - yeah, we're not that religious either, but nominally christian although we don't attend church... however, we seriously considered doing a ceremony on our own, so i know what you're struggling with. i'd certainly suggest asking a JP if they would do it as a civil service, even if no signing of papers will be executed. if not, maybe consider writing your own vows and getting a respected male member of either family, or a mentor, etc to simply take the place of the officiant? it's a vow between you and FH anyways, the officiant is simply the conduit and witness. these days, a lot of modern brides opt for an alternative ceremony, it's very common in america.... some people even do "mystical" ceremonies, like if they're into nature or celtic cultures or whatever fantasy/fiction theme (lord of the rings?!), they'll enact a ceremony styled upon that theme... like a handfasting ceremony, or ceremony of the rose, etc... lots of choices. for rituals and ceremonies, and lots of great ideas - check out the book "The Knot Guide to Wedding Vows and Traditions"... can be found on Amazon online. can google "wedding rituals" too... giddying amount of information, if you're comfortable with doing something creative.

DewBerry, it seems that we've got similar tastes
I love the satiny look of fondant cakes too! That's 1 of my criteria when I was scouting around. Yup, I'm sure u found a good one in La Patissiere
And I know exactly what u mean by generating eyeball time, I'm gonna place the cake in the middle of the room since mine will be a standing buffet. Hahaha..I just hope some rascal kids aren't going to poke and destroy my cake!

A marquee over the cake sounds so cool! but is it gonna cast a shadow over the cake and u guys when u're under it? Have lotsa candles - standing ones and tealights! Joey of Ritz suggested an arch of flowers but I think a marquee looks better
Agree with Snippy, dancing will be nice & workable especially with 80% of your guests being friends. 50% of mine will be stodgy relatives...sigh...

Re: Wedding Paparazzi. Snippy & Dewberry, how much did u guys pay for your Long Story Short? I'm thinking of DIY since we've got a DV and a Mac for video editing. But if I've to rely on my FH to do it, it'd be done in 3mths at best..
.. not to mention the quality of the shots.. Dun wish it to look like the Blair Witch project, do we?

suzxie
hah..dim sum and pepper crab - i can almost cry :{
for the coming wedding, good luck!

Katgrrl and Dewberry
seems like you gals are having a blast discussing your cakes - I think having a cake is really lovely but I'm not a cake person (and I have cake phobia - I don't know why, I guess all the bad frostings I had before) - but I'm having a cake too - cheesecake! haha, the only cake FH and I enjoy (well, besides ice-cream cake) - What does fondant taste like, I know it looks really good.

Snippy
lavender polka-dot sounds so retro, vv cool - me too, undecided on favors though we are keen on having salt&pepper shakers in a yin yang symbol (need to ask my thai friend where she got them) but like you, I've already thought of its presentation, wrapping up with napkins and a ribbon, check out http://shop.store.yahoo.com/sprouthome/drinkdine-linens.html

On the other hand, I thought that making a donation to www.loveisthecure.org in lieu of favors is a good idea too for a wedding

Katgrrl
I'm thinking of booking Sandy Ho of Mkgfaces, could you let me know why you chose her? I mean is she amenable to ideas or does she insist on her own style? And is she 'heavy-handed' with the war paint?

katgrrl - hahaha yeah i've seen other people's shaky blair witch wedding vids and i'm sure they regret... i definitely recommend getting a pro to video, and maybe juz keep the DIY for backup. no matter what, the quality is different and the peace of mind to hand over the worrying to someone else is well worth the price! sit back and let someone else produce the deliverables.

my LSSV package with wed paparazzi was $1350 for full day (8 hrs), but they said they would be flexible if it goes over a little. the timing can also be broken up into 2 sessions if there is at least 3 hr break in betw.

dunno if snippy was also quoted the same? mine was prolly 2005 prices as i confirmed it not long ago only....

and yes, i agree with your aversion to the boring arch of flowers... i think it would look too victorian, too 1980s... i don't like the loose flower look anyways, and an arch would be too expensive to do in any geometric pattern. but as for my marquee, hee hee we're lighting the whole thing up with a spotlight... i'm actually choosing an open top marquee, which means 4 "sticks" around it with draperies but no roof.

here's the sample marquee pics to top my cake table fantasies... hahaha!

248844.jpg

katgrrl and maddcow - yes, my passion is cakes, if you see me you will know, i'm... ahem, on the heavy side of slim. hahaha. putting the cake in the middle of the room is AWESOMELY attention getting.... go for it!!!
fondant is surprisingly structured and will hold itself up to any poking and prodding (of course it will still pucker if someone is decidedly vehement...) but it's waaay better than the softer buttercream or marzipan.

that said, however, fondant is not particularly tasty... it's mainly confectioners sugar and food coloring i think.... no butter to smooth out the flavor. so, what a lot of people do is simply not eat the icing, they'll eat the insides. BUT on the other hand, a fondant iced cake will remain a lot moister on the inside because the cake doesn't dry out as easily after the whole night in the open.

here's more pics of my cake table... trying to upload but there's a weird 50kb limit... hold on!

248848.jpg

nice and sweet cake table... but dunno if the "mosquito netting" thingy on top is practical in a ballroom setting... how to hang? oh well...

248869.jpg

Dewberry, NICE cake!!!
so u told Patissiere, this is THE cake u want? heheh... Frankly, I thought the cake table that was overflowing with tulle was way too big for the cake. When I was discussing it with Raffles, their French pastry chef (oooh, so cute..) suggested having a small table so that the cake doesn't look lost in it. It's a matter of proportion, and I agree

The topless marquee is a Wonderful idea! It's open yet creates the illusion. It actually reminds me of an episode in 'For Better of For Worse' a TV program from the States where couples are given 1 week, $5000 & only a team of friends/family & wedding planner to plan a wedding. And surprisinly enuff, they always pull it off! :P Makes me wonder what we're all doing...

Maddcow, yeah, fondant tastes sweet because it's just made from sugar basically. Because it's rather heavy, it also lends support to stacked cakes. Also, it doesn't crack when it's cut unlike royal icing (which is a little passe).

"Buttercream can be flavoured in almost any way and can be easily dyed. It can be refrigerated, but not recommended in very hot weather because of its high content in butter, which may melt. Fondant is made from glucose or corn syrup and shortening, and it holds up well on a warm day. It will seal in the freshness of a cake for several days. A cake covered in rolled fondant cannot be refrigerated and will therefore limit the fillings you choose."

Re:M@king Faces. Heheh..I know what u mean by 'war paint'..No, she was't like that. Really natural & light make up. For my trial, I brought along a magazine clipout and told her this is how I want the make up to be
so she knew I was no drama-mama. As for hairdo, she suggested a side pony tail with a large silk flower, but I was so bought over by updos that I insisted on 1 instead. and she made a nice chignon in no time
So yes, I guess u can say she's amenable. But I guess it's all down to communication. Sandy used false eyelashes on a bride..dun think I want that for myself.

Okie doke, going downtown to jalan for a little while...all work (ha!) and no play makes Jane a dull girl.

Katgrrl
Thanks for your advice. Once I'm done with MUA, Raffles and last, photography - I'll be all set! Woo-hoo!

WOW!WOW!WOW! The cakes look gorgeous. Nice choice, Dewberry!

Hey, Katgrrl, what is comforting in this thread is that I get to "hear" the singlish lingo which I miss - 'jalan' (hee, haven't heard that for a long time)

hahahah yes, maddcow i agree - singaporean phrases totally crack me up these days coz i NEVER get to hear them anymore.... my singapore friends always think it strange, what's so cool about singlish, they say? well, i do miss it.

thanks for the cake compliments, and yes, i told the Patissier, this is THE cake i want, with minor modifications. katgrrl, i LOVE that show, but never got to see that episode... hmm, maybe i'll keep closer tabs on it if it re-runs...

katgrrl, i know wat you mean by the cake table size.... i told them i want a mini-version of this picture, with less tulle. but i really liked the twinkly lights, hee hee. i wanted to display other personal paraphernalia around the cake, so a teensy table wouldn't do. thinking of some appropriate poetry framed in silver, some photos of me and FH, etc... almost like a shrine to both our favorite pastimes - eating cake! hahahah. do you guys think those ideas are overkill?

hey, have any of you girls decided on your AD MUA yet? or just using the same person as photography? me still undecided... and need to choose soon.

Pricee, that's a good question..it's still an open item on my list after much research. In SG, u can get it for at least $35/kg from Chocolate Gallery (http://www.chocolategallery.biz/) Beside that, I'm not aware of anywhere else in SG..Keep me posted if you happen to find any!
Alternatively, some e-shops based in the US/UK have a good selection.

Maddcow, great to hear that you'd be all set soon

Dewberry, hmmm...I'm not sure about the personal paraphernalia around the cake...wouldn't it be distracting and draw attention away from the cake & u guys? Perhaps those stuff could be on a separate table, similar to couples who have their wedding albums on stands? Oh well, it's up to you ultimately
Btw, check out 'Bridezilla' if u've the chance. It's more entertaining than 'For Better or For Worse' because it features highly demanding NY brides with Huge budgets..
Seriously, I can't imagine spending >US$90K on a wedding. Maddcow, will your NY wedding be in that stratosphere? U asked about copyrights regarding photography. Pls see http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/243065.html?1105383677#POST943359

Dewberry, my MUA will be Sandy Ho

I'm really happy with today's spoils *claps hands in glee* Apparently, there are sales everywhere! end of Winter season?

Btw, I got my tiara from ebay and some almond dragees in silver from the States. Yay!!

katgrrl, i share your joy in spoils... you go girl! hee hee, thanks for the comments; you're right about distracting from the cake. will keep that in mind. i sometimes get carried away with all the fantasies.

how did you find Sandy Ho, was it thru your BS? does she have a website, or sample photos of her work (like you, i am no drama queen, prefer light and natural)

i've seen Bridezilla too... geez, can't imagine all these high budgets... it could get harder, not easier to plan the wedding, just think of ALL the choices you have!

pricee - good luck on the dragees search! i've heard mention of it on this wedding planner's website as well (1perfectday.com)... think she does the dragees packaged in a silver tin. look in the eBoutique sestion.... dunno about pricing though, might want to email to find out.

hello girlies,

Maddcow:Are you seriously having a US$90K wedding or am I just picking up stompies here?

I've seen Bridezilla and you know, it is frightening because when I watched it last, I told Ben to kill me first before I turn out to be one of them and I think he is *this* close to killing me.

Dewberry: Jeebers woman! you are so way ahead with your wedding plans. I guess with a wedding in April it is nice that you've got alot covered. Your wedding cake is so cute! Is blue going to be part of your wedding colour(s)? I love how a cake can look so pretty and still be deliciously edible. I'm going for a chocolate cake. It is something both Ben and I actually agree on, bloody miracle if you ask me. :-D I was trying to discuss wedding cakes with my mum today and she said somewhere along the lines of "there are some nice ones but they are really expensive -about $1300. Better to save your money". So I asked her if she would rather I spend $1300 on a pair of Jimmy Choos or a Yummylicious Chocolate cake? heheheh not that I am intending to spend that much on a cake.

Today, we went to Hobby Craft hoping to buy paper and what nots to make our wedding invites. It was such a disappointment. Not only did they not have enough good quality paper (well, not the kind I want anyway) but they are way overpriced. I found some butterflies but they weren't to my liking. I was gutted coz I was looking forward to do some DIY stuff but then again, who am I kidding? DIY and me just do not go hand in hand. I was never good in art and will never ever be.

Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day and I will be able to collate more information on good printers and such.

On the hindsight, I did get round in completing the first page of our wedding website. All I can say is Thank God for templates! :-D The only hard bit is trying to think of thing to put up. I know what I want but it is more of trying to organize my thoughts into words.

Last night was a fun night in with my girlfriends. One of them (who is also getting married this september) cooked Mexican and after dinner we decided to apply make up like how we would like it to be on our wedding day. It was fantastic! I was also just happy lusting over my other friend's make up collection coz she works as make up artist for Christian Dior and have tons of gorgeous eyeshadows and what nots.

Now I am contemplating if I should really go about in doing my own make up for the wedding ceremony. Hey, so your JP is like my version of 'Tok Kadi'. :-D Speaking of which, I need to remind my mum to find one who is able to speak in English. Hopefully, one of them will be free to marry us off.

Whois counting down the days?? *raises hands* I know I am! :-) Only because I am geting really excited about going home for a holiday and gorging myself with as much food as possible. It's no wonder why Ben calls me 'Fatty' in the most endearing way as possible. Hahhahahahhaha

sya - thanks! no lah, i am not way ahead, just that my date is coming up SOON! there's still so many things left undone... i can't believe i still haven't nailed down the banquet decor and MUA yet. still lots of other little details like for the tea ceremony and the music, but i've "delegated", hee hee... i'm expecting lots of last minute rushing around to happen!

don't have to spend so much on the cake lah... $1300 is way out of my league. i think The Patissier prices start at $60/kg and goes up to 100/kg depending on flavor... that's probably among the MOST expensive in s'pore... (but the choice of bakery was not mine to make)... other hotel style bakeries can be 40-50 per kg. I think weightwise it averages about 10kg per 100 people, depending on your guest list. but i would say that most singaporeans don't dig the cake, which is why so many couples just do the dummy cake thing. never quite understood that - who turns down CAKE?! omg!

i'm counting down the days too, eeee, can't wait! hahaha, your Ben is so sweet... mine calls me "fei mui" too, which means little fat girl in chinese... hahahahah! i just know he's going to bring that up in his speech at the reception

good luck on your wedding website! i've been procrastinating on my own to-do's, this forum's so much fun to read, i just tell myself, relax, it's chinese new year week, no one else in singapore's doing any business till monday! hahahaha.

Oh yeah, we know Donald Trump, by the way and he's agreed to let us use a penthouse in the Trump Tower (you know, the one where they filmed The Apprentice?). I just received confirmation that Martha Stewart will be handling my wedding. Just kidding! FH and I are poor students (uh.. geeks, really) and we are relying on our savings and maybe some consulting $, so a lot of effort goes into budgeting - which is 'educational' because it allows us to explore each other's 'value system' literally.

Sya, I found some butterflies for you - www.orientaltrading.com and type in butterflies in the search box; but I'm not too sure if they are what you are looking for.

Katgrrl - thanks for the advice on copyrights. G-mendes mentioned that it's essential for his business but I'm hesitant in signing away my rights.

Dewberry and Sya - very adorable-lovey-dovey nicknames!

Hahaha! It's so funny reading all you gals' posts! Mine called me "vähän paksu" (a little chubby) once, guess if I spoke to him after that

Dewberry, I found Sandy through this forum. Everything's DIY for me. Her website is [email protected] (replace @ with a) very reasonable rates too. Yeah, I guess u're right about the bane of big budgets. As it is, it's already hard enough to choose....although a live jazz band or little favours in blue boxes won't be half bad either

Sya, hehehe.. Mark already thinks I'm on my way to becoming a Bridezilla. Well, what to do? managing all when u're miles away. I also just realized that we've to organize a luncheon for friends who won't make it. Venue & Catering all over again! The prob is that he's so hands-off when it comes to such stuff (I might as well suggest a root canal). That, plus the fact that his mum doesn't speak English ...I think I'll just have to close 1 eye and delegate this to his mum

Agree with Dewberry that $1300 is way toooo much! where did u find such a baker? Dump him/her!
Frankly, mine's $500 for 70 guests or so. There was an extensive discussion on this thread (archived tho) on wedding cakes. In it I gave suggestions on how to save even more costs..lemme know if you can't find it. Btw, a wedding cake slice is usually 1"x1" to 1.5x1.5", so you don't need a Taj Mahal cake. hehehe..mine will be a chocolate cake too. Dark chocolate cake with white chocolate buttercream icing and strawberry filling. My baker, Cheryl SHuen, was apprehensive about having all that choc, but I said Bring it on!

Yah, know what u mean by pitiful paper selection. There isn't a shop like Fancy Paper here. btw, if u know precisely what u want & how to describe it, an option's to ask someone to send it to u from SG. I got handmade paper, vellum & envelopes from that shop.

Cool nite u had there with your girlfriends! sounds really fun!

Maddcow, my jaw dropped when u said Trump & Martha Stewart
Hmph, I know what u mean by signing away your rights. Actually, a huge factor in signing with the Pond is that all negatives & files are returned to us as I didn't want to pay extra for what I consider are rightfully mine.

Just curious, Maddcow & Dewberry, are your FHs Singaporeans?
u've the right to remain silent...

hi hi hi, it's sunday, is everyone as depressed as me?! the weekend is almost over... pout.

maddcow, hahah i did a double take as well when i saw all the names being dropped. good one! we too are geeks not that far off from being poor starving students, and we didn't get out of college all that long ago either. so i commiserate with you about relying on savings and budget budget budget! can't count how many times we've tweaked it already. but it's great that you guys can find positive things about the experience!

yes katgrrl, my FH is singaporean too, we're both in the States, but weirdly enough, we don't live in the same city. so not only do i have to plan my wedding from 10,000 miles away, i have to contend with an absent FH as well, sob! but it's ok... we're used to it, and actually gives me more time to obsess over wedding details, haha! he already says i'm bridezilla, can you imagine if he saw first-hand just how much it occupies my living and waking moments?

katgrrl, any pics of your cake? sounds decadently yummy!!! mine was not much more than yours, $600 for a 10kg cake. how big a cake did you get? thanks for the MUA pointers, will start scouting on that item again... soon. once i get over this post-weekend depression. i hate mondays!

hi hi ladies.... yup I am having post weekend blues already on sunday evening! agcks. dewberry where are you in the US? FH and I used to be in different places too ... but I made him move to where I am
... where are you guys going to live after the wedding? btw the cake is gorgeous!

Sya the jimmy choos over the cake of course!!!! aiyah what are you thinking??? no contest..could probably get 2 pairs for $1300 too hahah. and u can use them after the wedding.

katgrrl...Wedding Papparazi is charging me $1300 too for the same package. I am in the process of putting a deposit down. never knew it was such a pain to wire money hrrrmp. But seriously I think they are the best people out there for the job though a little pricey. but what the heck ..its a once in a live time thing rite
haha ... FH originally wanted to DIY too for the album and video..but knowing us.. I'm pretty sure it'll never get done.

maddcow..oh wow the napkins are so pretty!!!!! especially like the purple ones (goes with my theme hah) how would you wrap the favors up though? like in a box? trying to steal ideas here lol.
Regarding photography, most of the photographers I've talked to give you all the negatives and such (not sure why GM doesn't). did u like the work of the pond? they cost a little more but at least you don't have to worry about unexpected costs.

seems like i'm always on, and i hog all the posts... sorry, so paiseh!
what to do, no life, no FH, alone to obsess about all these things...

snipsnap - i'm in the south, tennessee to be exact... out in the boonies. actually, lived in quite a few diff cities in the past few years, but this is where i am for now. i'm going to move to california where he is... but prolly after the wedding, after we both recover from the wedding debts, hahaha!

as for TWP, yes, wiring money was a pain but good thing they accept the wonderful DBS money transfer thing i could do online (if you want to cut the hassle of wiring, maybe you can get a relative with a DBS a/c to do it for you?) i really like TWP too, all 3 girls sound really great to work with!

dewberry ..aiyoh tennessee!! hee ... i hear u sister. used to go to school out in the semi boondogs, can be considered south, too (NC)..i feel your pain. no good shopping, no good food. my 2 passions in life hah. couldn't wait to get out after graduation
your FH in socal or the bay area. housing prices out there are insane man! (actually here also lah) how to afford
would be nice to have a home to fill up with wedding gifts. but i guess ang pow also can heehee. btw Happy Valentines Day every one!!!

check out this site cute but morbid ... i likey:
http://happytreefriends.atomfilms.com/index.html#

hhahahaha that is hilarious! there is quite alot of anti valentine's stuff which are really good. I actually had fun going through them.

Dewberry and Snippy: Wedding Papparazi is actually on my list for videographers. Did you girls manage to see the rest of their portfolio other than the one on their website? any comments on them? I got an email from them but so far it's just their price list. Waiting for them to get back and tell me if they are free for my dates. *cross fingers*

Dewberry: don't worry about hogging posts. It's all gooood sistah! Tennessee is in Texas, No? You definately need to move out to California if it is a dead town. I absolutely love it in California. I was there three years ago and could not get enough of it. If you ask me, I wouldn't know which one to choose living on the East Coast or right on the west. I love both of them. Both are typically me. With you living in Tennesse is abit like me living in Poole. :-D

Snippy: I am still tempted to buy a pair of Mr Choo before the entire budget runs out. :-) My mom was looking at cakes in wedding magazines and I think it was the price in the magazine that she was quoting. I nearly died when I heard it but told her that I am sure we can get one way much cheaper somewhere else.

Wedding fair: It was not as good as I had hope it'd be. It was one of those tiny ones with about 10 booths and there wasn't even anything inspiring other than a magician. I had to sit there from 12pm - 4.30pm in the cold just waiting for Ben to finish working. :-(

snipsnap and sya - i'm *SO* there with you on California, yes it's going to be my destination once the wedding is over (and the loan sharks slink away)... he's in the Bay Area, actually i used to live there too but moved around a lot for my job. hence my boondocks address at the moment. but no question about it, i'm mooooving back there, can't wait! actually made him do the merry dance, coz he moved from S'pore to the Bay Area for me, but somehow we were just star crossed lovers when it came to living in the same city at the same time, our jobs just kept getting in the way. so this time, i'm simply going to quit and move, and pray it all works out. although i won't complain if i don't get a job immediately, got excuse to be tai-tai for a while, eh? hahahaha, dreamalicious!

i hear you on the housing prices, there's no way we can afford anything on our salaries for the moment... and besides, just recovering from the wedding will take some time before we can consider the downpayment on anything.... sigh. maybe i'll win the lottery....

sya - i hear your pain, poole sounds just as awful as nashville... actually, tennessee is a few states east of texas... but snipsnap is right, no shopping, no life. foodwise though, it's a little subjective coz i don't really dig asian food outside of singapore. so if you consider what's available, the local american/continental fare is actually very good. the South has their own genre of food which is quite yummy. (all those side dishes, ooh!) the eateries are usually nothing fancy, but the taste makes up for it all... will not faze the seasoned singaporean foodie at all, ha!

hey, as for wedding paparazzi, yes i do have a few other samples they gave me... do you want me to email them to you? if so gimme your email...

hapy V-Day everyone!

oh btw katgrrl, i've posted some comments to your ascot/cravat/biz tie question on the Wedding Acts thread.... dunno if it's too late, but juz happened to kaypoh and saw it while browsing...

dewberry, that will be really cool if you can share with me the rest of their sample clips. if you don't mind that is. :-D email me at [email protected].

i've just got back from first salsa class and i must say, i absolutely love it! it's really fun and i was so touched when ben agreed to come with me. considering that he detest dancing so getting him to agree coming in with me is a bonus. i think he secretly enjoyed it. :-D

hope everyone enjoyed their valentine's day, be it with fiance or friends!

xoxo

Salsa! sexy!
Sya, if u're keen on WP, pls hold off booking with them first if possible..if we book together, there's 10% discount! But we haven't decided yet though. I'll discuss with Mark next week.

Dewberry, thanks for your comments on the ascot/cravat/biz tie question!

All, I totally agree with u on living in a city. I guess we're all too used to SG with its 24hr convenience huh? Dun think I could tahan Texas but I could see myself living in Seattle heheh... Alrighty, longer post later..ciao!

sya - check your email! at first it bounced back, so i had to send it via Dropload.com... let me know if you have issues (there are 2 .wmv files in total)

good luck on the vid-hunting, ladies... that's a great idea to get a discount, i would have done it myself if i had gotten on this forum earlier. hope it works out for both of you!

sounds like salsa was a blast... so sexy! rrrrr!

sya> *whispers* forgo the cake ..get the shoes ... hehe u have to let me know if you get the choos! the selection here is limited. I think they have more designs in the UK? *sigh* hah as u can see I have a freakish shoe obsession
i want simple strappy gold sandals.

dewberry > ooooh grits hush puppies sweet tea... my favs. you bad girl ... making me crave some! the only imitation of southern cooking we get up here is cracker barrel. though I'm not trading my sashimi or bibimbap for that. hehe. awww dun't worry you guys will be together soon. wow he moved all the way from SG? how sweet!!!

btw i just heard from WP ..someone else is interested in the express package (highlights available at the reception) for my date. so i have to make a decision if i want that. apparently they only have time for 1 express highlight? should I get it?? darn why is my date so popular ... I bet it's the same couple who booked the photographers I wanted *snarl* oops shoo bridezilla shoo

KatGrrl: I haven't make any booking with them as yet so yea, that sounds like a good plan. I'll hold on for awhile.... ermmm, could be awhile. I am now trying to arrange for my sisters to meet up with them so that they could have a 'look-see' on their portfolio.
they did mention a few extras or whatever pellavah they do and I am keen to find out more just to have a better understanding of what they do or what the packages entail. Of course, I will need to find out their prices since we are talking about hiring them for two days. I might go for the basic with the documentary video. i can't even remember what it means by their documentary video. heheh

There is also another thing. An old classmate also have a wedding video business which I am also looking into. He's getting the guy(i'm only assuming it is his partner) who does the videography to get back to me.

Dewberry: thank you for those mini vids. i actually enjoyed watching it. do you know what kind of package the ones that you've sent me belong to?

SnipSnap: i thhinking of being a right devil by getting both. temptation is a sin and i'm thinking now that i am in the middle of quitting smoking, perhaps I should treat myself with a pair of shoes. ANY pair of shoes will do me nicely. I am a sucker for shoes. My wish list is atrocious...it just seems to grow even longer making the wish list the way it is just meant to be - Wish List! :-D Ben's mom actually said to me last xmas that i've passed on my fetish for shoes to ben coz he'd been on a shoe spending spree prior to xmas. She said "He used to manage it just fine with two pairs of shoes!".

Sya, no prob, take your time on the WP
I haven't sounded out the notion of spending another 1000 bucks to my FH yet. He's so busy travelling that he's living out of his suitcase now! btw, the documentary is 45min-1hr long and costs $350. If we get WP, I think I may get the basic package plus the documentary as I've no need for the rest. Let me know how your research goes regarding WP & your old classmate

Dewberry, thanks indeed for your insight regarding the tie/cravat/ascot issue
Got me thinking and u're right. A cravat may not be suitable for a slightly less than formal afternoon affair...I think we'll just go with the tie in that case

Snippy, u naughty girl psyching Sya like that...

Would be leaving for Greece tomorrow! FH will be on working trip to Athens so we used our mileage points to get me out of Finland as well. Will have internet access albeit sporadically...keep the fire burning!

katgrrl: oh goodie! have fun in lovely athens. i'll keep you posted about WP and if i hear any new news with the old classmate. :-D

katgrrl you're welcome, have fun on your trip!!! ooh, lovely blue sea, promises lots of romance! hee hee... wink wink.

sya, glad the vids worked out for you... they were samples of the Long Story Short Video that I booked. I think this was the best (for paying that kind of money, at least wanted them to put in effort to do some editing, etc). We actually haven't decided on whether we want the documentary style or not, but they were very flexible and we can always switch later when we get back to singapore. actually, they shoot it all the same raw footage and then cut it to whatever you like, so you can even wait till you go back and confirm everything. just book a basic package for now to "chope" the date, you can always add on later. hahaha, that's the kiasu singaporean in me talking....

ooh, shoes... both the bane and blessing of womankind. we spend WAY too much on shoes, but what's the fun without them? hee hee... i echo snippy, go for the choos....

snippy, yum, you're making me hungry too... hee hee, i have actually learnt to cook these things, believe it or not. i love turnip greens! (i think they kind of taste like the cantonese mui-choy)... but still, i would trade it in for california anytime, woohoo! (i'm living out of a suitcase too, didn't bother to unpack the last time i moved, see, i REALLY can't wait to get outta here!)...

snippy snap: Sorry, forgot to answer your question on Feb 9 (seems like ages ago!)....I got Simon Lee from Fotothemes to do my AD....met up with him, seemed really easygoing and friendly, and knew what he was doing, and the samples he had on him weren't bad. He's quite reasonable too...charging me $650 for service alone (digital, and he returns all useable photos in CD), and if I want printouts it's like another $350 for 300 prints, so I've just signed up for the basic service first, and see what I want to do with printouts later.

I'm doing everything DIY - got dress from UK (maggie sottero), got cheap veil from Singapore, haven't sourced tiara and shoes yet.

So, what are you gals doing about your hen party?

hello ladies

hey need opinions from those of you who signed up with Sandy Ho (katgrrl, and i don't know if maddcow decided on her already?)... can anyone please comment on her skill with hairstyles? are you confident in her ability to style hair? her website doesn't show much ado on the hair, more focus on the face. but i saw in an earlier post from katgrrl, she's rather flexible. did you actually just wait for the trial before deciding? (i can't so i'm gonna go by as much word of mouth as possible)...

anybody heard of Hairitage salon at Millenia Walk? heard from the Ritz Carlton concierge that they send a lot of guests over to them for wedding hair/makeup services.

hmm, hen party - no thoughts yet. still hung up on all the hectic stuff for now, but i'm sure my night before the will be spent luxuriating in one of the spa indulgences offered by the Ritz! hee hee... i've got a copy of their spa menu if anyone's interested!

Hello my coterie of brides-to-be

Fell from the face of the earth since my return from house+pets sitting in NY. *panic* Ahhh, now up against a deadline but found that the best cure for writer's block is GUILT (and fear!)

Hi Tootsieroll, was wondering where you've been? Good to hear from you.

Snippy - the napkins are awesome, but I'll probably scrunch it up and tie it with a chartreuse ribbon (I'm thinking of the brown one) - but on other hand, I'm also thinking of using it to wrap a favor box, with a curved wire at the northeast corner so that I could perch an origami crane at the end of the wire (have you seen how winona ryder wraps hers in Autumn in NY?)- well, now thinking about it, sounds like an architectural feat! (yikes) Hey how can cartoon be so gruesome -eeks, my fingers are weak even thinking of it now.

G-Mendes' package is digital so you get everything back, but not the copyrights he needs it for promotional stuff conditional on me being photogenic, etc...the one thing I like about him is that he's very responsive, so we may just have to come to a happy medium re the copyrights.

Katgrrl - have fun in Greece! FH is American, Mom's Italian, adorable family; if you've watched Moonstruck, you'll know what I mean ;) Don't worry about having to do two celebrations - I'm doing it, we'll support each other, okay?

Dewberry - I'm not too sure about Sandy Ho too, but I think I'm gonna bite the bullet. I wanted to ask Katgrrl if Sandy's hygenic in that she uses new sponges and applicators. Katgrrl, any idea? Oh, btw, I saw beaded votives selling for US$2 (down from $7) at Kohl's and I recalled your color theme is passionate red (?) - it's a post V-day sale item and looks good not like other cheesy offerings.

Sya- Salsa sounds so fun but looks extremely hard, you must be 'bootylicious'

Suzxie - Congrats, you are officially married! Are you on your honeymoon now?

Hi Dewberry, (
back)

Re: Sandy Ho. Well, all I can say is that she made my hair into a nice bun quickly and without any problem
As for me, I had the trial before deciding because I'd like to know that I could work with her. What style are u thinking of?

Hen party...no idea yet. Half of my girlfriends are mummies and besides, we aren't party gals to begin with

Hmm...Greek food is wonderful! I'm now thinking of getting an assortment of Greek olive oil/olives/honey as attendants' gifts. Are u gals getting anything for your bridal party?

hi hi hi... maddcow, thanks for the tip, will definitely check out Kohls this weekend... sounds like a steal! yeah i'm leaning towards simply just deciding on Sandy as well, since i can't really afford to be too critical of something i can't test out myself.

katgrrl, i'm thinking of 2 diff styles for the gown and my kua (which i think i'll wear for the sending off), one up and one with hair let down... but nothing really specific yet. i have a round face, so i don't want too severe a bun, but i really like updos. not a drama-mama either
so i'm open to anything simple and elegant. i have medium to long hair, so i think my options are pretty varied. here's a couple that have appealed to me...
250544.jpg
250545.jpg

glad that you had fun, i love Greek food too!!!! yum, assorted honey or olives would be great as gifts... all packaged up prettily... my friends are rather broke, so i think i'll give them all larger angbaos coz that's probably what they'll appreciate most. but i'm pondering a small tiffany's pendant or something similar on the side as well. the blue box always has appeal, even if it's just $40 silver necklaces.

i'm not a party gal either, hee hee... my idea of a great party with my gals would probably be a day at the spa, mmmmmmm!

Dewberry
Cool, I like the french twist (left).

As for hen party, well, I'm thinking of hanging out in Tango in Holland V but on the other hand, satay, oyster ommelet, bbq seafood, crabs and kambing soup with tiger beer at chomp-chomp seems like the ultimate party with my all my kakis(+ sigf others). after that, manicure and pedicure to mend the chipped nails. Need to schedule all crab eating sessions before manicure!

Dewberry
You've got a round face too?! Me too me too!!! hehe, me got very chubby cheeks.
I love the first one! So elegant and sweet. But won't it make our faces chubbier as all the hair is gathered to the back?

Hen night... sigh... I am the only gal who likes clubbing in our group of friends. Always have to beg them to go out with me...

Maybe have coffee somewhere and go back home and do some girlie stuff, like making wrist corsages? haha...

hihi ladies. can't say how happy I am its the end of the week. Monday is a hol too! Long weekend

sya ... who needs ciggies. shoes can satisfy any craving. It's a fair trade lol ...tootsie..maggie sottero has beautiful gowns! my friend got one too! her stuff is pretty popular here!

maddcow ...WOW hah I haven't watched autumn in NY ..I hate sad movies
... hehe they make me cry *embarrassing*. but the project sure sounds cheem!!!! I am the kind who failed Home Econ and Art haha cannot make it lah. but if you do embark on the task ... upload some pics to share. maybe we can get inspired! I've changed my favor idea again. Thinking of giving hersheys kisses, dark chocolate ones since they come in the purple wrapper that matches my theme
will alternate that with custom M&Ms (http://shop.mms.com/customized/printing/step1.asp) ...only problem is bringing chocolate for 500 people is no joke
anyone knows if hersheys kisses are easily available in SG?

hummmmm... hen party ... hey maddcow .. I also thought of doing the chilli crab thingy at ECP!!! and then a diy spa/facial night at my place. dunno just not into clubbing anymore .. too OLD arhgk.

katgrrl> love the idea of honey/olives... i'd be touched! for bridesmaids gifts I got mini coach wallets ... also thinking of kate spade pencil cases (they're on sale!) ... do u girls think that is a good idea?? wanted to get something people would use/like. dewberry ..love the tiffs idea..will have to consider! but I always had the impression nothing there is below $100 even silver.

dewberry ..love the french twist hairdo! looks like we all have round faces..or claim to
..mine is definitely round ok. no kidding. think the 2nd one might be too severe since its all pulled back. will definitely have to let down my fringe/bangs.

hi ashlee, yes i agree about the hair gathered at the back... so i was thinking of softening it with more loose tendrils. but i do love the french twist, it's got that Sabrina-feeling, hahahah.

anyways, i'm sure you can find other hen party things to do and enjoy in a group... what do they like? here's some random thoughts:

1) can book out a small corner of some nice unusual place and have a ladies tea-party (private art gallery, museum, royal copenhagen, etc?) can even dress up in floppy hats and long gloves, ooh so victorian!

2) treat them all to a spa day (if you're on budget, maybe just a mani or pedi) and relax together. resolve to go to a juice bar afterward and continue the healthy glow. or wine bar if you're so inclined.

3) have a private wine tasting session... many of the cellars these days offer this.

4) have a cooking party... everybody brings their ingredients and cooks a dish. or a baking party...

5) or, even better, use Rent-a-Chef from Soul Kitchen or other caterer and get a professional to do the cooking. you can hold your own dinner soiree at home, replete with gourmet meal. think nice music, great wine, and lots of conversation over a beautifully laid table.

6) a group cruise? a slumber party with gifts of pretty nightgowns for everyone? there's a lot you can do if you think of what they like and what would be fun to do together.

have fun brainstorming! i'm sure the girls would love anything you decide on... the point is to spend quality time together and have FUN!!!

hey snippy, didn't see your post before i entered mine... i didn't think hershey's kisses were readily available in sg, but even if they were, they might not have the novelty colors available. the custom mm's is a great idea, i thought of that too. or, you could also do custom hershey's chocolate with your own customized wrapper. i don't remember exactly how much, but i've ordered them for a company event before and i seem to remember they were very cheap. we paid ard US$100 for a huge box of mini-chocs, i dun remember if it was 300 or 500 qty. (http://www.custom-chocolates.com/)

try buying everything here and bringing them back with you. or get them shipped directly to singapore. the freight will be worth it, as they have special fedex arrangements to keep at the right temp. if you balk at the shipping, why not try hard candy or other less perishable sweets? you can get almost anything customized to your own color or logo... with your names and all. try any promotional products company (those that print company logo stuff...)

as for tiffany's yes they have cheaper stuff below $100. but i dunno if the range is still the same... i bought a gift for my sister in law before going home last year and it was only around 40 or 50 as i remember it. but then again, you never know when prices fluctuate! don't be fooled by the tiffany's website, they don't list the smaller or cheaper items. like the ubiquitous tiffany open heart pendant, they only list the bigger one, not the smaller cheaper one.

Sya
Me two years and two months without a single fag! Hehe, am sure u can do it too!

snipsnap
I thought kisses are everywhere in Sg? hehe... Cold Storage at least! But think only silver and gold. That was two years ago though...

dewberry
OMG, u have soo many ideas! Very innovative! Will definitely suggest that to my friends, but always tricky with food and locations as half of them are muslims. Who knows, maybe might end up at one of their houses and have mee soto and roti john made by her mum! That is if her mum doesnt mind lah. haha