Any Comments on Ximula / Alumix wardrobe system ?

ahping

Is $3600 expensive for a 17 ft Alumix wardrobe with sliding door?

How about also $2340 for 13ft without doors.

bungy_jumper

hi moo,
they specialise in systems.

hi ning,
depends on what you want. the number of poles, shelves, bars and drawers. But generally, it cost slightly more.

ah ping,
the first one sounds reasonable while the 2nd sounds ex. Think you call up get a quotation as i do not know if their prices has changed.

basics

Dear Afcai, little lamb and all,

I am thinking of doing a built-in closet abt 6.5ft to 8 ft long. with bi-fold door and materials made of frosted glass and plywood (not MDF or chipboard).

Went to furniture shops and some are selling MDF cupboards which are essentially paper based. Wanted something more solid.

I find the prices u paid is quite reasonable. can pm me the contacts and quality?

Or anyone have come across any good tall off-the-rack wardrobes to share?

The reason why I dont want to spend so much is that my area is too small to do a walk-in and one side is next to my aircon window which I have to leave a gap there which makes it not so value for $ if I spent too much on it.

rc123

Hi basics,

If you want a built-in wardrobe, why don't you get your contractor to quote you. This might be cheaper. I was quoted a normal wardrobe at $200/ft and there's no limit to the drawers and shelves you want. I didn't really look at off the shelf wardrobe but I thought IKEA has quite nice tall wardrobes.

afcai

Hi Basics,
Your PM status is not set, can't PM u.

Mine material is neither made of MDF or chipboard(not recommended by ID as it is not so lasting when the wood touch the water). mine is plastercell instead. it is kind of a better wood.

yup, that's why I'm also doing a built in closet instead.

viewz

I just bought a ximula wardrobe from Zhenyi at $1650, with glass plus metal piece in the middle sliding door. size about 7ft and full height...

really worth it... i think still got a few more to go only.... there are 30 sets, you can order now and take delivery in future...

anyone has bought this packages?

This is applicable for home owner only thus your ID will not quote this for you.

According to them, normally ID quote alumix rather than ximula as alumix is much much cheaper...

rc123

Hi viewz,

I bought the same set as yours. I've posted the photos above. When I bought the set, they told us is only valid for 20 sets, now they have increased the no. of sets. Your sliding door is made of glass?

bungy_jumper

Hmmm.. that's why the profit margin for ID so high. They really make alot just passing the job to alumix.

anyway, while you gals were there, did you come across any workstations on offer?

viewz

Hi Jumped, yes there is one workstation 4 poles with lots of shelfing, ximula, only $800...plus $150 installation.

Really worth it.

viewz

Hi little lamb,

I change the to glass door bronze colour plus a metal strip in the middle for $297.

rc123

Hi viewz,

I oso wanted to have a glass door initially, but dun have the budget to top up. Yours must be very nice. So is yours a WIW or just like wat they displayed? When will u be installing?

mkc

Hi viewz,

$1650 inclusive of the glass door? If inclusive of the glass door, that's value for money.

viewz

Hi Little Lamb,

I have not started renovating my house. It will be sometime in Sep05.

Mine will be the WIW. below is the layout of my MBR.

I have move my sliding door to the entrance of the WIW.
284038.jpg

scobido

i wonder if we need to let our id know that we r engaging alumix co to do our wiw? can wiw be done after they hv done up my mbr? feel paiseh n not v nice if they c others...how?

any advice pls?

tnx

btw, does havg a toilet inside the wiw gd or bad?will it be weird if my mbr's toilet is outside wiw?

bungy_jumper

Hi moo,
i feel that u dont need to let your id know. When i did mine reno, i just told my ID to leave that space empty as i will be buying off the shelf later on. I thought that if i let my ID know, they will raise the prices somewhere else.

I did mine after my reno finish but my id bump into the alumix guys when my id suddenly came down to take a look at the rectification of defects.

Toilet inside has good and bad points. If your layout of your mbr is in such a way the toilet is far away, you will be wasting space concealing the toilet in the WIW. And dont forget the moist and odour.

scobido

Thanks jumped for your advice.

Is your toilet outside e wiw? Personally i feel that if it is located outside e wiw, might as well hv a normal warerobe? What's the pt of hvg e wiw? Am I right to say that?

Any advice on this? Headache now...

rc123

Hi viewz,

So envy of your layout, so large and spacious with your WIW close to toilet. I'm not as fortunate as you, dun have the luxury of space. Guess mine will be very cramp after I put in my bed

bungy_jumper

hi moo,
mine is outside. i cant have it inside unless i will lose half my mbr to the WIW. But my toileet door and WIW are the same material so cant really tell which is toilet.

My mbr is longish, so instead of concealling the toilet, i conceal the A/c ledge window inside the MBR.

scobido

hi jumped

u hv any pic or any floorplan to show me? cant visualise...

tot wiw will hv a large pc of door...how can it be hidden? or cant tell which is toilet? ...

rc123

Hi moo,

So u like that set too. I'm going to do a WIW. So I'll not be having 2 sliding doors, instead get them to do a partition with one sliding door. How long is your set?

scobido

How long?Not v sure...Can have two doors 1...

U meant if we hv wiw, then only need one door? alamak! i paid for 2doors i think

rc123

Hi moo,

No lah... it all depends on your WIW layout. Mine is a pretty small space. I partition a corner of my MBR to make it into a wiw so cannot have 2 doors loh. The package comes with 2 doors so even if u dun wan it u still pay the same price, i think.

alleb

Anyone heard of AluFlex?? I am recommended by my contractor to go to them for my WIW becos they use the same pole system as ximula. So I have went down to ALUFLEX and Ximula and Alumix showroom. For comparsion of drawers : Ximula is nicer with glass panel but a 900mm two tier will cost $500. Aluflex will cost $300 for laminated wood drawers with aluminium triming. Alumix is almost same price as Aluflex but Alumix is just laminated wood with wood trimming.

I tink Ximula is the nicest but expensive.
Aluflex is second choice.
Alumix is third choice.

Just my point of view

Hey little lamb, wonder if you are still around. Alumix is still having the offer duringthis period at $1650 for the same display set that you have posted above.

Do they still have the 4 tiers drawer set? I feel that the 3 drawers included in the package is too little and to get another set, it would costs abt $400 + leh...It's a good bargain at $350!!!

There is another 4 tier drawers in maple colour, but that would costs $600+ leh, too ex already..

We wanted to change the doors to frosted as well, but then reading through the thread, it seems there may be bubbles, marks, stains on the frosted doors, is it - afcai?

Hey views, how much did you top up to change the doors to glass?

Hey everyone, I have placed my order today on the $1650 pkg. The price for the wardrobe has risen to $1900 for today.

I am very tempted to get extra drawers as I feel the 3 tier drawers too little and I have plenty of stuffs that are needed to be "hidden" into the drawers...I am thinking of waiting for more display sets that will be returned to be sold....

There is also a display set that is only $600, excluding delivery + installation charge. I think it is very worth it...

afcai

Hi Ryes,
yup, it depends on the workmanship of the contractor. for mine, I have it re-done thrice but still got dust trap in the bubble. so give up then. but frosted is nicer. my kitchen cabinet are all lighted and dark frosted colour.

for wooden door, there's no charge. but for sliding door with frosted cost $80.

mine is also a 3 tiers drawers without rollers.

Hi afcai

Yap yap, you were so nice to share with me pictures of your wardrobe and kitchen. I like frosted alot as well, but the price to top up to frosted is ex, for 2 sliding doors is $299 already, not $80 like what you mentioned leh.

For the frost portion, was it done by the co ximula? You can feedback mah. There are 2 concerns - 1 is the bubble trap, 2 is the one which jumped mentioned abt the marks made on the panels if we use cloth to wipe the panels. Does it happen on yours?

Your 3 tier drawer can take out one right, ie not fixed to the poles right?

gallianorules

Looking at your postings have "gian" me already.
Where is the Ximula shop?
I was at Cupboards @ IMM earlier. They're promo is 3k for a 3.2m cupboard. Its ex .. but the rollers are amazing. Quiet as anything.

bungy_jumper

Hi Ryes,

Yup, mine frosted glass still has the "water" marks. But i lived with it already. Cant be seen anyway since its on the inside.

Alumix previously quoted me $1.5K for 3 panel frosted sliding doors. Though in the end, i paid extra $1.2K and let my contractor handle it instead.
How much will you have to pay for frosted sliding doors ? Think my 3 tier 600mm drawers cost me $300+. Paid extra $15 for the rollers.

Hey gary,

are you interested in cupboards? My fren bought a set from cupboard, but as due to personal problems, she is selling it off. The thing is, you have to pay installation and assembling charges on top of the selling price, which I am not sure how much, as the cupboard is in her new house already.

Hi jumped, i dont know if it's because they have revised the price on the drawers and doors, so for my panels, I have to pay $299 more for the 2 sliding doors to be frosted...then for my additiona, 700mm it would costs $290 just for that 1 700 mm door lor.

ur 3 tier drawer so cheap? 160cm depth one?

Hi jumped,

what kind of water marks? got photos? I am still thinking how leh, duno if I should change to frosted ones or not or stick to the wood ones

sorry is abit off topic here, but then, I want to find out any of you got the bi fold door from besglas as well? I got their pricing, but then it seems it is close to $500 for a lamincated glass bi fold for the bathroom...

shimaro

Ryes,
get your contractor to help u to get besglas door....it will be cheaper than u go to besglas directly. My BIL experience.

hey shimaro,

is that so? But then, I was told that if go via contractor is more ex,coz they want to earn the commission you know.

Besglas told me that they will dismantle the old frame then install the new frame for us, but the wooden frame of the old door cannot remove, so I thinking how ah...

afcai

Hi Ryes,
you know why my sliding door is cheap cos I signed up their wardrobe package, that's why they give a bit discount. ximula, Alumix & _haplin are under a parent company called _haplin. '_' replaced by Z & C . yes, dust in the bubble trap. Am not sure what do you mean by marks made on the panels? no water mark. mine just can see a little bit of black dot or some fur things trap the frosted portion. yes, my 3 tier drawer can take out but it is quite heavy cos the wood itself already very heavy.

yes, my bi-fold door is also fr besglass. I did the safety glass bi-fold door(contractor get fr bestglass & much cheaper, eg mine cost $420 while bestglas cost $500++), safety glass modern style kitchen cabinet as well as display cabinet with them.