Any suggestions of Valentine and Birthday Gift and any taboo gifts that should not be given?

pinkpt

Hihi people,

Any suggestions of gifts as this is my 1st valentine's day with my bf and as his birthday is a week plus after valentine's day, any other suggestions for birthday gifts? He was mentioning that watches r not appropriate as it means'' Time To go'' and he already has PSP,PS3 and X-box.

Shirt, Wallet, Perfume, Handphone.... the list goes as long as it is. Actually its the thought that counts ba.

Prepare him a meal? make him a card or something that is special and meaning food. Not necessary need to be of an material object.

Speaking of taboo I know that people do mention abt shoes lah. Will Zhao Sai haha.

birthday and v day gifts are very personal bah.... how to suggest? We also don't know what pattern your other half is. Anything suggestible will be very standard stuff. Why not try to discover wat he really wants?

Planned to get the Grandprix tickets Pit Grandstand seats for his bday... but now he may be posted overseas so no point....

Last V-day, was our 1st together, so I baked him cookies. This year, will be Polo.

Then his birthday is 2 weeks after V-day, this year will be a watch. Last year, got him a Raoul shirt.

But i surpised him on his birthday with a theme. Last year, the theme was adventure, so i took him to sky dining. This year's theme will be space... haha.. so he cannot guess what's coming up for him.

Also, i plan to buy a pair of couple rings to mock up a proposal. just that, i have not managed to get his ring size.

I'm away for work in V day...bummer....
Tot of sending a gift to him at his office to surprise him since he's totally not expecting anything. Still pondering over wat to get. I saw this really nice Paul Smith wallet but i bought a wallet for him 2 christmas ago and it's still perfectly usable... so now still thinking leh.

WAH..... Starry.... u PROPOSING TO HIM??????

This is our 2nd V day "together" too. We kinda broke up inbetween for a couple of months and just got back together recently.....

I don't want to "give too much" at this stage. So wait wait see see any idea pop into my mind loh.

Well Moss u could prob get a watch if he is not Pangdan.
Starry, thought of couple rings as well but i dun want to give him the thought that i'm rushing for his proposal. Thought of getting the engraved bracelet for guys but nt too sure whether he will wear it. Thanks pple and keep the suggestions coming in.

Hi Mozz,
how to send to his office? You mean Paul Smith provides delivery?

thinking of Raoul shirt..but he is with me EVERYDAY..how to buy?!?!

Hi Mozz,
i think sending gifts to office is realli a present surprise..

But does Paul Smith provides local delivery?

Me thinking of a Raoul Shirt..

But he is with me everyday leh..how to buy!?

He gave me a bunch of things for my birthday this year and a watch included... few days later he got news tat he could be posted to china for 3 years .... nbz.... so YES I PANGDAN leow... i'm returning the watch to him. Or maybe i should just pay him for the watch.

So .. NO WATCH....

Of cos paul smith don't deliver lah. I get someone to deliver for me.

haha Mozz, to counter the pang dan thingy u dun need to pay for the watch. In future whenever someone gives u such gifts, juz give them back a 10 cent can liao haha.

I think the westerners also have this culture. If ppl get u a knife, u return them a coin.

No lah... not proposing a marriage...

Proposing can be something else... still thinking of something funny, comical...

Even if girl proposing marriage, also nothing wrong. Why must always be guys leh?

But i really wish i could give him a watch as it wd b so sweet to give him a couple watch. Anyway, i'm also not sure whether i have to OT on my bd and valentine's consecutively. Therefore, jus wondering wat other people are planning to get or do on that day

i never knew watches are taboo! on his first bday as my bf (4 years ago), i got him a seiko. 2 christmases ago he got me a watch too. my dad has also given my mum numerous watches over the years! haha..

mozz, i feel so sorry for you.. my bf and i had to deal with long-distance for almost 3 years so i know how hard it's gonna be. *hugs* but china's not THAT far; at least same time-zone. (my bf was studying in UK!!) and you could always find work there too. we didn't have the luxury of that option 'cos we were both pursuing our studies.

anyway, after 4 years of vday, anniversary, birthday, christmas...it's very difficult to come up with practical and/or interesting gifts, and not to mention, VERY expensive. i've told him not to get me anything (and vice versa..hehe) for vday 'cos i hate how it's so commercialised. and you need not actually celebrate it on 14 Feb; please, it's just a date on the calender.

if you don't wanna get him something that is "practical" (e.g. electric shaver, magazine subscription, gym membership, wallet, cuff-links etc), but something more romantic instead, how about a picnic or short trip overseas or a simple high-tea at a nice hotel?

Yah man...3 yrs is so long...... it's my first time on LDR.... don't know how i'll do. Anyways finally bought the VD gift leow. Bought a CK bag for him. Since i'll be away decided to get his bro to plant it in his room on V day. Think he'll be surprised cos he tot we'll "miss" v day this year.

LDR. well, to pre-empt you, if you're anything like me, there'll be tears, plenty of distance-related quarrels and lots of heartache. well, y'all will make it, as long as both of you WANT to make it

is working in China not an option for you?

Actually, most guys are not particular about gifts. But, u need to understand your guy lah.

If u guys are already sexually involved, then give him a surprise bj session.

????

Posted on Wednesday, January 30, 2008 - 3:23 pm

Are you all replying before she can post what to buy for his bf second birthday when they are together ????? how come such an old thread also can be dig out ?