Any popular JPs to recommend???

hi butter thanks... i heard tat he's e most popular of all rite... my FSIL also take him tats y my FH don't feel like taking him as our solemniser. any others to recommend???

hey annabelle.
nice to see u here. i jus had my ROM on 30 May 2005. My JP was mr Chan Kai Yau. if u r someone who likes jokes n a lively ROM u can consider him. he even takes the effort to meet up with the couple, chit chat with them abit before the actual solemnisation day. i had lots of fun during my solemnisation. he even did the mc bit for us in both mandrin n english. v nice old man.

hi POPIE
kao_welcome.gif
... nice to see u here leh... need your help... was thinking abt JP chan too leh... u got his no.??? got handphone??? cause i heard from ppl if on tat day cannot reach him very anxious wan leh...

anabelle. paiseh. v busy at work lately. by the time i reach home concuss already.

mr chan got no handphone n no email one. he is an anti-technology person. hahaha. but he is v trustable one. dun worry. he came on the dot for my rom. n for the first meeting we had with him, he was early. v nice old man. give u his office number k?

he works at a church. 62564298. u can onli get him during office hours. but if he is not there, the church office staff will take msg n he will call back as soon as he can.

hi daylight,

we dun have to choose JP for rom at rom itself. its random pick... yup we only have to contact a JP for outdoor solemnisation.

i'm new to this thread. read abt various jps like mr david loh, mr koh, mr chen n mr chan in other threads too. need to find out wat's the procedures r like to get these popular jps? coz read from the rom website tt u can only engage one 3 mths before?

hi qingqing

think mr david loh's contact is 97425005 (got it from other threads).

Hi! Am planning to ROM in Mar 06, which means I have to stand by my kon-pew-ter around Dec 10 to file. I noticed that to register to solemnise outside ROM, we will need to give the name of JOP or whoever's solemnising our marriage when registering online. My question is: Based on that, am I (gulp) too late to get a JOP?! HOW do I get one?! Just refer to the list and coldcall them?! Sounds damn weird... like asking stranger to yr wedding (ok, ok, I know they play an impt role but you get the drift right ;))? Seeking advice from the experienced...

Hi Chicklet...

I'm planning my ROM in Apr06, ask my FH to cold call lor...no choice coz don't know anyone leh...what i did was look at the recommendations from here and he cold call....

but Mr Loh is booked on the day i wan liow...so now calling

Mr Chan Kai Yan
Ms Tan-Huang Shou Mei

heard that both can do the solemnisation in mandarin/english...so very good...

u better start calling esp if ur solemnisation is on sat nite very difficult to book...

Stefy..

Hi Stefy,

Mr Chan Kai Yau is a nice old man... he will make an effort to meet up with the couple before the ceremony to understand the couple more. My friends had him for their solemisation. I've also managed to engage him for mine.
You can try calling him. Else you can also try Ling Ai Mee... heard she's another lady who makes effort to meet up with couples to brief them on how things is gonna be like.

~gelaine

hi gelaine...

thanx a lot...i waiting to confirm the hotel then i will call the JP...

when's ur ROM gonna be? mine's on 29th Apr...

Hi Stefy...

Mine is gonna be on 18th March. Actually as long as u know the date and time u can call JP Chan to book him first then later confirm the venue with him. He'll mark it down i his diary so that he wun give the slot to someone else. That's what alot of ppl is doing actually. Coz good JPs so experienced is hard to get!

~Gelaine

hi gelaine..

oic...okie okie...thanx for advice, will get FH to call him tomorrow...

where will u be having ur ROM? I looking at amara/carlton...u got any comments?

Stefy,

I'm having ROM at a cafe near town. I think Amara has great poolside ROM package. Me and FH went down to take a look and we fell in love with it. BUT one big minus point is during solemisation, the guest will be seated in a uncovered place near the pavilion where the ceremony is gonna be at and it's directly under the sun. The day we went down was at around lunch-time and the whole place was so hot. And they do have function room. But it's chargeable at $450+++... too ex! Which is why we gave up idea holding at Amara.

As for Carlton, it's also poolside. But the last time i went to attend a relatives ROM... i din feel very hot or watever so i guess shld be ok... but you still have to go take a look. My FH doesnt like the set-up... thus i gave up the idea too.

I actually did a list of quotations from various restaurants and all (infact i think about 30 venues i got! KIASU me!). If you're keen to know more about other venues you can let me know. How many pax are u having?

Add me to you MSN if you have for easier communication if you wish.
My MSN: [email protected]

hi gelaine...

thanx for the feedback...i wanted to have my ROM at night so weather is not so much a problem...
but would be great to have a peek at your list...can meail me:

added you to my MSN contacts...tok to u soon...

hey ladies, you have any recommendations on outdoor venues? thinking of doing in the morning that will be accompanied with lunch?
preferably in a chapel/ garden setting

hi gelaine..

sob sob...FH tried to contact Mr Chan but can't get him, seems like his phone got something wrong they keep transferring him around and the line keep disconnecting
u got his contact? dunno if the no. i got correct anot..can give me?

hi rachael...

i've onli looked at the following hotel poolside

Amara Hotel (will have surcharge for indoor venue if rain)
Carlton Hotel (most satisfied - but lunch time will be quite hot by the waterfall but u can op to do it at the cavana quite romantic...)
Plaza Park Royal (no shelter if rain)

if u wan lunch solemnisation...why don't u try love that binds (see website below)...

http://www.lovethatbinds.com/

good luck

Hi Stef,
My FH got his number from the ROM website under the list of licensed JP.
And yes... he's very hard to reach coz apparently his secretary handles his calls. Try reach him monday morning.
Office hours should be better.
We're also trying to reach him to arrange to meet up to sign consent form.

Anyone use this JP b4 Mr Tan Yan Huan from JUSTICES OF THE PEACE??? Mr Chan Kai Yau contact? Anyone has it? Can share?

Just for sharing,

if anyone who is considering David Loh, he cant pronounce 'S' very well..

for example, "Sam" becomes "Siam"...

I had actually got David Loh for my solemnizer on a Friday 8am on 26th May 06 at my house which is in Yishun.
But he told me that he will be rushing to a 9am ROM in town.
Who had experience with his solemnization?
How long does he takes?
Will he anyhow do when there is not enough time for him?
I dun wan a bad ROM.
Pls advise.

Hi Sabrina,

Mr. Chan's home no. is 6235 6143; office is 6256 4298. he did my solemnization, quite a nice guy. Conducted the ceremony in english but explained and went through the procedure in Chinese too, did it very smoothly.

quite short--matched me n my husband in height :-p

I had called up to JP Chan and unfortunately he could not make it on the day I want. Any good recommendation of JP? a contact # given will be the best!!

Thanks ladies!

Hi Stephanie

I highly recommend my JP to you. Her name is Mrs Chia Swee Tin. You will not regret having her as a JP. She will definetely made your day so memorable. She is very friendly and all my guests think she was very cool. If you really need her pls email me [email protected]

Bad news.....I just called to book David Loh but he is retiring in 2007. My ROM will be in Jan 07, any other good, cheerful, friendly JP to reco?

I just called Mr Loh to ask him to solemnize me ROM on 2 July. He say he got problems with his licence. He thought his licence is expiring 31 Dec but who knows the ministry told him it expires on 30 June. So he can't do mine. But lucky I managed to find another one.

hi. finally i have choosed Peony-Jade as my ROM venue. just now called David, he told us he got problem with the license that he can't confirm with us whether he can become our JP or not in this July. any good JP recommend?

can ask wat's the procedure to book a JP for my ROM? i'm having it outside in a restaurant, somewhere in Oct2006.

someone please help! thanks!!

Hi piggytinky,

Basically after you have confirmed your date, time and venue, you can clal up the JP that you wish to engage to confirm if he can make it for your ROM. If he agrees, then arrange to let him sign the letter of acknowledgement. Then u can proceed to efile within 3 mths from your ROM
Then 3 days b4 ROM date, you will bring the letter together with your ICs and witnesses' IC to ROM to verify lor.
That simple.

would like to know when must i call up the JP for booking? Mine on 5th Nov 06. Is it have to be 3 mths b4? Or i can actually reserve the slot 1st cos i have my venue already?

Hi Kalis,

Booking can be done as soon as you get your date and time.
You can call the JP you want to book him for the slot. Then about 3 mths before the actual date before you e-file, get him to sign the form for you.

Thanks Gelaine... So, i can call n give the JP now lor? Btw, wats e-file? Is it going in to the ROM website to do it? another thing, wat to give the JP huh? Angbao? -Like hw much? Advise?

Hi Kalis,

Yeap can call JP now lor... efile is to register on ROM website... heh...

Ang bao for JP is recommended $28-$48 by ROM office. But me and my husband gave $68 plus a pen lor... so it all depends on individual's budget.

Hi Gelaine,
Thanks for yr advise... Do u have good JP to recommend? Read thru previous posted messages. Mr Chan like not bad hor?

Kalis

Hey Kalis,

Yeah! Mr Chan is great! I had my solemnization done by him..me and my hubby enjoyed ourselves!
He's very popular... so do book him fast!