Any Comments on Ximula / Alumix wardrobe system ?

greenie

hi jumped, thks 4 sharing.

urs is a WIW rite? thus the luxury of space... mine is not leh... and i worry even wif the 7 ft wardrobe, i wun hv enuff space as well.

afcai

Hi jumped,

mine is only a 1600mm X 2000+mm sort of closet instead of really a WIW. did u did any sliding door or build up any partion wall? for me, I have to build up the plastercell. my 3 tiers of drawer is similar except the color. I have only 2 top shelves only and a few bar.

greenie

wah, jumped... i jealous again... how come ur MBR so big?
which area u stay? my MBR is not tt big leh, and its my dream to hv a WIW, but not possible lor.

bungy_jumper

hi afcai,
yup, i had a 3 panels sliding door.

142692.jpg

hi starz,
i had always wanted a WIW, and luckily my MBR was big and i dont have to hack and lose a room. My flat in Sengkang.
After blocking up for the WIW, then a side table then a king bed. i still have a space of 2m X 2meters. Just measured the remaining space cos thought of buying a carpet.

greenie

wah.... so jealous!!!!

good 4 u leh! i dun even had such a luxury!!! somemore wif a king bed!!! i bought a king sized bed as well... dun even hv space for 2 side tables after adding it... sigh...

afcai

Hi jumped,

ppls start to have green eyes over yr wiw. wow, my MBR not big enough to have a king size bed, so I only bought a queen size.

I have only two sliding door only.wow, there's a plastma TV mounted to wall under yr aircon. more green eyes....heee...:p. but dun u afraid if yr aircon condense and may drip water onto the tv?(what if only)

bungy_jumper

afcai, the Mbr big, but compensate for the 2 other small rooms lor, anyway the way my main beams are, not suitable to hack any walls.

its not plasma lar, just lcd, no money to buy plasma, anyway if you look closer, there is no space or a normal tv so no choice. i also hope my aircon don't leak.

afcai

Hi jumped,

Yup, also hate my beams not only in the rm but aklso in the kitchen, they are blocking and prevent more space from created.

oic, anyway, yrs mbr is quite nicely decorated. yup, it is kind of small that's why I also have no space to place TV but flat tv is quite xpensive.

bungy_jumper

Agree with you!
My place also alot of odd huge beams than pop up from nowhere. My contractor says that my block will be the last one standing if there is an earthquake.

Now the doors in the mbr causing alot of reflection. when my curtains up up this sat, shld be better liao.

Anyway flat TVs not really that ex now, 15" going for less than 1K. It will drop further i guess.

greenie

hi jumped and afcai...

wah afcai, u certainly r observant leh... i din notice the tv beneath the aircon.

hahaha... the last block to collapse in the case of earthquake? heeee... very interesting!!!

afcai

Hi jumped,

same same more beams so more difficult to purchase right size cupboard to fit in. nowsdays, more brands of tv are coming up so more competitive, hmmm better for consumers then.

attach is my 3 tiers of drawers which is included in my wardode. it is bigger than yrs. beside having 3 tiers of drawer , I still have 2 shelves above it.

yup, it is the first time that I heard beams is diff to collapse in the case of earthquake.

143554.jpg

Hi starz,
Thanks. bec we are having green eyes all over jumped' wiw.:p

bungy_jumper

Well, the larger MBR compensate for the other smaller areas. You havent seen my tiny ktichen.

And talking about beams, i am having a headache with my other rooms. Really difficult to buy furnitures off the shelves.

Is that trimmings on your drawers ? Looks nice and outstanding

afcai

Hi jumped,

so yr tiny kitchen is a long rect type one or square one? for me, mine is a rect long one.

yup, I also got beams in other rm, now new flats come with the stupid beams design,unlike old flats, they dun have this type of problems. I also have to measure the max size and height of the cupboard which I can plac in my room before buying them.

hmm trimmings?? beside the 3 tiers of drawers, on top of it come with two shelves so one can place thing inside.anyway, this whole thing is really rather heavy, is yrs very heavy if not for the wheels.

bungy_jumper

Hi afcai,
quite heavy leh, cos i couldn carry it further than 2 meters.

My kitchen is more of a square. something like 3.5 * 2.5 M...ver pathetic.

afcai

Hi jumped,

even my hubby also have difficulies lifting up this 3 ties drawer. I got a cupboard -something like those altar cupboard which is done with the leftover kitchen cabinet also 10 times more heavier than this drawer. but when one remove the drawer and the shelf, then it will be much lighter. dunno why this wood is so heavy. acc to my id, he said it is made in germany.

for mine , kitchen, I can say it is ok(not too big nor not too small), long rect type. I bought a simple foldable dining table cos my living rm is quite small and dun intend to place a dining table there or else it will 'eat up' the space. so with the foldable table placed in the kitchen, I can keep it when and when I like.

bungy_jumper

hi afcai,
at least you still can place a foldable table. If i were to place a foldable breakfast table, i think i have to fold it back each time i need to walk past.

afcai

Hi jumped,

yup, I dun need to fold back the table and I still able to walk and do my laundary at the kitchen. wow, seems like yr kitchen is really small.

winz

hey all

jus wan to double check wif u all hor. Do u all go down to the shop (Ximula / Alumix wardrobe system) then get the quotation or jus call them to get quotation? any idea who to look for??

thanki

bungy_jumper

Hi piggy,
I called for quotation. Then faxed my floor plan. After 30 minutes, they draw up a proposal and quote then fax back to u.
You can try looking for Zhenyi from Alumix Toa Payoh. but the number at home, you can look up their website.

winz

hi jumped
thanks for yr info. I need to indicate which area i doing for my wardrobe izzit on my floor plan? :p

elsia

Hi piggy,
Dat's right, u just fax the floor plan n tell them on the phone, they will cum up with 1 or 2 proposal. Can try their ID services, got some really good ideas. Went to their showflat at Eden Grove n saw the design/wardrobe etc. Sign up with them 2 mths ago. Just finish up my place, but can't move in cos my MIL say 7th mth not gd. Can anyone comment how true is this? As 4 ID can email him or call him at 62525255, 96649800(Alick) n give it a try, my FH n me find him quite Gd. Only thing is dat showrm at Ind Park, but can cut cost ok lah.

afcai

Hi jumped,

seems like the service is quite fast, drawing up a proposal in 30 mins time. unlike some IDs will get back to you only after 2 - 3 days with the quote and the simple drawing layout only.

Hi piggy,

beside the floor plan, you have also need to indicate the length and height of the wardobe. the prices varies with the size(Total Ft), the material, Design etc.

bungy_jumper

hi afcai,
yup, some IDs take longer because they still have to call up alumix to get some quotes.
when i first called up alumix, they asked if i was a homeowner or contractor. So after that, i discovered if i were to let my ID handle it, my ID will still have to get alumix to do the job.

I don't see the need to let my ID earn that extra bucks, which came up to $1200

afcai

Hi jumped,

oic. I'm not sure if I am directly in contact with the almumix co. cos got to know my ID thru the hbay tour grp. yup, be one own 'contractor' is cheaper than to go thru third party instead.

that's why I can consider as a 'main contractor' instead as I engaged 2 contractors. for other job tasks, I outsourced it to other ppls and also most of the things were DIY.eg plumbering, installing lights, roller blinders, bathrm accessories including heater etc. I really saved a lot but a lot of time, co-ordination and effort were needed to put in.

bungy_jumper

yah, i guess i know what you mean, i also saved alot on certain stuff

me and hb DIY alot of things too. minor plastering, sanding, painting and yup all the electrical wiring and loopings for 33 downlights.
It was tiring but rather fun. Love to cut the holes for the downlight.

elsia

Hi Piggy,
It cost me around 33k. Price can say mid range, as I chose the middle quote out of the 7 quotations. I luv their alumix system. He told me their froasted glass is safety glass and easy to clean, will leave no marks unlike others. They got many colour for the glass. I find their service not bad. You can also see how they do your furniture, doors, aluminium and so on at their factory before they install at your home, like dat they can alter anything you don't like and also you can see the material before the finish result can cover up. My friend's hse the cabinet inside all ash wood and a lots of holes, her contractor use the liminate to cover up. As for my id his quite daring to play with colours and designs. I rate him at the scale of 8.5 out of 10. I did heard him say dat they also supply their products to other id and also did do up a lots of condo showflat. You can check with him where is his latest showflat.

afcai

Hi jumped,

yup, it's an experience to DIY things and efforts do count esp to make up one's love nest.

Hi elsia,
as quoted from what you have said -"they can alter anything you don't like ", for me, I found this statement NOT true. Some IDs don't consult owner before they did their own design. then ask them to change and they will come up with a lot of good 'excuses".

elsia

Hi afcai

I was away on oversea trip, so could not reply to your comments.
My ID was ok with whatever we request to change, only on certain things when he say that it would not blend in with the design or not suit for usage on site. After hearing what he explain to us and confirming with others, we found lots of info he give are true. My bestfriend also engage him, she is also happy with the final outcome. Only that must give 3 days advance notice to have a appt. with him, like having to make appt. with a specialist at hospital for consultation.

afcai

Hi Phang Ming Li Elsia,
hmm I already forget what I have commented.anyway, thks for the reply.great that yr ID is willing to lend a ear.

hai, regards to the advance notice to have an appt, it is very difficult, ID always last min arrange and expect us to take urgent leave(but of coz, did not follow his request). also we give IDs one week in advance to confirm but he still last min said he cannot make it. hai...that's why since jun till now still have not compromise a date to touch up.

angeliqueho

hi all, i am curious about something.. is the sliding door system from cupboards/ximula/alumix better than those from contractors?

Anyone got quote from cupboards? I'm wondering how much would a 10ft(appox 3000mm) wardrobe, inclusive of aluminum framed sliding door. Glad if someone could give me an idea of the pricing.

ice_kacang

Hi Angelique,
Just got mine done last weekend. Cost me $1995. Basically depends on your internal structure like how many shelves and hangar bar you want. Major cost would be the partition and the door.
For me, I did the top hang sliding door. That alone comes to abt $900 (if I remember correctly).

You can call them up for quotes. Just fax the floor plan and indicate where you want your wardrobe to be. And they will let you have the quote within the day.

ice_kacang

Hi Jumped,

I did all from Alumix. Also included the partition. I must say those men were very fast. Within 1 and a half hours the partition was up liao. Let me go check my price list (scare inform wrongly).
3 panel door - your door must be very big. Mine is only 2 panel door. Wenge colour with frosted glass in the middle.

If I remember correctly, yours is a walk-in wardrobe. Mine is not cos' not enough space, therefore only considered a 'step-in' wardrobe.. hehehehe..

bungy_jumper

oh,
hehe.. i know what door you chose, its the code with 04 or sumthing cos i wanted that for my other room but ended up with a blue glass one.

yah, mine is a WIW. my other room wardrobe i did alumix doors too, about nearly $1000. And yes, they work really fast.

ice_kacang

Hi jumped,
My doors cost me $700+
Partition - $300 (cos' erect one side of the wall)

I have asked them to install the door and the internal shelves/posts after my reno abt to complete..

Looking forward for the house to finish reno.. Could hardly wait to use my wardrobe.

you also get alumxi for your other wardrobe? You must have like them alot...

angeliqueho

hi icekacang, may i know does the partition they erect look like a false wall? if so, did you paint the "new wall"? btw, what's the measurement of that partition?

bungy_jumper

hi ice_kacang,

not that i really like it alot, just that the quotes were reasonable, so do both together get a better quote. MBR- wiw, bedroom - normal wardrobe (5 ft)

ice_kacang

Hi Angelique,
The partition looks like a false wall. Definitely have to paint the wall. They have a standard price for the certain dimension of the partition. For mine, it is 1200mm (width) x 2000mm (height) - cost $300. Inclusive of the partition from the ceiling for the door to hang. That means even if my width is 1000mm, it is still $300. Not sure whether you can understand what i mean.

If you are interested, it is better to go down to the shop (at Toa Payoh Industrial Park) personally as you can get a better idea there. I went down 3 times before I confirmed with them. Alternatively you can call them. The one I spoke to is Kenji. He is very patient.

Jumped,
Didn't realise can do door individually. I quite like their doors. Seems quite durable to me. But of course, I haven't use it yet. Hope can last.

bungy_jumper

hi ice_kacang,

I did the doors individually cos they only provide internal systems and not carpentry. The interior of my other bedroom wardrobes will look awful if i use system as i have a very huge beam inside as well as air-con trunking.

So in the end, i got my id to do the carpentry and alumix to do the doors after that.

angeliqueho

hi ice_kacang, thanks for your info.

Anyone can comment on contractor's made wardrobe (with aluminum sliding door)? I wonder if their sliding mechanism will last anot.

afcai

Hi Angelique Ho,
normally, ppl will paint the partition- false wall so that it looked like part of the room wall. I myself also painted the partition wall.the length for my partition(from floor to ceiling) is 1600m width X 2000++mm (height) cost $250. I did the 'step' in wardobe with the same co. as ice_kacang.
they are some bubbles with dirt inside my frosted glass of my wardobe sliding door. but I have asked ID re-done it thrice but it has lessen the bubble.

ice_kacang

hi afai

your partition is done by alumxi? Cheaper than mine leh... And the frosted glass will have bubbles? Any idea what did the ID done to lessen the bubbles? How much did your wardrobe cost you?

hi jumped,
Mine also got a beam on top. Hopefully still got some space on top to put some things...

bungy_jumper

Erm.. wat partition wall are you gals talking about ?

Hi afcai,
my frost side no bubbles but got alot of marks after i sused dampl cloth to wipe.

hi ice,
mine completely no space. cos my beam has extra box up to conceal trunkings.

ice_kacang

hi jumped,
then the space above completely wasted liao lor?

you said that after you used damp cloth to wipe, got marks. Does it disappeared after it's dry?

bungy_jumper

hi ice_kacang,

No choice mah, cannot be built 3/4 height then the top collect dust. The top shelf very narrow lor, put books still possible, but definitely not files, luggages or pillows.

The prob is those marks doesnt go away when dry. The lines and circles will be obvious. following the direction of how you wipe. I dint want to try newspaper, later the frost get worn off.

afcai

Hi Ice_kachang,

When I did my kitchen cabinet,6 feet display glass cabinet and bi-fold door, my carpentary IDs offered me this wardobe package of $888+(after adding GST $924). Partition of the wall cost $250 and initially the 2 frosted sliding door(middle pink clor with upper and lower layer blue clolor) cost $80 but waived off after that.
if one did those wooden sliding door then, it was FOC. I got two shelves on the top near the beams and managed to place long type of basket(inside place my towel etc) there.

ID just scrapped off the frosted thing and then re-do it.

Hi jumped,
for me, I dun dare to wipe the frosted part, scared that it will wear off and color will fade in the long-term wiping. for me, I dun have marking in my sliding door except,my frosted glass kitchen cabinet got some marks when I wiped it or else it won't be so obvious.

like what I have mentioned to ice_kachang that on my top shelf, I used those baskets(bought four of them at $2 each) to contain towel, undergarment etc.

how come, you dun do yr air-con trunking over the other side of yr room esp near window(isn't it risky what IF(touch woods) air-con pipe etc dip water), my air-con trunking is placed at the bottom from my MBR all the way link to the next room. then it is at the top. At least, this way, I can place some small items/decoration or photographs along the painted 'trunking'.

bungy_jumper

hi afcai,
how come you put undergarment so high up ? hehe.

I conceal all wiring, pipings, and trunkings cos i find all these very unsightly.. So no choice, i must have confidence in my air-con guy's workmanship that it doesnt leak.