Anyone knows of Hainanese marriage tradition?

• Thread starter Thread starter loreal
  • Start date Start date

HI PEBS,

I just ask then they said ok. It was very last minute like one week before. Not very nice thou. My sis's one was complete when she did her ball 3 years ago. for mine, they were late as it is not done when my uncle went to collect it.

The ball must leave it for at least 3 days. You bring it to your lovenest if when you go back on the actual day. We never ate it. it is very very OILY.....

hi girl, yes the same guy Pebs looked for i believe.

I called the Hainese 2nd street uncle (6333 3550)

He briefly mentioned the custom. Not sure how true coz he not very clear. He say the 2 balls are given by female to male on AD. Male side return 1 ball. Female can put that ball at mom's home, or their new home.

Edible. Can either break it on day itself to eat; or wait for it to deflate after a few days then day.

its abt size of basketball & cost $50 for a pair. Order at least 1 week in advance.

So confusing, so is it
1) Given during AD or GDL?
2) Given by whom to whom?
3) Couple keep both or 1 only?
4) What do U do with them?
5) Break it or wait to deflate? Then throw away if dont eat?
6) Edible?

girl - did U track down the Kim Moh shop you mentioned at Laguna?
I think this is the shop?

Kim Moh Beef Noodle & Authentic Asian Cuisine
5000F Marine Parade Rd #01-22 Laguna Pk Singapore 449289
Tel: 6442 8900

I called them but they dont do the golden ball anymore

HI Pebs,

Mine is during AD. It is supposedly woman give guy. but we brought both to our new home and left it there to deflate. I threw it away after 3 days. It is edible. Just whether you want to eat them or not...

blursotong, noted e shop u went. thanks! i saw one of my friend used it for moving house hee..ehee.. very cute n nice so big, i thk bigger than basketball

pebs, i didnt go kim moh as i dont need it yet. cool!! how did u manage to track them? do u thk people who make hainanese pastry will they make?

girl - i let my fingers do the walking. Searched in yellow pages, called them & ask.

I find $50 for a pair of ball quite ex leh. Somemore its woman give guy..sigh I tot its other way around, can tekan my FH to hunt high & low for it.

Hi Pebs, ex hor. I also think so. But well it is only once so I just heck lah got it. ehhehe...
It doesnt really matter who give, just take and put at your home sweet home. ehehhehe...\

Hi girl, it is about the basketball size. Must be very careful in handling it thou. Very fragile.

Hi Pebs, ex hor. I also think so. But well it is only once so I just heck lah got it. ehhehe...
It doesnt really matter who give, just take and put at your home sweet home. ehehhehe...\

Hi girl, it is about the basketball size. Must be very careful in handling it thou. Very fragile.

hi... i'm a hainanese too & so is my hubby... but we r not going to haf our customary the traditional way.. i used to live at purvis st. (hainan 2nd st).

i guess it's not so gd to eat the big sesame ball if u koe the uncle uses his mouth to blow air into the ball...

how are these balls presented?

On AD, bride gives balls to husband / parents-in-law? Or couple just bring the balls to my new home.

In my case, we're going our new home before going to parents-in-law. So I wont be able to pass the balls to them, and then bring to my new home.

I'm also a Hainanese BTB (pure hainanese, but I can hardly speak it...haiz). I only just found this thread...
Good to see so many other hainanese brides here!

My hubby is Hainanese & I'm Hokkien.

Wonder what are the customs for AD & GDL like?

And also what time must the groom fetch the bride?

Appreciate your advise...

Gee... this golden ball, i thought it suppose to be guy give it to girl? so glad that this threat provide info on gloden ball. i thought this tradition died off. my MIL not praticular abt this tradition thing. but i wish to get the golden ball. since i m the 1st girl going thru the chinese customary in my family! (my sisters already rom, no plan for AD)

Hi Thomson Bride..I am same as you..hubby hainanese me hokkien,wanted to noe more abt their custom too so can be well prepared...found this thread,abit lost following e posts but its very interesting

eh, I just found out that there's 2 or 3 Hainanese bride threads in the forum (can't remember the 3rd one, but the 2nd one was started by Nellie...
) Now a bit confused as to which one to read/post in liao...hehs...

hi gers, another hainanese bride joining the discussion. Both my FH and I are hainanese. Difference is, I can speak the dialect but he cannot. Also, besides the big ball thingy, am thinking of getting chinese dessert for the last dish for WD. What do you guys think?

By the way, the uncle doesnt blow the thingy. It is first flat. Then the uncle puts it in a wok of oil and it grows bigger and bigger...saw it on TV many many years ago.

Hi Stephanie,

The uncle who makes the big ball has come out from his retirement. He's the only person who knows how to make these balls.

I'm planning to get them 4 of these balls on my AD but I heard it's not cheap.

You sure you want to serve these balls as dessert? I'm afraid the uncle can't 'produce' that many. He's very old already

hi nellie,
i heard that too! he seem like one n only one in s'pore who can make them
pine garden sell but not same size as e uncle make one.
do u know how much he make? how to contact him?

Hi Girl,

I went to Pine Garden 2 weeks ago to check with them. They said they don't make.

As for the uncle, you can find him in a coffee shop along Purvis Street. I can't remember his contacts. Need to check with my FH if he's still keeping the newspaper cutting on this uncle.

When is your AD? Mine is next year. I just hope he'll still be doing the golden balls by the time I'm getting married else I'll have to get them from M'sia.

nellie,
that's weird, was told they do make them.
my friend got it from him many yrs back.
do u know which coffee shop he he work for?
which part of m'sia can get? u m'sian?
AD will be next yr too, hope nothing will make me change my plan

Hi Girl,

Me no M'sian. I just want to have the balls during my wedding. So, before I knew that uncle is doing again. I already spread news to my M'sian friends to source for it. Only 1 managed to find - in Butterworth I think.

Not sure what's the name of that kopitiam (it's an old old one) but should not be difficult to find as there aren't many such old hainanese kopitiams along that street.

When is your AD?

hi nellie,
good idea but if it in JB still alright to pick up.
i thk there few very old 60-70yrs deco coffee shop.

my AD planning sept-dec 2007

Hi girl,

Non of my JB friends knew any hainanese confectionery there.

My friends in Penang will help me to bring over when they attend my wedding. (if i can't get it in SIN)

nellie, penang very far!!! will go ask my relative if JB have or not. actually i got few hainanese they also tell me is e old uncle who make them

Hi Girl,

I agree that Penang is very far but no choice leh. I need a backup plan in case the hainanese uncle stops doing it.

If I can find in JB, I would rather get it from JB.

Pls let me know if you can find in JB.

I'm also pure hainanese. So are all my cousins. So we always converse in the dialect when we're together and outside.. kinda like a secret language! LOL.. all our partners will scratch head and blur. But think they are picking up phrases and words.

My father grew up in Purvis St aka Hai Nam Ji Koi (literal translation - Hainan Second Street). I spent alot of time there as a kid too. There was a tailor shop, confectionery (Nam Tong Li) and a couple of clans too. Used to have yummy restaurants - Rui Ji chicken rice and another ji zha place. Mum grew up in some Changi kampong.

bluberi - where did you stay in ji koi?

The golden ball is called 'jin2 nle2'.. acc to my mum, she brought it from bride side to groom side. Can't rem what happened to it after that :P Probably ate it.. hahaa.

There are 2 provinces in Hainan Island.. Le Hui Xian and Wen Chang Xian. Dialects would be slightly different e.g. 'sor' is bed in Le Hui but table in Wen Chang.

Hi everyone! Din realise there're 2 different 'hainanese' thread...the other one being under "Meeting place for brides". Shall we congregate at one?

Hi twish, I dont know the Hai Nam Kois very well cos I'm third generation (altho still pure :P). But I know both my parents' clans are there. My grandpa used to go to the clan HQ everyday and I get 'book-money/prize' from them every year... kekeke

My family's from Wen Chang Xian (or rather Boon3 Sio2 Kuai2)...the state/town is Po2 Lo2 Si4.. village is Ao3 Buay3 Sui2 :P... Hope I type it right! What bout you? Our ancestors might know each other.. hahahahah. Talking bout the dialect...we also call bed 'sor' leh. But I know if you go to Hainan Dao, in the capital, they speak a bit different.. and a lot of time I cant decipher.

Ya... speaking hainanese is sometimes like having secret language.. hahaha. When I'm at FH's house and they speak hokkien, most of the time I can make out what they're talking about, but when he comes to mine... especially if we talk fast fast.. he gets blur liao

Let's all chat at the other thread... since it's young and happening.. and pretty, since Nellie posted lots of nice photos!!!

bluberi - i think i know you.. are you the one who shares the same name as me? ;)

misty - what's the url? can't find the thread..

hi all i am also a pure hainanese.... my husband is pure hokkein, but he is interested in having a Hainanese wedding, because firstly His family is not very particular into hokkein customs and they dun really know much also. And they also tink hokkein customs like very troublesome, hainanese one is much simpler...

by the way... i am getting confused while reading the thread too.. heehee

can anyone tell me, other than the Jin Dei (big round ball), what other traditions hainanese need to follow? my parents also like not very sure leh...

hi to all hainanese! let continue to keep the threads rolling!

i'm a 100% pure hainanese and i can speak/understand hainanese. i wonder whether you all had came across an umbrella shop at north bridge rd? it was my mum's family business but had closed down liao bcos the landlord wanted the land back. very sad! just a few doors away from my mum's umbrella shop and there was a famous "swee kee" chicken rice restaurant. had you all been there?

my hubby is a cantonese bcos quite difficult to find a hainanese guy leh. haiz. i agreed that hainanese are great cooks bcos my mum can cook very well but i cant. haha. my grandparents used to work for angmoh families therefore they were great cooks too. i also agreed that hainanese guys are handsome bcos my dad and my grandfather were handsome. they didnt look like chinese and looked a bit of mixed blood. hainanese guys are known to love their wives. this was what my dad told us.

i'm quite sad that hainanese population is getting smaller now so i'll try to pass down the culture to my children in future.

From what my mum did for my wedding, it would be good for the guy side to give the "pin lang". DUring my wedding, my mother in law had to ask someone to get from Malaysia as Singapore apparently does not have. Also, my mum also gave my mother in law the sweetened peanut blocks. Those kind which they make in Hainan Island called "Gong Bang" (Pronunce in hainanese)

hey! I am a Hainanese bride but my HTB is Hokkien!

I really love and appreciate that i am a hainanese! all thanks to my beloved granny who dotes on me so much.. she's no longer by my side but i will always remember what she teach me and she will always be in my heart (kns me wanna cry again)

I think if i get married to a Hokkien, i will not be practising my dialect tradition right? not sure about that..

My granny loves Jin Dei~~ she says its nice.. ooh well hehe..

i can speak and understand hainanese too and i will teach my kids next time!

oh by the way.. i thought gong bang is toilet.. sorry abt that Lstephie i'm just curious

helo.. duno if this thread is still alive.. im a hainanese bride. but am totally clueless for the traditions which we have to do..

any ideas?