Any jazz lovers here?

alan_golfnut

Prob a sign of old age (yes yes, that's a sweeping statement cos I know it's getting more popular with the younger age group! *lol*), but I'm starting really enjoy jazz, and am looking for fellow jazz kakis to trade thoughts about the music. Will be putting together all my jazz stuff and playing it for my customary dinner. Although I do like the 'classic' sound of jazz (ie. no fusion, a bit too 'messy' for my liking), but my fave is still vocal jazz, esp driving home at night. Billie Holiday kind of voice.. ah! Oh, have a go at David Foster's new protege, Renee Olstead. 14 year old girl, Billie kinda voice, but some of the stuff are not strictly jazz (just a caveat for the purists), kinda like Norah Jones but with more jazz content. Then again, jazz and big band kinda cross over somewhat, that's how I hear it. Can the experts pls enlighten me?

Hey watch who u call old! I also listen to a little jazz, in fact I listen to almost anything except Trace & House (i think thats what they are call. Basically, I don't listen to the stuff they play at the hip dance clubs.

From the sounds of it, you may enjoy Diana Krall & Laura Fygi. And if you are putting together a wedding selection Diana's 'The Look of Love' & Laura's 'Dream a little dream' is appropriate.

But I absolutely love Harry Connick Jr. and his 'It had to be you'.

I must go check out Renee Olstead.

Agree with you on the jazz & big band cross over. I always fell like going the swing when I hear either.

Hey hey, read my disclaimer (but in this case, my 'get-out' clause! *lol*) abt it being more popular with youngsters!
'Old' refers to me!

Actually, I'll be putting together songs that are not overtly lovey in the sense of being too slow. Compiling the happy lovey jazz/swing styles, love the Michael Buble sounds. You heard of it? It's great uplift! Can lend it to you if you want. The chap is only 19! He said he got started when his Italian grandad used to make him sing Sinatra songs at family events.
I'm trying to venture out and try those older stuff like Dean Martin.

Agree Michael Buble is good. What? Dean Martin! You really getting old. hee hee. I guess you're just acting your age.
I, on the other hand, am trying desperately to hold on to youth. So am now listening to hip hop, R&B dance, Pop & Chinese pop too. No money so buy compilations. R&B is great for jogging.

Anyway back to Jazz, for swing you should try Robbie William’s ‘Have u met Ms Jones?’. For the really old stuff (more your age) try Maxine Sullivan, one of the greats of Swing. ‘It’s Wonderful’ & ‘You & I’. Sullivan will be hard to find in Singepore. I can lend you Sullivan if you want.

Ever consider dancing with your bride on the actual day? Wow imagine the bride & groom doing the swing. How romantic.

same here, great fan of michael buble. isn't there like a jazz radio station? i used to listen to it all the time, very soothing.

oh...

me jazz fan too...
also doing compliation of Jazzy songs for my AD.

anyone have the song Sway by Michael? (MP3 version) can email me?

MTDT: Err.. not a very prudent thing to ask for over an open forum leh. You never know if someone will report. There's a forum I went to for tech gear that got shut down cos they were passing around software. So gotta be careful.

Samara: Yup yup, they play a whole range of genres. Arts radio thingy. Closed down due to lack of funds. So sad!

June: Yeah yeah yeah, I was setting myself up for the 'OLD!' slime when I mentioned Dean Martin, wasnt I? *LOL* But oldies ARE goldies!!
Err... not talking abt myself, thank you! ;)

R&B bit the slow for me when jogging. I do my interval training to drum and bass as well as rock. Used it as a psych up tool when I was playing rugby to get the adrenaline pumping. No choice lah, intervals kill, so need to numb my senses with the eardrum splitting stuff! *lol* BTW, did 10k yesterday, almost died! Havent done it in ages!

Would've been keen on Maxine Sullivan if you hadn't mentioned the 'old' thing. ;) Oh, LOVE that classic by Nina Simone, 'My baby just cares for me'! LOVE the bass, and the simplicity of the whole sound!! Just the snare drums played with the steel brush, piano, bass and of cos, her voice! WHOA!

Actually, am thinking of doing wifey's fave song, Nat King Cole's 'L.O.V.E.'. But am scared of the 'Singapore Idol syndrome' lah: I sound good to myself, sound like sXXt to the guests!! *lol* Good thing abt the song is that there's no high notes.

June: BTW, you still want your HRM? Sorry, am a bit paranoid after the accusations starting flying. ;) Meeting the Polar chaps this week. If you're keen, drop me a mail and then we'll arrange for... THE DROP! Sounds like some kind of spy thingy, eh? *lol*

Alan: HRM yes. As for your singing, u can always record it and send post it on the forum and we'll be the judge. Keen?

June: Oy, if I so brave to record and post hor, confirm I go join Singapore Idol oredi!!!! *lol* Cannot lah, I hate my singing, which is why I was a drummer, like Ringo Starr (Oy! Dun say I old again hor! *lol*). I mean, it's prob gonna be a public humiliation, and my nerves will mean I'll sound even worse, but it IS her fave song, and I know she'd appreciate it, so therefore I decided on the 'suicide'. ;) Ok lah, when I meet you at Suntec, I sing there and you see what you think. What can happen rite? At least people won't throw eggs cos it's so scarce now! *lol*

My sis is having her wedding in Jan and she really really wants to find a song titled "You are the Sunchine of my Life" original singer by Stevie Wonder but she wants to find the female singer version and I have absolutely no idea who tat is. Can anyone help? Thanks.

Errmmm.. Cld be this Japanese singer called Lisa Ono. Album is called 'Pretty World', released by Panasonic EMI (ASIN: B000059O50). Try HMV, there've got a pretty definitive collection. Good luck!

alan, thanks! i was like searching for the frequency at one point and can never find it. i am not a jazz expert but that station was perfect coz it played all sorts jazz pieces. do you have any suggestion on any soothing jazz for relaxation to sleep? side track alittle, just wondering those instrumental music that is being played in the malls like taka is very relaxing, makes customers feel relax and happy, is it jazz? i feel stupid asking that coz i just call it mall music.

samara: Oh please dont call yourself stupid cos I'm no jazz expert myself, I would've called it 'mall music' myself.
Do you like vocal jazz? Personally, I find them most soothing. Singers like Laura Fygi and Diana Krall usually does the slower sort of jazz (I call it lounge jazz). OH! Check the music shops for compilations, I remember a couple like Chill Out Room, Lava Lounge, etc. Those are the easy listening type. For music to fall asleep to, you could also try some of the classicals. Got one tat I bought from my Uni bookshop in Oz was specifically packaged for sleep inducement!

Am new to this thread .. I have started listening to jazz since I got to know my FH.. Hee..hee .. Hey, I luv Michael Buble too
Diana Krall, Lisa Ekhal, Stacey Kent, Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong are some of my favourites too .. Hmm.. Laura Fygi have been quite popular in wedding dinners.. Heard it fm the past few weddings i hv attended
Hv anyone try Jamie Cullum?

Welcome, pooh! You listen to Ella too? Oy June! You don't have to be old to be listening to the old generation of singers! ;) Pooh proves it!

Jamie Callum: Either you hate him or love him. He's the generation of young jazz singers who sings it his own way, not in the style of the classical rich sounds like how Michael Buble does it. As one friend described, Jamie practically talks his way through his songs! The again, he prefers to call himself a punk-jazz musician. However, if you're willing to look past his voice, his lyrics are pretty good, writes them with his brother.

I have Jamie Callum's CD. I think its nice but not great. It doesn't stir up emotions. It's like Jazz can be soothing or fun. And R&B can be very sexy and exciting. Jamie is just nice.........

June: Wah, abstract leh, typical analyst! ;) *dodges June's flying shoe*

Hey, I presume you're an 80's child too rite (meaning you were in school then)? Just started a thread to discuss 80s music there!

Alan: Of cos i like Ella, she hv a beautiful voice..

Alan, Junec: Thanks for sharing views on Jamie Callum :0) Probably will go to Tower Records/HMV to do some cds test listening 1st .. hehehe...

Hey, by the way, I like Fourplay too - Bali Run, Moon Jogger, Max-O-Man...etc

I love jazz too! But im not a jazz expert... just enjoy the relaxing jazz... feel so sensual and classy. But my guy is not anything into jazz at all. sigh! So hard to find a kaki who appreciate the music as well.

wow.. so many jazz fan here.. it will be good if u guys started this thread earlier,then i can find alots of friends here liao, used to like jazz alot, but after i know mi hubby, i appreciate New Age music more, it very diff from jazz, but it as soothing as jazz... so maybe u guys can mixed a little of jazz and New age too.. hehehe..
just sharing..

The first taste of jazz I had was during my uni days when it drifted over the speakers in a cafe. It was so nice that I had to ask the counter staff what they were playing. It turned out to be Stan Getz's Girl from Ipanema. Needless to say, Bossa Nova became my fave. I also listen to Astrud Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Ono Lisa, Michael Buble (from my home town). I especially enjoyed his rendition of "Come fly with me". Used to like Norah Jones but she's getting a tad country for me lately.

Alan,
Agree with you on Jamie Callum. Didn't like his style that much. Maybe you want to try Steve Tyrell's "A New Standard". There's tonnes of stuff suitable for weddings in that CD.

Hey there! Interesting nick! ;)

Hey, where r you from? Not local obviously, unless Michael Buble was born in Asia! *lol* You're from Canada?

You're not wrong abt Norah Jones, she hasn't really got a genre that you can pin her down to. Hey, anyone heard of that little Japanese ditty that was featured in the Sony Ericssion phone ad, the one with the squirrel? Love that song! Simplicity at its best: a bass, steel brush on snare and a piano. Ah!

That is a nice little piece. I even have colleagues that are using it as their ringtones. Actually, a bit weird coz I was going to mention Japanese jazz in my last thread. Did you know that there are a few Japanese artists that have excellent jazz CDs out there? One of which is Yoshiko Kishino's Siesta. My FH ripped me a copy and I adore it. It's also with my favorite instruments: bass, steel brush and piano. Nice and simple. Smooth to the max.

As for where I'm from... Vancouver to be precise. Way proud to have him as a fellow Vancouverite. But I'm of the opinion that he should stay away from 70's-80's sentimentals (e.g. Kissing a fool, How to mend a broken heart). Ick. Too kitschy. Just leave that to ol'George-y and the BeeGees.

SO agree with you that the classical sound of bass, steel brush and piano is the best, none of that fusion rubbish. ;) Any idea who the singer of that Sony piece is?

So HOW did you get your nick? Say, you were from Vancouver and based here now, or the other way round?

Seems like there's a preoccupation with my nickname?
It was simply a manifestation of my highschool buddies' creative minds, I guess. Originally from Van, now based here.

By the way, if you love golf, you'll think you've died and gone to heaven in Van. Used to do a bit of driving range there but gave it up due to the heat and humidity here.

Haha! Yes yes, just wanted to make sure abt the nick! ;) Ah yes, the local weather, hardly the most conducive for golf. But I try to stay positive and take it as a good workout. ;)

hey iamschizoid,

moi from Ontario! totally agree that the heat here ruins the mood for golf. it is way cheaper to golf in Canada. so you are based here in singapore?

Hey! A fellow Cdn! That's cool. Which part of Ont would that be? You nick sounds more like a Quebecois instead...
Cava bien?

Maybe we should start a thread for overseas Cdn's eh?

I loved golfing back home. The chilly morning or evening breeze counters whatever sweat you work up. Yep, based in S'pore. Howabout you? What brings you to this neck of the woods?

ca va! et toi?

from ottawa, go senators! yeah, close enough to quebec, border to hull!

i have been to vancouver a few times, mostly in the summer, always coincide with the PNE fair (dun remember if that is the right name). i must say that vancouver is like lasvegas, hot hot in the day but cold in the night, nice city though!

yeah, we should start a thread for canadians or if you have the time you can PM me or email moi [email protected]

Lafleur: Ah, that explains for the nick then!

Hey, y dun you ladies try night golf at Orchid Country Club? It's a lot cooler, though that's a subjective word. ;)

Bien, merci beaucoup, Lafleur.
Ok. That's about all the French I picked up from 5 years worth of classes. You got the name of the fair right though . It is PNE. Used to love riding that rickety old roller coaster next door at Playland. From the looks of it, it's on the verge of collapsing.
I'll PM/email you this weekend. Meanwhile, how do we start a new thread?

Alan, maybe you know?
As for the golfing venue suggestion... thanks, but OCC is pretty far from where I stay. Gotta get a car first which may not be for another year or two. <sigh> You stay around there?

schizoid: To start a new thread, just go to the relevant folder (prob "anything under the sun" would be most appropriate), and click 'new thread'.

Nope, I'm staying in the Bukit Timah area, for you know golfers, we go where the course is, even if it means contributing to the neighbouring economy. ;) Where do you stay?

schizoid, i think that we might be the only 2 canadians in this forum.
have you met many canadians in singapore?

alan, thanks for your suggestion but i think that anywhere on this equator is just simply too HOT to be outdoor!
i guess you must be a pro golfer, eh? i enjoy going to the driving range in the evening back in canada especially in the summer. i am not good though, still improving. i am a left hander so the balls just go flying in all directions, so everyone step back!!

Lafluer: Hey, dun go mistaking for a wannabe golf hack for a pro! *lol* From an economic standpoint, it really doesn't make sense to spend so much on green fees, and try to finish the game in as few strokes as possible, right? So go ahead and hit the ball into the bushes, the bunker, except the water. Cos once it gets in, well, it's not much fun cos you're losing money in the form of the ball! *lol*

Hmm... you may actually be right, Lafleur. I haven't met any Cdn's around here apart from seeing some TV personalities on and off. Guess we're a rare and exotic breed.

Actually, I didn't want to pollute Alan's thread on jazz which is the real reason behind starting a new thread. Wouldn't want him coming after us with his golf clubs swinging!

Thanks, Alan... as for where I stay, it should be considered the Katong area. Tried the driving range near Marina South sometime back. Anyway, if Lafleur and I do start a new thread, do come in and join us. We can chat about anything under the sun. Meanwhile, bear with us okie?

Hey Lafleur,
Our new thread's up.
Subject: Bienvenue au Canada! Topic: Anything under the sun. See you there! Check your email when you're free.

Hey Alan,
Come in for a visit ok? Already posted a question for you there.

Hi hi...

I am new in this thread. I like jazz but not an expert in Jazz. In fact I am preparing for my wedding so I need some EXPERTS to help me out with some classy &amp; jazzy music..

Anyone out there who can help me alittle...

U may email me if u have some new music to share with me.. [email protected].

Thanks ALOT..

Hi Serene! Welcome to the thread. Here's a great way to sample jazz: Go HMV! They have a great section of a wide genre of jazz to sample and try. I can spend half a day standing there to try before buying.

No worries, Serenity, have fun! It'll be like heaven!
My fave activity! Was driving home just now and as usual, met many idiotic drivers along the way, could've got sucked into the negative angry state, but the soothing jazz playing in the car just got me so zen-ed out!

Alan,

I totally agree with you. Simply love listening to the soothing jazz when I drive, especially after a hard day at work and a good workout at the gym.

Laura Fgyi Concert Tickets? Any taker? I have won a pair of Laura Fgyi Concert tickets (The Diva of Jazz) on 2 May 8pm Singapore Indoor Stadium. They are the $128 tickets each. Very good seat (PB Block, 3 Row, 1&amp;2 Seat )

I would like to sell away at good price if you are sincere. Please drop me an email at [email protected] if you are interested.

anyone know the songs used as backgrd music for the "Nu Ren Wo Zui Da" program short? (the Taiwan talk show by Lan Xin Mei screen on sat night). i love that songs and would like to get that album. Please... and Thanks..

hi everyone, i am new here...
I am a jazz lover too... but i am a sotong jazz lover... i love to listen to jazz.. but i dun really bother about the name of the song and who is the singer..

I am getting married soon... Will anyone be able to provide me with some song titles and singers name for songs suitable for wedding march in?

Hi Clouds.. hmm... you'd really need to decide on whether it's something that's easy to march in, ie. whether it's a beat you can march to. I used Josh Groban's "You're Still You" and "Come Away with Me" by Norah Jones. Best thing to do is to go Amazon.com cos you can sample the music there. Good luck!