Amara Singapore

Hi Su,

I went on 15/8 and back on 18/8. There are a few resort in Rendang so don't know whether your SIL stay the same as mine or not. I stayed at Square Point Resort.

Happygal,

I cant remember much about the poolside. I didnt take a look so cant help here. You may want to go see for yourself.

Leo: sounds fun. I dont mind going myself. Sigh...but i will be very busy till Oct....

hi all....

Leo: you sure have fun over at rendang!!! glad you enjoyed your trip!

went to ted wu show last sunday. some new ideas from him, but we only had the fashion show followed by hi-tea and that's it. viewed the ball room (which i personally think not fantastic), solenmisation room and bridal suites.

ted wu offers bridal & photography at about $5k. i didn't sign up cos didn't like any of the photographers.

i don't know about the rest of you gals... but anyone has any comments on Frederick Lee Bridal? i kinda like his gowns too, but not sure about the workmanship!!!! Any advice??!!

Happygal: I couldn't help much too, did not view the poolside the other time while I was there. Agree with may that you should drop by.... i love the ball room!!!!

Halo,

met up with Natelin

like the ballroom very much n cosy...
went to view their poolside also
aiyo, just like my dream wedding, hehe....

so if i hv it at the poolside will be natural theme,but hv to pay $800nett for deco set up
dinner in the ballroom will be romance theme

who is taking romance theme for dinner ah?

Happygal : Good choice on the theme for your poolside wedding. Natural is very suitable cos it's more like garden style. Wow! $800 just for deco, a bit x right? Are you having your ceremony in the afternoon and then follow by dinner at night? Does the price includes food and beverages?

I have not decided on which theme I'm going to choose. Want to take at the blue theme first b4 making a decision.

Hi Leo,

yah I will be having the church cum tea reception n dinner on the same day

actually the 800 is the tentage, excluding the food n beverage,deco n sound system is free, but guest will be very hot so must hv the tentage for shelter

i think the hi tea recep is 38 or 48 nett

yah, i knw is abit ex but that's my dream wedding at the poolside garden, something unique lor...

so Leo,you r having blue theme?

nateline is quiet flexible as the poolside can accomodate 200 ppl, n i be having dinner for 10 to 12 tables for a cosy romance theme dinner, hehe...

but i also shortlist marina mandarin n Holiday Inn View hotel, must compare the listings also at the same time...

my wedding date is 7th of Dec 2003, when's urs Leo n other gals?

Hi Happygal,

Oic. Well, sounds like you will be having a romantic European style kind of ceremony, must be a very beautiful wedding.

I haven't decide which theme to use yet, still got a long way to go to decide. Oh, you are also a Dec 2003 bride. Me planning mine on 12 December 2003.

Hi gals...

Leo: You're back! Sorry, long time never post msg here... too busy!

Happygal: Welcome to this thread! Me also having church wedding & banquet together on the same day! Mine is earlier, in april

The amara pool is very nice...

I am still watching out for the Romance theme... Nat keeps displaying the Gold & Natural theme... arrghh...

halo Louie,

may I knw what time r u having ur church wedding ceremony? I hv decided to hv e ceremony in the evening, just before the wedding dinner start, but still deciding whether to hv the ceremony at poolside n looking other hotels too...

how many tables r u having? mine is btw 25-27 tables....is ur ceremony n chinese dinner continuous liie mine?

for myself prefer to hv natural theme if I am having at the poolside more suitable, then dinner will be the romance theme, 2 different theme will be better as creates different atmosphere...

don't worry, i think nat will emphasize romance theme in next yr Feb? as is CNY season n valentine's day...Or u can ask her in Sept wedding, when is the romance theme requested by the couple? take a look b4 the dinner starts, she allows tat

hi happygal...

You doing your solomisation & dinner at Amara? Sounds cool... my wedding & banquet will be on the sam day!

I tot Amara's min no of tables is 30?? Nat allows u to have only 25-27?? Mmmzz... now, I have abt 33 or so... the list keeps getting larger each time I plan :P

YEp, for poolside Natural theme is more suitable. Hopefully I can get to see the Romance theme soon...

hi Louie,

ya, she allows cos my wedding day 7th of Dec 03 is a sunday, so she's flexible, thank God

when is urs?

we try to stick to 25-27 cos of budget constrain....

did u look the poolside? it 's really romantic n meaniful to hv my Holy Matrimony there
u can consider there if u want too

well, going dwn to M hotel tomorrow
heard alot of feedback thety are quite inflexible
may I knw they are invflexible at what?
my main concern is the deco n sound system

these both hotels r very near to my office so at least I can go dwn at lunchtime

Hi happygal...

Mine is also sunday 6 Apr 03. Is shd be able to meet the 30 tables
She seems more flex with u leh... Wats the price of ur banquet??

Saw the poolside... but since there a quite a no. of guest I not inviting for dinner, so have a separate reception lor! Think I like to have the matrimony in a church itself... hee ee... me old fashioned

You working at Tanjong Pagar also, which bldg? Me also ard there... nearly opp Amara

Yep, been to M hotel... their arrangements must be EXACTLY per their pkg, they wun change things for you. Told them I dun free flow beer, can change for other things... CANNOT they said!

hi Louie,

i think the price of the banquet is $728 nett, same...
we consider the location so thot of having at the hotel, more convenient....

is it? my office is in MND

well, we don't hv much to bargain with M hotel, see wat they say n update u again

Hi Louie, Happygal,

I am back. Still searching for my bridal...now very stress coz wedding in May...everyone say it is time to start gown design liao..but i still have not decide on the boutique...have been busy this week...visited Le Galleria. Lezen and Jazreel Low..but have not shortlisted any...i think i still perfer Jawn but now i need to go
down and try their gowns to see cutting and feel.

Happygal - i agree with Louie that M hotel very inflexible. It was one of the hotel that i have shortlisted as well...i like the 10th floor ballroom very much...exclusive and the bridal suite with the bathroom and flat screen tv drove my hubby nutes...but their package no food tasting...and the salesperson very inflexible....so i came and see Amara and felt that Nat was so easy to negotiate. Plus externally, Amara nicer than M. I was told that M might renovate their exterior but dunno when..was worried that it may be during the wedding dates..so better play safe.

Halo May, thks for ur advice for M hotel

actually my heart already with Amara liao, just that my FH wants to look at M hotel, so respect him n go dwn later lor, will update u gals

I strongly encourage u going to Jazreel low, u r the same May in JLC thread rite?
the ppl there very nice lor, if u want, I can accompany u to go dwn

hv u called Lynn?

yes, me the same may in JLC thread. yep, called Lynn already..will go see her tonite.

i forget - u sign with them? how much did u pay for the package?

halo halo

hehe...went to M hotel n Amara hotel just nw, no matter how gd service or facilities they hv (M hotel), my heart goes to Amara hotel n inside I was praying that my FH will like Amara n yup we decided to hv our wedding at Amara, thank God!

surprising that M hotel are quite flexible, so far they did not say NO, they only reply, "we will work out on that...."
maybe they knw they r "famous" for inflexible,hehe

Nateline is very flexible, she open 2 ballrooms for us and we are having 22 to 25 tables only
how's the bridal suite? anyone here saw before?
really luuuuuv the poolside!!

basically what attract us is the package, I like the milk spa, hehe....

halo Leo, so u are getting marries on 12 of Dec 2003...
so u bk amara hotel already? me 7th, so one week aft mine

hv u bk ur bridal package?

Happygal,

welcome. another amara bride.

dont worry, the bridal suite is quite nice - it is new and zen looking....

2 bathrooms - one for your guest in the outer room and the other for u. of course cannot compare with M hotel but amara is new and cozy.

i tried the spa at amara with hubby...it was good...looking forward to going to the spa again

ok, so May how's the appointment with Lynn at JLC?
what hv she offer u?

mine is $2888 OTR package, everything standard, but I hv free outdoor shots n transport(driver n petrol included), mini album, table top, ROM package

so i am satisfied with it

reason why I choose OTR is because I am not very fat , so any design suits me

hehe, basically Lynn advise me I suit ball gown(inside with can can), I basically like ball gown too, any help, come to the JLC thread!

we JLC brides r very chatting like the amara brides here

hi all..... whew.... so many thing had been going on...hee....

happygal, welcome on board to amara brides' chat.... aren't you lucky to be able to get away with 25 tables??? we have to stick to 30 tables!!!

how's everyone???

may - have you decided wtih JLC?? guessed you must be quite panicky since your wedding day is drawing near!!! however don't rush into things if not you won't be clear-headed to make good decisions!!!

i have seen their blue setting at the lobby.... quite disappointing.... the blue doesn't really looked expensive...

btw, anyone going to Regent's bridal show - featuring Frederick Lee's gowns on 29th sept? there seemed to be so few comments on FLB....

halo LT,

thks for ur welcome,
hehe, yah i am happy too that Nat is flexible for allowing us having 25 tables ;)

how's the blue theme look like? maybe will pop by to hv a look
however, it's quite an unusual colour for wedding,
normally I come across is gold, white, cream or warm colours

so if the setting is unique can give a consider
but what are the flowers for blue theme?
I understand that romance theme flowers are roses n daisy

yah May, hv to consider carefully for the bridal package

budget n service is part of the consideration
imagine the shop hv excellent gowns, photographers n makeup artists
but poor service n inflexibility frm the ppl, u will be demoralise n might affect u on ur wedding day
also must knw how to bargain, like me lor, hehe....
i bargain for ROM package n table top

LT, Leo, Louie, did i leave out any other Amara brides out?
what bridal shops hv u gals decided or signed with?
seems like u gals like designer gowns like Ted Wu
wah....

Happygal : Welcome, welcome, good to know that you are one of us too. Yap, I have already signed up with Amara. Nope, I have not sign up any bridel package yet cos I would like to source slowly to look for the best package I can get. I go for nice gowns more that who is the designer as long as it catches my eyes that shop will probably get my deal.

So, you are also Dec 2003 bride, yap, more or less confirmed on 12 Dec. Wow, you are quite fast har, already got your bridel package and banquet booked. These are the 2 most important thing for a wedding preparation, the rest can take your time to settle them. Good for you.

LT : Oh, is it, they have displayed out the blue theme already har, then I must go down and take a good look at it.

hi Leo,

the reason why I bk the bridal package early is becos of my ROM, will be later this yr, so they give me the package, n I take lor
yah, it's gd to source slowly n get the best deal, so won't regret later

basically I hire a wedding planner cos FH busy with work, he's an army regular so if I need help my wedding planner will be there
so she had help us to source n we are secured with her

hv not paid deposit at Amara cos my mum said next mth better

did not want to dampen your moods but one of my friends who been to Amara for a dinner said the food was not good. Like fish not fresh and the sharkfins was too starchy.. so on that why i didnt dare to sign up with them although the perks seems quite reasonable.

Hi qap,

Thanks for the info. Well, nobody is perfect, we can only hope that by giving them feedback, they can improve. Look at the happy side, we can't please everybody, each one have their own individual standard of taste, as long as not everyone say that the food are bad I think it is still bearable.

hi all.... actually i did heard abt the not-so-good food from amara even before i decide to book with them... but i supposed different pple look for different things in their banquet... some want good food, while others looked for reasonable price... for us... great ambience and service are impt.... and of course we found these attributes in amara!!!

we believe food quality may change... after all chefs come and go, and who knows, over time the chefs might improve their culinery skills
... but ambience is there to stay.... so we thot we'd rather select a place based on things that we can controll!!!

Leo & happygal... I'm not sure what flowers they use for the blue theme. could call nat up and check if any one using blue theme for their wedding these coming months...

Hello:

My meeting with Lynn went well. The package price they have is very reasonable. The photography however is so so ... so i am still considering.

Happygal: i too fat to take OTR package. must go for mtm package. i also prefer gowns to be new..

LT: i know, i seems to be very slow but i really cannot decide the package leh...some of the boutique ...gowns nice but photogaphy sucks and vice versa ...very stress...

I am going down to Jawn this week, hopefully i will come to a decision soon. Somemore, i will be traveling next week... Initally, told myself to decide by end of August...well...

R u sure they displayed the blue theme... i was at Amara last Friday ...it was the natural theme...leh...

GAP: i think i chose ambience over food.

Have u heard of DaySpring Bridal? Saw them at the designer gown sale on Sat...their package is reasonable and they tieup with Everafter...which i like his photography...not too bad...very vibrant color.

Halo May,
as I said, keep ur choices open ;)
However, if you are looking for good photography skills...can go for professional like Montage or O Studio lor....

But, what kind of photo skills u are looking for?
so long not too cheena is it?

Wow the thread is really active again!

Happy: me took the wedding pkg with Seletar Broadway... me trying gowns this fri.. hee hee... so exciting! You ROM this yr ah... how come u never defer ur ROM since u have church wedding?

May: Your wedding in May... still no hurry lah, me getting married april... but some pple say too early to try gowns now. But, you shd settle it soon lah...

Leo/ Gap/ LT: Ya lor... food not tat good, but all the rest food in Amara is FANSTASTIC!!! Wonder why their chinese banquet not so good... sigh... hope they can do something abt it...

halo Louie: hehe, actually I am dele dale my ROM date as I am having my marriage course nw, so not a hurry, just the tentative thinking ROM is this yr lar....if not next yr lor, no hurry

I'v signed up for The Regent Hotel Bridal Show on 29/9, Sun and Marriott Hotel Bridal Show on 13/10, Sun. Regent Hotel tied up with Frederick Lee Bridal and Marriott tied up with Irene's Creation, anybody interested in going to these two bridal shows? We can meet up, let me know ok.

BY Le Galleria:

We would like to share our excitement and joy with you, that we have moved
into a more spacious and more accessible premise. Our ambience and service,
continues to be cosy and personable, as we've always strived out to be. May
we invite you and your partner to come visit us at our new boutique, and
take a look at our collection of gowns and bridal services. And as we moved
into our newly furnished boutique, we have planned some great promotions to
offer you. We trust that you'll be pleased to find out about our latest
promotions, and join in our exciting event!

1. Special package for this month (till 15th Sept 02)
For this period, we r offering a special bridal package promotion for our
Summer package!
Summer package usual price is $4488, now there's a less $288 plus a MTM tea
dress (rental) included instead of an OTR choice! So come on down and take a
look at this fabulous package offer!
Less $288 off our Summer package plus a MTM tea-dress (rental)!
*for more exact package details, pls visit our boutique for a frenly chat,
there is no obligations.

2. Special Promo with Montage Studios
To start off, this month we'll be having a promotional package with Montage
Studios.
For our usual packages, to engage Montage Studio would incur an additional
$600 on top of the package price.
For this month, there's a less $300, which means you'll only need to top up
$300, and you'll get an additional 5 pages more too! This is a fabulous
deal, especially if you like their works and plan on engaging them for your
studio and outdoor photography! And if you take our promo package together
with the Montage August Special, then its double savings altogether!
Only additional $300, plus you'll get 5 pages more!

3. New Addition to our choice list of photographers for you
Andrew Choi photography has joined our list of photographers for your
choice. So if you r looking at engaging him for your photoshoot, do come on
by and take a look!

4. Less 50% discount for wedding day coordination packages with the Wedding
Concierge Services!
Their wedding day coordination packages range from $350 to $810, and as our
customers, you'll be able to enjoy up to 50% discount! That's another great
savings added to the package!

5. Autumn Romance Bridal Show
May we cordially invite you to come attend our exciting bridal show this
October!
Now that HerWorld Brides magazine is out, you may have noticed too that we
are having our bridal show Autumn Romance, at Marina Mandarin Hotel, on the
13th October Sunday. We'll be presenting to you our latest range of
exquisite bridal gowns, and you'll also savour the banquet food at Marina
Mandarin in a romantic ambience.
Details are as follows:

Autumn Romance ...
Date: 13th October 2002, Sunday
Time: 2pm to 5pm
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel, Ballroom at level 1

To sign up for this show, you could get a copy of HerWorld Brides and cut
out the coupon. There would be a lucky draw for coupon-holders. Or you can
call us or email us, and let us know if you'd like to attend, and we'll send
you an invitation card to attend (not included for lucky draw).

There would also be special promotional package with diff offers from
various photographers, for couples who sign up with us on the day! We really
hope you'd come join us at this show, that we planned especially for you!

* For couples who may decide to sign up with us during this period to enjoy
this month's promo, but is not sure if the show's promo package might be
betta....dun worry! As a goodwill gesture, we've included the option for you
to swap between the current promo package and the Autumn Romance bridal show
promo package.

6. New Web Facade
We have also given a new facade to our website along with the new coat of
paint at our boutique. Do come visit our website for updated info and
details. For those who have visited our previous site, pls refresh your
screen sveral times to view the current new updated look. We'll continue to
improve and update our web, so as to serve you betta.

At Le Galleria, it's about a beautiful bridal gown and the joyous moments
that you'll spend with us during the course of your wedding preparation.
Come join us.

Have a nice weekend!

cheers,
Doreen Chee
Le Galleria Bridal Atelier
www.legalleria.com
73 Tanjong Pagar Road Singapore 088494 Tel: 6221 3037

Leo - i have signed up for regent's bridal show too!! will be going with hubby & another couple friend.

i have sort of decided to sign up with Frederick Lee. so might just do it on that day!!! am abit bit worried if i have made the right decision or not.... seems like not many pple have signed up with him!!! don't know how is overall service??!!!

anyway, would just see how it goes on that day...

may - i did see a blue table cloth with white seat covers at the lobby display area.... maybe it doesn't look good and they have removed it!!! the blue doesn't look auspicious....
may, speaking of photography..... thumbs up for Picture Box - Marcus Mok.... he is pretty creative and his shots are sharp and colourful(background and objects are blended well) .... we intend to sign up with him!!!
well, guess when it comes to deciding which bridal boutique, you gotta know what you really want.... sometimes you might just have to fork out a little more $$ to get another better photographer not used by the boutique. like for me, i am likely to sign up F.L but he only works with Robin, but we do not really like his work, instead would sign up with Picture box independently!!! hope it helps...

Hi LT,

You signing up with Picture Box to do ur studio/outdoor shots or actual day photography?

Me interested in finding a actual day photographer, any recommendations?

Hi Leo, i read further then saw you have signed up for Regent bridal show too. Great... i am going with some other frens, but we can meet up oso rite?

Jas03: Yap yap yap, missed you last time, so this time can see your lu san zhen mian mu liao! I'm going with my girlfriend who's getting married next year too.

yio gals,

i will be paying the confirmation deposit to Nateline next week, may i knw how much is the first deposit??

Happygal: i paid S$3k. Tried to negotiate but cant.

There are lots of bridal show in Oct but i will not be around. There is one at the end of this month at Raffles arranged by Female. I think, anyone going?

I think i will be signing up with Jawn Happy Ever after. After months of sourcing around, i think prefer them. Most likely will use Linn Kong for Photography. Apparently, i do not have the luxury to dally any longer...must sign soon so that gowns are in time for photo shoot in Jan or Feb.

halo May,

thks for ur info, will try to negotiate

finally u found ur boutique, so how much is ur package?
must chk they hv hidden cost or nt?
think Leo, Louie, Jas03 , LT n May all sign up the bridal shops liao rite? hv i miss out anyone?

gals, anyone thot of going to do facial also?
going to be bride liao so must make ourselves"mei mei" rite?
hehe....

Happygal: I have not sign up my bridal package yet, still sourcing. Yap, think of going facial, have not been to one before, any good recommendation? Getting old, must start protecting.

oh sorry Leo , I thot u sign also, me blur liao....anyway , urs still gt time

regarding facial, my fren recommend one at City hall, the raffles shopping centre
there's one called Sothys @ Raffles Place OUB Centre #02-04
Tel 535 5669
The beautician called Daphne, by word of mouth she's very good n no hard selling on her products.

She charges $95 per session for normal purifying and oxygenating facial. If you have never been for facial, she may start you with a purifying facial. However, if you signed up for their package, ie. 5 times, it costs $85 per facial and you get 20% discount off when you purchase Sothys products.

First of all, she will cleanse your face, and will apply scrub and "steam" your face to prepare for extraction of black or white heads or pimples.It's little pain when extracting, so dont worry. I am a person who scared of pain so even i am convince by my fren so willing to try.

Then she will put on mask for u and then wash off and finish with moisturiser and sometimes, hand cream too.

She will include some massage of your neck and shoulder and face during the whole session. The description is what i would remember.

hahaha. cos it's very comfortable. Of course she will determine your skin complexion before doing whatever she think is suitable for u. And usually if you are with her the first couple of times, she will explain to you what she put on for u.

Give her a call and make an apt lah. she will be happy to see your face and advise you the info u need. No obligations one lah. she may give u some samples to try after your facial.

Hope my longwinded story helps.

Hi Happygal,

Thanks. Indeed your longwinded story did help. After your description, really feel like trying out. A bit blur here, Sothys located at OUB Centre or City Hall? So you tried it yourself and find that it's good har? I have a few freckles, can she help?

aiyo sorry for making u confuse, Leo

the one I recommend is at city hall, will be going dwn this thurs....
ya, i personally went dwn once n like it...

well, there is another facial salon using sothys products, aonother beautician called Jessica at Raffles place, OUB centre
so both, u can choose whichever is convenient to u...

regarding ur freckles, shld be no prob, they hv different facial package for different skin problems, do make an appointment with them for a skin analysis

Happygal : Can you give me the phone the one located at city hall? It is more convenient for me to go there. Dun mind trying. Too bad I have something on this thurs or else can meet you there.

halo Leo,

here are the contact: 63331289, look for Daphne

it's ok if u cant come this thurs, we update each other facial experience ok?

hi all...... indeed there are many bridal shows coming up.. i have decided to go to bridal veil's and the one organised by raffles/femalebrides.

Louie - I'm asking Picture Box to do pre-wedding photography. and signed up with Fast Soup - Choon Huat to do actual day photography. Hv you met up with Choon Huat before? thot his skills are pretty good and rates very reasonable.

happygal - i have not signed up with any bridal yet, though i'm very interested with Frederick Lee's. might do so during the bridal show.

as for facial, currently i went to CK Beaute at Adelphi (opp. Funan). Very affordable at $45 per session. No packages, no hard selling, no over promises. had been with them since last year. Christine, the boss does the facial. the usual cleansing, extraction, exfoliation, purifying and some massage on neck and shoulders - more or less like what happygal has described but at half the price only
worth trying!!!

Wow... all of you going for facials liao!! Me never really much to my skin... ask me to do a proper 3 step skin care already a big prob! Me always forget

Now considering whether shd invest in personal training sessions in gym... so ex!!!

Leo: Ur skin very good wat... still much facial ah!

LT: Can you email me Choon Huat's quotations & his contacts as well? Thanks